Star Fox 64 3D 3DS

Star Fox 64 3D Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Fox 64 is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Star Fox 64 3D Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    There's some serious challenge to the game if you take the time to find it, and that holds true with the 3DS version as well. Also, the game is well suited to portable play, as each mission only takes about 5 to 10 minutes to complete.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    A nice remake, similar to what was done with Ocarina of Time 3D, to fulfill the desires of players who never had a chance to experience the original on the N64. If the challenges may appear short at first, with the multiple branching in the "Adventure mode" and other new and different modes of play, most notably the scoring one, there is plenty to be done. Despite some shortcomings, it's a nicely polished title.
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    85
    Ultimately this is a solid, although quick, flight down memory lane. If you're new, then welcome to the world of Lylat Wars 64 (Sorry, Star Fox 64), and if you're an Arwing veteran, it's time to relive the experience again. Definitely well worth the purchase.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    The beauty of Star Fox 64 3D is that it provides a quick pick up and play experience that is guaranteed to provide an adrenaline rush.
  5. Sep 14, 2011
    80
    After 14 years, Starfox 64 is still a great videogame, and this 3DS version improves the original with new visuals and a new control system. Too bad that multiplayer doesn't support the online.
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    78
    Star Fox 64 3D is a solid remake of the original Nintendo 64 classic.
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 69
  2. Negative: 3 out of 69
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    This was one of nintendo 64 best game and now its on the 3DS. One of the year best 3ds games. SO far this is the best 3d effect game. If youThis was one of nintendo 64 best game and now its on the 3DS. One of the year best 3ds games. SO far this is the best 3d effect game. If you have a 3ds this is the game to get. There is no doubt , get it. It is worth the money.It has a lot of level and very fun to play. If you loved the 64 version then you will love this version even better. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Beautiful game! Solid and faithful port from the n64 version with some updated graphics. gameplay wise it's okay and kinda sufferable when youBeautiful game! Solid and faithful port from the n64 version with some updated graphics. gameplay wise it's okay and kinda sufferable when you use the gyro controls (which i think is more of a gimmick but i played through most of the game with it off.)

    all in all, if you like these sorts of games, you'll love this. if you're not a fan of shooters, however, might want to hold out as it is a fairly short game with a moderate-to-low amount of replayability.
    Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2017
    9
    If you want to get into StarFox, this is the game to get started. Rather short but it has replay value because of all the different paths. YouIf you want to get into StarFox, this is the game to get started. Rather short but it has replay value because of all the different paths. You can play this game for hours without being bored. Not to mention this is just a great game to bring out whenever you're on the go and need something to play. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Great revision of the original Star fox 64. The graphics update is incredible and it's play control is tight and responsive. The only downGreat revision of the original Star fox 64. The graphics update is incredible and it's play control is tight and responsive. The only down side to the game is that it does not include new levels. Also, there is no online multiplayer. The addition of these features would have greatly improved an already wonderful game. I've logged many hours on it trying to obtain medals, and still cannot put it down. I would highly recommend the game. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    Well, the original game is already a Master Piece, and this is technically the same game, so, there's no much to say...

    Going to the
    Well, the original game is already a Master Piece, and this is technically the same game, so, there's no much to say...

    Going to the ''Remake'' side, now the game has a very beautiful visuals, the liquid-based elements looks gorgeous, such as the water and the lava. The game now have an ''Easy'' mode for those who never played the original and are not used to the game, and also, allows veteran players to try out the new gyroscope-based controls. The game now features a Challenge mode in which you can freely play the levels you want and challenge yourself to set high scores in order to get medals, Also, the game includes a refined multiplayer mode which can be played via download play w/ one single card.

    Talking of the multiplayer mode, Nintendo missed a huge opportunity to put Online play in the game, which is well suited for that, especially after seeing the very cool online multiplayer of Command on DS, I think this is the only bad (And very bad) point of the game.
    Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Everything you loved about Star Fox 64 is abck and updated for the better. The 3d makes flight look great although I was not a fan of GyroEverything you loved about Star Fox 64 is abck and updated for the better. The 3d makes flight look great although I was not a fan of Gyro controls, despite it being a neat idea. All the content you had in 64 is here including the multiplayer. Although leaving Online out was a bad move the game is still worth a purchase in my book.
    Let's hope Fox finally gets a new game on WiiU now.
    Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    As another reviewer said, it's "criminally short", and that's an understatement. Within the brief time (a couple days) I owned this game, IAs another reviewer said, it's "criminally short", and that's an understatement. Within the brief time (a couple days) I owned this game, I had beaten the game several times seeking out every variation and path I could find. I guess if I had been a bigger fan of the original then maybe this would be more fun. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews