Shin Megami Tensei IV 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Shin Megami Tensei IV Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Building on the styles of ATLUS' Persona, Devil Summoner, and Devil Survivor titles, SMTIV is the first true successor to 2004's Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne. The story of SMTIV revolves around the Samurai, the sacred protectors of the Eastern Kingdom of Mikado. As a newly appointed Samurai,Building on the styles of ATLUS' Persona, Devil Summoner, and Devil Survivor titles, SMTIV is the first true successor to 2004's Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne. The story of SMTIV revolves around the Samurai, the sacred protectors of the Eastern Kingdom of Mikado. As a newly appointed Samurai, players will struggle with factions that have nefarious designs on the world as they defend their home kingdom from a growing army of demons. Decisions players make throughout the course of the story will have lasting repercussions, as the fate of the world hangs in the balance. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    96
    A strong story makes this a best in class RPG.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    91
    Despite not being overjoyed with the cast of the game, there’s little else to complain about with SMT IV. The gameplay mechanics borrow enough from previous entries to feel familiar, but at the same time there’s enough new about the mechanics to make them feel fresh.
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    Like a bottle of fine scotch, SMT IV won't be for everyone - but those RPG enthusiasts who can appreciate its subtlety and challenge will cherish it for years to come.
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Shin Megami Tensei IV succeeds on the merits of its outstanding demon fusion system and combat, even if its story and exploration are only fair.
  5. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Oct 11, 2014
    81
    If you've never brought a Black Frost demon into existence, you're in for a treat. [Issue#116, p.92]
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    The game may not transcend its genre, but it’s a great reminder of why so many us fell in love with role-playing games in the first place.
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    The plot is full of holes, inconsistencies, and unbelievable character actions and reactions. There are some creative moments late in the game where SMTIV presents the alignments and philosophies in a fascinating, new way, but for the most part the plot, characters, and morals fail to come together as part of a coherent setting.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    we have waited nearly a decade for shin megami tensei 4 and while I would Have loved for it to be on non hand held console I can see why theywe have waited nearly a decade for shin megami tensei 4 and while I would Have loved for it to be on non hand held console I can see why they did not do so. The visuals and style are great for the 3ds but not so much a big hdtv. But i am digging the characters and the game so far. Love rpgs or things Japan get this game this is one of the most own titles for this neat little Nintendo console. plus this and fire emblem get you a 30 dollar e shop credit!!!! Expand
  2. May 26, 2015
    10
    I honestly don't see why this game isn't rated higher, it is one of the best games I have played from Atlus. The story is interesting, and itI honestly don't see why this game isn't rated higher, it is one of the best games I have played from Atlus. The story is interesting, and it pushes people to think about what they're doing and how they would handle such a situation and the questions they're answering. I adore this game, It brings back fond memories of Nocturne and the Digital Devil games. I adore the battle concepts (The free ability to move around, unlike in previous titles offered by Atlus for the 3DS, which ultimately hinder the overall gameplay experience). I hope that the next time they make a game for the 3DS they look at what they did for this one, I honestly regretted many of the decisions I had to make, and loved all the opportunities to talk to different people throughout the game. It also wasn't completely linear, which I came to enjoy, one got to decide on different things to do, instead of just one ultimate goal. I absolutely adored this game. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    this is by no means an easy game. you will die often in the beginning till you can recruit a team of at least 3 demons. those that can getthis is by no means an easy game. you will die often in the beginning till you can recruit a team of at least 3 demons. those that can get pass that part are in for a treat as this game had production value written all over it. demons look great and the story thus far is interesting to say the least. if you are new to jrpgs you might want to stay clear of this one as the learning curve is pretty high however the game does do a great jop of explaining everything. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2015
    9
    This was my first SMT, and i loved it. The plot is just amazing, with a deep philosophical background. This game made me see the world onThis was my first SMT, and i loved it. The plot is just amazing, with a deep philosophical background. This game made me see the world on another angle, it made me notice how we live in a dark world.
    Pros:
    *Incredibly deep plot, most amazing game i ever played
    *Good atmosphere
    *Boss battles are amazing
    *Good gameplay
    Cons:
    *After the first 10 hours it gets a bit boring
    *you'll find yourself lost SO MANY **** TIMES
    *sometimes you need to explore large areas, and you'll need to suffer with thousands of demons chasing you
    Expand
  5. BFP
    Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Oh... my... gawd... where can I get more of this?!
    Granted, I haven't been a fan of the SMT meta-series for very long (just really discovered
    Oh... my... gawd... where can I get more of this?!
    Granted, I haven't been a fan of the SMT meta-series for very long (just really discovered it in the last couple of years), but I can say that I absolutely LOVE this game. Even while it smashes me over the head with its old-school difficulty. It hates because it loves, as far as I'm concerned.

    Visuals are top-notch, both in the 2D and the 3D departments; each demon has its own unique look, and the characters are distinct and vibrant. For the first time in the series there is voice acting (and quite a bit of it too!), and all of it is top-notch, as expected of Atlus if only the script weren't so bland in spots, but its mostly overcome by the emotion presented through the VA's. Finally, battles are fast-paced and frantic as hell; as mentioned, the Press Turn combat system is unforgiving, and even a small mistake or misstep can really screw you over, making this game feel -REALLY- apocalyptic.

    The only complaints I can fling at SMT4 is that it doesn't get off the ground fast enough it took me about 10 hours before I finally got into the main area of the game, but I did a lot of messing around as well. Newcomers will find themselves being pummeled from the very beginning with the game's unwavering difficulty most of which seems to be a case of "Nefarious RNG Gods". Everything about the Press Turn combat system comes down to finding the opponent's weaknesses and exploiting the living out of them; the game rewards those that find the weak spots, and punishes those that lag behind. Given that there's absolutely NO defense stat in this game, you can easily get party-wiped by a bad run, or worse yet, rotten luck.

    Still... the first couple of actual main story bosses are battles of attrition; if you don't know what you need to bring to each fight, you'll likely be sent home crying. Many, many times. Most likely you'll have to redo these battles multiple times before you squeak through. However, when you do break through you'll feel triumphant for a bit... right up until you realize the game is only just starting.

    SMT games have never been for the faint of heart, but the fourth entry in the flagship namesake series is all but a meatgrinder if you go in expecting a cakewalk and free drinks at the beginning. Simply put, there is no hand-holding; its an adventure for those that crave a real challenge. Anyone who claims otherwise is lying.
    Collapse
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    If you can see past the inherent hardcore RPG tendencies, generally linear story, and glaring plot holes that start building only an hour orIf you can see past the inherent hardcore RPG tendencies, generally linear story, and glaring plot holes that start building only an hour or two in, this is a great game and one of the best on the 3DS.

    Pros: great graphical presentation in character and environmental art. Memorable soundtrack (very reminiscent of 90's sci-fi PC games). Voice acting (for the most part most minor characters are laughable, such as the guy who charges you Macca to cross a bridge, and a young woman who is clearly voiced by a man). Hardcore gameplay, and the familiar SMT battle formula exploit the enemy's weakness, and don't get exploited yourself.

    Cons: navigation becomes a nightmare if you aren't intimately familiar with Tokyo. Most quests are breadcrumb-type quests that lack the breadcrumbs you're told to go somewhere, and rarely given any indication on how to get there. Some may find the old school battle presentation lacking, while others will find it charming (very similar to Devil Survivor; your party of demons is not visually represented on-screen, while enemies and attacks are lightly-animated sprites.) Finally (without giving too much away,) your party is thrust hundreds of years into the future, from a medieval kingdom into a post-apocalyptic Tokyo. Your party is hardly amazed, let alone confused at their surroundings and all of this new technology. It's something that bugged me for my entire time spent with this game; for example, they'll be intrigued by "strange food" served at Tokyo's various taverns, but have no problem operating elevators and watching surveillance videos on an HDTV monitor.
    Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2015
    3
    This game had so much hype but I was disappointed.

    The graphics in this game is just so...dull and dark. I guess that's what you expect out
    This game had so much hype but I was disappointed.

    The graphics in this game is just so...dull and dark. I guess that's what you expect out of a deep game after all though, haha. Maybe that's because I tend to like more happier-themed and colorful-schemed games.It really doesn't live up to the standards of 3DS graphics nowadays, and the graphics it currently has is not interesting at all. Take TWEWY for example. It may have had edgy graphics, but at least it was presented in a fun and showy way. The battle system was rather boring as well, and I found no interest in the fusion system. I traded in this game after having made several attempts to play SMTIV. I just couldn't get into it. Oh well.

    This is coming from the point of view of someone who has never played SMT games before, might I add in. So my review is kind of towards the gamers in the same position as well.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews