Star Fox 64 3D 3DS

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 242
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2017
    9
    If you want to get into StarFox, this is the game to get started. Rather short but it has replay value because of all the different paths. You can play this game for hours without being bored. Not to mention this is just a great game to bring out whenever you're on the go and need something to play.
  2. Jan 16, 2017
    9
    Comparing Star Fox 64 3D (Or as I call Lylat Wars 3D) to a game such as Super Mario 64 DS or Sonic Genesis for the GameBoy Advance is an insult, this game does an amazing job porting the original Lylat Wars experience onto Nintendo's little 3D child.
    It's essentially one for one the same as Lylat Wars, so nothing has changed in terms of difficulty or story, everything has been re-polished
    Comparing Star Fox 64 3D (Or as I call Lylat Wars 3D) to a game such as Super Mario 64 DS or Sonic Genesis for the GameBoy Advance is an insult, this game does an amazing job porting the original Lylat Wars experience onto Nintendo's little 3D child.
    It's essentially one for one the same as Lylat Wars, so nothing has changed in terms of difficulty or story, everything has been re-polished with more textured and detailed models and new voice actors have come in with some extra dialogue.
    The 3D is implemented perfectly and gives a brilliant depth to it, and using the Circle Pad gives me more fluent control when controlling my Arwing.
    Not to say this doesn't have a downside, for the Motion Control option... isn't all that great, you use it to pilot your ship, and if you want to turn your Arwing to precisely aim something, you're really not going to get any good accuracy with the motion gimmick, I'm glad that it's reduced to an option and nothing mandatory, otherwise we would've had some problems, but it's just an option.
    The Multiplayer is in this and thankfully you don't need a second copy of the game to play with your friends, they can download play and it is a huge improvement from the Nintendo 64 version, there are items in Dog Fight arenas as you try to shoot each other down.
    Do I recommend this game? Absolutely, 100%, it's part of the Nintendo Selects dropping it's price to £15 physically and on the eShop, so do pick it up and play it, if you're a hardcore retro gamer, you will instantly get into the game no worries if you're new to it all, then Star Fox 64 3D will welcome you to the Star Fox series
    Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2016
    8
    Great remake of a classic. If you've played or haven't played the N64 version pick this one up. It's a great game inside & out. If you can find a physical copy, grab it since they're becoming scarce. Wish Nintendo would add this to the Nintendo Selects, I had to get this digitally because it's hard to find but it was worth it.
  4. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    (This review is gonna be SUPER long, so in summary, go do yourself a favour and buy this game NOW)

    Damn Son You know when this came out i was like "eh whatever idc i mean it'll make the Star Fox fans happy" basically kinda brushed it off, at the time i owned the SNES one and while i thought the music and sound design was great, the game itself wasn't, so i let Star Fox 64 3D pass by
    (This review is gonna be SUPER long, so in summary, go do yourself a favour and buy this game NOW)

    Damn Son

    You know when this came out i was like "eh whatever idc i mean it'll make the Star Fox fans happy" basically kinda brushed it off, at the time i owned the SNES one and while i thought the music and sound design was great, the game itself wasn't, so i let Star Fox 64 3D pass by in favour for other games i wanted such as Resident Evil Revelations, Super Mario 3D Land and Ocarina of Time 3D.

    While all those games are good in their own right, i'm an idiot for passing up Star Fox 64 3D.

    This game is FANTASTIC. Gorgeous Graphics, slick gameplay, excellent sound design, good amount of content and creativity and most important excellent difficulty balancing. It's just so good and is absolutely worth your time 100%. Such polish and presentation, it's really something to be admired.

    Here's some specifics on the goods and the bads

    The 3D is pretty good.Be prepared to never hear me talk about the 3D feature again cause i dislike it tbh. I feel like it's a gimmick, but it's done very well here.

    REALLY COOL LEVEL THEMES oh man this game has some of my favorites, and so much variety too ahhhhhhh

    Lots of gameplay variety, using the airwing, plus the sub and the tank (i forget the names) PLUS THE BATTLE MODE i can't wait to play that.

    so here's the bad stuff

    don't worry this game absolutely deserves the ten i gave it

    The gyroscopic controls are kinda **** not bad but i wouldn't use them, Ocarina of time 3D utilizes the capability so much better. HOWEVER, they can be 100% ignored, so i didn't give them a strike for it.

    The soundtrack is slightly weak compared to Star Fox on SNES, which technically the original 64 was a remake of in the first place, that being said tho, i like this soundtrack, but man the SNES one is an absolute masterpiece.

    Basically, buy this.

    You know this game sits at about a $70 price tag for a new copy on amazon, and 90% of the used ones are cartridge only. For a collector like me this was a nightmare, but i managed to snag a new copy from my walmart when i found it had accidentally put in the used games bin. If you're a collector have fun trying to find this game for a reasonable price like i did.

    Good Luck
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2016
    8
    As a first time player Star Fox series i had a lot of fun mainly because the game-play is addicting and the graphics for the remake of the N64 version is fantastic almost identical to the new version of the series. However the story is short although there are three different ways to go at it Overall, just like Ocarina of Time Nintendo really put time into the development of this game. andAs a first time player Star Fox series i had a lot of fun mainly because the game-play is addicting and the graphics for the remake of the N64 version is fantastic almost identical to the new version of the series. However the story is short although there are three different ways to go at it Overall, just like Ocarina of Time Nintendo really put time into the development of this game. and in that it deserves praise and game time from all around gaming players, Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2016
    9
    What do you expect? A complete port of the N64 game, with nicely update graphics? Well yes, that's what you get here.

    In much the same way that Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask have been remade in glorious 3D with polished graphics, this represents Nintendo doing a re-release properly. Well, almost.... For some reason Nintendo continue to pander to people who want zero challenge
    What do you expect? A complete port of the N64 game, with nicely update graphics? Well yes, that's what you get here.

    In much the same way that Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask have been remade in glorious 3D with polished graphics, this represents Nintendo doing a re-release properly. Well, almost....

    For some reason Nintendo continue to pander to people who want zero challenge from their games, and in Star Fox 64 3D they have provided a new version that essentially makes everything easier for people who want that... fortunately they have also included the classic, proper N64 version so that those of us familiar with the game can enjoy it as we knew it.

    Now it's in the Nintendo Classic range at €19,99 there's no reason not to enjoy the game, with its multiple paths. It's short and sweet, and well worth your time. You'll be picking it up for years to come - as proved by the fact it's already almost 20 years old!
    Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2016
    8
    While an improvement of the original Star Fox 64, this Star Fox manages to nerf the greatness from 64 down and even when it does, your outrageous playtime keeps this game from being a disappointment.
  8. Dec 13, 2015
    9
    I'd give this about an 8.9 out of 10. Beautiful music, a lot of replay value, memorable characters and great use of gyro capability, as well as one of the best looking games on the 3DS too. Albeit the multiplayer should have been internet based and the game felt too short.
  9. Apr 27, 2015
    8
    My introduction to Star Fox was via the SNES and the 3dS version does not disappoint. The gameplay is still wonderful but now the game has the graphics to match, Especially on the New 3DS where you can use the Gyro and 3d without the problems encountered on the older 3ds hardware.
    The only downside of this game is that the campaign is very short. at a few hours long.
    It has some
    My introduction to Star Fox was via the SNES and the 3dS version does not disappoint. The gameplay is still wonderful but now the game has the graphics to match, Especially on the New 3DS where you can use the Gyro and 3d without the problems encountered on the older 3ds hardware.
    The only downside of this game is that the campaign is very short. at a few hours long.
    It has some replay value in that you can chase medals by meeting goals on levels but anyone looking for fifty hours of gameplay should look elsewhere.

    Given that you can now pick this game up for next to nothing I'd say it's a game well worth owning.
    Expand
  10. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    Brought rom the 64 to the 3DS, we once again follow the anthropomorphic fox, Fox Mcloud and the star fox team, Slippy Toad, Falco Lombari, and Peppy Hare as they take on the veniacle Andross from taking over the Lylat system, consisting of 7 campaign levels with multiple branching paths. The system consists of Corneria, Macbeth, Katina, Zoness, Titania, Venom, Fortuna, Solar, & Fachina andBrought rom the 64 to the 3DS, we once again follow the anthropomorphic fox, Fox Mcloud and the star fox team, Slippy Toad, Falco Lombari, and Peppy Hare as they take on the veniacle Andross from taking over the Lylat system, consisting of 7 campaign levels with multiple branching paths. The system consists of Corneria, Macbeth, Katina, Zoness, Titania, Venom, Fortuna, Solar, & Fachina and not mention 6 other sectors to liberate, while also fending off Andross mercenaries Star wolf. Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2015
    9
    Still an amazing game and one of the best games for the 3ds, featuring great graphics, sound, controls and 3d.
    If you liked the original games, this is the definite version!
    The only disappointment is the complete lack of additional content or functions (f.e. 2nd screen).

    All in all, 91/100 points.
  12. Jul 21, 2014
    8
    A great port, bringing all the thrills of the N64 classic but unfortunately also the game's short duration.

    The presentation has been spiced up with the graphics notably improved, particularly the water/ground detail. The sound effects are as fantastic as ever and the voice acting as cheesy (yet lovable) as it was a all those years ago. The music is great too, really adding a sense of
    A great port, bringing all the thrills of the N64 classic but unfortunately also the game's short duration.

    The presentation has been spiced up with the graphics notably improved, particularly the water/ground detail. The sound effects are as fantastic as ever and the voice acting as cheesy (yet lovable) as it was a all those years ago. The music is great too, really adding a sense of scale to the game.

    Unfortunately that scale isn't there in the content. With the main game being completable in under an hour! Taking all the alternate routes and completing the hardest route will likely take an extra 2 or three hours depending on your skill level but that still makes for a very short game. If you're the high score type you'll be constantly coming back for more due to the new score attack option and the medals you can earn in each level (which are very challenging). The rest of us however won't find much to come back for other than to play the game through again for the pure enjoyment factor (which I do regularly).

    The gameplay is as great as ever, barrel rolling, summersaulting and u-turning feel fantastic. As does plucking enemies out the sky. The story isn't going to win any awards but is a cheesy in a loveable way and the 4 main characters make a great team, even if your team-mates are useless most of the time! The multi-player is good fun and can be done locally with just one copy of the game using download play. Online play isn't included unfortunately as this could have been a lot of fun and improved the replay value of the title considerably. The ability to save is worth noting! Something missing from the original meaning runs had to be completed in one go. The addition of an easier '3DS mode' is welcome too, providing an easier option for the less experienced gamers out there. 'N64 mode' provides all the challenge of the original!

    Overall this port improves upon the original graphically and in the availability of modes as well as the option to save. It's some of the best fun that can be had on the 3DS but is held back by the very short game length and limited replay value unless you are the type to go chasing high-scores and earning medals on missions (in which case you'll have plenty to do).
    Expand
  13. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    So very, very good. Even better than the original Nintendo 64 release in many ways. Excellent use of 3D, and pretty much everything looks and sounds better. You can still play the challenging "N64 mode" if you want, but other tweaks are available in the main campaign for newer players. If only there were online dogfights...
  14. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Very good, but not for everyone. This game is very good, There's no doubt about it. The gameplay is identical to the n64 version (just dont use the gyro controls, they are awful). The fun is still here and playing the game and completing it still feels rewarding. However, If you played it on the n64 you will remember that it's actually not a very long game. There are basically 3 routes toVery good, but not for everyone. This game is very good, There's no doubt about it. The gameplay is identical to the n64 version (just dont use the gyro controls, they are awful). The fun is still here and playing the game and completing it still feels rewarding. However, If you played it on the n64 you will remember that it's actually not a very long game. There are basically 3 routes to complete and accomplishments, but overall you can reach the last boss in tens of minutes. This is okay if you are expecting this kind of game, but if you are not fond of doing the same routes over and over for accomplishments, then maybe the retail price is a bit high for what you get from this game. As for myself, i love it. Expand
  15. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    Well, the original game is already a Master Piece, and this is technically the same game, so, there's no much to say...

    Going to the ''Remake'' side, now the game has a very beautiful visuals, the liquid-based elements looks gorgeous, such as the water and the lava. The game now have an ''Easy'' mode for those who never played the original and are not used to the game, and also, allows
    Well, the original game is already a Master Piece, and this is technically the same game, so, there's no much to say...

    Going to the ''Remake'' side, now the game has a very beautiful visuals, the liquid-based elements looks gorgeous, such as the water and the lava. The game now have an ''Easy'' mode for those who never played the original and are not used to the game, and also, allows veteran players to try out the new gyroscope-based controls. The game now features a Challenge mode in which you can freely play the levels you want and challenge yourself to set high scores in order to get medals, Also, the game includes a refined multiplayer mode which can be played via download play w/ one single card.

    Talking of the multiplayer mode, Nintendo missed a huge opportunity to put Online play in the game, which is well suited for that, especially after seeing the very cool online multiplayer of Command on DS, I think this is the only bad (And very bad) point of the game.
    Expand
  16. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Everything you loved about Star Fox 64 is abck and updated for the better. The 3d makes flight look great although I was not a fan of Gyro controls, despite it being a neat idea. All the content you had in 64 is here including the multiplayer. Although leaving Online out was a bad move the game is still worth a purchase in my book.
    Let's hope Fox finally gets a new game on WiiU now.
  17. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    Breathtaking 3-D. Engage in blistering laser-streaked ariel combat
  18. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game. I will tell you now if you do not enjoy replaying games and going for perfect scores then probably avoid. This game has either a ton of re-playability or none and will take you a day or 2 to finish. I enjoy replaying this over and over trying to find the best routes to get the best scores. No there are no achievements, but there is something else, FUN.
  19. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    An amazingly awesome game. The gameplay is superb, and the gyro controls work well. Voice acting and dialogue are a little corny, but that's part of the appeal. A must-buy for the 3DS, and does Lylat Wars proud!
  20. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    Star Fox 64 is a timeless classic. The game has a forgettable story, BUT the gameplay is just PHENOMENAL. It is like nothing any game has ever seen before. When you add the kickass flight gameplay, the great voice acting and new stunning 3DS visuals, this game is a steal.If you have never played this game before, do yourself a favor.
  21. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    A magnificent remake of Star Fox 64 from Nintendo 64. Best textures, good special effects and superb 3D. But there is one drawback - the game is too short and there is no additional content.
  22. May 22, 2012
    9
    I never got a chance to play the original Star Fox 64 so I'm really happy that they remade this for the 3DS. It's a blast to play and packs a few fun modes and has such high replay value that it ensures that it will stay in your 3DS for a very long time. I think the multiplayer could have been better, and the campaign is pretty short, the high replay value and multiple paths will keep youI never got a chance to play the original Star Fox 64 so I'm really happy that they remade this for the 3DS. It's a blast to play and packs a few fun modes and has such high replay value that it ensures that it will stay in your 3DS for a very long time. I think the multiplayer could have been better, and the campaign is pretty short, the high replay value and multiple paths will keep you coming back to it, and the multiplayer does only require one person to have the game do to download mode. The Score Attack mode which has you playing through campaign levels again for high scores is also strangely addicting, the 3DS version also supports Gyroscope controls which work well, but I personally preferred to play without them, along with new gorgeous updated graphics that look even better in 3D (seriously this game is made better in every way with 3D effect turned on). This game is awesome with cool bosses and the most insanely crazy final boss of all time (it will freak you out), missions, and gameplay. So if you missed it the first time around like me, do yourself a favor and pick this awesomely cool game up. Expand
  23. May 15, 2012
    9
    Now this is a remake done with class. They have got the original game here, it even looks like the original, except with incredibly awesome graphics, there were some points that surprised me by how good they looked. Everything from the original is here, except from the very hard to unlock multiplayer mode from the original. If you liked the original, you will love this. If you haven'tNow this is a remake done with class. They have got the original game here, it even looks like the original, except with incredibly awesome graphics, there were some points that surprised me by how good they looked. Everything from the original is here, except from the very hard to unlock multiplayer mode from the original. If you liked the original, you will love this. If you haven't played the original you will love this. The only problem is that it's very short, but you will play it through at least 3 times in order to have played all the levels, 3 times on hard (N64) mode if you wish and you have multiplayer (no online or unlock-able on-foot mode) and the ability to play through each level in order to get the highest score you can. All in all, this is a very good game that all 3ds owners should have at least tried. Expand
  24. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Beautiful game! Solid and faithful port from the n64 version with some updated graphics. gameplay wise it's okay and kinda sufferable when you use the gyro controls (which i think is more of a gimmick but i played through most of the game with it off.)

    all in all, if you like these sorts of games, you'll love this. if you're not a fan of shooters, however, might want to hold out as it is
    Beautiful game! Solid and faithful port from the n64 version with some updated graphics. gameplay wise it's okay and kinda sufferable when you use the gyro controls (which i think is more of a gimmick but i played through most of the game with it off.)

    all in all, if you like these sorts of games, you'll love this. if you're not a fan of shooters, however, might want to hold out as it is a fairly short game with a moderate-to-low amount of replayability.
    Expand
  25. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This game was really good and plus this has been my first to play this game because I have never played this on any other system the multi-player mode was pretty good.
  26. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Star fox 64 3D is an awesome space-shooter game that has incredible graphics & 3D, fun game-play and a great soundtrack. The land master missions aren't quite as good as the other missions, but hey, they're still great! I've never experienced the apparent glory of the original Star fox 64, but i truly love the 3DS remake.
  27. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Starfox is just as good as it used to be, but now with awesome HD textures. The ability to save is welcome, but you get a little bonus recognition on the scoreboard for doing it in one sitting like the good old days. Multiplayer is cool but there REALLY should have been online. Because of the local-only, this game hardly ever gets broken out since I played the campaign a few times. If IStarfox is just as good as it used to be, but now with awesome HD textures. The ability to save is welcome, but you get a little bonus recognition on the scoreboard for doing it in one sitting like the good old days. Multiplayer is cool but there REALLY should have been online. Because of the local-only, this game hardly ever gets broken out since I played the campaign a few times. If I could play random people online, you better believe I'd be dogfighting every day. Haven't bothered with the gyro stuff, classic controls are my thing. Expand
  28. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Well presented update of the classic shooter, although many of the same problems of "on the rail" game play still are present here. Also the 3d can get a little buggy in some of the more intense scenes. Otherwise a great time with nice action and great controls.
  29. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    The original star fox 64 was the best game i have ever played, and the new 3ds version is good too. Although, I would have liked to see new levels along with the old ones. The only other faults the game has are the new soundtrack and the voice acting, in my opinion, they should have kept them the same.
  30. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    I can easily go along with all of the positive and mixed reviews here. The game's 3D is astounding and the story and alternate missions provide a good challenge. Yes, I realize that this game is short and I beat it one day after I got it, but the multiplayer and medals system makes up for that. Well done over all.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Even fourteen years after its first release fast and variable space action Star Fox 64 remains one of the best rail shooters and the 3rd dimension fortunately doesn't ruin its original playability. [Oct 2011]
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    The graphics are beautiful, the 3D effect is very well implemented and the Arcade Mode is a good addition. Good, albeit a bit short, space action for your spare time.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    90
    The game shines again, as did 14 years ago, combining the nostalgia with modernity.