Sonic Generations 3DS

Sonic Generations Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Generations brings a mix of classic and newer Sonic levels, letting you play through them in classic 2D or full 3D.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Despite the main game's brief length, Sonic Generations is fantastic fun. As long as you don't mind replaying the same levels to try to better your own records, which is a challenge in itself, this is an essential purchase for Sonic fans.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    The blue speedster, both past and present, delivers a solid first outing on Nintendo 3DS.
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 7, 2011
    79
    Good-looking and fan-pleasing, but a bit short. [Dec 2011, p.65]
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    70
    Most of all, it never quite recaptures the original's vibrant spirit that made it stand out 20 years ago.
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    65
    In the end, Sonic Generations is not the worst Sonic game I've played, but it's far from the best either. I'm glad that I was forced to play through the whole thing, as there are definitely some clever design choices and cool moments in later levels. It's just a shame that I had to wade through so many cheap speed-blocking hits and uneventful levels to get to them.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    The worst thing about the game, believe it or not, is that it's occasionally good - great, even.
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    25
    I can safely say that you should probably skip this one, unless you're a diehard Sonic the Hedgehog nut. It's not an awful game, but it's also a far cry from great.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitlyDon't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitly compared to old sonic games this game seems to be the best sonic game since the genises. Buy this game and don't listen to trolls. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Generations on 3DS is a great game despite what critics have said, but one of these is somewhat hypocritical. Critics that have praised Sonics DS games have stated that Sonic needs to throw 3D game-play away and bashed generations for doing just that. Even though the game is completely side-scrolling it is by far the best use of 3D from a 3rd party on 3DS so far. Classic Sonic relies a bit more on the platforming half of Sonic's formula and it was cool revisting levels like green hill from the genesis and water palace from the ds in a high quality perspective in platforming of various difficulty, he learns the homing attack but his animations are quite cool to look at as he performs them and makes me think Sonic should have stoped learning moves there. Modern Sonic plays like we've seen him in Sonic Rush and Colors for ds, while this does make the difference between the 2 sonics harder to tell I enjoy the fact that Modern Sonic has brief 3d gameplay segments (now I remember how terrifying that whale from Sonic Adventure can be and Im freaked out those meteroites from Sonic Color's Tropical Resort), as well as bonus stages and the series concept of multiple routes in a level is taken to good use with the 3DS' 3D effect in Modern levels. Another key plus of the 3DS version is that all it's levels are different than on ps3 and 360 with the exception of Green Hill. Though the campaign is short there's also a 2-player race mode that suffers almost no lag when playing on wifi even with 3D on full blast, you can also partake in side missions to unlock various art and music from throughout Sonic's history and of course a Sonic game is never ment to be truly finished until you get all the chaos emeralds and get S ranks on every level so the games isn't even close to as short as we're told. With the PS3 and 360 versions out for a while and having some more characters and levels, it's hard to say Sonic Generations on 3DS is the must have version if you can only get one, but true Sonic fans will get both to play all the levels featured between the two. Irregardless this is a true celebration of Sonic history making it a great game for nostalgia for longtime Sonic fans and the perfect jumping on point for Sonic Newbies that want to get in on the high-speed fun, it's also a game for those that thought Sonic always sucked and need to be proven wrong. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    The 3DS version is superior to the console version, including online multiplayer and better crafted Modern Sonic levels. The boss battles areThe 3DS version is superior to the console version, including online multiplayer and better crafted Modern Sonic levels. The boss battles are far less tedious, and the inclusion of a Chaos Emerald mini stages are welcome. It's a tad shorter and features less of Sonic's friends than the PS360 version, but the improved quality of the actual gameplay more than makes up for these. Expand
  4. May 9, 2012
    7
    I like unlocking missions with the coins you earned by the amount of walking you do in a day. And when you finish a mission you unlock art,I like unlocking missions with the coins you earned by the amount of walking you do in a day. And when you finish a mission you unlock art, music tracks and models of characters. The story mode is decent, but once you beat it you can't use the chaos emeralds to go into super form other than when you are defeating the last boss. It has its own unique gameplay when compared to the PC or console gameplay. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    Eh, if you ignore not having 3d platforming, and the games short length, It's not bad at all.Eh, if you ignore not having 3d platforming, and the games short length, It's not bad at all. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2015
    6
    I love me some side scrolling Sonic. I love the Genesis games, I love the GBA games, I love the DS games. I even love Sonic 4.... bothI love me some side scrolling Sonic. I love the Genesis games, I love the GBA games, I love the DS games. I even love Sonic 4.... both episodes. More than that, I love Sonic Generations for Xbox 360. This ought to have been my jam, inside and out. Instead, I found it to be..... well. Okay, not great.
    So start with, the graphics are..... kinda muddy. Sonic 2D games have always had gorgeous aesthetics, but these, while not ugly, just aren't snappy as you'd expect from the series. Another issue I have is that they gave the classic sonic the homing attack. This isn't in and of itself problematic, however it does make Classic and Modern Sonic levels a lot more alike, and I think the concepts work better with them distinct. Already, the lack of full 3D levels blurs the line..... moving the two closer does the titles no favors. But the biggest problem I have is more ephemeral. It just seems to lack the flow that defines the series. A lot of people claim that what makes Sonic games distinctive is the speed. I'd say that it's more about momentum and flow. Indeed, it's acknowledged that one of the weakest levels in the Genesis games are in the second zone of the original game, where you are forced to stop far too often. It breaks up the momentum and flow and while this game isn't THAT bad about breaking momentum, I found it much less smooth than I've come to expect.
    Now, the game isn't TERRIBLE. I've certainly played worse. But as 2D Sonic goes, I'd have to rate this pretty low. Go to the eShop and download Sonic 2 3D instead.
    Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    I told myself "Self, This game is actually going to be good... for once Sonic Team has done something right and won't disappoint me likeI told myself "Self, This game is actually going to be good... for once Sonic Team has done something right and won't disappoint me like pretty much every other sonic game since sonic 3 on the genesis has.."......

    I should have ignored myself.......

    Seriously, it's well past time for Sonic Team to retire the blue blur. This is a painful game to play not just because of the absolutely weak amount of content or the gameplay being as insipid (as is come to be expected, sadly) as it is... but the bugs... oh lord the bugs. you would think that a multimillion dollar corporation would have the resources to at LEAST pay for a decent beta testing team but it seems not to be the case. I tend to think of the old rock-star adage... "it's better to go out in a blaze of glory than it is to fade away with a whimper." because at this point, all i can think is that Sega is merely trying to milk this franchise but this cow's gone dry many years ago.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews