Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rune Factory 4 marks the return of the popular Harvest Moon spinoff that combines farming with dungeon adventuring. For the first time in the series, the player can select to play as a male or female hero, and potential suitors of either gender are also available in order to pursue love,Rune Factory 4 marks the return of the popular Harvest Moon spinoff that combines farming with dungeon adventuring. For the first time in the series, the player can select to play as a male or female hero, and potential suitors of either gender are also available in order to pursue love, marriage, and possibly a child. As the newly-appointed prince or princess, you can fulfill your royal duties of protecting the town from invaders, or take a more rural approach to governing by raising your own fruits and vegetables and helping townsfolk. Should some dungeon adventuring be on the days itinerary, you can select from the castles vast armament of swords, spears, and staffs along with magic for battle against dangerous foes, or even bring along a companion or friendly monster to aid you during your travels. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Oct 6, 2013
    91
    Rune Factory 4 is a game that you could easily dive into for twenty minutes or two hours at a time, and it seemingly never ends. There’s always one more thing you can do to improve your station in the town, or the town’s station in the world.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    85
    Rune Factory 4 is a game I did not expect to like as much as I did, proving that it's nice to be wrong about things from time to time. Its addictive blend of farming, fighting, and friend-ing makes for a fun, lighthearted experience that's easy to get lost in for hours at a time.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    If your Animal Crossing: A New Leaf town fell into disrepair weeks after everyone's summer obsession faded away, consider giving Rune Factory 4 a try. While Neverland can't offer the pure craftsmanship of a Nintendo product, their little world contains the same abundance of options and customization, but in a package that offers goals beyond the simple pleasures of hoarding.
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    80
    A very enjoyable JRPG adventure packed with tons of contents and diverse gameplay mechanics.
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    78
    A genre blend that's enjoyable enough in spite of its dated look.
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    Never short on content, Rune Factory 4 is full of things to do that'll keep players engrossed for a long while.
  7. Oct 23, 2013
    60
    It's a solid 3DS title with tons of content to explore, but while the refinements are minimal, it doesn't do enough to launch itself into greatness.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This may be the best Rune Factory or Harvest Moon yet. I can nary find anything wrong with it, and I just can't stop playing. I tried to startThis may be the best Rune Factory or Harvest Moon yet. I can nary find anything wrong with it, and I just can't stop playing. I tried to start playing Pokemon X, but couldn't give up Rune Factory to do it. There's so much to do, so much variety, great characters, a charming story. The controls are really well done, there's no stupid touch screen controls like previous Harvest Moon games. It's very difficult to get bored, as you're constantly looking for more time to do things; to spend a day giving gifts to all the villagers or to expand your farm or to do all the requests or to go dungeon crawling or to go out into the map and forage... If only this game were more popular in the mainstream and not consistently overshadowed and labelled "niche". There's are lots of dungeon crawlers, lots of action RPGs, and some sim games out there all of which could benefit from the influence of Rune Factory. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. If you're a fan of Rune Factory or Harvest Moon games, then this is definitely a game to check out. TheThis game is absolutely fantastic. If you're a fan of Rune Factory or Harvest Moon games, then this is definitely a game to check out. The storyline in this is a lot more in-depth than the other games, and there's a LOT more content for you to explore and discover. In Rune Factory 3, for example, I had NO problems rushing through the dungeons. In Rune Factory 4, however, they provide a challenge that makes it fun to go through and not just cream everything. Strategy is needed, and it is great. The farming and other aspects of the game like crafting and cooking are very well done, too. Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This was my first rune factory game, recommended to me because of my large Harvest Moon collection. I was skeptical, but I have to say IThis was my first rune factory game, recommended to me because of my large Harvest Moon collection. I was skeptical, but I have to say I enjoyed it far more than I thought I would. There isn't a real 'story' progression besides developing the town and finding romance, but that's to be expected. I also wasn't surprised that you can only be in heterosexual relationships, but it's still a bit of a downer. Over all, it's extremely fun to play and many hours can go into it before it gets boring. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    My fears before buying Rune Factory 4 were that it would be too easy and that the farming/sim aspects from Harvest Moon would be overshadowedMy fears before buying Rune Factory 4 were that it would be too easy and that the farming/sim aspects from Harvest Moon would be overshadowed by the dungeon crawling. But both elements are very well done! On hard mode, the challenge is akin to Dark Souls or Monster Hunter and the farming is as good as any of the Harvest Moon games, maybe even better.

    The characters, in contrast to the down to earth types from the HM games, are very anime/RPG inspired which might turn some people off. Personally, I found everyone to be charming and it wasn't too long before I felt like a part of the community.

    The numerous cliches are quite satirical and entertaining if you are a fan of JRPGs. The story actually gets pretty good later on, which was a nice surprise.

    The graphics could be better. The 2d portraits are nice but the 3d is lackluster. After playing this fro a bit, I bought Rune Factory Frontier and the graphics in that game are so nice compared to RF4. I hope the next portable installment gets the Frontier treatment. It's not a big deal though and it still looks great compared to the previous Rune factory games on the DS.

    This is a great game that I recommend to anyone who has ever thought: "Harvest Moon is really fun, but I want to fight monsters too!"
    Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    I have played all the DS games of Rune Factory, and i was addicted to it. It was like i was in a game, a very unique one. And when i heardI have played all the DS games of Rune Factory, and i was addicted to it. It was like i was in a game, a very unique one. And when i heard there was Rune Factory 4, i bought and played it and it didn't disappoint me at all. There were new stories, new additions and the characters were different. And also we can choose our gender. I also like the cut-scenes. But the sprites weren't really something i was fond of, some was not really good and felt like it was forgotten, but i still like the art. And the swimming clothes and pajamas weren't all that different, some looks the same.

    But there was also the dating system, which i really love. It made me felt like i was the one dating the character and it felt really romantic, like a real love story.

    What i would like the most was better sprites, more talking with different topics, and the 3D characters could have more expressions and i would like to see a more bigger world, and also it's better if i could see the characters face and body more.
    Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    A fantastic game and much better than any other Harvest Moon style game we have yet to get on 3DS.. Thankfully someone still knows how to doA fantastic game and much better than any other Harvest Moon style game we have yet to get on 3DS.. Thankfully someone still knows how to do this right!.. I was pleasantly surprised at how awesome the game is as the early screens looked sub par.

    The graphics may be modest but its in the charm and solid gameplay mechanics where this game shines brightly. Unfortunately with the latest installments of Pokemon overshadowing the release of this game I am worried it wont get the attention it deserves. I can personally say that I have both and have found plenty of time to enjoy the two of them simultaneously.

    My only gripe with the game is the forceful heterosexual gameplay. Where there could have easily existed relationships between the characters of the same gender the developers have opted not to allow it. This however is a minor concern and not one that effects the games score in my mind.

    I know you are probably all still drooling over Pokemon as am I but this little gem from Xseed deserves some of your attention as well this month
    Collapse
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    A good change of pace to the other RPG's out there. I played Rune Factory Frontier on the Wii, and this is a definite step forward for theA good change of pace to the other RPG's out there. I played Rune Factory Frontier on the Wii, and this is a definite step forward for the franchise. Where Frontier was murky and confusing on how to progress the main story, Rune Factory 4 is clear and concise. The farming and town aspects are fun and are something you just don't see in other games (obvious Harvest Moon comparison excluded). If you're an RPG fan and looking for either a solid next RPG, or something a little different from the status quo, this is a good place to look. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers