Sonic Generations 3DS

Sonic Generations Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Generations brings a mix of classic and newer Sonic levels, letting you play through them in classic 2D or full 3D.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Despite the main game's brief length, Sonic Generations is fantastic fun. As long as you don't mind replaying the same levels to try to better your own records, which is a challenge in itself, this is an essential purchase for Sonic fans.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    The blue speedster, both past and present, delivers a solid first outing on Nintendo 3DS.
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 7, 2011
    79
    Good-looking and fan-pleasing, but a bit short. [Dec 2011, p.65]
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    70
    Most of all, it never quite recaptures the original's vibrant spirit that made it stand out 20 years ago.
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    65
    In the end, Sonic Generations is not the worst Sonic game I've played, but it's far from the best either. I'm glad that I was forced to play through the whole thing, as there are definitely some clever design choices and cool moments in later levels. It's just a shame that I had to wade through so many cheap speed-blocking hits and uneventful levels to get to them.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    The worst thing about the game, believe it or not, is that it's occasionally good - great, even.
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    25
    I can safely say that you should probably skip this one, unless you're a diehard Sonic the Hedgehog nut. It's not an awful game, but it's also a far cry from great.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitlyDon't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitly compared to old sonic games this game seems to be the best sonic game since the genises. Buy this game and don't listen to trolls. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    You know this is like Sonic Advance same but not cartoon world i mean its awesome have cool graphics at the end same as console version fightYou know this is like Sonic Advance same but not cartoon world i mean its awesome have cool graphics at the end same as console version fight bosses Metal Sonic, Shadow The Hedgehog, Silver The Hedgehog. nice game even brings back memory's. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2015
    9
    A great title for 3DSA great title for 3DS . Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    Sonic Generations could have been a fantastic way to celebrate the hedgehog's 20th anniversary, but it's flawed by many problems. This gamesSonic Generations could have been a fantastic way to celebrate the hedgehog's 20th anniversary, but it's flawed by many problems. This games selling point is that you can play as both classic and modern sonics. But on thr 3DS version, they are virtually the same. Both handle 2-D platforming levels with very similar design. Why couldn't modern Sonic do 3-D levels? It would have made sense on the 3DS especially. The levels in Sonic Generations, though lacking inspiration, are good fun. The bosses are the best part, but there are so few of them. Which brings about another major flaw- there are only about twenty levels. Honestly, that is lazy. To combat this problem, there is mission mode, in which you must complete levels following varios rules, like not killing any enemies. You can also use play coins to buy additional missions. They save this game and make it, overall, a recommendable package. I just wish there was more of it. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2016
    7
    As I pretty much reviewed the home console game, I'll go a bit more straight with this one. First, if the first game was short, this one isAs I pretty much reviewed the home console game, I'll go a bit more straight with this one. First, if the first game was short, this one is even shorter, I completed it in 2 hours. The Modern Sonic 3D-2D levels translate to just 2D levels. If you collected the chaos emeralds through boss fights and one of the chaos emerald was given for free, you have to play the Sonic Heroes special stages, which look so good, but easy to complete. I prefered the final boss of this game more than the home console game, but this version looks okay, it is short and there are no 3D levels, which I liked a lot in the first place. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    The 3DS was lacking a good sonic game, so Sega decided to port Sonic Generation to the 3DS about a week after the console port was release.The 3DS was lacking a good sonic game, so Sega decided to port Sonic Generation to the 3DS about a week after the console port was release. Sonic Generation for the 3DS is different from the console port with remade levels from past Sonic games and different boss, but it doesn't make it a good idea. The story is the same, but this time Sonic made to his birthday party and Tails (Sonic best friend) hasn't finish getting the party and the purple monster comes and takes Tails to this limbo world where he meet his past self. The two Sonics and the two Tails must stop what ever go on. Gameplay is all 2D platforming which is a huge disappointing to me because the 3DS could handle 3D platformers like Super Mario 3D Land and it feels pointless playing as both Sonics. So here how it goes if you don't like fast classic Sonic you could with faster modern Sonic with boost and everything. Now classic Sonic has the homing attack like his modern self which make it feel weird. The level desigh is some what bad and the first three classic Sonic levels are rip right out of the games their base off. Sonic Generation 3DS port has one big problem is that Sonic team (Developers) Should have focus on the handheld Sonic games from the Game Gear, Gameboy Advance, and DS era. Sonic Generation for the Nintendo 3DS is a okay port from the console port, but you just skip it or if our a big Sonic fan (like me) you could just add it to our collection. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    I told myself "Self, This game is actually going to be good... for once Sonic Team has done something right and won't disappoint me likeI told myself "Self, This game is actually going to be good... for once Sonic Team has done something right and won't disappoint me like pretty much every other sonic game since sonic 3 on the genesis has.."......

    I should have ignored myself.......

    Seriously, it's well past time for Sonic Team to retire the blue blur. This is a painful game to play not just because of the absolutely weak amount of content or the gameplay being as insipid (as is come to be expected, sadly) as it is... but the bugs... oh lord the bugs. you would think that a multimillion dollar corporation would have the resources to at LEAST pay for a decent beta testing team but it seems not to be the case. I tend to think of the old rock-star adage... "it's better to go out in a blaze of glory than it is to fade away with a whimper." because at this point, all i can think is that Sega is merely trying to milk this franchise but this cow's gone dry many years ago.
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews