Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    95
    With an expertly balanced difficulty progression, dazzling level design and masterful Power-Ups, this is the ideal 3DS experience...As a whole, 3D Land is brilliant and addictive, and should do for 3D-enhanced platforming what the original Super Mario Bros. did for 2D platforming. If you own a 3DS system, you have no choice - you simply must own this game.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Super Mario 3D Land eases you in with creative level design and tight controls while leaving plenty of challenging content to be discovered.
  3. 84
    The levels are incredibly fun to play, but there are omissions likely to leave Mario fans shaking their heads.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    95
    Super Mario 3D Land isn't perfect, but the few complaints I have (like the lack of variety in boss fights and some re-hashed levels) can't bring down this entertaining mix of nostalgia and innovation. It lives up to the level of quality set by previous entries and is easily the best reason to own a 3DS.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    90
    You could wish for 3D Land to be a little more challenging in places, then, but you couldn't wish for it to be any denser, any more imaginative, or any more daring. Most importantly, you couldn't wish for it to be any more playful.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    Time to dust off that 3DS and let Mario do what he does best - Super Mario 3D Land is pure entertainment from start to finish.
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    100
    The tired, princess-saving formula never seems to change, but somehow Nintendo makes every visit to the Mushroom Kingdom feel like the first time.
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Super Mario 3D Land is easy to recommend as a must-have game for any 3DS owner's library.
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    100
    I'm literally floored by how much I enjoyed it, and I find it quickly rising in the ranks as one of my favorite Super Mario titles.
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    100
    Super Mario 3D Land is one of the best Mario games in recent memory. It's better than New Super Mario Bros. and just about on par with Galaxy. A few months back I stated that Ocarina of Time 3D was the premier reason to own a 3DS. That is no longer the case. Mario is still Nintendo's man to move hardware, even if he is a bit late to the party.
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    83
    Super Mario 3D Land's playful reverence for (and references to) the 8-bit days reminds us that Super Mario Bros. 3 truly was an amazing game, but it does so at the expense of its own identity. I have a hard time imagining that, 20 years from now, Nintendo's designers will be looking back at 3D Land as a template for a new game the way 3D Land builds on Mario 3's iconography. Ultimately, that's the difference between a good Mario game and a great one.
  12. Nov 22, 2011
    95
    It's not just the killer application the 3DS was waiting for, it's also one of the most enjoyables platformers in years, filled with creative ideas and offering a perfect balance between tradition and innovation.
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    90
    Brings the magic world of the 2D Marios to life like no other, but blink and you'll miss it. [Christmas 2011, p.68]
  14. Nov 9, 2011
    90
    Though it falls slightly short compared to other Mario titles (aka some of the greatest games ever made), it's certainly a release worthy of the character's legacy. It expertly builds on franchise history, has tons of clever ideas, and even with the rare control hang-ups, it stands tall in the realm of 3D platformers, especially compared to the paltry library of games the 3DS currently has.
  15. Nov 18, 2011
    87
    It is not the best Mario game in the last years, but it is great as a portable Super Mario, one of the best portable games ever starred by Mario. Despite this, we think this game could have been even better, as Nintendo has always achieved extreme levels of quality will its major series. Anyway, a must-have for 3DS owners.
  16. Dec 8, 2011
    95
    3D Land delivers an experience that will satisfy long-time fans of the franchise while also making it accessible enough for newcomers to enjoy.
  17. Dec 8, 2011
    90
    If you own a 3DS, this is one game you simply cannot miss. Everything about it is so well designed and fun to play that you won't remove the cartridge for months.
  18. Dec 19, 2011
    100
    There's no question – if you own a 3DS, this is the best game on the platform, and instantly worthy of a purchase. It's one of the best portable platformers I've ever played (and I've had my fair share), and an almost shockingly good Mario title on any platform.
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    It homes in, with a clockmaker's precision and a playful gleam in its eye, on what Mario does best.
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    What Super Mario 3D Land does get right is what every Mario game gets right: a high benchmark for quality that virtually no other platform game series seems capable of matching. There's a level of humour, invention and a sheer sense of joy that you only find in a Mario game.
  21. Nov 18, 2011
    87
    Mario does a stereoscopic jump on Nintendo 3DS that smartly combines classic platforming with more modern mechanics. The result isn't so innovative, but it's still the best new launch available for the handheld console.
  22. Nov 9, 2011
    90
    A step back and a leap forward. As a gateway drug for those reluctant to embrace Mario in three dimensions, Super Mario 3D Land should be a huge success.
  23. Nov 18, 2011
    88
    Super Mario 3D Land is a solid chapter for our favourite plumber. A small number of power-ups and scarce innovation are the biggest flaws of the game itself.
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    85
    3D Land is a game in which Nintendo shows other developers how they've been doing it wrong since the 3DS launched, and provides a template from which future games ought to be built.
  25. Dec 20, 2011
    90
    It seems strange to say it, but I wish Super Mario 3D Land was more difficult. That's it's biggest fault at the end of the day. More than half the game is a cakewalk, an entertaining cakewalk, but a cakewalk nonetheless.
  26. Nov 29, 2011
    91
    Super Mario 3D Land is the first 3DS title that really takes advantage of the 3D capabilities of the system.
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    90
    Super Mario 3D Land is surely peculiar among the series' episodes, mixing elements of classic and modern gameplay. It's not another Galaxy, and it just doesn't want to be: it has a strong identity, made of a great level design and rewarding gameplay. And it's incredibly fun to play.
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Really though, Super Mario 3D Land is a triple-A title, and as good a reason as you'll ever have for picking up a Nintendo 3DS if you haven't already. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  29. Dec 9, 2011
    91
    Less intergalactic and more linear – but still works wonders. 3D Land is the first 3DS game that doesn't put in question the benefit of turning on the 3D slider. The only major critisism can be placed on the lack of difficulty before moving on to the special stages. [Dec 2011]
  30. Nov 30, 2011
    90
    A game for everyone, young or old, casual or hardcore. It's an easy game to get into and an easy game to latch onto. The levels are inventive, colorful and varied, constantly providing a new experience at each turn. It's a fun, polished game, but then it's a Mario, and I'd have expected nothing less.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 784 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 244
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Super Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portableSuper Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portable experience and I can't put it down. I can't give it a 9.7 on here, so it's rounded up to 10. Buy it! Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Very enjoyable and one of the best reasons to a 3DS, everyone needs to own this game. The 3D in the game is by far the best 3D done on theVery enjoyable and one of the best reasons to a 3DS, everyone needs to own this game. The 3D in the game is by far the best 3D done on the system so far and it really shows what the system can do with a good 3D game. The levels are enjoyable as well as plentiful and it'll keep your attention for days. If you own the 3DS, then you most likely already own this game since it's probably the best original game to date. For others, this is the game that'll show off the true 3D capability the system can offer, unlike 90% of the rest of the games out there. Buy this game if you haven't already and you'll love it to death. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This is one of my new favorite 3DS games it uses all the 3D technology and it is worth 40 bucks on release.Tho it is slow in the beginning andThis is one of my new favorite 3DS games it uses all the 3D technology and it is worth 40 bucks on release.Tho it is slow in the beginning and then picks up. I still would not rate this game low it is a must have if you own a 3DS. Especially for the holidays it is a great gift. Full Review »