• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: Wii U
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Lost World sees Sonic partner with Dr. Eggman to take on six menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    85
    This game is even better on handheld than on console. Sonic looks amazing.
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    80
    Considering how disappointed we were with Generations, Lost World is the Sonic game 3DS deserved. The wealth of tricky environments, hidden items and even four-person races for ambitious players make it a worthwhile purchase, even at $39.99.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    78
    Despite the big problems with the control system, the intriguing level design of Sonic Lost World makes it an excellent platform.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Again, it’s a shame, because there’s good here, but it’s often buried beneath a quagmire of frustration...So, yes, this is a better game than its more powerful counterpart, but Lost World on the 3DS, despite a few excellent asides, remains a largely average, occasionally frustrating outing for Sonic. Again.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    50
    What could be a fluid experience and well organized in terms of design, gives place to a number of gaps and inconsistencies that prevent the game to achieve the desired success.
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    50
    In trying to incorporate 3D environments and ideas from the Wii U title, Dimps has rather tied Sonic's red boots together, causing him to often stumble and fall.
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    20
    Sega obviously tried to emulate aspects of Super Mario Galaxy or other 3D Mario games to make this leap in the Sonic series, but Sonic: Lost World suffers with each “feature” they have added to the Sonic’s successful formula: running and jumping.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 14 out of 41
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with theI like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with the galaxy like gameplay first. Face it hater retards. This game rocks Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    This game is very good. It is not ambitious like Sonic Team games, but it´s just "simple and fun". The story is not very good, but music,This game is very good. It is not ambitious like Sonic Team games, but it´s just "simple and fun". The story is not very good, but music, graphics and gameplay are very well done. A very good platform game :) Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Sonic Lost World features stunning visuals, solid stage designs, and decent music. There is a wealth of amazing content that rivals the bestSonic Lost World features stunning visuals, solid stage designs, and decent music. There is a wealth of amazing content that rivals the best of any 3D Sonic to date, and a lot of variety. Unfortunately, the game is brutally difficult to a degree that will shock even longtime fans, and skilled play requires total mastery of its exceedingly complicated new control scheme. In addition, lame combat and tedious puzzles are used for filler. As such, the appeal is limited. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    6
    It's okay, the game has a decent control scheme without it being too frustrating at times, the touch screen is simple to use and activateIt's okay, the game has a decent control scheme without it being too frustrating at times, the touch screen is simple to use and activate color powers without it being annoying, and the gameplay and story are fine... However, the level design starts out fun, then progressively gets worse and worse as you play, with occasionally fun levels, then more bad levels. Example, Frozen Factory 3. I'm actually good at these kinds of games(usually), and how long did it take me to beat this level my first time? 20. Minutes. See, what some levels like the one stated base it around a dumb gimmick, and you do it over, and over, and over, until you finish the level. This formula almost always applies to the 3D flat land levels where you turn the camera It genuinely feels like the developers for the 3DS version, Dimps, tried to make it a puzzle platform in these kinds of levels. Cool. But, if you're going to make a level like that, make it short and sweet, don't shove it down my throat and tell me that it's my life for the next 10-20 minutes. If the game only used the 2D and 3D levels for the game, it probably would have been a lot more fun. But the 3D Flat lands are just tedious and just makes it not fun to play. The bosses are fun and somewhat challenging. What I know about the Wii U version is only from videos I have seen, but it looks far better than the 3ds version. I do know that Volcano zone is an actual zone on the Wii u. 3DS version? Boss rush.

    Also, the special stages... where to start with those. You fly around collecting orbs with the gyroscope, but it's so tedious to use the normal controls for assist that you will inevitably just walk around wherever you are to complete the level. Avoid, unless you really want super sonic.

    All in all, I would rather recommend the Wii U version, since it looks better in pretty much every way, but if you don't have a Wii U, go ahead and take a risk with the 3DS version, you might find yourself liking it.
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    Good- the 3d levels and very well made, graphics are good for the 3ds, parkour is a great idea, you can get a good sense of speed once you getGood- the 3d levels and very well made, graphics are good for the 3ds, parkour is a great idea, you can get a good sense of speed once you get going.
    bad- the control is too sensitive i never feel i have full control over sonic, the 2d levels are not made well and always seem to punish me for going fast, and i never feel like playing levels again after beating them.
    before the fans start raging at me you should know I've been a sonic fan all my life, i've played almost all the game and enjoyed most of them one way or another. i ever enjoy some of the lesser liked titles such as sonic unleashed(including some werehog levels) shadow the hedgehog, and sonic heroes(one of the best in my opinion). i feel that sonic generations was on the right track for sonic games, but with the control problems, and bad 2d levels sonic lost world is just good, not anything more
    Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    4
    I recently went to Mexico to visit my wife’s family. For the trip I went out and purchased Sonic Lost Worlds for my 3DS. I couldn’t get pastI recently went to Mexico to visit my wife’s family. For the trip I went out and purchased Sonic Lost Worlds for my 3DS. I couldn’t get past the first level before realizing I’d made a huge mistake.

    I had also brought along Mario 3d Land so I could kind of compare the two, since both of them are astoundingly similar. Both are platformers, both run on the “get to the end of the level” mechanic, and both incorporate power-ups and collectables in the games.

    Sonic LW had the issues of control. It was too slow if I wasn’t running, and it got unweildly if I ran for too long. I discovered that a lot of the collectables I’d have to go back and replay a level for which I didn’t much care for. Replayability isn’t about forcing your player to go back and replay the game if they want 100% completion. It’s about encouraging them. When in the first few levels I ran into several bubbles that were greyed out indicating that I hadn’t gotten what I’d needed yet, it made me frustrated because I was all, “Did I miss something?”

    The different gravity idea was pretty neat, I have to admit. Seems like Sonic Xtreme finally got some sort of debut after all, but it still didn’t do away with the endless pits that have plagued 3d Sonic games since Sonic Adventure.

    The controls, aside from twitchy, weren’t well thought out. If I have a double jump AND a homing attack, and I have 4 buttons near my right thumb alone, why the hell are they both on the jump button? I can’t begin to count the amount of times I died trying to double jump only to homing attack or vice versa. The game isn’t very clear what it wants me to do a lot of the time either. In world 2 I encountered an enemy that kept hurting me when I tried to use a homing attack. It also kept hurting me when I used a spin dash. When I finally figured out that the spin dash did do something to it, it took me too long to figure out that after the spin dash I needed to do that ultra-homing attack, despite the target being in spin-dash range. (The enemy also had no rebound, so when I’d do the spin dash, half the time I’d stop right inside his hit box and get hit instead of bouncing off like most enemies.)

    The bonus levels were novel, I have to admit, but I was extremely disappointed while on the plane to discover that I couldn’t use the control stick at all. I had to move the entire 3DS, which in a normal situation at home wouldn’t be a problem, but any time I’m traveling makes it next to impossible to play. I eventually figured out that there was a “hold” button which would let me, effectively, recalibrate the 3DS’ position letting me essentially keep swiping with my 3DS instead of trying to turn 360 degrees in my cramped seat on the airplane.

    Compare this to Super Mario 3D Land that incorporated the large star coins that were findable my first time through and added a slight level of challenge to each level. The controls never felt awkward, twitchy, or irritating. Any gimmick that the 3DS brought to the table, be it 3D or the gyroscope, was a bonus instead of required. The levels were fun to explore without being over-punishing. And the levels were all short enough for a quick pick-up and play. Sonic Lost Worlds failed this on all regards.

    While I get that it’s just a port from the Wii U, and a portable one at that, I had higher hopes for this game after playing Sonic Generations. But this game is just too hard to control to make it worth my while. Definitely wasn’t worth the cash I’d paid for it.
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    1
    Frozen Factory 3. That is all. As if the game wasn't terrible enough already due to incredibly bad controls, they give me Frozen Factory 3. IFrozen Factory 3. That is all. As if the game wasn't terrible enough already due to incredibly bad controls, they give me Frozen Factory 3. I actually ragequitted there for real. If you don't believe me, look up the Sonic Lost World 3DS playthrough by Cobanermani456 on youtube. That guy is known for his unbelievable patience, and even he ragequitted on Frozen Factory 3. Later, he did beat it, but then he ragequitted again, permanently, on Sky Road 2.

    This game is the new Sonic 06, avoid at all costs.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews