• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: Wii U
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Lost World sees Sonic partner with Dr. Eggman to take on six menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    85
    This game is even better on handheld than on console. Sonic looks amazing.
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    80
    Considering how disappointed we were with Generations, Lost World is the Sonic game 3DS deserved. The wealth of tricky environments, hidden items and even four-person races for ambitious players make it a worthwhile purchase, even at $39.99.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    78
    Despite the big problems with the control system, the intriguing level design of Sonic Lost World makes it an excellent platform.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Again, it’s a shame, because there’s good here, but it’s often buried beneath a quagmire of frustration...So, yes, this is a better game than its more powerful counterpart, but Lost World on the 3DS, despite a few excellent asides, remains a largely average, occasionally frustrating outing for Sonic. Again.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    50
    What could be a fluid experience and well organized in terms of design, gives place to a number of gaps and inconsistencies that prevent the game to achieve the desired success.
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    50
    In trying to incorporate 3D environments and ideas from the Wii U title, Dimps has rather tied Sonic's red boots together, causing him to often stumble and fall.
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    20
    Sega obviously tried to emulate aspects of Super Mario Galaxy or other 3D Mario games to make this leap in the Sonic series, but Sonic: Lost World suffers with each “feature” they have added to the Sonic’s successful formula: running and jumping.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 43
  2. Negative: 15 out of 43
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with theI like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with the galaxy like gameplay first. Face it hater retards. This game rocks Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    Sonic Lost World for the 3DS was an amazing to me and I'm here to show my reasons why.
    To start this is Sonic's first fully 3D handheld game
    Sonic Lost World for the 3DS was an amazing to me and I'm here to show my reasons why.
    To start this is Sonic's first fully 3D handheld game which already makes it different from the rest.
    One of the new features is Sonic's parkour ability which in my opinion works better than the Wii U version.
    I love that they brought back the spindash from the adventure series,the spindash had to charge up and although it doesn't turn well you can still use it to get past certain areas with ease.Another thing i must mention is that the boss battles of this game...are simply amazing!!! better than the Wii U version.
    The story and cutscenes are the same as the Wii U version but of course he graphics are lowered to make sure it runs smoothly.I love the return of the old elemental shields not to mention the wisps work pretty well to.Sonic is very slippery at times and the special stages are just plain awful. some puzzles are very slow and take a while. This isn't a full review but I give this game an 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    I don't really understand the hate on people have for this game. Some of the levels are pretty **** but there are quite a few good ones tooI don't really understand the hate on people have for this game. Some of the levels are pretty **** but there are quite a few good ones too and the game is decently long despite the last world being, more or less, taken out. All I ever hear people complain about is the damn snowball level and how it isn't platforming and its holding the game hostage or w/e, and admittedly that level really pissed me off, but it was over pretty fast. I don't get why a game like Wind Waker HD can get a 90. If people think this game is bad, that game is really bad! Literally the whole game is holding the game hostage, and the dungeons aren't even fun when you do get to em. I still haven't beaten the Wii U version of Lost World, but that one is much better despite forcing you to use the stupid tablet as a controller. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    6
    This is a sad game!
    Negatives:
    - Very loose controls flying off to pits. - Long getting hit pause. - WTH, Special Stage. - Boring
    This is a sad game!
    Negatives:
    - Very loose controls flying off to pits.
    - Long getting hit pause.
    - WTH, Special Stage.
    - Boring worlds.
    Positives:
    - Story.
    - Music.
    - Interesting new control mechanics.

    Seriously though, there is a good game hidden here somewhere and I welcome the challenge, if only they improved the controls (Tighter controls) and modified the level design not having mostly 80% pits per level but the other way around.
    Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2014
    6
    Frustrating. if ya wanna a Review in a Nutshell,that's the words to describe it.

    it starts Promissing. The Parkour freatures are easy to
    Frustrating. if ya wanna a Review in a Nutshell,that's the words to describe it.

    it starts Promissing. The Parkour freatures are easy to learn and hard to master,and to me this is ok and the way it should be. Sonic can be controlable in any way you want,and that makes the game able for inteligent game design,that focus much more on platforming than on high speed. and i think that a good balance of both is what makes a sonic game,and dimps made it right.

    but the positives ends here.
    While Windy Hill and Desert Ruin are basically easy levels,the game starts to become more life threatening when you enter Tropical Island. the majority of the next leves are good,but the Gimmicks of wisps,Rockets and Snowball Monsters,in certain levels (Tropical Island act2,Frozen Factory act 3 and Sky Road Act 3) will make you tear your hair off. while Tropical Island and Frozen Factory are still enjoyable with enough practice (that is a good thing in my opnion,and the way it should be),i still did not find a way to play properly in sky road act 3... that level will make you scream... oh boy...

    the error here is the focus on gyro controls, the use of it on Sky Road is confusing,and i cant get it to work properly... and this is a huge disapointment to me. and the Special stages are another case of bad use of gyro controls. while i enjoy the way they are presented to me,like sonic is a jet fighter, stand up,turn the 3DS up and down and all arround (Speed highway reference) made me dizzy a lot of times... i needed to sit down for 2 or 3 minutes after every play on the special stages just to be oriented properly again...i swear you lose your sense of direction playin' that special stages.

    The ammount of Do or Die situations doesn't help either,half the game you can do with no problems,but the other half you'll need to get every gimmick right,or else you'll plummet to the earth and die. with some training you can do it... but prepare to see the game over screen a lot of times if you're not carefull. and for those who just want to run at full speed,NO,this is not the game for you. you need to use your head in a lot of situations,and often slow down a bit. i know it's boring,but for me that's how sonic design should be. not dumbly going at 3000km/h like in generations.and train the use of the wisps because you'll need it... some i like (Laser,Drill,Burst,Lightning),some i dislike(Asteroid,Quake).

    and the bosses: Seriously that they are deadly?! hahaha... they are pushovers in battle. with the right strategy,or the use of wisps,you can take them down in 30 seconds,or less... what makes them look like child's play. but one good point of them is that i like their personality,especially the over the top Zazz... overall they are ok... just easy...

    well the history:
    it's allright in my opnion,and i like the focus on more serious words ("You goin' home in a box,and "I'll get fat from eating your black hearts,you eggman wannabes")... those were the more memorable moments and the cherry in the cake. i personally like it a LOT. but is is adequate for a sonic game?! well... no...
    the story is well writen,and will make you laugh at times... but it has it's hard moments...

    Music: oh my god... if there's one thing that Sonic team and Dimps knows how to do,is the sound track,it is AMAZING. and while i mentioned i hated sky road act 3,it's music is so badass i often turn the game on just to listen to it. every song in this game is beautiful... Dragon Dance,Frozen Factory1 and Juice Archipelago being my favorites.

    RC Vehicles and Itens: the Rc vehicles will be your table of salvation. have them always with you,because you'll gonna need them. my favorites are the Jet,the Stealth Bomber and the Hovercraft. because they are much usefull in their gold modes... but in my opnion the golden vehicles for the most part spoils the game... so,you should only use them in the stages i mentioned before: ESPECIALLY IN SKY ROAD ACT 3. you gonna need the golden hovercraft,believe me... the other ones... the helo is okay and the Omochao... well... kinda unecessary... but okay too... and have always the life capsule item with you,ya gonna need it. make a lot of them and always go on with at least 10 or so of those things.

    My final Veredict: 6/10
    if it wasn't frustrating at some points and used the game design better with less do or die situations it could be ranked much higher. This engine of dimps has promisse,it just needs to be used Right in my opnion. less focus on dificulty and do or die situations,and more focus on inteligent design. if this is done correctly,i can picture it beign much better.
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2014
    4
    I hate the fact that I hate this game, since it actually has a lot going for it.
    Beautiful graphics, and actual 3D Sonic game on a handheld,
    I hate the fact that I hate this game, since it actually has a lot going for it.
    Beautiful graphics, and actual 3D Sonic game on a handheld, good intuitive free-run mechanics.
    But than it has so many things wrong with it that keeps me from fully liking this game.

    The first couple of stages are great, and it made me believe that this game would be something different. Something great.
    But than they start to introduce new mechanics, partnered with some terrible level design. And it just starts going all downhill. Especially when they force you to use the Wisps. These are the worst addition to this game. Sega felt the need to try and make every level feel fresh by forcing you to use Wisps, instead of actually designing their stages around the free run mechanics and the fairly fast platforming.

    For instance; in the first of the Forest levels (I forgot the name of the zone) they make you use a "stone wisp" which you have to roll around with the gyroscope in the 3DS. There's no way to break, and no way to turn back. The only thing you can do is steer, which is really disorientating. Especially when you have to push a switch. Roll over a set of platforms. Make a weird jump onto a switch and than somehow not fall off the too small platform that the switch is one.

    Or the water level where you have to use a wisp to navigate. You use this wisp more than 90% of the level and there is no way to do it without using the wisp. Did I mention that it controls like **** and that you're basically dead whenever you touch something?

    Oh, and the 2D levels, there are a couple of them and they feel glitchy and unfun. Sega has to learn to let 2D Sonic go. They did this in Generations too, where the 3D parts where fantastic, but the 2D segments just felt unnecessary and they really took me out of the action. Though they weren't close to as bad as they are in this game, they were still enjoyable enough to ignore.

    But than they have some levels which are great! The, as previously mentioned, first couple of levels were great and there were some levels that were also fantastic, like the first stage in Frozen Factory Zone, which managed to use the electric Wisp in a fun way, even though it also had a terrible snowboarding segment at the beginning.

    This game really disappointed me. There were some really great levels, incredible graphics for a 3DS and a great soundtrack. But SEGA managed to screw it up by forcing me to use some really sloppy mechanics.
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    1
    Frozen Factory 3. That is all. As if the game wasn't terrible enough already due to incredibly bad controls, they give me Frozen Factory 3. IFrozen Factory 3. That is all. As if the game wasn't terrible enough already due to incredibly bad controls, they give me Frozen Factory 3. I actually ragequitted there for real. If you don't believe me, look up the Sonic Lost World 3DS playthrough by Cobanermani456 on youtube. That guy is known for his unbelievable patience, and even he ragequitted on Frozen Factory 3. Later, he did beat it, but then he ragequitted again, permanently, on Sky Road 2.

    This game is the new Sonic 06, avoid at all costs.
    Collapse

See all 43 User Reviews