Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Fox 64 is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    There's some serious challenge to the game if you take the time to find it, and that holds true with the 3DS version as well. Also, the game is well suited to portable play, as each mission only takes about 5 to 10 minutes to complete.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    A nice remake, similar to what was done with Ocarina of Time 3D, to fulfill the desires of players who never had a chance to experience the original on the N64. If the challenges may appear short at first, with the multiple branching in the "Adventure mode" and other new and different modes of play, most notably the scoring one, there is plenty to be done. Despite some shortcomings, it's a nicely polished title.
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    85
    Ultimately this is a solid, although quick, flight down memory lane. If you're new, then welcome to the world of Lylat Wars 64 (Sorry, Star Fox 64), and if you're an Arwing veteran, it's time to relive the experience again. Definitely well worth the purchase.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    The beauty of Star Fox 64 3D is that it provides a quick pick up and play experience that is guaranteed to provide an adrenaline rush.
  5. Sep 14, 2011
    80
    After 14 years, Starfox 64 is still a great videogame, and this 3DS version improves the original with new visuals and a new control system. Too bad that multiplayer doesn't support the online.
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    78
    Star Fox 64 3D is a solid remake of the original Nintendo 64 classic.
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    This was one of nintendo 64 best game and now its on the 3DS. One of the year best 3ds games. SO far this is the best 3d effect game. If youThis was one of nintendo 64 best game and now its on the 3DS. One of the year best 3ds games. SO far this is the best 3d effect game. If you have a 3ds this is the game to get. There is no doubt , get it. It is worth the money.It has a lot of level and very fun to play. If you loved the 64 version then you will love this version even better. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This game was really good and plus this has been my first to play this game because I have never played this on any other system theThis game was really good and plus this has been my first to play this game because I have never played this on any other system the multi-player mode was pretty good. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    I loved playing Star Fox 64 (Lylat Wars being the UK name) when i was younger when I heard a remake was on the way, I had high hopes. ThisI loved playing Star Fox 64 (Lylat Wars being the UK name) when i was younger when I heard a remake was on the way, I had high hopes. This remake is what I expected it to be. Amazing upgraded graphics, remixed music and the same great game play that made the game so amazing back in the day. There is the 3DS mode where you can play the game using the gyro controls which are great and there is the Nintendo 64 mode which recreates the controls and feel of the original N64 game. There are 15 levels in the game but you play through 7 of them to get to the final boss. Every level has a secret to going through different paths which gives you access to harder routes and levels. The game has a classic arcade feel to it about trying to get the high score and level secrets. The characters are very memorable and the dialog is classic being home to many classic memes such as "Do a barrel roll!" I highly recommend getting this game if youâ Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    This was one of the Highlights of the N64 and now they are bringing it back to the 3DS, and it uses the capabilities better that OOT, withThis was one of the Highlights of the N64 and now they are bringing it back to the 3DS, and it uses the capabilities better that OOT, with missiles, lasers and more shooting at you RIGHT OUT FROM THE SCREEN!!!
    If you even slightly liked the N64 Original, then you will love this: get it. I say it's worth up to 40 quid, cause I think its better than OOT 3D. Yes, I know there are only 15 levels. Yes, I know you only play through 7 of them... BUT this has got some AMAZING replay value: 7 stages, takes 3 runs to play all stages, then play it on N 64 Mode, Expert Mode, 3DS gyro on and 3DS gyro off, already gives you an excuse to play this AT LEAST 12 times over.
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2015
    8
    My introduction to Star Fox was via the SNES and the 3dS version does not disappoint. The gameplay is still wonderful but now the game hasMy introduction to Star Fox was via the SNES and the 3dS version does not disappoint. The gameplay is still wonderful but now the game has the graphics to match, Especially on the New 3DS where you can use the Gyro and 3d without the problems encountered on the older 3ds hardware.
    The only downside of this game is that the campaign is very short. at a few hours long.
    It has some replay value in that you can chase medals by meeting goals on levels but anyone looking for fifty hours of gameplay should look elsewhere.

    Given that you can now pick this game up for next to nothing I'd say it's a game well worth owning.
    Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    Another re-mastered classic on the 3DS and it is amazing how improved the graphics look in this game. The controls even feel more natural. TheAnother re-mastered classic on the 3DS and it is amazing how improved the graphics look in this game. The controls even feel more natural. The gyro controls are nice but very forgettable. The addition of a battle mode and score attack give this game a high replay value. With that being said, it is a very short game and can be beaten easily under one hour. The alternate paths within missions also offer great replay value but there is a lack of challenging boss fights. That's not to say all the boss fights come up short of course. It holds true to the original and has found a new home on the 3DS and with a new generation. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    As another reviewer said, it's "criminally short", and that's an understatement. Within the brief time (a couple days) I owned this game, IAs another reviewer said, it's "criminally short", and that's an understatement. Within the brief time (a couple days) I owned this game, I had beaten the game several times seeking out every variation and path I could find. I guess if I had been a bigger fan of the original then maybe this would be more fun. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews