Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Created and developed by 5TH Cell, Scribblenauts Unlimited features a huge side-scrolling open world with new, high-definition hand-drawn scenery and objects where players can help the game's hero, Maxwell, solve robust puzzles and challenges by summoning any object they can imagine. PlayersCreated and developed by 5TH Cell, Scribblenauts Unlimited features a huge side-scrolling open world with new, high-definition hand-drawn scenery and objects where players can help the game's hero, Maxwell, solve robust puzzles and challenges by summoning any object they can imagine. Players can leverage the Nintendo 3DS' Street Pass functionality to see all of the creative puzzle solutions by other players in the area. And for the first time, learn the backstory about Maxwell's parents, his twin sister Lily, and how he got his magical notepad. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    90
    Scribblenauts Unlimited hones the original open creativity concept, and comes away with a fine-tuned must-have experience.
  2. 85
    While Unlimited's focus may have moved toward usability, it's still a great game. It doesn't bring wild and crazy innovation, but progress the series nonetheless. By streamlining its process, Unlimited gives players even better ways to lose themselves in a playground of their own creation.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    80
    It's still one of the more original gaming experiences out there for those willing to try something a little different.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    70
    Gamers who enjoyed the past Nintendo DS games will find plenty of new content and ideas at play to encourage them back – especially as the extra 3DS development time has brought the features more in-line with the Wii U version.
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    This new Scribblenauts adventure retains almost every element we loved from the previous games, but at the same time fails to do something truly new and engaging.
  6. This is undoubtedly a well thought-out handheld port, but it's still slightly lacking for the changes. One for the kids. [March 2013, p.68]
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    60
    There's no forward movement that evolves Scribblenauts. This is a collection of craziness, laser sharks, and silly robots all clamoring for happiness, and you can certainly oblige them--but don't expect a real challenge.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The best Wii U game to date! The object editor is the highlight of this amazing game! Brilliant graphics! (At least on the Wii U) I reccomendThe best Wii U game to date! The object editor is the highlight of this amazing game! Brilliant graphics! (At least on the Wii U) I reccomend this game to all Wii U owners! Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    This game makes you feel like you'r a child in the best way possible. Scribblenauts Unlimited is a really good squeal to one of my favoriteThis game makes you feel like you'r a child in the best way possible. Scribblenauts Unlimited is a really good squeal to one of my favorite games. I personally like how you can make anything and that's what made me attracted to the game,but the problem with this game is that there is no replay ability after you beat the main story. The graphics are simple but they work for this game,everything in this game looks somewhat like puppets and its really iconic. The whole game is centered around helping others and also helping your sister. I always thought it was funny and some what dark when you went back to show your sister who was slowly turning into stone your progress but that does nothing but introduces you to your new relative that lived in a new place that you unlocked. Its a simple, great game can't wait to see what this series is going to be over the next few years. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Pros:
    +Gorgeous Visuals
    +Open World
    +Objects more responsive
    +Maxwell's story
    +Object Bacpack

    Cons
    -3-D only in cutscenes
    -No object creator
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    6
    This game is cool but I think it's better than the super scribblenauts because you can use do fun things I like the streetpass and spotpassThis game is cool but I think it's better than the super scribblenauts because you can use do fun things I like the streetpass and spotpass features they are cool Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    The game is fun, but the problem is that is to easy, extremly easy, and help the people is fun but i liked more the past games , go for theThe game is fun, but the problem is that is to easy, extremly easy, and help the people is fun but i liked more the past games , go for the startie is better than help people in some situations so i didnt liked if you play a game i recomended , super scribblenauts its so much better Collapse
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    3
    This game...I thought it was going to be amazing,but instead i found many mistakes in it and here they are:

    The game starts out by showing
    This game...I thought it was going to be amazing,but instead i found many mistakes in it and here they are:

    The game starts out by showing on how Maxwell obtained his notebook, how he can create objects,and why he must help people.I will not give out any spoilers so don't worry. I'll just skip after they show the main storyline leading you to the tutorial.It's the same pretty basic controls,use the bottom screen to type and the top screen is your game-but! I bet everyone bought this game for one reason.

    The Object Editor

    You can make literally anything you want! But this game didn't have it. I bought this for $40 when the PC version is only $30! I will give it a thumbs up for the fact that you get to walk around a Hub but still!
    The game commercial feature the object editor when it's not even in the game. A lot of new cool things involve multiple characters,giving yourself adjectives,and walking around a world. I beat this game in only 4 hours...that's $10 an hour.

    I just don't think that this kid got his money's worth out of this game, but if it had the object editor it would give me a lot of replay value but since it doesn't I'm going to give this a 3 out of 10.
    Expand

See all 7 User Reviews