Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Generations brings a mix of classic and newer Sonic levels, letting you play through them in classic 2D or full 3D.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Despite the main game's brief length, Sonic Generations is fantastic fun. As long as you don't mind replaying the same levels to try to better your own records, which is a challenge in itself, this is an essential purchase for Sonic fans.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    The blue speedster, both past and present, delivers a solid first outing on Nintendo 3DS.
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    79
    Good-looking and fan-pleasing, but a bit short. [Dec 2011, p.65]
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    70
    Most of all, it never quite recaptures the original's vibrant spirit that made it stand out 20 years ago.
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    65
    In the end, Sonic Generations is not the worst Sonic game I've played, but it's far from the best either. I'm glad that I was forced to play through the whole thing, as there are definitely some clever design choices and cool moments in later levels. It's just a shame that I had to wade through so many cheap speed-blocking hits and uneventful levels to get to them.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    The worst thing about the game, believe it or not, is that it's occasionally good - great, even.
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    25
    I can safely say that you should probably skip this one, unless you're a diehard Sonic the Hedgehog nut. It's not an awful game, but it's also a far cry from great.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitlyDon't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitly compared to old sonic games this game seems to be the best sonic game since the genises. Buy this game and don't listen to trolls. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Sonic generations 3DS is an awesome 2D action plat-former with amazing game-play, an incredible soundtrack, loads of things to do, coolSonic generations 3DS is an awesome 2D action plat-former with amazing game-play, an incredible soundtrack, loads of things to do, cool streetpass, great graphics (they could be better) and nice 3D. It's a bit better than the console version, but the console version is still really good! Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    One of the best titles on 3DDS, an awesome sonic game, with full 3d rendered graphics which can be played in 3D without 3D glasses and hasOne of the best titles on 3DDS, an awesome sonic game, with full 3d rendered graphics which can be played in 3D without 3D glasses and has modern sonic levels and classic sonic levels. Two sonics, Two levels of AWESOME! Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    Sonic Generations is fun. It has really good levels. The annoying thing is I finished the game a little bit too quickly. I found the last bitSonic Generations is fun. It has really good levels. The annoying thing is I finished the game a little bit too quickly. I found the last bit too easy. At the start I found it impossible but I really liked it and got a lot better once I worked the game out. It is really fun to play this game for quite a while. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    This game would have been a lot better if they had tossed the modern Sonic levels out the window, and made the whole game based around oldThis game would have been a lot better if they had tossed the modern Sonic levels out the window, and made the whole game based around old Sonic, but then I guess it woudn't have been Sonic Generations. This game is worth having for anybody who likes old Sonic, because it has some of the old levels like Casino Night, Mushroom Hill, and some interesting reinterpretations of new sonic levels in the 2D classic style. The modern sonic levels are all pretty bad and involve practically no 3D at all. So its like playing classic Sonic who just boosts through every level as much as possible, which isn't all that rewarding. Also the scoring system is bad, because it is all based around beating the level in a certain time. I know this is Sonic we're talking about, but this system makes some levels trivial to get S rank, like Casino Night, because you can just drop down to the bottom of every pinball game and advance to the next part of the level, and some super hard like Radical Highway, because you need to beat it in sub 2 minutes and that is just not that easy. Not worth $40 by a long shot, but maybe worth its current price on amazon if you are a fan of old Sonic. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    The 3DS was lacking a good sonic game, so Sega decided to port Sonic Generation to the 3DS about a week after the console port was release.The 3DS was lacking a good sonic game, so Sega decided to port Sonic Generation to the 3DS about a week after the console port was release. Sonic Generation for the 3DS is different from the console port with remade levels from past Sonic games and different boss, but it doesn't make it a good idea. The story is the same, but this time Sonic made to his birthday party and Tails (Sonic best friend) hasn't finish getting the party and the purple monster comes and takes Tails to this limbo world where he meet his past self. The two Sonics and the two Tails must stop what ever go on. Gameplay is all 2D platforming which is a huge disappointing to me because the 3DS could handle 3D platformers like Super Mario 3D Land and it feels pointless playing as both Sonics. So here how it goes if you don't like fast classic Sonic you could with faster modern Sonic with boost and everything. Now classic Sonic has the homing attack like his modern self which make it feel weird. The level desigh is some what bad and the first three classic Sonic levels are rip right out of the games their base off. Sonic Generation 3DS port has one big problem is that Sonic team (Developers) Should have focus on the handheld Sonic games from the Game Gear, Gameboy Advance, and DS era. Sonic Generation for the Nintendo 3DS is a okay port from the console port, but you just skip it or if our a big Sonic fan (like me) you could just add it to our collection. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    I told myself "Self, This game is actually going to be good... for once Sonic Team has done something right and won't disappoint me likeI told myself "Self, This game is actually going to be good... for once Sonic Team has done something right and won't disappoint me like pretty much every other sonic game since sonic 3 on the genesis has.."......

    I should have ignored myself.......

    Seriously, it's well past time for Sonic Team to retire the blue blur. This is a painful game to play not just because of the absolutely weak amount of content or the gameplay being as insipid (as is come to be expected, sadly) as it is... but the bugs... oh lord the bugs. you would think that a multimillion dollar corporation would have the resources to at LEAST pay for a decent beta testing team but it seems not to be the case. I tend to think of the old rock-star adage... "it's better to go out in a blaze of glory than it is to fade away with a whimper." because at this point, all i can think is that Sega is merely trying to milk this franchise but this cow's gone dry many years ago.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews