Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    82
    There's good deal of content when compared to other 3DS titles. But with such much offered in the console version, it feels like more could have been added here.
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    80
    It's hard to get around the fact that Skylanders is a game for kids. From the toy-driven expansion scheme to the bright, friendly colors and music, there's not a lot in this game to appeal to the Dead Space or Gears of War crowd. But for gamers of all ages willing to embrace the game's aesthetics and kick back and have a good time, Skylanders is the 3DS's first great platformer, and well worth taking for a spin.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    83
    Skylanders is a fun game, and it does have it's challenging moments. Aside from Hektore pursuing you after getting a crystal and the ice world being a pain, I'm a little disappointed that there's no multiplayer in the 3DS version unless I'm really just missing it. Still, it is one I recommend if you like a good platformer. Just be prepared to spend some money if you plan to unlock everything.
  4. Jan 4, 2012
    81
    Whether you've been an Spyro fan from the beginning or are just looking for a good jump'n'run for Nintendos 3DS, you can't go wrong with Skylanders: Spyro┬┤s Adventure.
  5. Oct 29, 2011
    80
    What appeared to be a gimmick, a game that works in tandem with a series of plastic action figures, is one of the system's finest titles, a colorful, addictive and well designed platform adventure featuring lots of enemies to pummel, items to collect and characters to play as.
  6. Dec 7, 2011
    78
    Almost as surprisingly great as the Wii version, so worth the money. [Dec 2011, p.72]
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    A near-perfect conceptual marriage of toys and video games. While wallets may shudder at the thought of throwing down potentially lots and lots of money for the complete experience, what you get out of the box is a well-crafted adventure and world that kids of all ages can be excited about.
  8. 90
    You can't knock the quality of the game, as Vicarious Visions not only made an awesome 3D platformer, they made a great 3DS-exclusive title.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    4
    The other review does not address the "meat" of the game and is mainly an attack on the marketing scheme used to sell the game. In my opinion the other reviewer was warranted in attacking the way the game was marketed but after purchasing the game I have a few things to note. 1)The figurines are simply unlocks for in game content they do not contain the actual DLC

    2)The 3DS version as expected is a bit castrated. You cannot use one of the adventure packs on the 3DS version

    3)The 3DS version does not allow you to view your character information when setting a figurine on the portal
    4)The 3DS version does not allow you to wipe your figurine data to trade with someone else

    5)The 3DS version does not allow you to nickname your character

    6)There are conflicting reports of this as the game manual and one very brief in game dialogue box state that you can save your stats to your figurine. Some fan forums are claiming the 3DS simply notes which figurine you currently have and saves the stats with the games cartridge save. 7)The 3DS version is not "future proof" it has been rumored any future adventure packs and figurines will not be compatible with the 3DS version.

    8)The 3DS version is not "wireless" it uses the IR port like a TV remote and has to be pointed at just the right angle to communicate with the "portal of power"

    9)The 3DS version "gameplay" consists of simply rushing to the end of a level for every level.

    As far as the gameplay goes, the 3DS version has essentially the same level repeated over and over. You rush to the end of a level using normal platformer mechanics. Without the fun and challenge of something like super mario 64. It's honestly the same level mechanics copy pasted over the entire game. The console versions are sort of like an RPG. That being said the game is beautifully done and a lot of work has gone into cut scenes obviously geared towards children. The voice acting could have been much worse and the game is fairly bug free. However the game cannot be completed unless you have one figurine of each element so in essence you're buying an incomplete game from the start. In the case of the 3DS version you're buying an incomplete game with copy pasted level design and enemies at the same price as a console version with more features. I leave it up to the reader to decide if it's worth a purchase
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    A rip off game with a rip off price severely lacking in content, especially for all the money you'll have to fork out to unlock the full game. Don't buy this, it's nothing more than an overpriced, average platformer. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    Sklanders Spyros Adventure 3DS isn't anything ground breaking really. I have been a long time Spyro fan and this game really makes you go 'wow the other spyro games are way better' which, I reckon is true. It is pretty good but lacked in content. I completed the entire game in 2 hours 32 minutes. As well as that the final boss fight wasn't hard at all just dodging then attacking for a bit then going through a jump course. Plus the final cut scene is pretty good. However when you beat the final boss it just resets back to where you were before the final boss 'Hectore'. ANd to 100% complete it you have to buy all the expansion packs, buy 1 skylander from each element, get all the hats, get all the radiant crystals. The actual toys you buy though only give approximately 1-4 hours of extra play (by the time you level them up) even though the developers said there would be 10-15hrs added through each toy you purchase. I also was a bit sad to see that there wasn't a "pvp" option like in the other versions. It is for younger kids as the developers say so maybe they will enjoy it more. If your planning to buy something that's content wise DO NOT get this game though. I paid $88.00 for this game and didn't feel my money's worth. (Should've spent it on Skyrim). I know this review is going back and fourth with these points and I apologise. So this is a worse version of Skylanders Spyros Adventure, and I recommend getting a Wii, Xbox360, PS3, or PC version instead because it is a lot more fun addictive and more content. Full Review »