User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 52
  2. Negative: 21 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    This game is fun and addicting. My young nephews love it and the characters are cool and creative. You can treat them like trading card and swap plus it will still keep the leveled of the character you leveled. Its a cool game for all ages and they have secret characters at Toys' r' Us (legendary figures). Hopefully they will be able to make more characters available for all the systems and add on content. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Let me first start off by saying this game is not a perfect 10! Probably more like a "7" or "8" but I'm evening the odds here..... I can NOT believe one person gave it a "1" an another a "0"!!! Would the game not have to be broken to get these types of scores? Does not deserve scores like that! What does not being able to jump in the console version have anything to do with the 3DS version??? Clearly they just do not like Skylanders??? About the game...It is a great fun little game. I enjoyed it very much right to the very end, reminds me of older platforms back in the day. Waiting for more adventure packs to come out so I can continue my adventure in skylands. Love the wireless mini portal (good to use for your PC too!) and the exclusive Ignitor figure! Great game to pick up if you like Spyro or Skylanders on the console! Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    Skylanders is one of the best platformers I've played on a handheld in quite some time. The game is broken down into different portals all accessible from the "Radiant Isles"; which acts as a home base area. Each of the portals consists of multiple levels with each level giving several different objectives to complete (similar to Mario 64). The characters (skylanders) that you can load up into the game each have their own strengths and weaknesses and also gain power and new abilities by leveling them up through game-play, with a max level of 10 to my knowledge. Even with the 30 or so different characters they have, you only really need 8 (1 of each element) to fully 100% the game. The game is simple enough for young gamers, but also very enjoyable for older gamers alike with the speed run objectives and the higher difficulty of fully completing the game . The only downside is on the 3DS version is the lack of multiplayer and PVP, although, the game is cross-platform, so bring your skylanders to a friends house that has it on the console version and upload them through their portal. Even with high price I recommend this game to anyone looking for a great platformer on a handheld because your definitely going to get what you pay for! Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    Though a little on the pricey side for most gamers, it's worth looking into. the mechanic of using the portal is novel and rather ingenious as it is a successful bridge between the toy and video game world. I was put off by the fact that if you want to get 100% completion on the game, you're going to be shelling out quite a bit of money but on it's own with no additional characters this game is pretty good! The biggest difference between this game for the 3ds and the wii/xbox/ps3 version is that the gameplay is more in line with the classical "spyro" feel in that it's a platforming game which surely benefits from the 3d. the characters' designs and it's presentation belies it's target demographic being the younger crowd and i'm sure that they would likely enjoy it. for the mature gamer, however, it still holds enough appeal to the point where it's not a complete dissapointment.

    so, pros... a solid platformer that benefits greatly from the 3d, cute and charming character designs, rich and detailed worlds and surely reminiscent of the old spyro games of old.

    cons...: the fact you have to shell out money for the figures feels like a cash-grab, figures are consistently out of stock so finding new characters is an uphill battle and surely a frustrating affair, losing the figures or the base will screw you out of being able to swap out characters. a solid 7. not the best game in the world but definately not the worst... though the fact that this game comes packaged with a whole slew of diehard fans (whom will surely take the time to tell you why you're wrong if you like this game in the most annoying and childish manner) is a down point... but, i'm not going to punish the game itself for the slew of insufferable fanatics that have gravitated to this game. (and if you pay attention, most of the whining is because the game is a departure in design and theme from the old... but, if the gaming industry never took chances and tried new and daring things, we'd still be stuck playing pong, pacman and space invaders.)
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    This game was easy but I really enjoyed it, the combat was easy but really fun, and the music and sound effects are just awesome, like I said it may be easy but still a pretty cool game.
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    7
    Timed played: 25 hours Version: 3DS Characters: 20+ Expansions: 2 (Darklight Crypt & Pirate Seas) [Abstract Review] Pros: Awesome and addicting physical toys collection setup. Sharing/Showing off your collection with friends. Upgrading and leveling stays with your toy between console and handheld versions. Cons: Price to get the full experience can get steep. Depth and joy of in-game experience is in the eyes of the player/collector. Not for the hardcore gamer (only for hardcore collectors).
    Other: Console versions offer more play options. Consider the handheld version of SSA for on the go play when away from the console.

    Collectors Point of View: Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure (SSA) is brilliant in its marketing setup. You must collect ( and pay for) enough additional product to experience 100% of SSA. If money is not an issue, then SSA will serve to those collectors who love the task of finding each toy and expansion pack to add to their collection. I have had a blast picking up each new character and pack, placing them on the portal for the first time to watch the come to life, leveling each up, and then sharing and trading with friends in the community. Sharing and trading Skylanders with friends is potentially the strongest single positive lasting experience SSA adopters will benefit from a large and committed investment. Sharing or exchanging the Skylanders will increase the replayability and fun, so collecting is the second strongest design product which is only as strong and entertaining as the player's wallet is strong. If you are hoping to get everything, plan on paying well for it. PennyProblematics: Are you saving up for SSA? Individual Skylander retails at approximately 10 USD. 3-pack Skylanders @ 20-30 USD. 2 Adventure Packs @ 20-30 USD ea. With 30+ Skylanders to collect = 200-300+ USD additional cost after the 59.99 initially spent on the starter pack. Think of SSA as a money pit. For some, the large investment will produce less than desirable returns, but for others, money is a means to collect everything, and paying extra,to get the full experience, is not an issue.

    SSA is overpriced, we get it. I've paid over 300 USD, but it's for the love of collecting. SSA's value is more 30-40 USD, and each of the Skylanders are 5 USD. That might have helped to usher the package along to greater critical success. SSA is a two part experience. The virtual gameplay serves well to supplement the collection of each toy and expansion. Enjoy collecting!

    I enjoy the overall experience of Skylanders. Collection is the heaviest price players will pay, and the gameplay
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    A rip off game with a rip off price severely lacking in content, especially for all the money you'll have to fork out to unlock the full game. Don't buy this, it's nothing more than an overpriced, average platformer.
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    Sklanders Spyros Adventure 3DS isn't anything ground breaking really. I have been a long time Spyro fan and this game really makes you go 'wow the other spyro games are way better' which, I reckon is true. It is pretty good but lacked in content. I completed the entire game in 2 hours 32 minutes. As well as that the final boss fight wasn't hard at all just dodging then attacking for a bit then going through a jump course. Plus the final cut scene is pretty good. However when you beat the final boss it just resets back to where you were before the final boss 'Hectore'. ANd to 100% complete it you have to buy all the expansion packs, buy 1 skylander from each element, get all the hats, get all the radiant crystals. The actual toys you buy though only give approximately 1-4 hours of extra play (by the time you level them up) even though the developers said there would be 10-15hrs added through each toy you purchase. I also was a bit sad to see that there wasn't a "pvp" option like in the other versions. It is for younger kids as the developers say so maybe they will enjoy it more. If your planning to buy something that's content wise DO NOT get this game though. I paid $88.00 for this game and didn't feel my money's worth. (Should've spent it on Skyrim). I know this review is going back and fourth with these points and I apologise. So this is a worse version of Skylanders Spyros Adventure, and I recommend getting a Wii, Xbox360, PS3, or PC version instead because it is a lot more fun addictive and more content. Expand
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    4
    The other review does not address the "meat" of the game and is mainly an attack on the marketing scheme used to sell the game. In my opinion the other reviewer was warranted in attacking the way the game was marketed but after purchasing the game I have a few things to note. 1)The figurines are simply unlocks for in game content they do not contain the actual DLC

    2)The 3DS version as
    expected is a bit castrated. You cannot use one of the adventure packs on the 3DS version

    3)The 3DS version does not allow you to view your character information when setting a figurine on the portal
    4)The 3DS version does not allow you to wipe your figurine data to trade with someone else

    5)The 3DS version does not allow you to nickname your character

    6)There are conflicting reports of this as the game manual and one very brief in game dialogue box state that you can save your stats to your figurine. Some fan forums are claiming the 3DS simply notes which figurine you currently have and saves the stats with the games cartridge save. 7)The 3DS version is not "future proof" it has been rumored any future adventure packs and figurines will not be compatible with the 3DS version.

    8)The 3DS version is not "wireless" it uses the IR port like a TV remote and has to be pointed at just the right angle to communicate with the "portal of power"

    9)The 3DS version "gameplay" consists of simply rushing to the end of a level for every level.

    As far as the gameplay goes, the 3DS version has essentially the same level repeated over and over. You rush to the end of a level using normal platformer mechanics. Without the fun and challenge of something like super mario 64. It's honestly the same level mechanics copy pasted over the entire game. The console versions are sort of like an RPG. That being said the game is beautifully done and a lot of work has gone into cut scenes obviously geared towards children. The voice acting could have been much worse and the game is fairly bug free. However the game cannot be completed unless you have one figurine of each element so in essence you're buying an incomplete game from the start. In the case of the 3DS version you're buying an incomplete game with copy pasted level design and enemies at the same price as a console version with more features. I leave it up to the reader to decide if it's worth a purchase
    Expand
  10. Jul 1, 2013
    3
    This is sad. When I first saw the game, I didn't even recognize Spyro. The commercial made him sound like a girl. So of course I was f****** confused on who was who. Sony should have stuck with the original cast and not make it to where no one can tell who the hell Spyro was. When Sega had to change how Sonic looked, they didn't change who he was completely. Just a pallete change, add color to the eyes, and change how his shoes looked. Sega didn't make him look like a rabbit or anything. He was still Sonic, but he was recognizable. Someone please put poor Spyro to rest instead of torturing him. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2011
    1
    First off, let me say that Skylanders for 3DS does not have anything that makes Skylanders for 360/PS3/Wii any good and it is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING LIKE MARIO 64! It's much closer to Crash Bandicoot 1. 1)There is no plot, and while the original game's plot wasn't exactly stellar, it did provide many moments of amusement, and starred incredible voice actors and writing. 2)There are really no upgrades for your characters. The only bonuses you get are from leveling- and you level INSANELY fast. 3)The game is incredibly short (3-4 hours) with very little replay value, again unlike the original. 4)No Multiplayer 5)Many of the unique play mechanics of the first one are gone such as Stealth Elf's invisibility and Spyro/Sonic Boom's flying abilities. All in all, it's really not worth your money. Buy the console version instead. It is infinitely better. Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2012
    1
    This is not spyro. Thanks activison for AGAIN ruining a GREAT series. If a series is doing good, LEAVE IT ALONE and DONT TOUCH IT. Keep your grubby nasty fingers away from Ratchet and clank, Sly, and ty. You guys KILLED spyro. Legend of spyro was one thing, but slylanders goes over the limit!
  13. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    This game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyro alone and started a new IP. But no, they yet again gotta ruin the spyro name. Why dont they learn and go back to the original spyro that always got good reviews. (not enter the dragonfly tho).
  14. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Even for a series that has never exactly been stellar, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure sets the bar particularly low. The story is exceptionally trite, the script asks very little of the voice-actors, and the gameplay is bare-bones simple (even as it holds your hand through the most rudimentary mental exercises). There are no platforming elements to speak of (you can't even jump in the console versions!) and practically any platforming-esque mechanic is either performed automatically (conveniently placed bounce-pads replace the aforementioned jumping) or is explained a half dozen times by in-your-face visual cues, constant narrative hints, and pop-up text explanations. The enemies in this game are laughable and should never pose the slightest threat to your life total. Graphically, the Spyro series was never really a powerhouse, and it is obvious that the same amount of effort went into this title. This could have been a PS1 title. It is marketed towards the elementary-school set, though, so it gets a pass. The toy mechanic itself is cute and sure to be a hit with kids from ages 9 to 90, but when taken as a whole with the design decisions in the game proper, it comes across as exceptionally aggressive marketing. Different characters basically play exactly the same as any other, even Spyro himself (which explains the loss of jumping and gliding: lazy design), with one financially relevant caveat. The element attached to each character serves as a key to access locked areas (ie: only a fire element skylander can unlock a fire element area) and a damage modifier is applied for certain elements in some areas as well. What this effectively does is force you to pay for additional figures in order to unlock the full content of your already expensive purchase. And why wouldn't you, after finding the character-specific advertisements sprinkled about each level that unlock abilities and short intro videos for figures that didn't come with the core package! There are already expansion packs available as well. When distilled to its purest form, Sklanders: Spyro's Adventure is essentially a poorly made toy tie-in game that thinks you or your children aren't intelligent enough to figure out how to solve basic challenges without being told exactly what to do in at least three separate ways. To unlock the full breadth of this franchise-turned-shovelware experience you must needs spend something to the tune of a hundred dollars, though you do get some cute toys in the process. And hey, at least there are hats. Expand
  15. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    Once again Activision has paid all critics. The truth is that this game sucks almost as much than mw3 (that got really bad reviews from users) I you liked old spyro dont get this crap (even legend series was better)
  16. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    I'd like to say first I've not actually played this game. But I can tell you I won't be buying it because of the marketing- if I buy a game, for £60, I expect to get a full game. But skylanders, you don't- you have to shell out an absolute fortune in order to get the full game. A game would have to be absolutely AWESOME to get me to pay out hundreds of pounds to get other characters. Normal games just have unlockable characters in game- I know this is a new and novel idea, but it's an expensive one that the majority of gamers (especially children) can't afford to pay out for. Expand
  17. Aug 1, 2012
    0
    This game is a horrible addition to the spyro franchise. Not only do the graphics make our beloved old and new characters look like hideous monsters, but the gameplay is extremely dull and lacks anything different. It lacks plot, and in turn, anything at all that links it with the original spyro (Unlike the carefully crafted previous Spyro reboot, which cleverly winds in parts of original Spyro) and has completely ruined every effort made previously to bring spyro into the modern world, yet keep it the same. Personally, I am furious that this abomination ever happened, because it has completely destroyed part of my childhood. This game is nothing but more proof that Activision ruins everything. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    81
    Whether you've been an Spyro fan from the beginning or are just looking for a good jump'n'run for Nintendos 3DS, you can't go wrong with Skylanders: Spyro┬┤s Adventure.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    78
    Almost as surprisingly great as the Wii version, so worth the money. [Dec 2011, p.72]
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    83
    Skylanders is a fun game, and it does have it's challenging moments. Aside from Hektore pursuing you after getting a crystal and the ice world being a pain, I'm a little disappointed that there's no multiplayer in the 3DS version unless I'm really just missing it. Still, it is one I recommend if you like a good platformer. Just be prepared to spend some money if you plan to unlock everything.