Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    I was disappointed to see that the item creation tools of the console version of the game were completely cut for the 3DS, but otherwise this is still a full and worthwhile Scribblenauts installment.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    75
    While maintaining all the colorful levels and the clever ideas of the Wii U version, Scribblenauts Unlimited on 3DS is in some way tamed by the absence of both the object editor and the Nintendo characters. Still, it’s a little funny game, with lots to explore and to experiment with.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    80
    It's still one of the more original gaming experiences out there for those willing to try something a little different.
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    75
    Overall, Scribblenauts Unlimited improves upon its predecessors in many ways, yet it still lacks what it takes to make a truly great game out of its awesome idea.
  5. 85
    While Unlimited's focus may have moved toward usability, it's still a great game. It doesn't bring wild and crazy innovation, but progress the series nonetheless. By streamlining its process, Unlimited gives players even better ways to lose themselves in a playground of their own creation.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    90
    Scribblenauts Unlimited hones the original open creativity concept, and comes away with a fine-tuned must-have experience.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Pros:
    +Gorgeous Visuals
    +Open World
    +Objects more responsive
    +Maxwell's story
    +Object Bacpack

    Cons
    -3-D only in cutscenes
    -No object creator
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    3
    This game...I thought it was going to be amazing,but instead i found many mistakes in it and here they are:

    The game starts out by showing
    This game...I thought it was going to be amazing,but instead i found many mistakes in it and here they are:

    The game starts out by showing on how Maxwell obtained his notebook, how he can create objects,and why he must help people.I will not give out any spoilers so don't worry. I'll just skip after they show the main storyline leading you to the tutorial.It's the same pretty basic controls,use the bottom screen to type and the top screen is your game-but! I bet everyone bought this game for one reason.

    The Object Editor

    You can make literally anything you want! But this game didn't have it. I bought this for $40 when the PC version is only $30! I will give it a thumbs up for the fact that you get to walk around a Hub but still!
    The game commercial feature the object editor when it's not even in the game. A lot of new cool things involve multiple characters,giving yourself adjectives,and walking around a world. I beat this game in only 4 hours...that's $10 an hour.

    I just don't think that this kid got his money's worth out of this game, but if it had the object editor it would give me a lot of replay value but since it doesn't I'm going to give this a 3 out of 10.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    This game makes you feel like you'r a child in the best way possible. Scribblenauts Unlimited is a really good squeal to one of my favoriteThis game makes you feel like you'r a child in the best way possible. Scribblenauts Unlimited is a really good squeal to one of my favorite games. I personally like how you can make anything and that's what made me attracted to the game,but the problem with this game is that there is no replay ability after you beat the main story. The graphics are simple but they work for this game,everything in this game looks somewhat like puppets and its really iconic. The whole game is centered around helping others and also helping your sister. I always thought it was funny and some what dark when you went back to show your sister who was slowly turning into stone your progress but that does nothing but introduces you to your new relative that lived in a new place that you unlocked. Its a simple, great game can't wait to see what this series is going to be over the next few years. Full Review »