Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    A bit of a mess from a tech viewpoint, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed's highly evolved racing action pushes through sheer force of fun.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    77
    An interesting port for Nintendo 3DS of one of the greatest Sonic games released so far in the current generation of consoles.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    The roster of Sega stars and tracks is commendable. When the game hits its strides it can even be as entertaining as genre king Mario. But more often than not the game’s suite of issues holds it back from greatness.
  5. Sega fans will enjoy this solid port but it's far from a smooth ride. If you can stomach the rough edges this has enough individual character to stand alone.
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    60
    It's a shame some technical issues make this version fall behind the "big ones", since it could have been a serious rival for Mario Kart. We'll need to get used to issues though, and in the end we will be able to enjoy it.
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed on 3DS tries to emulate the terrific offering on Wii U, with what seems like a disregard of its platform.
  8. Feb 26, 2013
    50
    With its 3DS version of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing, Sumo Digital had good intentions: offering the same game in portable form. But technically, this version had too many obstacles to overcome, clearly.
  9. Feb 28, 2013
    49
    If you thought that on Nintendo’s handheld you’ll get a decent funracer that shows the quality of its’ 360 or PS3 siblings, go look somewhere else.
  10. 45
    A workable frame rate might have salvaged this uninteresting, watered-down 3DS version of Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed. Instead, the game's single redeeming quality is marred by technical and gameplay problems, leaving it a shallow, unworkable execution of a good idea.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    I have heard positive feedback on the console versions and expected the 3DS version to be a trimmed down but still functional racer. I wasI have heard positive feedback on the console versions and expected the 3DS version to be a trimmed down but still functional racer. I was immediately engaged in the game due to the fan service and celebration of past Sega franchises. Once the racing begins everything goes down hill, do not expect Mario Kart 7 quality or performance. Horrid graphics that are on par with early generation N64 games, and a poor frame rate make this unplayable. Might be best to stick to the consoles. Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    I've only played the demo, and y didn't like what I saw. It appears that the game is running in a windows 98 with k62500 processor. The gameI've only played the demo, and y didn't like what I saw. It appears that the game is running in a windows 98 with k62500 processor. The game lags so much and the graphics are acceptable. I'm wondering how a handheld that ports games like mario kart 7 can sell other similar game with so many bugs. In a word Frustrating. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    A lot of this game's strengths may be overlooked because of the many bugs and frame-rate issues. It's true that this game isn't that polishedA lot of this game's strengths may be overlooked because of the many bugs and frame-rate issues. It's true that this game isn't that polished in terms of the actual gameplay, but the many modes, difficulty levels, characters and visual detail make up for this. If there weren't as many issues with the actual gameplay, then this game would be amazing, but because of these bugs, I can't give it any higher than a 7/10. The console versions are better, I'd recommend getting those versions over this, but if for whatever reason you can't get those versions, then I'd still say this game is at least decent. Full Review »