• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
  • Also On: Wii U
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    49
    Great potential squandered by unimaginative level design and cheap mechanical failings. [Christmas 2013, p.82]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    40
    The combat ideas are awfully implemented. [Issue#141, p.108]
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    Sonic: Lost World on the 3DS is a flawed, disappointing game that unlike its Wii U sibling you should definitely avoid.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    40
    It fails as a 2D sidescroller, it fails as a 3D platformer, and on a system that has no short supply of absolutely amazing examples of both of those genres, Sonic Lost World is absolutely inexcusable.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    40
    Sonic: Lost World doesn't respect its past or its potential for change. But worse, it disrespects the players it depends upon. Lost World's variety and ideas are impressive, but when I can't depend on running, jumping and hopping on enemies to work, each new wrinkle added on top of that just feels like a chore.
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    20
    Sega obviously tried to emulate aspects of Super Mario Galaxy or other 3D Mario games to make this leap in the Sonic series, but Sonic: Lost World suffers with each “feature” they have added to the Sonic’s successful formula: running and jumping.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 36
  2. Negative: 13 out of 36
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with the galaxy like gameplay first. Face it hater retards. This game rocks Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Seriously, this game is just awesome. Considering 3DS limits, it looks GREAT and runs smoothly. Controls are the best of a 3D Sonic game since Adventure (better even!). And levels are the longest I've played in a Sonic game ever (more than Wii U's version) and have a lot of new good ideas and variety.

    For me is a 10. But if you think 10 is just too much, at least I think it should get better mark than Generations from 3DS, which was very disappointing compared to its major version. And this time this hasn't happened (and it is even said to be better in this case).
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    This game brings Sonic back, Is one of the sharpest looking games on the 3DS, and yes, it's awesome.
    The blue guy has been through a lot of
    hate in the past years, but I really think this time he finally made it.
    I totally recommend this game, and would ignore critics from people who haven't even tried it yet.
    Full Review »