User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 11 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    I have heard positive feedback on the console versions and expected the 3DS version to be a trimmed down but still functional racer. I was immediately engaged in the game due to the fan service and celebration of past Sega franchises. Once the racing begins everything goes down hill, do not expect Mario Kart 7 quality or performance. Horrid graphics that are on par with early generation N64 games, and a poor frame rate make this unplayable. Might be best to stick to the consoles. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    7
    As someone who owns both Vita and 3DS versions of Sonic Racing Transformed, I can tell you that the Vita edition is the superior of the two. However if you're torn between them, it's probably worth noting that the Vita edges performance (frame rate etc) and graphics (effects, lighting etc), while playing Sonic on the Nintendo handheld obviously boasts some lovely stereoscopic 3D (which in turn aids distances and cornering). In terms of content, audio and controls, they're pretty much on par. It's far from a one-sided contest, but the Vita edition definitely gets the nod for me. I'd rate Sonic All-Stars Racing Transformed at 8 out of 10 for Vita, while it's a 7 out of 10 for 3DS. While not perfect, both editions offer up bucket loads of fun arcade racing. Recommended. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    A lot of this game's strengths may be overlooked because of the many bugs and frame-rate issues. It's true that this game isn't that polished in terms of the actual gameplay, but the many modes, difficulty levels, characters and visual detail make up for this. If there weren't as many issues with the actual gameplay, then this game would be amazing, but because of these bugs, I can't give it any higher than a 7/10. The console versions are better, I'd recommend getting those versions over this, but if for whatever reason you can't get those versions, then I'd still say this game is at least decent. Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2013
    6
    An interesting port,But A Little Hard To Enjoy as it may lag and It Is Quite Enjoyable,If You Get Over The Lag and Graphics.Overall Its Quite Good.
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    I've only played the demo, and y didn't like what I saw. It appears that the game is running in a windows 98 with k62500 processor. The game lags so much and the graphics are acceptable. I'm wondering how a handheld that ports games like mario kart 7 can sell other similar game with so many bugs. In a word Frustrating.
  6. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Well, before I went to go buy this at a farther than normal Gamestop because MOST local ones did not have them and will not have them for some reason. Luckily, I found one. After reading a few reviews about how the framerate takes the fun out of the game and whatnot. I feel like all reviews don't ever say or just havn't played the entire game and are already coming out with ludicrous reviews. I do not own any of the console versions of this game but i can easily tell on the 3DS that the graphics, sound, 3D and other visuals look pretty awesome. There are a few lvls that are buggy and do have those framerate issues. But they don't really effect the game in such a HIGH value point that people were saying it was. After beating the entire world cup series, the game does have incredibly spacious and real time racing, unlike Mario Kart, where you just see the road in front of you and barely anything from the entire track. This game is vast when your racing and sometimes it feels so insanely fast that you lose focus on where your at. Above all, the game has a great replay value, which is a MUST in most games, and the character unlocks are awesome. Bad framerate for most detail packed levels with an awesome online gameplay. I give this game a 6 out of 10. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    Sadly this title, which could have been great, is ripe with severe technical issues ranging from frame stutter, to stereoscopic ripping and even to outright system halts (as in, total crash requiring a system reset). It's really a bummer because what the game is trying to be is actually quite a lot of fun... when it works well and holds together for more than 15 minutes. Normally you'll find yourself after a few tries finally having a good run and about to advance to the next goal... only to have your 3DS crash during the last lap. Multiplayer, solo player... doesn't matter. The thing is eventually going to crash. You can actually tell when it's about to happen it appears this game leaks memory to the point where it slows down and when these slow downs become frequent you know it's about to blow up on you. Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. 45
    A workable frame rate might have salvaged this uninteresting, watered-down 3DS version of Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed. Instead, the game's single redeeming quality is marred by technical and gameplay problems, leaving it a shallow, unworkable execution of a good idea.
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    The roster of Sega stars and tracks is commendable. When the game hits its strides it can even be as entertaining as genre king Mario. But more often than not the game’s suite of issues holds it back from greatness.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    A bit of a mess from a tech viewpoint, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed's highly evolved racing action pushes through sheer force of fun.