SteamWorld Dig 3DS

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    The Image & Form team surprised everyone with this extremely addictive title. With flawless execution and a damn good gameplay, Steamworld Dig will make you dig for hours in order to develop your village and your equipment. If you love platform and farming games, this adventure in the desert is there just for you. One of the best games on 3DS eShop.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    70
    SteamWorld Dig is a charming, atmospheric exploration adventure, but it grinds to a halt just when it starts going full steam.
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    This is a short game wherein you explore depths to dig deeper and deeper. It's definitely the best title to download from the eShop right now.
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    60
    It looks gorgeous, controls like a dream, and when it’s putting its ideas to the fore in a sensible manner then it has some genuinely delightful ideas, but when you really start to analyse things and think about it with a harsh critical light, it effectively turns out to be all bust and no brains.
  5. Aug 11, 2013
    60
    Digging for three and a half hours may be fun, but, in the end, is just digging.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! Read a lot of reviews praising this game so I had to download it. Great controls, gameplay and graphics. Great mix of spaghettiAwesome game! Read a lot of reviews praising this game so I had to download it. Great controls, gameplay and graphics. Great mix of spaghetti western and steampunk. Gotta love those robots. Can't wait for the sequel! Full Review »
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    As a big of dig games (Terraria, Minecraft, etc) I really enjoyed this game. The art style, minimized storyline and action platformerAs a big of dig games (Terraria, Minecraft, etc) I really enjoyed this game. The art style, minimized storyline and action platformer game-play made for an incredible enjoyable experience.

    The only complaint I can think to make about this game is that at 5 hours to complete (and a couple additional hours for full completion) I did feel like the experience was a bit short and due to to lack of randomization the re-playability is fairly low.

    That being said however this game was a blast and at the low pricetag even the brevity of the game isn't enough to stop me from recommending it to anyone.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Do you like games like Minecraft, Terraria, Dig Dug or Motherload? Is your second home in the underground, mining and digging minerals? AreDo you like games like Minecraft, Terraria, Dig Dug or Motherload? Is your second home in the underground, mining and digging minerals? Are you a robot? Well, if all 3 questions apply to you, you should go see a doctor. But if you are said yes to the first 2 questions, then SteamWorld Dig is the perfect game for you.
    In this game you will dig deeper and deeper, finding scary and awesome stuff and, of course, minerals to bring back home.
    I do not want to spoil too much, BUT I can assure you, you will love this game (if you are a fan of games like this) and enjoy every second of it. Go on now, go get it on the Nintendo 3DS eShop!
    Full Review »