Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Generations brings a mix of classic and newer Sonic levels, letting you play through them in classic 2D or full 3D.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Despite the main game's brief length, Sonic Generations is fantastic fun. As long as you don't mind replaying the same levels to try to better your own records, which is a challenge in itself, this is an essential purchase for Sonic fans.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    The blue speedster, both past and present, delivers a solid first outing on Nintendo 3DS.
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    79
    Good-looking and fan-pleasing, but a bit short. [Dec 2011, p.65]
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    70
    Most of all, it never quite recaptures the original's vibrant spirit that made it stand out 20 years ago.
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    65
    In the end, Sonic Generations is not the worst Sonic game I've played, but it's far from the best either. I'm glad that I was forced to play through the whole thing, as there are definitely some clever design choices and cool moments in later levels. It's just a shame that I had to wade through so many cheap speed-blocking hits and uneventful levels to get to them.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    The worst thing about the game, believe it or not, is that it's occasionally good - great, even.
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    25
    I can safely say that you should probably skip this one, unless you're a diehard Sonic the Hedgehog nut. It's not an awful game, but it's also a far cry from great.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitly compared to old sonic games this game seems to be the best sonic game since the genises. Buy this game and don't listen to trolls. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    this is game for me is excellent and very very enjoyable!
    it has great graphics, great 3d effect its mostly all in 2d ( which i like ) but
    modern sonic gameplay changes and is faster and sifts angles making the game look awesome with the 3d on! controls are very good and it is veey true to the gameplay of the old Sonic games we love!
    overall 9/10..
    Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    I love sonic generations 3D its my first ever sonic game and its soo fun!,

    Its very challenging which is very good.

    The only con is it is to
    short D:. Expand
  4. May 9, 2012
    7
    I like unlocking missions with the coins you earned by the amount of walking you do in a day. And when you finish a mission you unlock art, music tracks and models of characters. The story mode is decent, but once you beat it you can't use the chaos emeralds to go into super form other than when you are defeating the last boss. It has its own unique gameplay when compared to the PC or console gameplay. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    Sonic Generations for the 3DS is good. The gameplay is fun and the graphics are colorful and cartoonish.
    It's Disappointing that City Escape
    wasn't in this though. Score: 3/5. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    The 3DS was lacking a good sonic game, so Sega decided to port Sonic Generation to the 3DS about a week after the console port was release. Sonic Generation for the 3DS is different from the console port with remade levels from past Sonic games and different boss, but it doesn't make it a good idea. The story is the same, but this time Sonic made to his birthday party and Tails (Sonic best friend) hasn't finish getting the party and the purple monster comes and takes Tails to this limbo world where he meet his past self. The two Sonics and the two Tails must stop what ever go on. Gameplay is all 2D platforming which is a huge disappointing to me because the 3DS could handle 3D platformers like Super Mario 3D Land and it feels pointless playing as both Sonics. So here how it goes if you don't like fast classic Sonic you could with faster modern Sonic with boost and everything. Now classic Sonic has the homing attack like his modern self which make it feel weird. The level desigh is some what bad and the first three classic Sonic levels are rip right out of the games their base off. Sonic Generation 3DS port has one big problem is that Sonic team (Developers) Should have focus on the handheld Sonic games from the Game Gear, Gameboy Advance, and DS era. Sonic Generation for the Nintendo 3DS is a okay port from the console port, but you just skip it or if our a big Sonic fan (like me) you could just add it to our collection. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    I told myself "Self, This game is actually going to be good... for once Sonic Team has done something right and won't disappoint me like pretty much every other sonic game since sonic 3 on the genesis has.."......

    I should have ignored myself.......

    Seriously, it's well past time for Sonic Team to retire the blue blur. This is a painful game to play not just because of the absolutely weak amount of content or the gameplay being as insipid (as is come to be expected, sadly) as it is... but the bugs... oh lord the bugs. you would think that a multimillion dollar corporation would have the resources to at LEAST pay for a decent beta testing team but it seems not to be the case. I tend to think of the old rock-star adage... "it's better to go out in a blaze of glory than it is to fade away with a whimper." because at this point, all i can think is that Sega is merely trying to milk this franchise but this cow's gone dry many years ago.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews