Star Fox 64 3D 3DS

Star Fox 64 3D Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 224 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Fox 64 is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    There's some serious challenge to the game if you take the time to find it, and that holds true with the 3DS version as well. Also, the game is well suited to portable play, as each mission only takes about 5 to 10 minutes to complete.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    A nice remake, similar to what was done with Ocarina of Time 3D, to fulfill the desires of players who never had a chance to experience the original on the N64. If the challenges may appear short at first, with the multiple branching in the "Adventure mode" and other new and different modes of play, most notably the scoring one, there is plenty to be done. Despite some shortcomings, it's a nicely polished title.
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    85
    Ultimately this is a solid, although quick, flight down memory lane. If you're new, then welcome to the world of Lylat Wars 64 (Sorry, Star Fox 64), and if you're an Arwing veteran, it's time to relive the experience again. Definitely well worth the purchase.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    The beauty of Star Fox 64 3D is that it provides a quick pick up and play experience that is guaranteed to provide an adrenaline rush.
  5. Sep 14, 2011
    80
    After 14 years, Starfox 64 is still a great videogame, and this 3DS version improves the original with new visuals and a new control system. Too bad that multiplayer doesn't support the online.
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    78
    Star Fox 64 3D is a solid remake of the original Nintendo 64 classic.
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    This was one of nintendo 64 best game and now its on the 3DS. One of the year best 3ds games. SO far this is the best 3d effect game. If youThis was one of nintendo 64 best game and now its on the 3DS. One of the year best 3ds games. SO far this is the best 3d effect game. If you have a 3ds this is the game to get. There is no doubt , get it. It is worth the money.It has a lot of level and very fun to play. If you loved the 64 version then you will love this version even better. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    The original star fox 64 is my favorite game of all time and the ONLY game I have given a 10 so far. Is the remake any better? Well somehow,The original star fox 64 is my favorite game of all time and the ONLY game I have given a 10 so far. Is the remake any better? Well somehow, its possible to have a personally perfect game, be more perfect it seems! Star fox 64 3DS is a must have for all fans of shooters and sci fi, the visuals have been enhanced and they are the best the 3DS has to offer, the gameplay is very varied featuring different paths to take, getting medals is a challenge, and expert mode even more. This is the perfect game to have portable that you can quickly play and enjoy at the moment. Soundtrack is excellent and voiceovers and story very engaging. Slippy is annoying (not as annoying as Jar Jar Binks of course) but can't help but love the fact as well. Is simply beautiful, I just need a sequel now. A really long game doesn't mean its a good one, because in the ending parts you will get tired no matter how great a game like that is. This game you can play it and will play it many times! Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2015
    9
    I'd give this about an 8.9 out of 10. Beautiful music, a lot of replay value, memorable characters and great use of gyro capability, as wellI'd give this about an 8.9 out of 10. Beautiful music, a lot of replay value, memorable characters and great use of gyro capability, as well as one of the best looking games on the 3DS too. Albeit the multiplayer should have been internet based and the game felt too short. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    This was one of the Highlights of the N64 and now they are bringing it back to the 3DS, and it uses the capabilities better that OOT, withThis was one of the Highlights of the N64 and now they are bringing it back to the 3DS, and it uses the capabilities better that OOT, with missiles, lasers and more shooting at you RIGHT OUT FROM THE SCREEN!!!
    If you even slightly liked the N64 Original, then you will love this: get it. I say it's worth up to 40 quid, cause I think its better than OOT 3D. Yes, I know there are only 15 levels. Yes, I know you only play through 7 of them... BUT this has got some AMAZING replay value: 7 stages, takes 3 runs to play all stages, then play it on N 64 Mode, Expert Mode, 3DS gyro on and 3DS gyro off, already gives you an excuse to play this AT LEAST 12 times over.
    Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    Sadly star fox 3ds besides the enchaced graphics doesn´t offers much extra content, the new things are a level select mode (scoreSadly star fox 3ds besides the enchaced graphics doesn´t offers much extra content, the new things are a level select mode (score attack) and a gyroscope feature that allows to control the arwing by steering the device in different directions unfortunatly that feature is not recommended with 3d on beacause the efect is lost by the movement and is way better if you play it with the circle pad. Theres also a multiplayer game mode with computer boots and a local connection, but no online. Despite that star fox is a shoot em up game with a sweet gameplay is very simple but very addictive, yeah the game is short but earning medals and unlocking all the level add more replay value also score attack so if you like fliying shooting games you can´t miss this one. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Starfox is just as good as it used to be, but now with awesome HD textures. The ability to save is welcome, but you get a little bonusStarfox is just as good as it used to be, but now with awesome HD textures. The ability to save is welcome, but you get a little bonus recognition on the scoreboard for doing it in one sitting like the good old days. Multiplayer is cool but there REALLY should have been online. Because of the local-only, this game hardly ever gets broken out since I played the campaign a few times. If I could play random people online, you better believe I'd be dogfighting every day. Haven't bothered with the gyro stuff, classic controls are my thing. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    As another reviewer said, it's "criminally short", and that's an understatement. Within the brief time (a couple days) I owned this game, IAs another reviewer said, it's "criminally short", and that's an understatement. Within the brief time (a couple days) I owned this game, I had beaten the game several times seeking out every variation and path I could find. I guess if I had been a bigger fan of the original then maybe this would be more fun. Collapse

See all 65 User Reviews