Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This strategic first-person shooter is the successor to Steel Diver. It features more tactical action game play than typical shooters, as players are asked to navigate heavy-duty submarines while staying one step ahead of their enemies. People can compete in local four-on-four team sub battles and go online to battle submariners from around the world (as long as each person downloads the game for him- or herself) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    80
    Whether or not you're willing to pay for some extra features, Steel Diver: Sub Wars features a highly enjoyable online multiplayer mode; that's something, perhaps, that the 3DS has missed so far. Since it's free, you have no excuse not to check it out — perhaps you'll even like it so much that you'll spend some money.
  2. Its measured pace is precisely what makes it such a fresh twist on the shooter. [Apr 2014, p.82]
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    78
    Better and more focused than its precursor. The slow, calculated multiplayer matches afford plenty of opportunity for strategic fun, though the single-player mode is more a tutorial than a substantial component.
  4. 75
    Steel Diver: Sub Wars is a great follow-up to game that had potential, but just wasn’t meaty enough to meet expectations. Sub Wars’ addition of multiplayer more than makes up for the past game’s brevity. When it works, it’s a blast to play; however, you may see more error messages than subs.
  5. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    Despite the minimalist design and a lack of game modes, the best of Sub Wars lies in the nature of strategic battles and the online that was not present in Steel Diver.
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    70
    A great improvement over its predecessor, Steel Diver: Sub Wars is successful at putting the player in a submarine environment, recreating several aspects of these vessels within the boundaries set by the 3DS. The overall short length of its one player mode and the lack of options on multiplayer mode end up becoming obstacles on its route, but this is a title that will not disappoint.
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    45
    The controls and visuals are okay, the rest plainly isn’t.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    It's such a fun game to play. Sure, it gives the image of not being too interesting at first but the online play is so easy to use it sucks you into a competitive yet friendly (without shrieking kids and all) multiplayer action. You can also play it for FREE. Normally I'd give this game a 8/10 but the average of the critic reviews are outrageously low. Collapse
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    9
    Damn fun game. Even the free version is a blast, and despite the premium version having superior subs, they don't have much advantage, and the game is pretty balanced. My only problems with the game is the connection errors that ruin my winstreaks and the lack of communities. Hopefully they might add in this in the future. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    This game is a fun, unique, and free experience on the Nintendo eshop. The campaign serves as a competent tutorial for the online portion which is (in my opinion) the best part of the game. The controls which initially feel clunky take some time to get used to but when you do the game is very fun. Also, if you want to learn morse code all the chat done done though morse code so this provides a good way to learn. If you find 1st person sub combat somewhat intriguing you should check out the game.
    Note: at the time of writing this review I have not bought the premium option so this review only applies to the free portion.
    Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Best Free-To Play Game ever
    the game has a very fun multplayer mode, i would love for the game be a costed game as well
    overall the game is
    very fun, a loved the customized ship option as well Expand
  5. May 19, 2014
    8
    Steel Diver Sub Wars exceeds its predecessor in almost every way, adding more strategic tactical gameplay at a slower more measures paced. This makes for a fun and unique online experience that is worth checking out due to its free price. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Surprisingly very fun. Its a sub based First Person Shooter that relies more on strategy and placement rather than twitch reflexes, which can lead to some incredibly tense gameplay moments.

    While some people may call it a Free To Play game I'd really be reluctant to call it an F2P game, its more like a Demo with the full game being $10 along with real sub DLC at $1 a piece, meaning the max you can spend on this game is $15, which is pretty reasonable.

    While some people may think its Pay to Win with this model it is possible to take out premium subs with the free subs with some good strategy. I was able to take out a match of sinking all 4 enemy subs 2 of which were premium subs.

    The Single player is pretty neat all be it a bit short with only 2 missions available in the free mode, 7 in the premium mode, granted each stage has 3 levels of difficulty which increases or changes the enemies or types of enemies on each map. But really its only good for a distraction since the multiplayer is where its at.

    While I have praised the Online mode to keep you coming back for more given its very addictive nature I do have some issues with it. Firstly there's only one multiplayer mode which is 4v4 Last Man Standing. Also theres no Friend matches or invites which is disappointing. Also the game makes to chat in this game using ... I **** you not ... Morse Code. While it sounds like an awesome setup, it turns out to be more of a novelty rather than practical.

    But the sheer fun alone and the fact that its free makes can give me a high recommendation to try it out.
    Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    Ok so i bought this game the other day and I've really enjoy the free version so far the online multi-player is really fun and i real like few single player missions I've already played. So decide to get the premium pack so i had access to all the subs and rest missions and am pretty satisfied with the results. Game is more focussed on the online then single player but there is stuff to do if your only playing by yourself. 7 missions each with 3 difficultly settings that change the lay-out or make more enemies appear. Really like collecting crew members that appears in single player and online battles. These can give you vary different abilities that change stats on your sub. There 32 in all that not including the pattern designs and DLC that you can purchase if want. You can unlock more subs by collecting medals in single player and you can also lvl up in the online battles which give access to lot more subs and pattern designs. Overall am really happy with purchases and think game is a lot fun and recommend it to anyone who looking for fps with underwater twist . Only bad things i think of is no way at the moment to play with friends and m-code can be little hard use first time its not very practical way of chatting with your buddies but lets hope nintendo decide to patch or update game add these features in the future. 8 /10 Expand

See all 8 User Reviews