User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 172

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    This game is criminally short. What you actually play is so fun and wonderful and at times fairly challenging. It's just a con putting this game out though at a full £40 initial price because there is nowhere near enough content despite being utterly brilliant all the way through. And I'm sorry but online 16 player dogfights woould hae been immense!!!!
  2. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    I never had the luxury of playing the original Starfox 64 way back when, so playing Starfox 64 3d was a whole new experience. I must say, It is a superb game. The graphics are totally new and look sharp and provide some good looking effects. The analog controls are smooth and the gyro is fun (albeit not something I use often). And, most importantly, it is just plain enjoyable. It providesI never had the luxury of playing the original Starfox 64 way back when, so playing Starfox 64 3d was a whole new experience. I must say, It is a superb game. The graphics are totally new and look sharp and provide some good looking effects. The analog controls are smooth and the gyro is fun (albeit not something I use often). And, most importantly, it is just plain enjoyable. It provides a good, solid challenge and huge amounts of replay value, and although it unfortunately lacks online play, the local play is fair fun if you have some friends with a 3ds (not to mention it's download play!). I highly recommend this game to any 3ds owner. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    This was one of nintendo 64 best game and now its on the 3DS. One of the year best 3ds games. SO far this is the best 3d effect game. If you have a 3ds this is the game to get. There is no doubt , get it. It is worth the money.It has a lot of level and very fun to play. If you loved the 64 version then you will love this version even better.
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Awesome remake of what I consider to be the best N64 game of all time, the only issue I can thin of is that there is nothing new in this game at all. Not that the original game needed anything new to warrant a re-release, it would have been nice to see Nintendo go the extra mile and maybe add in a few new levels and online play, the later of which is a huge letdown. Still the originalAwesome remake of what I consider to be the best N64 game of all time, the only issue I can thin of is that there is nothing new in this game at all. Not that the original game needed anything new to warrant a re-release, it would have been nice to see Nintendo go the extra mile and maybe add in a few new levels and online play, the later of which is a huge letdown. Still the original experience has stuck with me till this day and I remember fondly when I was a kid playing this thing from dusk till dawn. If for nothing else, the nostalgia factor alone would warrant buying this game. However I can't give it a perfect score because of the things I mentioned above and the 3D is pretty hit or miss on most levels. It's still usable most of the time, unlike some other 3DS games that have been released so far. Everyone who owns a 3DS should buy this game because it really is that fun. However your most likely going to get more out of the single-player than anything else because of the lack of online play. Still, if you own the system, this is easily in the top 5 of best games on the system. Buy it today. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    As another reviewer said, it's "criminally short", and that's an understatement. Within the brief time (a couple days) I owned this game, I had beaten the game several times seeking out every variation and path I could find. I guess if I had been a bigger fan of the original then maybe this would be more fun.
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Nice that it's now possible to take such a game with you that was only playable on a big console 10 years ago. The 3D and gyro controls work well.
  7. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    I loved playing Star Fox 64 (Lylat Wars being the UK name) when i was younger when I heard a remake was on the way, I had high hopes. This remake is what I expected it to be. Amazing upgraded graphics, remixed music and the same great game play that made the game so amazing back in the day. There is the 3DS mode where you can play the game using the gyro controls which are great and thereI loved playing Star Fox 64 (Lylat Wars being the UK name) when i was younger when I heard a remake was on the way, I had high hopes. This remake is what I expected it to be. Amazing upgraded graphics, remixed music and the same great game play that made the game so amazing back in the day. There is the 3DS mode where you can play the game using the gyro controls which are great and there is the Nintendo 64 mode which recreates the controls and feel of the original N64 game. There are 15 levels in the game but you play through 7 of them to get to the final boss. Every level has a secret to going through different paths which gives you access to harder routes and levels. The game has a classic arcade feel to it about trying to get the high score and level secrets. The characters are very memorable and the dialog is classic being home to many classic memes such as "Do a barrel roll!" I highly recommend getting this game if youâ Expand
  8. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    Fans only.

    Would NOT recommend paying for this if you're curious about it and have never played the original. It's incredibly short and simple. The story is hilariously bad, as is the dialogue and voice acting. It's entertaining the same way an arcade game is, but it's very very easy. You can't compare this to Skyrim, LA Noire, and other AAA titles, it's a throwback and that's all. Buy
    Fans only.

    Would NOT recommend paying for this if you're curious about it and have never played the original. It's incredibly short and simple. The story is hilariously bad, as is the dialogue and voice acting. It's entertaining the same way an arcade game is, but it's very very easy.

    You can't compare this to Skyrim, LA Noire, and other AAA titles, it's a throwback and that's all. Buy it for the nostalgia, if you're new to the series.. be warned it will not be worth your 40 quid.
    Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    If You've Played Star Fox 64 Before, And Have Loved It, Then You'll Love It On The 3DS! Though If You're Familiar With All The Levels And Such, This Game May Seem Too Easy, Or A Bit Old, But The New Graphics And Score Mode Make This Game A Worthy Buy.
  10. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    Sadly star fox 3ds besides the enchaced graphics doesn´t offers much extra content, the new things are a level select mode (score attack) and a gyroscope feature that allows to control the arwing by steering the device in different directions unfortunatly that feature is not recommended with 3d on beacause the efect is lost by the movement and is way better if you play it withSadly star fox 3ds besides the enchaced graphics doesn´t offers much extra content, the new things are a level select mode (score attack) and a gyroscope feature that allows to control the arwing by steering the device in different directions unfortunatly that feature is not recommended with 3d on beacause the efect is lost by the movement and is way better if you play it with the circle pad. Theres also a multiplayer game mode with computer boots and a local connection, but no online. Despite that star fox is a shoot em up game with a sweet gameplay is very simple but very addictive, yeah the game is short but earning medals and unlocking all the level add more replay value also score attack so if you like fliying shooting games you can´t miss this one. Expand
  11. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    The original star fox 64 was the best game i have ever played, and the new 3ds version is good too. Although, I would have liked to see new levels along with the old ones. The only other faults the game has are the new soundtrack and the voice acting, in my opinion, they should have kept them the same.
  12. May 15, 2012
    9
    Now this is a remake done with class. They have got the original game here, it even looks like the original, except with incredibly awesome graphics, there were some points that surprised me by how good they looked. Everything from the original is here, except from the very hard to unlock multiplayer mode from the original. If you liked the original, you will love this. If you haven'tNow this is a remake done with class. They have got the original game here, it even looks like the original, except with incredibly awesome graphics, there were some points that surprised me by how good they looked. Everything from the original is here, except from the very hard to unlock multiplayer mode from the original. If you liked the original, you will love this. If you haven't played the original you will love this. The only problem is that it's very short, but you will play it through at least 3 times in order to have played all the levels, 3 times on hard (N64) mode if you wish and you have multiplayer (no online or unlock-able on-foot mode) and the ability to play through each level in order to get the highest score you can. All in all, this is a very good game that all 3ds owners should have at least tried. Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game. I will tell you now if you do not enjoy replaying games and going for perfect scores then probably avoid. This game has either a ton of re-playability or none and will take you a day or 2 to finish. I enjoy replaying this over and over trying to find the best routes to get the best scores. No there are no achievements, but there is something else, FUN.
  14. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    Well, the original game is already a Master Piece, and this is technically the same game, so, there's no much to say...

    Going to the ''Remake'' side, now the game has a very beautiful visuals, the liquid-based elements looks gorgeous, such as the water and the lava. The game now have an ''Easy'' mode for those who never played the original and are not used to the game, and also, allows
    Well, the original game is already a Master Piece, and this is technically the same game, so, there's no much to say...

    Going to the ''Remake'' side, now the game has a very beautiful visuals, the liquid-based elements looks gorgeous, such as the water and the lava. The game now have an ''Easy'' mode for those who never played the original and are not used to the game, and also, allows veteran players to try out the new gyroscope-based controls. The game now features a Challenge mode in which you can freely play the levels you want and challenge yourself to set high scores in order to get medals, Also, the game includes a refined multiplayer mode which can be played via download play w/ one single card.

    Talking of the multiplayer mode, Nintendo missed a huge opportunity to put Online play in the game, which is well suited for that, especially after seeing the very cool online multiplayer of Command on DS, I think this is the only bad (And very bad) point of the game.
    Expand
  15. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    This was one of the Highlights of the N64 and now they are bringing it back to the 3DS, and it uses the capabilities better that OOT, with missiles, lasers and more shooting at you RIGHT OUT FROM THE SCREEN!!!
    If you even slightly liked the N64 Original, then you will love this: get it. I say it's worth up to 40 quid, cause I think its better than OOT 3D. Yes, I know there are only 15
    This was one of the Highlights of the N64 and now they are bringing it back to the 3DS, and it uses the capabilities better that OOT, with missiles, lasers and more shooting at you RIGHT OUT FROM THE SCREEN!!!
    If you even slightly liked the N64 Original, then you will love this: get it. I say it's worth up to 40 quid, cause I think its better than OOT 3D. Yes, I know there are only 15 levels. Yes, I know you only play through 7 of them... BUT this has got some AMAZING replay value: 7 stages, takes 3 runs to play all stages, then play it on N 64 Mode, Expert Mode, 3DS gyro on and 3DS gyro off, already gives you an excuse to play this AT LEAST 12 times over.
    Expand
  16. Sep 14, 2011
    7
    There's no doubt that Star Fox 64 3D is a fine remake of an old classic, but some people may find it very short. To complete the story once takes only an hour, however the game was clearly made to be played repeatedly as there are multiple routes/missions through the story. Other routes included it took me under 5 hours to complete. Multiplayer not being online is a massive flaw, to sayThere's no doubt that Star Fox 64 3D is a fine remake of an old classic, but some people may find it very short. To complete the story once takes only an hour, however the game was clearly made to be played repeatedly as there are multiple routes/missions through the story. Other routes included it took me under 5 hours to complete. Multiplayer not being online is a massive flaw, to say that Star Fox is such a fun game for everybody. You can, once the story is completed, try the score attack mode and get medals on each mission, but for some people this isn't very appealing. Nintendo could have at least thrown in a few new bonus missions/routes to figure out. However, the graphics and controls are far superior to the original and make a great game even greater. Expand
  17. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    This is the ideal 3DS game: Great 3D effects, short and tricky levels, pretty much perfect controls, a great storyline and voice acting and of course, fun. I've only played it for a good 30 minutes, but..well... it's just great. Don't know why I'm not giving it a 10, but 9 seems like the perfect score for it.
  18. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    A great game for the 3DS that beats our the original on the N64. Perfect use of the 3D capabilities as well as the thumb stick, and pretty visually stunning when compared to the original. So much fun! It's in-depth and challenging enough to want to master, find all the secret routes and blast out some high scores, while at the same time easy enough to have a quick pick-me-up. Buy this -A great game for the 3DS that beats our the original on the N64. Perfect use of the 3D capabilities as well as the thumb stick, and pretty visually stunning when compared to the original. So much fun! It's in-depth and challenging enough to want to master, find all the secret routes and blast out some high scores, while at the same time easy enough to have a quick pick-me-up. Buy this - it's so fun! Expand
  19. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Star Fox 64 3d is a fantastic game the boasts gorgeous graphics, a nice soundtrack, a some lasting appeal. The graphics are one of the biggest if not the biggest the highlight of the game. The game just looks beautiful. The framerate never drops. Even when the screen got hectic I experienced no slowdown. A huge step up from the original. They use the same MIDI soundtrack. It sets the moodStar Fox 64 3d is a fantastic game the boasts gorgeous graphics, a nice soundtrack, a some lasting appeal. The graphics are one of the biggest if not the biggest the highlight of the game. The game just looks beautiful. The framerate never drops. Even when the screen got hectic I experienced no slowdown. A huge step up from the original. They use the same MIDI soundtrack. It sets the mood nicely, but in the end it's only MIDI. The game features different paths to take like the original so they're is some replay value there; however, even with the secret paths you could chug through the main quest in 2-3 hours max. The multiplayer is a sweet bonus. It has 4 stages you can battle your friends on. The multiplayer supports 4 players via download play. It has single card play which is convenient. This game really freaking needed online play, but unfortunately it's not there. Overall the game is a great remake of an already great game. Highly consider picking this one up. Final Score: 8.5. DO A BARREL ROLL! Expand
  20. Sep 22, 2011
    8
    This game was one of the reasons I bought a 3DS. Star Fox 64 remains to be one of my all time favorite games to this day, and that likely won't change. I love me some Star Fox, I even liked Adventures. Say what you want, I thought Star Fox Adventures was a good game. Not spectacular mind you, but still good. But that's a review for another day, let's talk about the remake of a classic. IThis game was one of the reasons I bought a 3DS. Star Fox 64 remains to be one of my all time favorite games to this day, and that likely won't change. I love me some Star Fox, I even liked Adventures. Say what you want, I thought Star Fox Adventures was a good game. Not spectacular mind you, but still good. But that's a review for another day, let's talk about the remake of a classic. I won't go into details of the story and gameplay too much, since most of you already know this game by heart after playing through it so many times on N64, so I'll just be focusing on the improvements that were made, and how it compares to the original. When Nintendo announced this remake, I actually laughed. It wasn't just a laugh of joy, it was a laugh AT kind of laugh. The reason is because this has been done before. Many people don't realize this, but Star Fox 64 was actually a remake of the original Star Fox on the Super Nintendo. So it's a remake of a remake? Brilliant! LOL Still, regardless of how funny this is, I was still excited. After all, what Nintendo fan doesn't want to do a barrel roll in 3D? Getting into this game, when you first start up the story mode, it activates Training mode, which you must play through before getting to the actual game. This was a bit annoying, but don't worry, you don't have to do training mode every time you start a game, only the first time. Still, I think Nintendo should have made it optional even on first play, but it's ok, because training mode is kind of fun in itself. Once you're done with training mode, you're asked what control scheme you want. You have the choice of either gyro scope, or traditional N64 controls. Gyro scope is not as well used as it was in Zelda OOT 3D, in fact it's more of an annoyance in this game. It's good if you really want to challenge yourself, but you're better off sticking with N64 controls. The first thing you notice about this game is that the graphics have been greatly improved. The game looks so much better than the original, I actually went back to the original to compare the two, and now that I've played the 3DS version, the original's graphics look like crap now. The environments look much more detailed than before. My favorite planets have to be Macbeth and Zoness. The detail of Macbeth is improved by adding stones and debris on the ground, while Zoness has greatly improved the sludge water below you. The water in Zoness looks real, and is extremely well animated, I've never been so impressed with how good water looks in a game. But of course, there's the addition of 3D with no glasses required. I have to be perfectly honest though, the 3D effect looks very flat. It's not a game that needs to be played in 3D, like Zelda OOT 3D. When I had the 3D on, I didn't feel like I could reach into the screen and grab something, it just popped a little bit. So this game is just as effective and fun when 3D is off, and since 3D will cut your battery life in half, it just seems unnecessary for this game. Still, it was a decent attempt. One thing I noticed right away, that pissed me off, was the different voices. Yeah, that's right, they CHANGED THE VOICES!! A remake of Star Fox 64, a game with the most memorable voice lines in gaming history, has DIFFERENT VOICES! That is a major disappointment to me, because it just wasn't needed. The lines are still the same, but they changed the actual voices. If you're going to remake a game with such memorable voice lines, you have to keep the voices the same. The new voice actors are okay, but they don't measure up to the original voices, and I think any Star Fox fan will agree with this. The multiplayer is slightly improved by adding a few more maps and battle modes. The problem with the multiplayer though, is the absence of online. Everyone was anticipating the addition of online multiplayer to their favorite N64 game, but it didn't happen. The multiplayer is strictly local, so you'll need to find 3 other friends who have 3DS's and copies of Star Fox 64 3D, which is really uncalled for since the 3DS is fully capable of great online. It's fun if you can get enough 3DS owners together, but the absence of online takes away from the multiplayers quality. Still, the multiplayer is in every way better than the original Star Fox 64 multiplayer, you'll just have a hard time playing it. Another cool add on is the addition of Score Attack, in which you can play a planet you've played before, instantly, and tackle the high score. This is a cool thing to have if you're out and about, and you just don't have time to play through the story, but want to play through a certain level in the game. Overall, Star Fox 64 3D is fun, and is a definite must get for 3DS owners. But is it as good as the original? No, it's not. Still, it's good to see Nintendo introducing this classic to the younger generation that missed out, so with that, it's a great game. 8/10. Expand
  21. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    As you've no doubt already heard from the general consensus, Lylat Wars/Star Fox 64 on the Nintendo 64 was a fantastic and addictive little scrolling shooter. Now, as far as remakes go, Star Fox 64 3D is impressive in that it's both very faithful to the original material and has changed enough to make the game feel fresh. Nintendo EAD and Q-Games, the joint developers, have really pushedAs you've no doubt already heard from the general consensus, Lylat Wars/Star Fox 64 on the Nintendo 64 was a fantastic and addictive little scrolling shooter. Now, as far as remakes go, Star Fox 64 3D is impressive in that it's both very faithful to the original material and has changed enough to make the game feel fresh. Nintendo EAD and Q-Games, the joint developers, have really pushed the graphical capabilities of the 3DS to make this game look, frankly, beautiful. Anyone who's played the original game will be able to appreciate the sheer increase in detail of the environments and characters, particularly the Corneria and Venom stages. The 3D effect has been toned down for Star Fox 64 3D, something I consider a wise move from Nintendo as I don't feel the fast and hectic nature of this game would have complimented an intense 3D effect. It would have hindered gameplay and done a number on the player's eyes no doubt. The gameplay is relatively simple. Fans of the N64 version know what to expect, and newcomers can learn the ropes fairly easily. You move forward automatically on a fixed path and you shoot or dodge whatever tries to get in your way. You'll find in some stages your actions can influence the path that you take, leading you to an easier/harder route, a different boss, or even an alternate stage upon completion. Multiple paths and medals awarded for high scores gives this very short game (about an hour to an hour and a half from start to end) heaps of replay value, and that's not even considering the new gyroscope-controlled 3DS mode, which is an easier version of main game controlled completely through physically moving the 3DS. It essentially doubles the amount of stuff you have to do to 100% the game. No game is without it's shortcomings however, and Star Fox 64 3D has a bit too many for my liking. Most prominent of said shortcomings is the distinct lack on online multiplayer. It was recently revealed by Nintendo that the development team didn't want to simply tack on an online mode (despite doing so with many games in the past) so just omitted it altogether. Considering Star Fox fans have been waiting for some form of online mode for years and that this was a perfect opportunity, I see the exclusion as extremely disappointing. There's also the similarly unforgivable lack of the original voice acting. Star Fox 64 was infamous for it's voice acting and dialogue, which was the definition of so-bad-it's-good. Granted, they hired a lot of the same voice actors for the new voice-overs and recreated the tones and the accents impressively well for every character, but honestly is it so hard to put in an option for the original voices? It baffles me, it really does.

    One minor gripe I had as well was with the control scheme for "N64 mode", in particular the circle pad, the means of navigation. It takes some getting used to because it seems as if the aiming or aiming sensitivity is a bit off. When first playing the game I found it significantly more difficult to hit targets that I would have otherwise done with ease on the original version. Practice has made this less of a problem, but I still run into trouble from time to time, especially when the action picks up in later levels. So that's something to watch out for. Overall, it's a faithful and impressive remake. The new voices are surprisingly well done,but I'll perpetually be disappointed with the inability to experience the original voices in the remake. I can't fault the graphical side of things because it really is beautiful, and there's plenty of replay value to keep both fans and newcomers entertained for a while. The lack of an online mode is unforgivable however. A massive wasted opportunity and a void that single-cart local multiplayer simply can't fill. If you're looking for a fun and addictive single-player experience that's easy to play in short bursts or for hours on end, this is for you.
    Expand
  22. Oct 9, 2011
    7
    Star Fox 64 3D is a fantastic game at it's base however this remake feels like it could have added so much more. The gameplay itself is tight with great controls and an N64 or N3DS alternative for controls you can't go wrong with how the game itself plays, It's Star Fox 64 but better. Implementation of 3D and new presentation and graphics makes this game look colorful and fantastic withStar Fox 64 3D is a fantastic game at it's base however this remake feels like it could have added so much more. The gameplay itself is tight with great controls and an N64 or N3DS alternative for controls you can't go wrong with how the game itself plays, It's Star Fox 64 but better. Implementation of 3D and new presentation and graphics makes this game look colorful and fantastic with explosions here and there really complimenting the graphic style. Now where the problem comes in is with the lack of additional functions within the game, such as an online mode or additional time attack modes etc..
    The game has added local multiplayer which is extremely fun and a pleasure to play with a set of friends, however this feature falls flat if you don't have friends with a 3DS system which is disappointing. Graphics: 8
    Presentation:8
    Gameplay: 7
    Longevity: 6
    Sound: 7
    Expand
  23. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic port, and overall it's a winner if you loved the original Star Fox 64. The graphics are great; the 3D effects on this game beat anything on the 3DS released so far. Everything you loved is still there, and if that plus a facelift is all you need, 40 bucks is worth it.

    However, I was disappointed by the lack of online multiplayer. I know no one else who owns a 3DS, much
    This is a fantastic port, and overall it's a winner if you loved the original Star Fox 64. The graphics are great; the 3D effects on this game beat anything on the 3DS released so far. Everything you loved is still there, and if that plus a facelift is all you need, 40 bucks is worth it.

    However, I was disappointed by the lack of online multiplayer. I know no one else who owns a 3DS, much less three people, so it's a bit of a wasted opportunity for Nintendo. That along with the game's relatively short length (albeit no shorter than the original) costs a couple points. I'm still happy with my purchase, but these are things you'll want to take into account when deciding.
    Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Great game but there are problems. There is not all the multiplayer content from the n64 version with landmasters and even ground based gameplay with little to no new gameplay stuff here. But, this has some of the most addicting gameplay ever with scores making the player come back for more and more control customization with smoother graphics and frame rate.
  25. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Starfox comes back!!! The magical game of N64 now in a "remake" version. For 3ds this game is very good, because we can play it for a short time many times and the 3d is great. Differents ways to play this game, but maybe a little short.
  26. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Great revision of the original Star fox 64. The graphics update is incredible and it's play control is tight and responsive. The only down side to the game is that it does not include new levels. Also, there is no online multiplayer. The addition of these features would have greatly improved an already wonderful game. I've logged many hours on it trying to obtain medals, and stillGreat revision of the original Star fox 64. The graphics update is incredible and it's play control is tight and responsive. The only down side to the game is that it does not include new levels. Also, there is no online multiplayer. The addition of these features would have greatly improved an already wonderful game. I've logged many hours on it trying to obtain medals, and still cannot put it down. I would highly recommend the game. Expand
  27. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Not the best 3DS game out there, but not that bad either. I never played the original, but the graphics looks absolutely amazing and has some of the best graphics on the system! But the lack of online connectivity is just disappointing and there is not much to do after you finish all of the modes. Definitely a must-have game for 3DS owners.
  28. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    This gameis another must have for the 3ds and brings backs memories of the 64 days, but this verison has better graphics then the 64 by a long shot. the 3d affect is amazing and the Starfox 64 3D levels really do look amazing on a handheld. the only thing that sets this game back is online play. i wish Nintendo would stop being lazy and made online play but other then that u have to get.
  29. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This game is remade beautifully for such a portable device. The oceans, The textures, The maps, All remade as if it were on a console. Although, Star Fox 64 3D does have a flaw. The voice acting is terrible and it sounds as if it were being done by one person, They should've just sticked to the old voice acting from the N64 version instead of this crap. Other than that... This is one hellThis game is remade beautifully for such a portable device. The oceans, The textures, The maps, All remade as if it were on a console. Although, Star Fox 64 3D does have a flaw. The voice acting is terrible and it sounds as if it were being done by one person, They should've just sticked to the old voice acting from the N64 version instead of this crap. Other than that... This is one hell of a awesome remake and I would suggest buying it for your 3ds. Expand
  30. Dec 4, 2011
    8
    Star fox 64 was originally a N64 game which has been remade on the 3DS. The graphics have definitely improved from the original with a higher polygon count and faster FPS but still with the same art style of the N64 game. The Star fox 64 3d tells of a group of futuristic spaceship or â
  31. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i believe, as you can tell from the score, this game is astonishing. but your opinion may be different based on who you are. people who have played the game before will know and love it. the perfect controls of the n64 game feel like they are impossibly even better for this machine. hard to notice, but the best controls are never meant to be noticed as they immerse you in the game more. the characters, however flawed, are classics, and although they are ridiculous, everyone would complain if they were altered, and alas, they are still there, and not a single line has been changed. which for purists, is a good thing, as they will remember this game as having that, and despite being a bit bad, it was part of the original's character. The game is stunning to look at. the 3d adds a lot, but the graphical overhaul overrall passes for the best looking game so far on the console. however, no game should ever be judged by it's graphics, and this is no different. the gameplay was allways going to be classic since it works so, so well. the controls, as mentioned before are seamless, both using the face buttons and the gyro controls, though most will probably use the face buttons, as they are simply more intuitive. the amazing shooting has lost none of it's edge, and to an extent has a moderate amount of strategy to getting the highest scores on each level, conserving your bombs and charging lasers to get the highest score.

    and trust me, you will be going for the highest score, as this game is short. 15 levels long in fact, and you can only play 7 in a playthrough. this game is only about an hour long, and that may leave non completists livid, as they will be done right then.

    however, the joy of this game is playing it again and again. because each of those 15 stages are legendary and a showcase in level design. and to unlock everything in the game, you will need to get amazing scores on each of those levels. and that is no mean feat, especially on some of the harder levels such as zoness and area 6. the levels are also highly balanced. kids can be easily trundling along on levels on the easy route, but their dads can take the game often and show them how to do it on the hard route, which gets seriously hard. there is also some middle ground, which is good for both to have a challenge or to gain more points. the multiplayer is okay, but nothing revolutionary. online would have made this game a 10, but alas, all you have is download play, which is reasonable. you get the feeling online would be possible with this game as well, being a remake of a 14 year old game. alas, no.

    as for new things, you get a score attack mode, where you play a single mission and aim for a high score. a welcome sight, if not an obvious inclusion. there is also a variance of difficulty, 3ds, n64, and expert, though you need medals in all of the levels to unlock expert, which is no mean feat. 3ds mode is easier than the original, and is tailored to using the gyro controls, which do slighty impede on the amount of accuracy you have, and to newer players of this generation bred on easy gaming. n64 is almost identical to the original, and what most players will play the most often. but this game is not easy on any difficulty, and you are asking for a challenge buying it.

    in the end, most will enjoy this family friendly romp of excitement, but i can understand why people would not like it, and it doesn't seem to push the hardware to its extremes. however, it is the most fun you can have on a 3ds now, and has the longetivity to make it an essential purchase, if you are prepared to play one of the best games ever - again and again.
    Expand
  32. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    The original star fox 64 is my favorite game of all time and the ONLY game I have given a 10 so far. Is the remake any better? Well somehow, its possible to have a personally perfect game, be more perfect it seems! Star fox 64 3DS is a must have for all fans of shooters and sci fi, the visuals have been enhanced and they are the best the 3DS has to offer, the gameplay is very variedThe original star fox 64 is my favorite game of all time and the ONLY game I have given a 10 so far. Is the remake any better? Well somehow, its possible to have a personally perfect game, be more perfect it seems! Star fox 64 3DS is a must have for all fans of shooters and sci fi, the visuals have been enhanced and they are the best the 3DS has to offer, the gameplay is very varied featuring different paths to take, getting medals is a challenge, and expert mode even more. This is the perfect game to have portable that you can quickly play and enjoy at the moment. Soundtrack is excellent and voiceovers and story very engaging. Slippy is annoying (not as annoying as Jar Jar Binks of course) but can't help but love the fact as well. Is simply beautiful, I just need a sequel now. A really long game doesn't mean its a good one, because in the ending parts you will get tired no matter how great a game like that is. This game you can play it and will play it many times! Expand
  33. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    Another re-mastered classic on the 3DS and it is amazing how improved the graphics look in this game. The controls even feel more natural. The gyro controls are nice but very forgettable. The addition of a battle mode and score attack give this game a high replay value. With that being said, it is a very short game and can be beaten easily under one hour. The alternate paths withinAnother re-mastered classic on the 3DS and it is amazing how improved the graphics look in this game. The controls even feel more natural. The gyro controls are nice but very forgettable. The addition of a battle mode and score attack give this game a high replay value. With that being said, it is a very short game and can be beaten easily under one hour. The alternate paths within missions also offer great replay value but there is a lack of challenging boss fights. That's not to say all the boss fights come up short of course. It holds true to the original and has found a new home on the 3DS and with a new generation. Expand
  34. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    I can easily go along with all of the positive and mixed reviews here. The game's 3D is astounding and the story and alternate missions provide a good challenge. Yes, I realize that this game is short and I beat it one day after I got it, but the multiplayer and medals system makes up for that. Well done over all.
  35. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Well presented update of the classic shooter, although many of the same problems of "on the rail" game play still are present here. Also the 3d can get a little buggy in some of the more intense scenes. Otherwise a great time with nice action and great controls.
  36. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Starfox is just as good as it used to be, but now with awesome HD textures. The ability to save is welcome, but you get a little bonus recognition on the scoreboard for doing it in one sitting like the good old days. Multiplayer is cool but there REALLY should have been online. Because of the local-only, this game hardly ever gets broken out since I played the campaign a few times. If IStarfox is just as good as it used to be, but now with awesome HD textures. The ability to save is welcome, but you get a little bonus recognition on the scoreboard for doing it in one sitting like the good old days. Multiplayer is cool but there REALLY should have been online. Because of the local-only, this game hardly ever gets broken out since I played the campaign a few times. If I could play random people online, you better believe I'd be dogfighting every day. Haven't bothered with the gyro stuff, classic controls are my thing. Expand
  37. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Star fox 64 3D is an awesome space-shooter game that has incredible graphics & 3D, fun game-play and a great soundtrack. The land master missions aren't quite as good as the other missions, but hey, they're still great! I've never experienced the apparent glory of the original Star fox 64, but i truly love the 3DS remake.
  38. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This game was really good and plus this has been my first to play this game because I have never played this on any other system the multi-player mode was pretty good.
  39. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Beautiful game! Solid and faithful port from the n64 version with some updated graphics. gameplay wise it's okay and kinda sufferable when you use the gyro controls (which i think is more of a gimmick but i played through most of the game with it off.)

    all in all, if you like these sorts of games, you'll love this. if you're not a fan of shooters, however, might want to hold out as it is
    Beautiful game! Solid and faithful port from the n64 version with some updated graphics. gameplay wise it's okay and kinda sufferable when you use the gyro controls (which i think is more of a gimmick but i played through most of the game with it off.)

    all in all, if you like these sorts of games, you'll love this. if you're not a fan of shooters, however, might want to hold out as it is a fairly short game with a moderate-to-low amount of replayability.
    Expand
  40. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    What there IS of it is good. But I just cannot tell anyone, in good conscience, to buy this game and spend $30+ on it. I beat this game in less than 3 hours, and was like what, "That's It?". Definitely agree with the "criminally short" comment.
  41. May 22, 2012
    9
    I never got a chance to play the original Star Fox 64 so I'm really happy that they remade this for the 3DS. It's a blast to play and packs a few fun modes and has such high replay value that it ensures that it will stay in your 3DS for a very long time. I think the multiplayer could have been better, and the campaign is pretty short, the high replay value and multiple paths will keep youI never got a chance to play the original Star Fox 64 so I'm really happy that they remade this for the 3DS. It's a blast to play and packs a few fun modes and has such high replay value that it ensures that it will stay in your 3DS for a very long time. I think the multiplayer could have been better, and the campaign is pretty short, the high replay value and multiple paths will keep you coming back to it, and the multiplayer does only require one person to have the game do to download mode. The Score Attack mode which has you playing through campaign levels again for high scores is also strangely addicting, the 3DS version also supports Gyroscope controls which work well, but I personally preferred to play without them, along with new gorgeous updated graphics that look even better in 3D (seriously this game is made better in every way with 3D effect turned on). This game is awesome with cool bosses and the most insanely crazy final boss of all time (it will freak you out), missions, and gameplay. So if you missed it the first time around like me, do yourself a favor and pick this awesomely cool game up. Expand
  42. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    A magnificent remake of Star Fox 64 from Nintendo 64. Best textures, good special effects and superb 3D. But there is one drawback - the game is too short and there is no additional content.
  43. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    Star Fox 64 is a timeless classic. The game has a forgettable story, BUT the gameplay is just PHENOMENAL. It is like nothing any game has ever seen before. When you add the kickass flight gameplay, the great voice acting and new stunning 3DS visuals, this game is a steal.If you have never played this game before, do yourself a favor.
  44. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    An amazingly awesome game. The gameplay is superb, and the gyro controls work well. Voice acting and dialogue are a little corny, but that's part of the appeal. A must-buy for the 3DS, and does Lylat Wars proud!
  45. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    The Fox still works. The levels are okay. But the game feels old and some levels are boring. Plus; the game is far, FAR too short. 2, 3 hours max and you can beat all the levels in the game. The game is good. Yes. But Pullblox has more content. This isn't worth the price tag!
  46. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    Breathtaking 3-D. Engage in blistering laser-streaked ariel combat
  47. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Everything you loved about Star Fox 64 is abck and updated for the better. The 3d makes flight look great although I was not a fan of Gyro controls, despite it being a neat idea. All the content you had in 64 is here including the multiplayer. Although leaving Online out was a bad move the game is still worth a purchase in my book.
    Let's hope Fox finally gets a new game on WiiU now.
  48. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Very good, but not for everyone. This game is very good, There's no doubt about it. The gameplay is identical to the n64 version (just dont use the gyro controls, they are awful). The fun is still here and playing the game and completing it still feels rewarding. However, If you played it on the n64 you will remember that it's actually not a very long game. There are basically 3 routes toVery good, but not for everyone. This game is very good, There's no doubt about it. The gameplay is identical to the n64 version (just dont use the gyro controls, they are awful). The fun is still here and playing the game and completing it still feels rewarding. However, If you played it on the n64 you will remember that it's actually not a very long game. There are basically 3 routes to complete and accomplishments, but overall you can reach the last boss in tens of minutes. This is okay if you are expecting this kind of game, but if you are not fond of doing the same routes over and over for accomplishments, then maybe the retail price is a bit high for what you get from this game. As for myself, i love it. Expand
  49. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    Is someone calling this a $40 experience? That person is a fool. This is a relic of a time way back then. Zelda 64 is at least the best game ever made. This is a $10 arcade game that was a joke forever. Nintendo, you losers, if you're gonna charge $40 for an old lost game, make it one of the best, you terrible business people.
  50. Jun 23, 2013
    2
    Star Fox 64 was an incredible game.......when it came out in the 90's. In my personal opinion, this is one of the VERY few classics that should not have seen a remake of it. First off, the only thing that the game benefits from is enhanced graphics and level select. Other than that, the voices are kept at a very low, crappy N64 quality instead of redone and enhanced to match the updatedStar Fox 64 was an incredible game.......when it came out in the 90's. In my personal opinion, this is one of the VERY few classics that should not have seen a remake of it. First off, the only thing that the game benefits from is enhanced graphics and level select. Other than that, the voices are kept at a very low, crappy N64 quality instead of redone and enhanced to match the updated graphics. Secondly, the Gyro Controls are not as mind-blowing as people claim, as I see it. The Gyro Controls are awful in enclosed and very public spaces, which has always led to me always having them off. Basically, this game is Super Mario 64 DS all over again. Better graphics, sad new features. Expand
  51. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed this game very much.

    Some of the things I disliked however was that some of the challenges of getting a certain grade at levels in order for unlockables were just way to hard for me. I'm not great at video games, but by no means anywhere below average either. These are some of the things that ruined the lasting appeal of it for me. It is still a very good game worth
    I enjoyed this game very much.

    Some of the things I disliked however was that some of the challenges of getting a certain grade at levels in order for unlockables were just way to hard for me.
    I'm not great at video games, but by no means anywhere below average either.

    These are some of the things that ruined the lasting appeal of it for me.
    It is still a very good game worth looking into.

    Not as good as Star Fox Assault for the GameCube however, which is my personal favorite in the series.

    6 out of 10
    Expand
  52. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    Star Fox 64 3D is really good, but the voice acting though is awful and the multiplayer is nowhere close to being fun either. I still prefer playing this on the N64. Score: 2/5.
  53. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    I wish they had made a new game on the Wii instead to be honest.. And making a remake of a reboot is kinda pushing it a little.. Don't know why exactly, but as a fan of the first game, if they'd ever have to do a remake, I'd rather have had a remake of the SNES game, set in the SNES continuity. They could even had joined SF2 SNES with it and make a nice little bundle of awesome! AndI wish they had made a new game on the Wii instead to be honest.. And making a remake of a reboot is kinda pushing it a little.. Don't know why exactly, but as a fan of the first game, if they'd ever have to do a remake, I'd rather have had a remake of the SNES game, set in the SNES continuity. They could even had joined SF2 SNES with it and make a nice little bundle of awesome! And without the "graphics are ugly" factor that seems to put off lots of people with these games!

    But I'm getting a little off topic.. The game is nice. The graphics were well updated, everything feel like the original but in higher details. There was some retconning though, notably corneria's "moon" isn't where the training stage takes place, and a couple of other things, like falco doesn't mention einstein anymore..

    They remade the voice acting from scratch and even re-hired most of the original voice actors! But I feel they didn't quite match the original, especially peppy.. And the video screen at the bottom was really annoying I couldn't seem to even take a look at it given all the action was happening above.

    The music seems to have gotten worse in some cases for some reasons.. Its seems they've insisted on using low quality samples, and tried to emulate the N64 synth I guess.. But the N64 game wasn't my favorite music-wise to be honest. I preferred the samples and the tracks from Starfox SNES and Starfox 2 SNES. Still, they could have done better, like those very nice orchestral arrangements in the slightly disappointing Starfox Assault.

    The controls are just as fantastic as they were on the N64! The circle pad is a little tricky sometimes to move around, but you get used to it.

    The only thing that really bugs me is the 3d feature, on the original 3DS its really hard to play for a long time with that on, because you keep moving the console and it distort the 3d effect and your view of the game... So I tend to just turn it off, even if its supposed to help with depth perception..

    And the gyro controls are just, not my cup of coffee to be honest.. I was having enough trouble not moving while playing to see the 3d effect on the screen, this just made it worst.. And it seems not all that precise..

    All in all its a decent game, you'll probably enjoy it more if you're a starfox fan though.
    Expand
  54. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    Though it may look short and boring after the first playthrough, there's an impressive amount of content in the game for those who give it a try. Multiplayer is also fun, but online would've been better... Replaying levels doesn't get boring, at least not for me, especially when you're challenging people's records. StreetPass would have been a great record-sharing method. Visuals areThough it may look short and boring after the first playthrough, there's an impressive amount of content in the game for those who give it a try. Multiplayer is also fun, but online would've been better... Replaying levels doesn't get boring, at least not for me, especially when you're challenging people's records. StreetPass would have been a great record-sharing method. Visuals are pretty good, music is good, and the SOUND rating is partially redeemed by this as the voice acting is pretty pathetic. The use of 3D is quite nice. Overall, a shining gem of the 3DS' launch lineup (which was bad) and a must-have for fans of the rail-shooter games. Good, but not great.

    PRESENTATION: 7.5/10
    CORE GAME: 8/10
    VISUALS: 7/10
    AUDIO: 6/10
    GAMEPLAY: 7/10
    LASTING APPEAL: 7.5/10

    Overall: 7.2/10
    Expand
  55. Feb 16, 2014
    7
    Alot of fun, but very short if you're only going to play through the once. Visually,it's better than the original and the controls are as tight as ever. I'm just not convinced this needed to be a full retail release
  56. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    So very, very good. Even better than the original Nintendo 64 release in many ways. Excellent use of 3D, and pretty much everything looks and sounds better. You can still play the challenging "N64 mode" if you want, but other tweaks are available in the main campaign for newer players. If only there were online dogfights...
  57. Jul 21, 2014
    8
    A great port, bringing all the thrills of the N64 classic but unfortunately also the game's short duration.

    The presentation has been spiced up with the graphics notably improved, particularly the water/ground detail. The sound effects are as fantastic as ever and the voice acting as cheesy (yet lovable) as it was a all those years ago. The music is great too, really adding a sense of
    A great port, bringing all the thrills of the N64 classic but unfortunately also the game's short duration.

    The presentation has been spiced up with the graphics notably improved, particularly the water/ground detail. The sound effects are as fantastic as ever and the voice acting as cheesy (yet lovable) as it was a all those years ago. The music is great too, really adding a sense of scale to the game.

    Unfortunately that scale isn't there in the content. With the main game being completable in under an hour! Taking all the alternate routes and completing the hardest route will likely take an extra 2 or three hours depending on your skill level but that still makes for a very short game. If you're the high score type you'll be constantly coming back for more due to the new score attack option and the medals you can earn in each level (which are very challenging). The rest of us however won't find much to come back for other than to play the game through again for the pure enjoyment factor (which I do regularly).

    The gameplay is as great as ever, barrel rolling, summersaulting and u-turning feel fantastic. As does plucking enemies out the sky. The story isn't going to win any awards but is a cheesy in a loveable way and the 4 main characters make a great team, even if your team-mates are useless most of the time! The multi-player is good fun and can be done locally with just one copy of the game using download play. Online play isn't included unfortunately as this could have been a lot of fun and improved the replay value of the title considerably. The ability to save is worth noting! Something missing from the original meaning runs had to be completed in one go. The addition of an easier '3DS mode' is welcome too, providing an easier option for the less experienced gamers out there. 'N64 mode' provides all the challenge of the original!

    Overall this port improves upon the original graphically and in the availability of modes as well as the option to save. It's some of the best fun that can be had on the 3DS but is held back by the very short game length and limited replay value unless you are the type to go chasing high-scores and earning medals on missions (in which case you'll have plenty to do).
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. 80
    Even fourteen years after its first release fast and variable space action Star Fox 64 remains one of the best rail shooters and the 3rd dimension fortunately doesn't ruin its original playability. [Oct 2011]
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    The graphics are beautiful, the 3D effect is very well implemented and the Arcade Mode is a good addition. Good, albeit a bit short, space action for your spare time.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    90
    The game shines again, as did 14 years ago, combining the nostalgia with modernity.