• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: Wii U
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Lost World sees Sonic partner with Dr. Eggman to take on six menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    85
    This game is even better on handheld than on console. Sonic looks amazing.
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    80
    Considering how disappointed we were with Generations, Lost World is the Sonic game 3DS deserved. The wealth of tricky environments, hidden items and even four-person races for ambitious players make it a worthwhile purchase, even at $39.99.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    78
    Despite the big problems with the control system, the intriguing level design of Sonic Lost World makes it an excellent platform.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Again, it’s a shame, because there’s good here, but it’s often buried beneath a quagmire of frustration...So, yes, this is a better game than its more powerful counterpart, but Lost World on the 3DS, despite a few excellent asides, remains a largely average, occasionally frustrating outing for Sonic. Again.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    50
    What could be a fluid experience and well organized in terms of design, gives place to a number of gaps and inconsistencies that prevent the game to achieve the desired success.
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    50
    In trying to incorporate 3D environments and ideas from the Wii U title, Dimps has rather tied Sonic's red boots together, causing him to often stumble and fall.
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    20
    Sega obviously tried to emulate aspects of Super Mario Galaxy or other 3D Mario games to make this leap in the Sonic series, but Sonic: Lost World suffers with each “feature” they have added to the Sonic’s successful formula: running and jumping.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 36
  2. Negative: 13 out of 36
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with the galaxy like gameplay first. Face it hater retards. This game rocks Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    The graphics are some of the best on the system. The controls are incredible especially with the ability to change Sonic's speed at the touch of a button. Level design is great and the stages take longer than previous sonic game levels and zones. Highly recommend this! Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    I don't really understand the hate on people have for this game. Some of the levels are pretty **** but there are quite a few good ones too and the game is decently long despite the last world being, more or less, taken out. All I ever hear people complain about is the damn snowball level and how it isn't platforming and its holding the game hostage or w/e, and admittedly that level really pissed me off, but it was over pretty fast. I don't get why a game like Wind Waker HD can get a 90. If people think this game is bad, that game is really bad! Literally the whole game is holding the game hostage, and the dungeons aren't even fun when you do get to em. I still haven't beaten the Wii U version of Lost World, but that one is much better despite forcing you to use the stupid tablet as a controller. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    Good game, bad experience. This game has an innovative concept with a top notch soundtrack from Tomoya Ohtani and gourgeous-looking graphics, it has problems though:

    1) Way too long levels
    Not all of them of course, but some are just repetitive (Tropical Resort 2), too gimmicky (Tropical Resort 3/Frozen Factory 2) or just too hard (Frozen Factory 1).

    2)Bad camera choices: too zoomed in (Windy Hill 3); you can't see where you are going to (Sky Road 2)

    3)Smart Controls are Dumb.
    Serial homing attack deserved it's own button here. You will end up homing on a lot of ememies, not unfrequently onto an offscreen one. Leaving that to the 'L' button would have been a better choice.

    4) Bad introduction to the game mechanics
    Sonic Rush Adventure had a small tutorial that made you understand every little feature of the game, Sonic Colors DS also had a tutorial for each Wisp. Windy Hill tutorial is useless.

    I think with some patches this could have been a 9 or 10 but these flaws... no. They are annoying and game breaking
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    Good- the 3d levels and very well made, graphics are good for the 3ds, parkour is a great idea, you can get a good sense of speed once you get going.
    bad- the control is too sensitive i never feel i have full control over sonic, the 2d levels are not made well and always seem to punish me for going fast, and i never feel like playing levels again after beating them.
    before the fans start raging at me you should know I've been a sonic fan all my life, i've played almost all the game and enjoyed most of them one way or another. i ever enjoy some of the lesser liked titles such as sonic unleashed(including some werehog levels) shadow the hedgehog, and sonic heroes(one of the best in my opinion). i feel that sonic generations was on the right track for sonic games, but with the control problems, and bad 2d levels sonic lost world is just good, not anything more
    Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    While the game looks great and has that awe inspiring bright Sonic color scheme, the game play is terrible, the auto aim control does whatever the hell it wants and the flow gets frustrating after a very short amount of time. I truly despise games that ask more of the player than the mechanics of the game can afford. The camera is possibly one of the worst recent implementations of a camera in a 3D environment I have ever seen.

    All in all, avoid this title.
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    1
    Frozen Factory 3. That is all. As if the game wasn't terrible enough already due to incredibly bad controls, they give me Frozen Factory 3. I actually ragequitted there for real. If you don't believe me, look up the Sonic Lost World 3DS playthrough by Cobanermani456 on youtube. That guy is known for his unbelievable patience, and even he ragequitted on Frozen Factory 3. Later, he did beat it, but then he ragequitted again, permanently, on Sky Road 2.

    This game is the new Sonic 06, avoid at all costs.
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews