SteamWorld Dig Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The clock has stopped around the turn of the 19th century, and humankind has prematurely blown itself to bits. The remaining scraps are huddling in caves beneath the surface, and steam-powered robots have taken over the Wild West.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    100
    Ladies and gentlemen, may I present to you SteamWorld Dig: Your new favourite Nintendo 3DS game.
  2. 90
    SteamWorld Dig is a fresh game for the Nintendo eShop and one of the best digital games available on Nintendo's 3D handheld.
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Part Metroid, part Minecraft and 100% wonderful. [Nov 2013, p.73]
  4. Aug 11, 2013
    80
    SteamWorld Dig represents a strong coming together of concept and execution, with relatively simple mechanics impeccably layered to coax the gamer through its story.
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    80
    While digging in a hole might not seem like the most entertaining thing to do in a game that's doesn't have "craft" in the title, SteamWorld Dig successfully delivers its own unique style of subterranean gameplay thanks to a great balance between managing the mine, chasing upgrades and having just enough story to keep me curious without getting bogged down in too much lore.
  6. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    SteamWorld Dig is the best kind of surprise, then: a game with substance, challenge and no little charm that seems to have come out of nowhere.
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    60
    Digging for three and a half hours may be fun, but, in the end, is just digging.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! Read a lot of reviews praising this game so I had to download it. Great controls, gameplay and graphics. Great mix of spaghettiAwesome game! Read a lot of reviews praising this game so I had to download it. Great controls, gameplay and graphics. Great mix of spaghetti western and steampunk. Gotta love those robots. Can't wait for the sequel! Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    I have to say I was a bit skeptical of this game when I first heard about it but I gave it a try due to all of the good things that people hadI have to say I was a bit skeptical of this game when I first heard about it but I gave it a try due to all of the good things that people had to say. I'm glad that I did! This game is very fun and provides many hours of entertainment. I bought it for $8, less than the price of a movie ticket. I have played over 6 hours so far and I am nearing the end of the game. I just love the digging aspect of this game. You keep digging further underground, looking for gems and precious metals to bring back to the surface to sell. By selling those items, you unlock upgrades that assist you in defending yourself against the enemies below as well as assisting you in digging much more quickly. There are plenty of puzzles to solve within the game whether it be finding secret passages to unlock a door or going back to previous areas with new powers to gain access to new places and more treasures. You get many different items in the game from a pick ax to a drill to a super-charge punch that blows through the dirt. You also gain abilities like steam-jumping and a electrical-charged double jump that can take out enemies with ease.

    This game may seem simple at first but there is much to offer for the price. I'm hoping for a sequel!
    Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Steamworld Dig is the first 3DS game from small developer Image & Form. You play as lonesome Rusty who arrives at the town of Tumbleton. YouSteamworld Dig is the first 3DS game from small developer Image & Form. You play as lonesome Rusty who arrives at the town of Tumbleton. You are swiftly informed that Joe, your uncle, has gone missing. Your job is bring the town back to prosperity and hopefully reunite with your uncle. The gameplay is simple but addictive blending cave exploration, mining and simple combat into a small package. The game is tiny at only 348 blocks which translates to roughly 43mb. This is particularly impressive given the massive size of the caves, all of which feature extremely detailed and colorful backgrounds depending on the part of the cave you’re in.

    As you progress you will level up and unlock upgrades, allowing you to become an even more badass miner. Dynamite, drills, super punches will all be within your grasps within a few hours of play. Your hard graft will allow the town to bring back some of its former vendors allowing you to purchase even more tools and supplies.

    The art is absolutely gorgeous and greatly detailed. Everything from the swing of the pickaxe which kicks up dust is displayed in amazing fashion. The enemy design is great too, but they do tend to repeat too much. The game is also consistent and will constantly save your game every time you return to the surface, everything you did in the mine will be saved allowing you to venture back to the depths to finish off collecting any forgotten treasures.

    The music is good, nothing spectacular, it keeps the mining sessions from getting tedious. The mines are huge, On my playthrough my character reached 800 metres and there was still more below.

    The game can get quite difficult when you’re stuck miles from a teleport to the surface and have no water, forcing you to reset and attempt to recollect your treasures This really only applies to how you dig. Leaving wide open spaces is almost impossible to scale up without the water jump giving you almost no option but to reset. The game can get a bit repetitive during extended play sessions but its clear this isn’t meant to be the way to play, while it is certainly possibly to complete the game in one session your enthusiasm may be diminished after a few hours of endless mining.
    Collapse
  4. Jun 12, 2015
    9
    Excellent game. Fun, deep (no pun intended) and well polished. Controls and game mechanics are easy to understand. You wont miss your 10 bucksExcellent game. Fun, deep (no pun intended) and well polished. Controls and game mechanics are easy to understand. You wont miss your 10 bucks thats for certain.

    That said, I find it a little short though, and it also lacks boss fights. I find the final boss a little lame and easy; it could certainly be the first boss.

    Happy digging.
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    I could not put this game down. It's one of the very few games that has gripped me so much, I played nearly nonstop until I completed it. AsI could not put this game down. It's one of the very few games that has gripped me so much, I played nearly nonstop until I completed it. As most other reviewers have suggested, it's an amalgamation of Metroid and Dig Dug Mr. Driller, with a lot of fun exploring and an interesting if thin story. My only complaint is the length it's fairly short, and there's not a ton of replay value if you collected all items and treasure the first time through (as I did). That aside, this is a must-play title for any 3DS owner. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    Excellent game, especially for the price. I read a lot of reviews on 3DS games and this one caught my eye. I really enjoyed the game playExcellent game, especially for the price. I read a lot of reviews on 3DS games and this one caught my eye. I really enjoyed the game play style. You basically dig through a mine with a couple of different digging tools that has a few internal dungeons collecting gems (game currency). Then you return to the surface to purchase upgrades as well as other items to make your adventure easier.

    But there is more than that. The addition of light and water elements which you have to constantly balance make it a real challenge an add a sense of urgency to everything you do. You really can't do anything without light and the water powers your weapons (other than the pickax). I would definitely recommend this game to anyone looking for a great game that you will be able to complete in under 10 hours. That would probably be my only minor complaint; the game could stand to be a little longer.

    I also really enjoyed the art style. It was a very colorful game.

    9/10
    Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2015
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Starting off with the positive- this game has an interesting idea, and decent art direction. Unfortunately, that's not enough to carry the game at all.
    The plot- It exists. That's all.
    The Gameplay- It feels like this game was trying to be half-metriodvania, half digging game. Unfortunately, those are two great tastes which do not go well together. At least not in this game. You end up with a half-baked platforming levels, and a digging game that would be at home in old flash games.
    -Platforming levels- This is where your gear gets to shine. It's true that some of the later mini-levels are a little fun, and the controls are nice. Perhaps if the game focused on them, it might actually be kinda interesting. Instead...
    -The Dig- This is will take up most of your time. And it's not really fun. Sure, you can find mini-platforming levels, but otherwise, you're just digging to get stuff, go back to surface, sell, dig, surface, sell... yeah. Oh, and most of your fun movement-based upgrades are almost worthless. Your dashing upgrade is great, except your primary goal is to go downward, not to the side- invincible barriers prevent you from going too far to one side. Your super-jump upgrade would be nice, if you couldn't already wall jump to your hearts content. And you do eventually get a drill... that's practically the same as your pickaxe.
    -Combat- Is lacking, but it wasn't the games selling point, so I'll leave it alone.
    -Upgrades- There are some nice, fun, metroidvania style upgrades. Three of them, to be precise. Almost everything else is boring stat ups, more or less. Almost everything you buy with money or the orbs in the town area is a simple stat-up. More Health, Better digging, longer lasting light, etc.
    -Length- Oh, here's the rich part. Despite having a rather slow grind, and the fact I didn't try to speedrun the game... I finished it in 3 hours. Replaybility is... lacking.

    Final result- Just go buy something else. Like digging? There are more than plenty of games got you covered there.
    Like platforming? Get a platforming game.
    Like Metroidvanias? Get a metroidvania.

    Personal recommendation- if you're looking for a game like this, but the shortcomings of this game bug you, pick up a copy of Terraria.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews