Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Despite the main game's brief length, Sonic Generations is fantastic fun. As long as you don't mind replaying the same levels to try to better your own records, which is a challenge in itself, this is an essential purchase for Sonic fans.
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    84
    Sonic's debut on Nintendo's 3DS is a real success. The combination of the two different hedgehogs in the colorful 2D and 3D environments is pretty cool. The game is a little too easy, but there's tons of Sonic flair and enough content to truly satisfy the player.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    82
    Don't expect too much from the 3D, but otherwise a great handheld Sonic game. [Jan 2012, p.76]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    The blue speedster, both past and present, delivers a solid first outing on Nintendo 3DS.
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    80
    Though I wish it lasted a bit longer, Sonic's birthday bash is a nearly pitch-perfect celebration of his storied career. [Dec 2011, p.88]
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    80
    Sonic, you are twenty years old now, happy birthday to you. We love your new and modern style with the added speed boosts, but the good old days were also wonderful. We know it for sure, every generation loves you Sonic.
  7. Dec 7, 2011
    79
    Good-looking and fan-pleasing, but a bit short. [Dec 2011, p.65]
  8. Dec 2, 2011
    75
    A good platforming game and a good start for Sonic in the 3DS. It is different from the HD versions, so it is a good options for Sonic fans to complement the main Generations game. Its only flaws are its limited duration and the disappointing design of some stages.
  9. 75
    Sonic Generations on the Nintendo 3DS is certainly a well made game.
  10. Dec 5, 2011
    74
    We expected a better game from Dimps, but it's still a good option for fans looking for a decent plataforming Sonic game in 3DS.
  11. Dec 15, 2011
    73
    The fans will absolutely love this, allthough it has a couple of flaws, especially in the overall too-easy experience, in the lame use of the touch screen and in the repetitiviness of it all.
  12. Jan 12, 2012
    70
    Sonic Generations offers exactly what fans want: the classic speed of the Genesis games.
  13. Jan 3, 2012
    70
    Sonic Generations for the 3DS is by no means a bad game, it is just a disappointing one. Being able to play as both Modern Sonic and Classic Sonic in an assortment of old and new stages is a great idea, but everything is over very quickly.
  14. Dec 6, 2011
    70
    Whereas the console version of Sonic Generations is a blending of old and new mentality in a fast-paced speed fest, the 3DS version is mostly just a Sonic Rush game where both playable characters happen to be Sonic.
  15. Nov 26, 2011
    70
    Most of all, it never quite recaptures the original's vibrant spirit that made it stand out 20 years ago.
  16. Nov 18, 2011
    70
    The new levels are just too unambitious and end up playing like Sonic's recent DS outings, only with polygonal visuals and 3D depth. That's still a worthy experience, but when Dreamcast's 12-years-old Emerald Coast blows its 3DS counterpart out of the water, there's something not quite right here.
  17. Feb 21, 2012
    65
    It has potential to be way better, but you can have some fun.
  18. Jan 4, 2012
    65
    In the end, Sonic Generations is not the worst Sonic game I've played, but it's far from the best either. I'm glad that I was forced to play through the whole thing, as there are definitely some clever design choices and cool moments in later levels. It's just a shame that I had to wade through so many cheap speed-blocking hits and uneventful levels to get to them.
  19. Nov 26, 2011
    65
    On 3DS, Sonic Generations is a more half-hearted anniversary affair which somehow misses the point of the whole exercise.
  20. 60
    Sonic has yet so settle in properly on the handhelds, and Sonic Generations sadly doesn't change that, despite including to versions of the blue hedgehog.
  21. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    The worst thing about the game, believe it or not, is that it's occasionally good - great, even.
  22. Nov 26, 2011
    60
    Sonic Generations doesn't have enough meat on its bones to stand alongside the best handheld Sonics on the market, but it's still worth a look.
  23. Nov 22, 2011
    58
    I didn't hate every second I spent with this platformer. The music is great, the early Genesis-era stages are plain and simple fun, and the Sonic 2-style special stages make good use of the handheld's 3D to gauge depth. However, the lack of worthwhile new content and sloppy level design makes the whole product feel like a rushed tie-in to the superior console version.
  24. 50
    This portable version is considerably worse than the console versions and messes up the design originally planned.
  25. Dec 9, 2011
    50
    A short, disappointing downhill slide through clumsy and frustrating renditions of more modern, characterless stages. Drooping from joyous classic to dissatisfying mediocrity in just a few hours of gameplay, Generations on the 3DS provides a surprisingly handy microcosm of Sonic's decline over the years. Not the best anniversary present, then.
  26. Nov 29, 2011
    50
    With awful level design and just two hours of gameplay, Sonic Generations is not the return to form that we were hoping for.
  27. Nov 22, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  28. Dec 2, 2011
    40
    Sadly, when it's time to balance out the pros and cons of this 3DS version of Sonic Generations, it's clear the cons outweight the pros. It's pretty, fluid, offers player versus player races, it doesn't provide the thrill of the original Sonic Generation dual gameplay, old Sonic and new Sonic, because there are no 3D levels, only 2D ones you can play with either Sonic. The solo is super short, level design is flawed, and secondary missions dull. Clearly not on par with the HD versions.
  29. Dec 5, 2011
    25
    I can safely say that you should probably skip this one, unless you're a diehard Sonic the Hedgehog nut. It's not an awful game, but it's also a far cry from great.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    I liked it a lot once you get use to it. The only real complaint I have is that the classic sonic roll and modern sonic skid are not matched to a single button. Instead of just pressing Y to roll or X to Skid you have to press down and press b which doesn't always work. That is very disappointing and upsets the whole of the game so instead of marking 1 point off for graphics and level design I am marking 2 off. Fun game but not worthy of 40 dollars. Maybe 30. Full Review »
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    I love sonic generations 3D its my first ever sonic game and its soo fun!,

    Its very challenging which is very good.

    The only con is it is to
    short D:. Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    During all the hype for Generations this one never caught my eye. Eventually I bought it as a time consumer. I was wondering if this game'd be a timeless classic, or if it should be erased from Sonic's history...terrible puns aside it's a mixed bag. Let's start off with how the Sonics control. Modern Sonic is prettymuch the same as in Colours 3DS with his boosting, sliding, homing attacks and stomping. Only real difference is that instead of spindashing by pressing down, he does the slide instead. Classic Sonic is a huge improvement from what Dimps gave us in Sonic 4. The physics are actually pretty decent...except the rolling. It still tends to slow you down. Which wouldn't be a problem if stages like Mushroom Hill which I'm used to rolling in weren't direct copies from the Genesis games. Overall, control isn't bad. Classic feel is there, but not perfect.

    Now onto their stage choice. I have no complaints with the lineup, Genesis sports Green Hill, Casino Night and Mushroom Hilll, Dreamcast brings Emerald Coast and Radical Highway and Modern gives us Water Palace and Tropical Resort. The classic stages (as Classic Sonic) are all direct copies from their original games. Make of that what you will. I recognise it as lazy, but tbh I don't care. Why fix what isn't broken after all? As Modern Sonic the stages are typical linear pathways you boost your way down with occasional platforming. Early on, it feels like one of those poorly made platformers you find being shown off on Youtube. Granted, it did improve as the game went on but levels like Emerald Coast were awful. Post Genesis era, I was curious what Dimps would do since they could hardly make the levels designed around homing attack chains and such. Their response? Give Classic Sonic a homing attack! I really do not think he needs it (nor should have it, Homing attacks are Modern Sonic's forte) but meh whatever. A couple of classic stages are overloaded with boost pads and homing attack chains. Sound familiar? But granted there are some pretty good original classic stages such as Water Palace and Emerald Coast. And there are a handful of good Modern stages like Tropical resort and Water Palace (again). And that's prettymuch all I have to say about the stages.

    Next up, music. The game's score was decent overall ranging from absolutely amazing arrangements (Big arm) to some really nostalgic tunes (Emerald Coast) to some pretty unbearable music that made my ears bleed (modern Radical Highway) and some not remixed at all (tropical resort) but again, why fix what isn't broken? Laziness or not, I didn't mind.

    Next up my favourite part of the game, the boss fights. I've always been a big fan of bosses designed by Dimps because they create some fantastic and original fights with huge bosses, and Gens 3DS is no exception. The game sports Big Arm, Biolizard, Egg Emperor and of course the Time Eater himself. I had a blast with all of these bosses especially Biolizard and Time Eater, who is greatly improved from the console version. Can't give away the fight itself but it works great and it's actually a fair challenge...bugger killed me twice before I beat him...I just wish there were more bosses. Why can't every world have a boss rather than 1 per every handful of worlds? Also there are rival races. Not much to say. Just race them to the finish and dodge their attacks.

    The verdict? It's got its moments, and its got its hiccups. I'd reccomend Sonic fans give it a go. 3DS owners should buy it if they already have Super Mario 3D land and want something else, and people who are new to Sonic? you should probobly check out the console version instead.
    Full Review »