Super Mario 3D Land 3DS

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 980 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 980
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2017
    5
    Honestly, I find this game to be heavily overrated. While it has a few fun segments, the music is very forgettable, the story is just meh, it lacks boss variety, the levels in the extra worlds are just modified versions of previous levels, the levels are overall uncreative and quite bland or boring, and is just too Super Mario Bros.-like to be considered by me a unique Mario title.Honestly, I find this game to be heavily overrated. While it has a few fun segments, the music is very forgettable, the story is just meh, it lacks boss variety, the levels in the extra worlds are just modified versions of previous levels, the levels are overall uncreative and quite bland or boring, and is just too Super Mario Bros.-like to be considered by me a unique Mario title. However, some of the levels are quite fun, and someties can get difficult. Also, I really like the final boss fight against Bowser. Overall, this game just isn't good, but it has enough things in its favor that keep me from giving it a negative rating. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2017
    8
    Ho giocato decisamente troppo tardi a questo titolo, avendo un 3DS dal 2012 ormai, ma devo dire che il genere platform é uno di quelli che faccio piú fatica a digerire. É il mio primo Mario in 3D , e devo dire che é riuscito a farmi divertire. Un po' per il suo stile coloratissimo e graficamente molto molto valido (uno dei giochi con grafica migliore in assoluto su 3DS) , un po' perché éHo giocato decisamente troppo tardi a questo titolo, avendo un 3DS dal 2012 ormai, ma devo dire che il genere platform é uno di quelli che faccio piú fatica a digerire. É il mio primo Mario in 3D , e devo dire che é riuscito a farmi divertire. Un po' per il suo stile coloratissimo e graficamente molto molto valido (uno dei giochi con grafica migliore in assoluto su 3DS) , un po' perché é ricchissimo di contenuti e sfide nascoste, sa far incuriosire il giocatore. La cosa che piú stupisce del gioco é il gameplay: tutto si fa sfruttando il 3D. La console viene utilizzata al massimo del suo potenziale e ció oltre a divertire, fa anche riflettere sulle potenzialitá mai (o poco) sfruttate altrove della portatile Nintendo. Il gameplay é di quelli mai visti prima, fa molto effetto Wow perché il giocatore non é abituato a niente di simile. Il gioco di per sé non differisce molto da Bros per DS (che amai molto all'epoca) e non credo differisca nemmeno tanto dagli altri Mario come 3D World. Ho giocato gli 8 mondi principali e ho sbirciato il post-game con i mondi Speciali e i nuovi power-up. Non mi sono addentrato moltissimo, poiché vorrei passare ad altri giochi e purtroppo il genere platform dopo tot ore mi stanca parecchio. Detto ció il titolo é veramente enorme, uno dei migliori esponenti del suo genere e sicuramente una pietra miliare per 3DS. I livelli sono tutti molto diversi uno dall'altro e praticamente tutti introducono ogni volta una nuova meccanica. I power up di Mario sono molto carini, anche se forse alcuni sono troppo piú potenti di altri (il Tanooki). Non riesco a dargli un 9 perché comunque l'ho trovato a tratti troppo facile con pianeti a volte eccessivamente brevi e scialbi. Ciononostante l'enorme varietá e la longevitá (nonché gli sbloccabili, come Luigi) compensano molto questo suo difetto (anche se volendo, difetto proprio non é perché é stato concepito per essere il piú portatile possibile, peró é anche vero che il 3DS basta chiuderlo per poter poi continuare la partita, non serve che i pianeti durino meno di 5 minuti). In ogni caso é un must have che tutti dovrebbero provare, anche solo per assaggiare qualcosa di nuovo. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2017
    8
    Un muy buen juego de plataformas de la mitica saga de super mario. No tiene desperdicio, pero... La dificultad en este título me ha parecido muy baja, no voy a decir que conseguir el 100% del juego es facil pero tampoco es imposible
  4. May 4, 2017
    8
    It's a good Mario game. The 3D is incredible as it is one of the few games in the catalog that forces you to use it and does it in a good way, but the difficulty is very low.
  5. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    An awesome game, colorful, defying, funny, one of the best Mario games ever and maybe the best game of this console. Too bad I bought the digital version, it worth it to have the physical one.
  6. Apr 8, 2017
    9
    Super Mario 3D Land may not be the greatest 3D Mario game of all time, but Nintendo did an amazing job at offering something new and fresh for their 3D Mario formula. It really makes a 3D Mario game look like a 2D Mario game. Despite its repetitive but enjoyable boss battles, It still offers something great, including its fun and enjoyable gameplay, replacing the health metre with a bunchSuper Mario 3D Land may not be the greatest 3D Mario game of all time, but Nintendo did an amazing job at offering something new and fresh for their 3D Mario formula. It really makes a 3D Mario game look like a 2D Mario game. Despite its repetitive but enjoyable boss battles, It still offers something great, including its fun and enjoyable gameplay, replacing the health metre with a bunch of power-ups to use from 2D Mario games, beautiful graphics and designs and great music. If you own a Nintendo 3DS and if you're a fan of Mario games, you should go and check this game out. It may not be the best 3D Mario game ever made unlike the first two Mario Galaxy games, it still deserves a 9 out of 10. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2017
    4
    Sadly Super Mario 3D Land is the worst Mario 3D game yet. First off with the stuff I liked about the game. It's an awesome portable on the go game and the levels are short so you don't really have to stop in the middle of a level on the go to do something. The bad things about the game. The levels are a little to short for a 3D Mario game and that's a problem because there aren't manySadly Super Mario 3D Land is the worst Mario 3D game yet. First off with the stuff I liked about the game. It's an awesome portable on the go game and the levels are short so you don't really have to stop in the middle of a level on the go to do something. The bad things about the game. The levels are a little to short for a 3D Mario game and that's a problem because there aren't many levels to begin with. Also I feel like I'm playing a 2D Mario game because of how Linear it is. You really don't explore in this game and that stinks because some of the best parts about 3D Mario games are being able to explore. Levels are way to easy they can be finished quickly and easily which is bad for hardcore gamers that might be turned away because of how simple and easy it is. Overall you really don't have to buy this game it brings nothing new to the table which makes this game a pretty big miss to me and a lot of others Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2017
    8
    It's a pretty good entry into the Mario series. While it can be bland and forgettable, it's still a fun game. I would really recommend it if you want a 3DS game that uses 3D well.
  9. Mar 6, 2017
    8
    A solid entry into the Mario portable collection. Not quite as good as previous classics in the series but still well worth a purchase for all 3DS owners.
  10. Feb 22, 2017
    2
    The worst 3D Mario ever! It's insanely easy and the lack of co-op (since this is a 3DS game) makes this game 100x worse than Mario 3D world for the Wii U. This game is so easy that it just feels lazy.
  11. Dec 28, 2016
    8
    True Score: 8.5

    Pros: - Feels like classic, updated Mario - Some great uses of 3D - Great level design (as always) - Incredible music - Great visuals for the 3DS Cons: - Power-ups are limited - Worlds feel scattered in level design, despite the individuals levels being great - Depth perception issues when 3D is not on (which it usually isn't for most players) - Some of the
    True Score: 8.5

    Pros:
    - Feels like classic, updated Mario
    - Some great uses of 3D
    - Great level design (as always)
    - Incredible music
    - Great visuals for the 3DS

    Cons:
    - Power-ups are limited
    - Worlds feel scattered in level design, despite the individuals levels being great
    - Depth perception issues when 3D is not on (which it usually isn't for most players)
    - Some of the last few levels are incredibly frustrating
    - Only straight platforming levels (wouldn't usually be a con, but other modern Mario games usually have some kind of variation)
    Expand
  12. Dec 2, 2016
    9
    This is a very well made Mario game, probably one of the best. I enjoyed it very much. It paid homage to the old SMB games but also had fresh, new things to add. It's a challenging but not extremely difficult game. It's a fun, casual play.

    However, there are a few problems with this title. They are not deal breakers, just minor flaws. One thing is there isn't a lot of variety. Instead
    This is a very well made Mario game, probably one of the best. I enjoyed it very much. It paid homage to the old SMB games but also had fresh, new things to add. It's a challenging but not extremely difficult game. It's a fun, casual play.

    However, there are a few problems with this title. They are not deal breakers, just minor flaws. One thing is there isn't a lot of variety. Instead this game sticks to what it knows, and does it very well. Lastly, the game is a tad short. You'll be able to finish it up pretty quickly. Still I think it's worth it to buy Super Mario Land 3D. It's an adventure that puts a smile on your face.
    Expand
  13. Dec 2, 2016
    10
    I simply could not believe that a game looking so fantastic could run on 3DS. For me personally, this is THE ultimate 3DS handheld experience (along with Fire Emblem Aweakening). A must play title for every owner of 3DS.
  14. Nov 13, 2016
    10
    This game is so good that if you dont love it youve lost youre love of life. In these horrible times we live in Mario always puts a smile on my face. And in this game its more joyous than ever. Epic, beautiful, precious. Mario, you complete me x
  15. Oct 4, 2016
    8
    This game makes me feel very nostalgic as it has a lot of throwbacks to the older games in the series. It also has some of the best 3D effects on the system as well as some of the best graphics you'll see on the handheld. It almost looks like Super Mario Galaxy. It does feel a bit awkward at first since it's not like other 3D mario games where you can attack enemies. Here, you can onlyThis game makes me feel very nostalgic as it has a lot of throwbacks to the older games in the series. It also has some of the best 3D effects on the system as well as some of the best graphics you'll see on the handheld. It almost looks like Super Mario Galaxy. It does feel a bit awkward at first since it's not like other 3D mario games where you can attack enemies. Here, you can only jump on them & use power up abilities. No punching or twirling attacks here. It's also gone back to Mario's roots a bit. It knows it's a game & wants you to have fun while still being challenged. There's an optional level on every world that you unlock by collecting Star Coins hidden in each stage. These optional levels offer more of a challenge than the others tend to do. Sadly, there's no overworld. It's classic 2D stage select here but no off paths to choose from. Just one straight line. It's not really a bad thing but I kind of liked the branching paths other games in the series have already done.

    The only real issue I have with it is it's overwhelming spikes in difficulty. There are times when this game makes me want to throw my 3DS across the room because it is just unfair. So unfair, in fact, that it has the gall to give you the invincibility item when you die 5 times in a row. Now, let me give Nintendo some advice here. If a game's is designed to the point where you have to hand the player an invincibility item just so they can get through a level, you are DOING IT WRONG! It's not rewarding game play when you have to rely on an item like this in order to complete a level. It just means the game is designed poorly. Also, the controls are a bit off. The RUN button doesn't always make you run. It sometimes just puts you in a leisurely jog, which can get frustrating at times when you just want to run.

    I also don't know why Nintendo opted for an A to B level design for this one. In a 3D world, you want to run around in 3D. Not run around from point A to point B. It's almost like they are forgetting the whole point with 3D games by releasing this one. It's basically New Super Mario Bros. with a Z axis.

    Overall, it's worth picking up. It's a great game that's fun to play & challenging enough for older fans like myself. I don't really have any other complaints with it other than the spikes in difficulty & that the game hands me a free pass after 5 deaths & the fidgety run button. It's a good game, but other Mario games, like the Galaxy games or Sunshine, or even Super Mario 64 are far better.
    Expand
  16. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    One of my favorite Mario games ever. I love the second half of the game, feels like a nice bonus. The 3D looks amazing on the new 3ds. Must own for anyone with the system. Enjoy.
  17. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    One of the best 3D Marios, and one of the best games to play on the 3DS. I don't know why the user score for it is so low, this game is really good.

    I grew up with the original Super Mario Bros trilogy as a kid, on the NES. Super Mario Bros 3 was my favourite game for many years. I stopped caring for Mario much since the PS1 generation, but this game really made me happy and woke up
    One of the best 3D Marios, and one of the best games to play on the 3DS. I don't know why the user score for it is so low, this game is really good.

    I grew up with the original Super Mario Bros trilogy as a kid, on the NES. Super Mario Bros 3 was my favourite game for many years. I stopped caring for Mario much since the PS1 generation, but this game really made me happy and woke up memories.

    It has plenty of levels and secrets, satisfying platforming, good use of 3D (though you can play it without it just fine), incredible music, it is lengthy enough but ideal for short bursts of gameplay. It has very nice graphics and smooth animations. It is has very good replayability, and it can be hard in later levels, but never punishing.

    It is also very charming with the usual Super Mario charm, and features elements from Super Mario Bros 3 like musical themes. Those brought a tear to my eye. Never though small things like this could bring back childhood memories.

    All in all, this is a must have game if you own a 3DS.
    Expand
  18. Sep 2, 2016
    9
    Nintendo has release a unique and creative handheld with Super Mario 3D Land. The game has simple gameplay and has beautiful graphics, wonderful levels, and not to mention Special Worlds! I give it a 9/10.
  19. Aug 31, 2016
    10
    The perfect game if you are frustrated, if you are on your house, traveling, on friend's house, in everywhere, this game uses the 3D filter better than most games of the 3ds console, this game makes you feel, with is totally worth! actually comes with the new 3ds for 150 USD, a jackpot!
  20. Jul 20, 2016
    9
    This game isn't as good as 3D world but this game still holds a lot of great aspects and this game is very enjoyable. Well it doesn't have the feel of the original super mario land but it still is great!
  21. Jun 28, 2016
    8
    Good game for kids as it is extremely simple and linear with little to no context. As a returning Mario fan I personally got very little enjoyment out of playing through this (very short) game. But assuming it was intended for young kids, it is a pretty great option. Excellent use of the 3D capabilities and a couple of new mechanics. 8/10
  22. Jun 21, 2016
    9
    [ Written on February 17th, 2016 ] Super Mario 3D Land, as you can judge by the title, may feel like an improvement of Super Mario Land, but don't let that fool you. It's by far more than that. As people say it's no near the gold seen in Super Mario 3D World, all I can say is that Super Mario 3D Land is a success of a Mario game. Originally, an 8, but I raised it to a 9 because why not,[ Written on February 17th, 2016 ] Super Mario 3D Land, as you can judge by the title, may feel like an improvement of Super Mario Land, but don't let that fool you. It's by far more than that. As people say it's no near the gold seen in Super Mario 3D World, all I can say is that Super Mario 3D Land is a success of a Mario game. Originally, an 8, but I raised it to a 9 because why not, right? Okay, the story is predictable, but the gameplay is what I love about Mario and this game. Get this one on a local store near you or on the Nintendo eShop if you have internet and a Nintendo Network ID. You won't regret it. Expand
  23. Jun 7, 2016
    10
    Mario Platforming perfection, so many huge levels to play around in and enjoyable unlockables, also aiming to get a profile with 5 shiny stars on your 3ds card will give you around 30-40 hours of gameplay from this even for a Mario Veteran.
  24. Jun 4, 2016
    9
    Mario 3D Land is a great game with wonderful art design and great 3D graphics probably the best 3D game in the the 3DS library. However, the worlds seem too short and the camera at some worlds is not helpful add to the few soundtrack that the game offers and the low volume of it. Anyhow if you love Mario games this is a must have game if not; give it shot because if offers extra contentMario 3D Land is a great game with wonderful art design and great 3D graphics probably the best 3D game in the the 3DS library. However, the worlds seem too short and the camera at some worlds is not helpful add to the few soundtrack that the game offers and the low volume of it. Anyhow if you love Mario games this is a must have game if not; give it shot because if offers extra content and playable beloved character. Expand
  25. May 27, 2016
    9
    I'll keep this brief. Super Mario 3D Land is a fantastic entry in the Mario series, and a game any 3DS owner should have.

    Pros: + Great gameplay and level design + Great graphics for 3DS + A bazillion levels to play through with the special worlds and all + Great soundtrack Cons: - Poor and undetailed story (when compared to other recent main series Mario games) So go buy
    I'll keep this brief. Super Mario 3D Land is a fantastic entry in the Mario series, and a game any 3DS owner should have.

    Pros:
    + Great gameplay and level design
    + Great graphics for 3DS
    + A bazillion levels to play through with the special worlds and all
    + Great soundtrack

    Cons:
    - Poor and undetailed story (when compared to other recent main series Mario games)

    So go buy this if you haven't already.
    Expand
  26. Apr 12, 2016
    9
    Mario 3D Land, la idea fusión que funciona.
    La entrega define bien el concepto de plataforma 3d, no encontrarás nada mejor que esta amalgama que fusiona los primeros marios de 16 y 8bits con un 3ds fascinante con un perfecto gameplay.
    Es por eso que antes de adquirirlo, deben saber que no es un Mario 64 ni similar, es un juego de plataformas donde las etapas se pasan una vez y nada más.
    Mario 3D Land, la idea fusión que funciona.
    La entrega define bien el concepto de plataforma 3d, no encontrarás nada mejor que esta amalgama que fusiona los primeros marios de 16 y 8bits con un 3ds fascinante con un perfecto gameplay.
    Es por eso que antes de adquirirlo, deben saber que no es un Mario 64 ni similar, es un juego de plataformas donde las etapas se pasan una vez y nada más.
    Es relativamente sencillo y provoca un fuerte sentido nostálgico la distribución de botones, pero haber jugado mario 64, sunshime y Galaxy uno extraña el concepto de exploración y la búsqueda de una misión.
    Las etapas se terminan similar a un plataforma horizontal, tienes una zona donde comienzas y una donde terminas bajo una determinada cantidad de tiempo.
    Si bien el concepto es sencillo, la diversión no se opaca y las etapas se lucen en gráficos, coloridos, equilibrados, donde Nintendo siempre se ha sabido lucir, la música es estilo retro remasterizado, con buenos detalles.
    Los enemigos son creativos pero faltos de dificultad, aun Nintendo no logra emular la dificultad de sus primeras 3 entregas que de seguro es la piedra faltante del jugador de antaño.

    Mario 3d land es una compra segura, altamente recomendable para quienes vienen entrando de a poco al mundo de videojuegos y quienes no, el efecto 3d es fascinante siendo la justificación perfecta de la consola siendo cada etapa un espectáculo, un juego que no tiene falencias y su solo pecado es tener la increíble trayectoria de mario.
    Expand
  27. Apr 4, 2016
    8
    Super Mario 3D Land was the first 3D Mario game in a handheld (i'm not counting Super Mario 64 DS because that's technically a port) and the result was the first killer app for the 3DS system.

    STORY: Bowser kidnaps Princess Peach...oh and the raccoon leafs from Super Mario Bros 3 are here. PRESENTATION: For a launch title for the 3DS Super Mario 3D Land still holds up pretty well.
    Super Mario 3D Land was the first 3D Mario game in a handheld (i'm not counting Super Mario 64 DS because that's technically a port) and the result was the first killer app for the 3DS system.

    STORY: Bowser kidnaps Princess Peach...oh and the raccoon leafs from Super Mario Bros 3 are here.

    PRESENTATION: For a launch title for the 3DS Super Mario 3D Land still holds up pretty well.

    The models look like they were ripped from the console games (even tho there's some pixelation, but that's to be expected from the 3DS) and the animation, while simplistic, it's appalling and functional. All the environments look bright, colorful and well done.

    The music is very memorable and catchy, and the familiar sound effects are there.

    Overall there's not much else to say, it's a great presentation that looks even better with the 3D on.

    GAMEPLAY: Super Mario 3D Land is your typical Mario game and what i mean by that is aside from the new power ups, levels (which are very fun to play) and music, there's really nothing we haven't seen before. It's clear that Nintendo wanted to play safe on this one and leave all the new, polished and original for 3D world.

    But that's not to say that the game is bad, oh no quite opposite. 3D land still has the great levels, power ups, music, graphics and humor that the series is known for, nevertheless i wished that for the next 3D mario game on a handheld, we get some new and interesting ideas.

    But enough of that, let's go through this real quick. Mario can run, jump, wall jump, somersault and long jump just like he did before, but the last 2 techniques are not very helpful in this game. Mario still gets killed in 1 hit so you will need a power up like the returning mushroom, fire flower, the returning tanooki leaf (which allows Mario to slowly descend and to a spin attack) and star to get an extra hit, but this time we get a brand new power up, the boomerang flower, this allows you to throw a boomerang to kill enemies and collect star coins. If you get 2 power up at a time, you can store them in the touch screen and with a simple touch the power up will appear.

    If you paid attention you might notice that i said "star coins", yep they are back and they function just like in New Super Mario Bros, theres 3 of them in each stage and you will need a specific number to unlock certain stages and the final level.

    In the end, even tho it doesn't reinvent the wheel, Super Mario 3D Land is a fun worthwhile title that any 3DS owner needs to have. Great levels, graphics, music, power ups, etc. Super Mario 3D Land gets an 8/10.
    Expand
  28. Mar 21, 2016
    9
    I really like this game. It's one of the best games on the 3DS. If you wanna start playing Mario games, then this is the best place to start. And unlike the first Sonic game, this game is still a blast to play for veterans of the Mario franchise. My only major problem with this game is that it doesn't try anything new. It's heavily based on the likes of Super Mario Bros. 3, with theI really like this game. It's one of the best games on the 3DS. If you wanna start playing Mario games, then this is the best place to start. And unlike the first Sonic game, this game is still a blast to play for veterans of the Mario franchise. My only major problem with this game is that it doesn't try anything new. It's heavily based on the likes of Super Mario Bros. 3, with the tanooki suit making a return. Still, despite this major flaw, I still recommend it to everyone. Expand
  29. Feb 3, 2016
    10
    I'm not even the biggest Nintendo, Mario, or platforming fan but this game is just casual fun. It perfectly takes advantage of all the features of the 3DS like 3D and the gyroscope. It's great in short bursts and there's tons of levels to play through and collect stars. Or you can go for time and speedrun the game. I just keep coming back to it to 3-star one more level.
  30. Dec 29, 2015
    9
    Without a doubt one of the best games on the 3DS. Some good nice music with gorgeous graphics. It combines the best from the 2D and the 3D. The game was still heavily inspired by the classics. It also brings back the Tunooki suit from Super Mario Bros 3! The only down side is that it is on the easy side.
  31. Oct 19, 2015
    8
    Listen, we all know what to expect from a mario game. You get that here just as you gotten it with every other iteration. The lone flaw with this game is the players ability to perceive depth. There are a few times in the game when it is difficult to tell when a platform you are jumping to is higher than the one you on. The 3D doesn't to a good enough job in this regard. It is not aListen, we all know what to expect from a mario game. You get that here just as you gotten it with every other iteration. The lone flaw with this game is the players ability to perceive depth. There are a few times in the game when it is difficult to tell when a platform you are jumping to is higher than the one you on. The 3D doesn't to a good enough job in this regard. It is not a problem that occurs very often but it is frustrating when it does. Other than that here is another great mario adventure. Expand
  32. Oct 10, 2015
    9
    I spent a lot of my time playing .It's not the best Mario game,neither 3DS game,but is one of the best.Level design are good like all Mario.This game is a must have for the 3DS system.
  33. Aug 30, 2015
    10
    This is one of my favourite games of all time. Super Mario 3D Land was released in 2011, had it since then. The graphics are really great for the 3DS. The controls are perfect. The game also feels like I am playing Super Mario Galaxy (Awesome game) and Super Mario Galaxy 2 AKA Best Game Ever. Hell they even brought back some of the cool music from those two games. The story is not thatThis is one of my favourite games of all time. Super Mario 3D Land was released in 2011, had it since then. The graphics are really great for the 3DS. The controls are perfect. The game also feels like I am playing Super Mario Galaxy (Awesome game) and Super Mario Galaxy 2 AKA Best Game Ever. Hell they even brought back some of the cool music from those two games. The story is not that different from the previous Mario Games. The levels are really fun, especially the Special Worlds. The designs are cool. Super Mario 3D Land is the best 3D Platformer on a handheld in my opinion that just beat the hell out of Super Mario 64 DS because THAT used to be my favourite handheld game; that is, until 3D Land came out. This game will make most gamers of All Ages smile, it's really fun and enjoyable. I believe this game was also one of the 3DS Launch Titles, and if it is, it is ONE OF THE BEST launch titles ever made. And one more thing, if you hate this game you are BEYOND silly as JB. Expand
  34. Aug 5, 2015
    6
    Maybe I just prefer Mario Kart to the traditional Super Mario but for me, this game didn't give me quite the enjoyable experience that I was looking for. Whilst still fun in short bursts I can't play it for more than around twenty minutes at a time before I get bored.
  35. Jul 12, 2015
    8
    A solid game, as to be expected from Nintendo. The graphics are charming, the levels are interesting, and it is great to just relax and get your mind off things. Also, the 3D feature of 3DS finds its use here; it's much easier to navigate levels and aim your jumps with 3D on, so this was the first time i turned it on since i bought the system. The controls should be mentioned; MarioA solid game, as to be expected from Nintendo. The graphics are charming, the levels are interesting, and it is great to just relax and get your mind off things. Also, the 3D feature of 3DS finds its use here; it's much easier to navigate levels and aim your jumps with 3D on, so this was the first time i turned it on since i bought the system. The controls should be mentioned; Mario controls really smoothly, with a satisfying sense of weight and inertia; it's easy to get used and use the controls to the max.

    There are, however, issues. The game is, for its price, really short; if you play it with intention to beat it, you will be done in a couple of hours, give or take. Unlike some other games which provide bonuses for putting 3DS away for a while, there are no such incentives here; you will be forced to put the game away not because you had enough, but because you know you will be done with it too quickly otherwise. Furthermore, while levels in the game are, as per usual, divided into worlds, there are no themes in those worlds to speak of; while minor, it is really strange and takes away a spoonful of fun there was in looking at those cool new places you could visit.
    Expand
  36. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    I love this game! i love the gameplay, soundtrack, graphics and everything... But it's so god damn EASY! i beaten the game 100% in one week and that's why is not that Perfect for me
  37. May 14, 2015
    7
    Super Mario 3D Land boasts colorful graphics and utilizes the 3D very well. For the most part, the first eight worlds were fairly easy, and though the game looks great, some levels looked kind of bare in some respects. The levels are quite linear, despite being a 3D game. Later levels (Beyond world 8) are more challenging with different things added to a level design that has beenSuper Mario 3D Land boasts colorful graphics and utilizes the 3D very well. For the most part, the first eight worlds were fairly easy, and though the game looks great, some levels looked kind of bare in some respects. The levels are quite linear, despite being a 3D game. Later levels (Beyond world 8) are more challenging with different things added to a level design that has been copy-pasted from previous levels.
    There's no doubt that the game is great fun, but I feel that there is more to be desired.
    Expand
  38. May 4, 2015
    8
    Absolutely fantastic Mario game. The whole feel, the music, the controls, the graphics are exactly what you want from it. The 3D is very good - it doesn't add a lot to the gameplay (as with most 3DS games) but it does add nice depth to the backgrounds, and gives a certain extra something to landing your jumps on the enemies or platforms.

    The level design is largely very good, but
    Absolutely fantastic Mario game. The whole feel, the music, the controls, the graphics are exactly what you want from it. The 3D is very good - it doesn't add a lot to the gameplay (as with most 3DS games) but it does add nice depth to the backgrounds, and gives a certain extra something to landing your jumps on the enemies or platforms.

    The level design is largely very good, but leads to the one complaint I have - it's too short! I completed all 8 worlds and obtained all 3 star coins on all but a handful of the levels on the first try. The rest weren't hard to find. The levels are quite small so finding them wasn't a huge challenge. The special levels mix it up, and have so far been more difficult to complete 100%. The Bowser levels are few, but are very exciting, having you run towards the switch at the end a la Super Mario Bros on NES, except in a long, 3D section rather than a short bridge as in that original.

    There is little replay value here in the short-term (unless you ARE struggling to get 3 star coins everywhere) but I definitely will run through it again probably every year or two, as I do with most other Mario titles.

    Easily the best Super Mario (platforming) handheld game for sure, and gives many of the home console games a run for their money.
    Expand
  39. Apr 10, 2015
    8
    Solid plattformer, without the quality thad made the series great, and without any innovations or especially well gameplay, level design, graphics or 3D.
    Pretty much feels like New Super Mario Bros in small 3D environments, which definitely isnt a bad thing, and i can certainly see people having fun with this game, but as the systems primary Mario game, it did disappoint me.
    All in
    Solid plattformer, without the quality thad made the series great, and without any innovations or especially well gameplay, level design, graphics or 3D.
    Pretty much feels like New Super Mario Bros in small 3D environments, which definitely isnt a bad thing, and i can certainly see people having fun with this game, but as the systems primary Mario game, it did disappoint me.

    All in all, 80/100 points, for still being one of the best plattformers on the system...
    Expand
  40. Apr 6, 2015
    9
    Super Mario 3D Land is pretty fun Mario game, i really enjoy the game's aspect of it going
    Mario is on adventure to save Peach as always,
    the gameplay is good but finding the coins stars kinda hard to play game but this issue won't take me to stop playing the game,
  41. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    This game was made for the 3DS, and I don't intend that to be an obvious statement. A lot of games are made for the 3DS but are faulty on one of two levels: 1) they don't utilize the full capabilities of the 3DS -or- 2) they try wayyy too hard to maximize the 3D aspect, which let's be honest, can be a real strain on the eyes. Super Mario 3D Land does it perfectly. There's parts where youThis game was made for the 3DS, and I don't intend that to be an obvious statement. A lot of games are made for the 3DS but are faulty on one of two levels: 1) they don't utilize the full capabilities of the 3DS -or- 2) they try wayyy too hard to maximize the 3D aspect, which let's be honest, can be a real strain on the eyes. Super Mario 3D Land does it perfectly. There's parts where you need to have the 3D slider on, but the game doesn't use it as a crutch for being a 3DS game. There's plenty of innovation with added suits, world diversity, and the gameplay is just downright fun. This one is a blast, and its replay value is extremely high. Expand
  42. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    If Wii Sports was made to show the Wii off, then Super Mario 3D Land was made to show the 3DS off. It may be wrong to compare it to masterpieces like Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 but whenever the word "3D" is slapped right on the title, one would assume it's in the 3D Mario series. The levels are great but for some reason, Nintendo's opted for gameplay that's closer to the 2D platformers than theIf Wii Sports was made to show the Wii off, then Super Mario 3D Land was made to show the 3DS off. It may be wrong to compare it to masterpieces like Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 but whenever the word "3D" is slapped right on the title, one would assume it's in the 3D Mario series. The levels are great but for some reason, Nintendo's opted for gameplay that's closer to the 2D platformers than the massive 3D ones. It's not bad by any means but 3D Land feels a bit lacking in the end. Expand
  43. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    Best handheld game ever! This game is awesome. The graphics are great. The level designs are well done. The special worlds are fun. The controls are perfect. Super Mario 3D Land is an amazing game and it is a must buy for 3DS owners.
  44. Jan 19, 2015
    8
    It's a very good 3D platformer, not the best i would say, and it's too simple at times, but it's still a good game. Platformer fans should look this up.
  45. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    Took my several months to beat and I loved it all the way through. A MUST HAVE for the 3DS, it will keep you entertained for a long, long time. This game is amazing!
  46. Dec 13, 2014
    9
    A joyful romp, even though the difficulty doesn't ramp up until the special worlds come around. Expect all from it that you would any console 3D Mario release, but be ready to have to step things up a notch once you beat the main game.
  47. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    3D Land is the first original 3D Mario game on a handheld and it doesn't disappoint. Great graphics, sound and gameplay make this a great platformer, the only negative point being it's difficulty -it's a bit on the easy side.
  48. Nov 22, 2014
    8
    The weakest entry in the 3D Mario platformer series, but that's not a bad thing. It's on a handheld and all the 3D Mario games are really good, this game was so good that I 100% it. But still, it was really easy. If you are looking for a nice challenge it's not here, the Special worlds are more challenging, but I breezed through the levels no problem. Also the Special Worlds are the sameThe weakest entry in the 3D Mario platformer series, but that's not a bad thing. It's on a handheld and all the 3D Mario games are really good, this game was so good that I 100% it. But still, it was really easy. If you are looking for a nice challenge it's not here, the Special worlds are more challenging, but I breezed through the levels no problem. Also the Special Worlds are the same levels you already did with some differences. Good entry in the 3d Mario Platformers, but not as good as 64 or Galaxy. 3D World on the Wii U is better than this game Expand
  49. Nov 15, 2014
    7
    A huge step up from the bland and sterile 2D Mario games on the Nintendo Wii. This is a fun 3D platformer with a huge array of levels. Although short, each one is unique and presents a different challenge.

    But solid as it is the game is still rather vanilla. Compared to Donkey Kong Country Returns or Shovel Knight the platforming feels plain and the level design a bit simple.
  50. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    This is the second 3d Mario game on a handheld, but it flows so much better than the Super Mario 64 DS. It plays so well and the fact that u can play as Green Mario makes it even better.
  51. Nov 5, 2014
    8
    the game is good good visuals good gameplay but they bascally put new super mario bros and made it in 3d and the game lacks a hubworld like super mario galaxy
  52. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    Alright, is not super mario galaxy but it doesnt needs to be, this game shines by itself. While we wait for the next mario masterpiece how about a little masterwork by the geniuses at nintendo?
    Never dissapoints, my only complain is that the game is TOO EASY. Remember galaxy had harder extra levels had added punch to us older players.
    You cannot go wrong with mario, this one has the
    Alright, is not super mario galaxy but it doesnt needs to be, this game shines by itself. While we wait for the next mario masterpiece how about a little masterwork by the geniuses at nintendo?
    Never dissapoints, my only complain is that the game is TOO EASY. Remember galaxy had harder extra levels had added punch to us older players.
    You cannot go wrong with mario, this one has the tight controls, great soundtrack, amazing original levels that you expect from the franchise.
    Expand
  53. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Awesome and really fun game. If you have 3DS you must get this. Definitely one of the best 3DS games. The first few levels might be boring and easy, but it gets awesome and fun really quickly.
  54. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    Hey, hey! Said what? I like this one! All models were from Super Mario Galaxy. 30 FPS is not problem. Truly fun, perfect 3D presentation as the first Nintendo 3DS game. No 3D Land, no 3DS.
  55. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    This is an all-around solid platformer worthy of the Mario name. It's lighthearted and charming as you'd expect, though it comes dangerously close to being too easy. But don't worry; the game becomes challenging later on. The blend of 2D and 3D design philosophy is masterful at times, and feels truly inspired by what made old Mario games great.
  56. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    It's like.. Mario's blessings on the new console.
    Thanks Mario for staying true to your fans and being the greatest platform character ever.
    the game is simply beautiful.
  57. Aug 6, 2014
    6
    It's a good game to play through once, but I don't think it's something I'll be playing again. I enjoyed the game overall but can't shake the feeling it wasn't very inspired. There are some levels that have good design to them but I felt like more than half of them just had you jumping across solid color blocks and platforms and not much else. Bosses are not plentiful. I know Mario isn'tIt's a good game to play through once, but I don't think it's something I'll be playing again. I enjoyed the game overall but can't shake the feeling it wasn't very inspired. There are some levels that have good design to them but I felt like more than half of them just had you jumping across solid color blocks and platforms and not much else. Bosses are not plentiful. I know Mario isn't really about the bosses and it's supposed to be simple, but I don't get what nintendo has against putting new things in mario. How about a couple new boss enemies so you're not playing a repeat of the koopa kid fight over and over? The platforming for the most part is good, but on some of the harder levels it gets frustrating trying to get Mario to land properly on small platforms, without him slipping and falling off. The majority of the levels don't have that problem but the worst was the crown level at the very end. They tried to make it the most challenging level in the game, but challenge is only fun when you know that dying is your fault and not the game's.

    Anyway, like I said it was fun but by the end I was so burned out on it because of how simplistic and featureless it is.
    Expand
  58. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    Game: Super Mario 3D Land
    Genre: Adventure/Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS) Total Score: 90/100 Value Score: 9.0/10 • Story: 6/10 • Characters: 9/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 10/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 7/10 • Replay Value: 8/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Mesh of 2D and 3D elements +Great Variety in Level design
    Game: Super Mario 3D Land
    Genre: Adventure/Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo
    System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS)
    Total Score: 90/100
    Value Score: 9.0/10

    • Story: 6/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 10/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Mesh of 2D and 3D elements
    +Great Variety in Level design and Difficulty
    +Play as Mario (and Luigi later on)
    +A lot of elements from previous Mario games such as the NES series
    +Great Sound and Music work
    +Well designed visuals

    Cons
    -Some notable characters were missing such as Yoshi and the Koopa Kids
    -2nd half of game is mainly a rehash of the first half with a few differences but nothing too noticeable
    Expand
  59. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Super Mario 3D Land is a great Mario game with a few things holding it back from standing out.

    The gameplay is as you'd expect, the controls feel tight and responsive and stomping on goombas is as satisfying as ever. The level design is great and levels are short to suit the handheld style. The new power ups are great, with both the tanooki and boomerang suits being a blast to play with. Complaints that the game is short are in my opinion unfounded. Yes the 8 worlds are over pretty quickly but you then unlock a whole 8 new 'special worlds' meaning the game will easily take 16 odd hours to finish and that's before you even collect the star coins (which in general is fun rather than it being a chore). My issue is not the length but that the special worlds are a little repetitive. They're essentially levels you've already played with extra enemies or new elements thrown in such as shadow Mario or a decreased time limit. While this makes a fun challenge it gets repetitive when certain levels are used 3 or 4 times and occasionally feels like things have been made difficult for the sake of it, rather than challenging in a fun way.

    Visually the game makes great use of the 3D (the birds eye view levels where Mario looks as if he's jumping out the screen were a highlight) and is a good showcase of the 3DS' capabilities. Levels are generally full of colour and vibrant but occasionally feel a bit sterile, I couldn't put my finger on why but I think it might be the lack of detail in the background on some levels. The sound is as strong as ever with cool tunes and sound effects throughout.

    In conclusion this is a great first handheld 3D outing for the plumber but the repetitive special worlds and lack of that intangible magic that Mario titles often bring holds it back from standing out from the rest of Mario's catalogue. If you own a 3DS then you should own this, it's one of the best games on the system. If you don't, it's probably not quite special enough to warrant the purchase of one just for this game.
    Expand
  60. Jun 28, 2014
    7
    Mario 3D land is not too innovative, only 4 music tracks stood out too me, the bosses are some of the most repetitive bosses i have ever faced, lame special world, and a HATE the fact that this is just a excuse for a new Mario series were all they did was copying Mario galaxy. but, this game has it's charm and is more addicting than every game i have played so far i sound more negativeMario 3D land is not too innovative, only 4 music tracks stood out too me, the bosses are some of the most repetitive bosses i have ever faced, lame special world, and a HATE the fact that this is just a excuse for a new Mario series were all they did was copying Mario galaxy. but, this game has it's charm and is more addicting than every game i have played so far i sound more negative than positive but this game have soo much charm too it that i just love it. Expand
  61. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    So much fun! So much nostalgia. Looks great and loaded with charm and challenge. StreetPass features are pretty worthless, but otherwise a great experience overall. Easily a must-own 3DS title.
  62. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    Vacating exploration for precision platforming galore, 3D Land ambitiously restates Mario's undertaking in the third dimension to great success. Late game challenges will demand untold accuracy of the omnidirectional Mario, sometimes causing intended actions to fluff and ultimately become the biggest obstacle of all.
  63. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    When it comes to platform games Nintendo really know what they are doing and Super Mario 3D Land is a worthy addition to the Mario franchise. Gorgeous graphics,great music, well thought out level design, and a simple but effective control system.
    While it's not my favourite 3ds game I can certainly understand that it would be a favourite game for many.
    9/10.
  64. May 24, 2014
    10
    This is why I have a 3ds this why I love Mario great graphics great design I give this a ten and love how great this is and how detailed this is get this Now
  65. May 13, 2014
    10
    I haven't played any Mario games since I was really little and I haven't owned any Nintendo systems for like 12 years, I bought a Nintendo 3DS XL for my upcoming 21st birthday and got Super Mario 3D Land to go with it. First thing nostalgic rush it's exactly how I remember it when I played it as a little kid, even better! This game is very fun to play and with 3D Land opens up a whole newI haven't played any Mario games since I was really little and I haven't owned any Nintendo systems for like 12 years, I bought a Nintendo 3DS XL for my upcoming 21st birthday and got Super Mario 3D Land to go with it. First thing nostalgic rush it's exactly how I remember it when I played it as a little kid, even better! This game is very fun to play and with 3D Land opens up a whole new world (literally :P) to explore, the 3D graphics are awesome. But I found this game to be very challenging it's not a bad thing just surprising so be ready for a challenge. And the replayability is good, after you finish a stage there is always something I missed (time clock) and it's fun to collect more coins and go through the same stage and find secrets and the rest of the tokens.

    I highly recommend Super Mario 3D Land.
    Expand
  66. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    There's no question – if you own a 3DS, this is the best game on the platform, and instantly worthy of a purchase. It's one of the best portable platformers I've ever played graphics spot and and the 3d effects are amazing
  67. Apr 26, 2014
    8
    Very good game, very fun to play and it was well worth the money! The only problem that I have with this game is that it is just far too easy. I completed it all within 5 hours of playtime which is quiet frankly outrageous. I know that Nintendo aim Mario at kids nowadays, but come on, at least make it challenging with difficulty settings or something!
  68. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Really good game. It combines the 3d platforming of 64 and the linear worlds and levels of bros and creates a great game. The music is good and the level design is genius. The extra worlds can have you playing till you get every star coin.
  69. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    great game but way too short and easy, its clear that this game was aimed for children. the bonus levels they put at the end of the game should of been part of the main game. also, its sometimes hard to tell where mario is and then he falls off the ledge, this happened to me way too many times.
  70. Apr 13, 2014
    2
    an insanely easy mario game that brings absolutely nothing new to the table besides ruining 3d mario forever. Seriously the easiness of this game is laughable.
  71. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Always been a bit skeptical when it comes to 3D Mario games, Super Mario 64 is a game that I honestly never totally enjoyed, Super Mario Sunshine was a pain, but the galaxy series was fun but a bit long for my liking Super Mario 3D Land however is a very enjoyable, the level design is superb for every level, & I love the music, one thing that could have been improved is the control, it'sAlways been a bit skeptical when it comes to 3D Mario games, Super Mario 64 is a game that I honestly never totally enjoyed, Super Mario Sunshine was a pain, but the galaxy series was fun but a bit long for my liking Super Mario 3D Land however is a very enjoyable, the level design is superb for every level, & I love the music, one thing that could have been improved is the control, it's not as bad as say Sonic 06, uhh, but the game has sometimes annoying 8-way directional control that allows you to go in one & only one direction which is disappointing when using the circle pad, sometimes I'll push one direction, especially in 2D sections, but due to only being allowed to use the circle pad, I could find myself going in a different direction than I intended, causing me to fall from the platforms to the deep pits below, it's a nit-pick as this hardly ever happens to me, but on those few occasions it was irritating! Expand
  72. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    Super Mario 3D Land seems to be mixed by a lot of people. The game has a 64 feeling to it, yet has a different touch as well. The game overall is pretty good. What it lacks is a replay value. Once you beat it...you beat it. 8/10
  73. Apr 8, 2014
    8
    Super Mario 3D Land is not only one of the most fun platformers I've played, it is one of the better 3DS games available. The graphics are gorgeous, and the difficulty slowly increases allowing for both skilled and rookie gamers to enjoy themselves. Fail a stage too many times, and you will get the option to unlock items at the beginning of the level that help you complete it without anySuper Mario 3D Land is not only one of the most fun platformers I've played, it is one of the better 3DS games available. The graphics are gorgeous, and the difficulty slowly increases allowing for both skilled and rookie gamers to enjoy themselves. Fail a stage too many times, and you will get the option to unlock items at the beginning of the level that help you complete it without any trouble by offering invincibility for extended periods of time.

    Personally, I found the first half of the game fairly easy, and was worried, but the second half is far more difficult and it is very rewarding when you finally beat a level that has killed you ten times in a row. The level design is quite good, although some of the best elements are only used on one or two stages.
    Expand
  74. Apr 3, 2014
    6
    at first this is WOW, it's like a pocket mario galaxy version of the classic mario bros or something, but, after a while playing, you notice, the levels are super short, and they use the exact same level designs sometimes 6 times or more, changing slight details like the placement of a single trap and enemies...
    super exciting at first, then, slowly gets a bit tiring, especially with the
    at first this is WOW, it's like a pocket mario galaxy version of the classic mario bros or something, but, after a while playing, you notice, the levels are super short, and they use the exact same level designs sometimes 6 times or more, changing slight details like the placement of a single trap and enemies...
    super exciting at first, then, slowly gets a bit tiring, especially with the requirements for 100% completion, what's worst is the requirement for getting the shiny 5 stars in your save file, you screw up once and might as well erase your save file and start over, because you lost it, forever.
    the gameplay is fantastic, but the game is too short to enjoy it fully.
    Expand
  75. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I very much enjoyed Super Mario 3D Land, it was very fun. I really liked the formula they introduced in this game, it was creative because it combined elements from both the 2d Mario games and the 3d Mario games; Think Super Mario Bros. 3 combined with New Super Mario Bros. and Super Mario Galaxy. It was very enjoyable in this style, however I think this is unfortunately one of the easiest Mario games out there, luckily the levels the bonus worlds are harder, but I kind of wish we had more of a challenge in the regular levels. Super Mario 3D Land is very fun and very enjoyable, it's a must have for the 3DS and I can't wait to play it' sequel, Super Mario 3D World, once I get myself a Wii U. Expand
  76. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Really good mario game but lacks replay value like most of the others. Of course you can unlock harder version of the levels after beating the game but i didn't want to play again when everything is done unlike Mario Bros 3 or Super Mario World which are still a blast to play more than 20 years after.
  77. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Just another Mario game. There isn't much new brought to this game, however what Nintendo have brought is their usual high standards and quality. If I managed to find a single fault its that its too easy to begin with, of course you do have to remember that this is essentially a children game, and near the end it does become challenging,

    It is an essential game for the 3Ds that provides
    Just another Mario game. There isn't much new brought to this game, however what Nintendo have brought is their usual high standards and quality. If I managed to find a single fault its that its too easy to begin with, of course you do have to remember that this is essentially a children game, and near the end it does become challenging,

    It is an essential game for the 3Ds that provides a rich world, populated with puzzles and interesting characters and some frustrating challenges..
    Expand
  78. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    As always, gameplay wise it doesn't get much better. My problem is that it all feels too clinical. It's not a world that Mario is adventuring through, it feels more like a lab experiment. Still had good fun though
  79. Feb 2, 2014
    4
    This game is ok, but nothing special. It is a 3D jump 'n' run title with nice levels. Still it is way too easy and way too short. I got it for free during some promotion thing, but I would never buy it.
  80. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    This is honestly my favorite 3DS game. I played Super Mario 3D World before I played this and I hesitated on buying this because I wasn't blown away by 3D World and I thought that the games might be similar. Well, they are not. 3D Land is completely made with the 3D feature in mind and is just a straight up pure mario game. This is my favorite Mario game since Super Mario 64. I like 3DThis is honestly my favorite 3DS game. I played Super Mario 3D World before I played this and I hesitated on buying this because I wasn't blown away by 3D World and I thought that the games might be similar. Well, they are not. 3D Land is completely made with the 3D feature in mind and is just a straight up pure mario game. This is my favorite Mario game since Super Mario 64. I like 3D World and this game actually makes me appreciate it a little more, but this game just has the 'it' factor. I just like playing it. Every single level I have played (I just got to stage 8) has been a lot of fun. Not necessarily the most challenging (I have 54 lives), but very, very, fun and just an unbelievably good game for a hand held. This is definitely the best playform for this type of mario game which pulls from various influences while innovating with the 3D aspect. Expand
  81. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    Super Mario 3D Land was played for 18:35 minutes by me.

    So, I was expecting a game like this to come out, a hybrid of SMG1&2 and SM64 with some hints of NSMB in it. It was very good looking, and I went to grab it. As I played the level, I realized a couple of things that may seem awkward for long time Mario game players. Mario is extremely unresponsive when he jumps. This is a big
    Super Mario 3D Land was played for 18:35 minutes by me.

    So, I was expecting a game like this to come out, a hybrid of SMG1&2 and SM64 with some hints of NSMB in it. It was very good looking, and I went to grab it. As I played the level, I realized a couple of things that may seem awkward for long time Mario game players. Mario is extremely unresponsive when he jumps. This is a big downside because in other games, mario was responsive enough that you could easily dodge and avoid things that were coming at you. Another issue was the amount of levels. It's understandable that the game is linear and takes some more effort to make, but there are only around 5 levels a world, and 8 worlds, so you have a basic 40 levels in the game. That amount of gameplay won't be that much to entertain you, and the difficulty is very low. Now once you have all the star coins in each world though, Another set of 8 bonus worlds open up. It's very difficult to play with the unresponsive controls in those worlds, but that basically adds another 40 levels...BUT you actually get the same (usually) level with a few additions of spikes, time limit, or other things that don't really make it a separate level. I highly recommend this to platforming beginners and people who can find simplicity for their best, as this game is NOT recommended for long time Mario Fans that have mastered the art of platforming and want a challenge.

    Gameplay: 8.5/10
    Story: 7/10
    Music: 8.5/10
    Presentation: 7.5/10
    Length: 6/10
    Overall: 7/10
    Expand
  82. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    One of the best games on the 3DS hands down. 3D Land has so far the best visuals on the 3DS, the game looks that impressive. Great level design, great music, a fun climax. This is pretty much what a 3D Mario game should be on a handheld.
  83. Jan 8, 2014
    7
    For a game that's getting so much praise it's really nothing special. It seems as if the lack of any story is common in the Marioverse so I'll just skip this. The graphics are OK, but everything looks somewhat sterile to me. Yeah, everything looks like it should (and it looks even better when you consider that you're playing it on a 2ds), but everything is lacking that special somethingFor a game that's getting so much praise it's really nothing special. It seems as if the lack of any story is common in the Marioverse so I'll just skip this. The graphics are OK, but everything looks somewhat sterile to me. Yeah, everything looks like it should (and it looks even better when you consider that you're playing it on a 2ds), but everything is lacking that special something that's everywhere in games like Rayman Legends. The gameplay is amazing, Mario corresponds to commands like you would expect him to, there is no way to deny that. The level design is overall boring and way too easy in the first half of the game, but the second half will test you and in the levels with the Shadow Mario it will break you; these levels are the ones that destroyed the whole fun for me. These levels aren't difficult, they are straight out annoying. The reward for completing the game 100% (which is more of a chore than fun) is a single level which I didn't even bother playing as I was sick and tired of this game at that point. I would recommend this game to everyone who like Jump & Runs and owns a 2ds, but don't bother finishing the whole game, it's not worth it. Expand
  84. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    when I was a young kid I felt nintendo should release a super mario game each year. It could just have the Super Mario World engine with new levels, and it would still be an outstanding game.

    By 'outstanding I don't mean 'the ultimate gaming experience' that was Super Mario 64. Super mario 3D land is an outstanding game and you will have lots of fun playing all levels and collecting
    when I was a young kid I felt nintendo should release a super mario game each year. It could just have the Super Mario World engine with new levels, and it would still be an outstanding game.

    By 'outstanding I don't mean 'the ultimate gaming experience' that was Super Mario 64. Super mario 3D land is an outstanding game and you will have lots of fun playing all levels and collecting star coins, as it is real fun to revisit levels to get them.

    It is the best game to take the advantage of the 3D, since the effect is somewhat required to play some levels better, which makes you proud to have a nintendo 3DS.

    What I don't like about this Super Mario 3D Land is it praises too much the older marios, dedicating whole levels to remember you how awesome Mario 3 was. Ok Nintendo we get it: old school games are awesome and you we should (re)play them, but you don't have to bother us about it all that much.

    I also feel the 'powerups' are a bit underused, with little to no real meaning in the game level design-wise.

    The first half of the game is way too easy. I know about 'entry level barrier' and I feel it every time I present this game to a non gamer. But after world 4-5 or something it should get a bit tougher, and when the game is at its peak with their hardest levels presented there should me more and hardest levels, for the ones who really want a challenge, which ultimately isn't there.

    The 'tanooki of shame', given if you die too much in a level doesn't help either, since I believe a player should learn and get better at the game to beat a level, and not being spoiled by it.

    Lastly, the world map is just a straight line of levels; an element of the game that could be more elaborated and explored.

    Definetly one of the best 3ds titles, though I feel nintendo could have done a bit more in this game; maybe they are saving it for the new super mario on Wii U.
    Expand
  85. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the best games out there for the 3DS, hands down. Although there is a bit of a problem with the level-skipping Invincibility Leaf, it can easily be overlooked you can continue to play the game without having to resort to it. Difficulty aside, I would really recommend this game for anyone who enjoys a good platformer.
  86. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This is probably tied with A Link Between Worlds as the best game for the 3DS. When I saw the new game, I thought, "Gee, another Mario game, but in 3D! This is ridiculous." But then I got it for Christmas, and I didn't know that I played it till 10:00 p.m. until I bothered to look at the clock. This game demonstrates the 3DS's capabilities, and Nintendo made it with great care. This gameThis is probably tied with A Link Between Worlds as the best game for the 3DS. When I saw the new game, I thought, "Gee, another Mario game, but in 3D! This is ridiculous." But then I got it for Christmas, and I didn't know that I played it till 10:00 p.m. until I bothered to look at the clock. This game demonstrates the 3DS's capabilities, and Nintendo made it with great care. This game is loads of fun and will hook you instantly, with levels that remind me of a cross between Super Mario Galaxy and Super Mario World. It's fun, fast, and beautiful. The world is seamless and the music is great. This is a console seller. Expand
  87. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    mario*_*
    -must for all jump and run player

    good thinks:
    it has a lot levels
    the graphic is good
    it has 16. worlds
    the 3d is good

    negativ
    -no veriaty in the levels
    -its to easy only the last level is hard
  88. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    This game is okay. I really think this gave does not deserves all the respect although. Yes I know it is indeed a Mario game. Finally gameplay change from the past 6 years and I'm proud of that. However this game is more repetitive then people are though to be believing. This game has stolen models of the enemies, coins, mushrooms excluding the poison mushroom, and music. Ghost houseThis game is okay. I really think this gave does not deserves all the respect although. Yes I know it is indeed a Mario game. Finally gameplay change from the past 6 years and I'm proud of that. However this game is more repetitive then people are though to be believing. This game has stolen models of the enemies, coins, mushrooms excluding the poison mushroom, and music. Ghost house repeated cosmic Mario entirely repeated and sky world repeated. The gameplay ain't bad. Music is pretty good excluding the Mario galaxies rip offs. Only 3 power up are in the game which include the tonoki leaf, boomerang the only new power up and the fire flower. I guess I could say that the level design is the only remarks of new in the game. However this even has a problem on how pafaticly easy the game is until you reach special world 7. The special world is also a let down due to the reused levels in the game with minor enemy and rule adjustment. Beating the game 100% is almost literally use less except to get a stupid bonus level with even gets rid of the pipe in special world 8. No joke it just one hard level. That's near imposiable with the cheap item the tonoki leaf. After that this game also has no replay value at all. Plus the street pass feature is fairly broken. Why because if you don't go out and you have a brother who only played the game once. You only get the same block over and over again. Plus even that your indeed rewarded for it with two star coins every time you beat it. So what's the point of collecting the stat coins if you got over 300 of them just by street passing. For just one stage it just disappointing. I don't know about you guys bur this game is just a recycled super Mario galaxy 2 game with pointless achievements. I sorry but this game is nor on my like list. Expand
  89. ERB
    Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Super Mario 3D Land is a must buy game for you Mario Fans.This Game has an awesome game play and it is so addicting to play this game.The world in this game looks very creative and that is why I love it.The story in this game is so obvious but the story is not bad.Although the story is really obvious and we will all know what will happen so the story isn't really interesting.But it isSuper Mario 3D Land is a must buy game for you Mario Fans.This Game has an awesome game play and it is so addicting to play this game.The world in this game looks very creative and that is why I love it.The story in this game is so obvious but the story is not bad.Although the story is really obvious and we will all know what will happen so the story isn't really interesting.But it is still okay.The graphics is what should I say?Not good.I should admit It looks like I was playing a 2004 game rather than a 2011 game.

    Well anyway despite hating the graphics and hating the story line the game play saved them all from sinking into a low score.I love the game play in this game because It is fun.The verdict for this game is a 7/10 a good game.This game is a must own game for you Mario fans and I hope you will buy this game and have fun.
    Expand
  90. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    A nice first experience for Mario's first dive into the latest handheld. The gameplay is unique and fun, the 3D works wonders, and the atmosphere is very Mario-like.
  91. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    This game is freaking overrated I swear sly cooper and the thievious raccoonus is a better game. I have hatred that sly is ruined in February 2013 and sanzaru did a good job with the hd collection. Go play mario 64 ds I can't stand it pokemon is better than this crud.
  92. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    This is the most perfect... thing to come out of Nintendo's unoriginal mind. If you got this packaged with the red 3DS, good for you, that was the wisest purchase of your life. Though, yes there is little new power-ups, that doesn't stop this game from exploding your thumbs from not having an awesomeness shield. I would write more, if i wasn't too lazy.
  93. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    Almost my favorite 3ds game behind Mario Kart 7 all I can say is that its another Great 3D Mario game, that is also quite challenging and works great with the 3ds.
  94. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    This game is good as frick. All the people that complain about this game are idiots who bash this game for being different from previous 3D Super Mario titles. This game combines characteristics of the original four 2D platforming Super Mario titles (Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels, Super Mario Bros. 3, and Super Mario World) with the more recent 3D platforming MarioThis game is good as frick. All the people that complain about this game are idiots who bash this game for being different from previous 3D Super Mario titles. This game combines characteristics of the original four 2D platforming Super Mario titles (Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels, Super Mario Bros. 3, and Super Mario World) with the more recent 3D platforming Mario titles (Super Mario 64, Super Mario Sunshine, Super Mario Galaxy 1 & 2). The turnout, one may be asking? The turnout is the perfect blend of everything a true Mario fan could possibly adore about the series over the years, and more. The Tanooki Suit returns from Super Mario Bros. 3, with our the ability to fly and transform into a statue unlike SMB3, but still retains the ability to glide and tail-whip enemies and objects. Also, you transform into Tanooki Mario by touching the Super Leat instead of touching the Tanooki icon. Plus, there's a variation of the Tanooki Suit that adds the ability to transform into a statue. There are also other power-ups, such as the classic Super Mushroom and Fire Flower, the new Boomerang Flower based off of Boomerang Bros. and inspired by the Hammer Bros. Suit from SMB3, the White Tanooki Suit, granting Mario invincibility, and the P-Wing, returning from SMB3. It functions differently from SMB3, though, as it transports Mario to the goal this time around. There are 16 worlds in total, including 8 worlds in the main story campaign, and 8 special worlds, making 96 courses in total. Luigi is unlockable after beating Special World 1's castle level. The gameplay itself contains levels that are much more linear than previous 3D Mario titles, distinguishing it from the rest. Mario's health system functions like the 2D Mario titles, as you shrink or lose a power-up every time you take damage. The levels are designed like the 2D Mario games, focused more on platforming than exploration, unlike previous Mario titles. The game takes perfect use of the 3DS's capabilities, as the 3D effect really makes this game look appealing to the eye, and helps in sections involving puzzles where 3D comes in handy to help the player reach the Comet Medal, and the gyroscope is taken advantage of in areas where you must look through binoculars or shoot Mario out of a cannon, and the touch screen is used to use stored power-up items. The game is somewhat weak story-wise, but who cares? This is a Mario platformer, not a Mario RPG. The game has a high amount of replay value, encouraging players to 100% complete the game (including gold flagpoles on each level and to collect all Comet Medals, which I did) to unlock a final level that test players' skills known as Special World 8-Crown (which I completed). The music has quite memorable jazz music (which reminds me of 1950's big band music), as well as other memorable tracks, including remixed tracks from previous games in the Mario series. There is even a Streetpass feature, including the exchanging of others' bonus games (where you must collect every coin and Comet Medal in the room before time runs out) and others' time records (encourages speed runs). My main complaints about this game are that the main story campaign is too easy (not counting the Special Worlds), the boss battles are repetitive (only 3 boss characters, alternating in each world), there is no hub world, it's somewhat nostalgia-reliant, and the linearity makes this game inferior to the other 3D Mario titles. Nonetheless, this is the first handheld-exclusive 3D Mario title, and it is quite a fantastic Mario title overall. Overall, I give this game a 9.4 out of 10, which when rounded up to the nearest whole number, is a 9 out of 10. I highly recommend this game to any 3DS owner, and any fan of Mario or the platforming genre. Expand
  95. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    Good enough. Honestly, I had some fun playing this game and it killed my boredom, but the levels were very linear. Linear is okay once in a while, but at this point everyone's gasping for something new. And at first glace, it looks like they did but did they really? No. It's New Super Mario Bros but with a few blocks forward and backward. I never had a feeling of exploration, and theGood enough. Honestly, I had some fun playing this game and it killed my boredom, but the levels were very linear. Linear is okay once in a while, but at this point everyone's gasping for something new. And at first glace, it looks like they did but did they really? No. It's New Super Mario Bros but with a few blocks forward and backward. I never had a feeling of exploration, and the level design here went for quantity instead of quality. Certainly, it was decent, but it wasn't developed. Having a time limit and a flagpole really brought this game down. I would have much preferred, perhaps, Super Mario Sunshine 2, or even just another Mario 64-like game. Again, decent, but not in any way captivating or exciting. Expand
  96. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    excelente juego completamente en 3D, muy entretenido y adictivo, ademas es de bastante duracion porque cuando terminas el juego con Mario puedes jugar 8 mundos especiales con Luigi y son mucho mas dificiles, de los mejores juegos de Nintendo 3DS
  97. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    I love this game! I can't stop playing it. Mario is better than ever. Awesome 3D graphics,loads of levels,and best of all,endless fun. The new power-ups,like the Super Leaf and boomerang suit,are really awesome and helps a lot in this game. I wonder if there will be Super Mario 3D Land 2....
  98. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. after all of these years most mario games on handhelds have been in 2D sidescroling. but then nintendo ended this streak with super mario 3D land on the 3DS. The first original 3D super mario game on a handheld console. The game looks great in graphics, the 3D effect sometimes helps you play the game, everything just feels better with the 3D on. the gameplay is like a mixture of super mario 64, super mario galaxy, and new super mario bros, it's a 3D mario game that plays like a 2D mario game, so you walk through levels like super mario 64 or galaxy and end the level by touching the flagpole, no looking for shine sprites or power stars to finish the level, nope you just touch the flagpole, I really like this blend of gameplay and think that it really works well. This game also brings back the tanooki suit from super mario bros 3, and I really like that they brought a classic power up into a 3D world. the 3D effect has two levels, pop out 3D where the images look like they're popping off the screen, and depth 3D the images look like you're looking at them from a window. the 3D helps you with the game because there are some puzzles that can only be solved if the 3D effect is on, the illusions like a bunch of boxes and one box is far away but looks like it's with all of the other boxes. These illusions were very cool and it really made the game a lot better. just like the other mario games, the story is simple, Princess peach has been kidnapped by bowser and mario has to save her. There are 8 worlds and 8 special worlds that get unlocked after completing the main game. you also can hunt down star coins which are hidden in levels to unlock more levels in the special worlds, this adds a lot of replay value to the game. the star coins aren't just used to unlock levels in the special worlds, they also unlock castles in world 5 and world 8. by the way, let's talk about the bosses, in castles world 5 and 8 you fight bowser, and the rest of the worlds have starships just like super mario bros 3, and the boss of the starships is some guy who just spins around untill he gets dizzy. all in all this is a great mario game and is a must have for all 3DS owners, it's not as good as good as the super mario galaxy games but it's pretty close. Expand
  99. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I must say, Nintendo has outdone itself with this one. Super Mario 3D land is a masterpiece. It utilizes the 3DS's 3D capabilities to its full potential. Couple this with silky smooth gameplay and great music and you have one of the greatest gaming experiences on ANY Nintendo console yet. They also help new players out quite a bit as well so it can be played by rookies as well as MarioI must say, Nintendo has outdone itself with this one. Super Mario 3D land is a masterpiece. It utilizes the 3DS's 3D capabilities to its full potential. Couple this with silky smooth gameplay and great music and you have one of the greatest gaming experiences on ANY Nintendo console yet. They also help new players out quite a bit as well so it can be played by rookies as well as Mario veterans. After many deaths the character has the option to get an invincibility suit, which allows enemies to be taken down with ease. If you continue to fail, the game developers allow you to skip to the goal post without any work (known as the P wing). However, to get the full spoils of the level you will have to play at a later date again. Like I said, the game is a masterpiece. It is a must own for any 3DS owner. Expand
  100. Aug 19, 2013
    5
    I'm a little blown away by how many high ratings this game got...My first game was the original Mario on the NES so please don't think this review Bias, I made this account literally just to rate this game. Super Mario 3D Land has AMAZING levels that are each unique, but because of how easy this game is you will breeze past them without fully appreciating them. This game passes outI'm a little blown away by how many high ratings this game got...My first game was the original Mario on the NES so please don't think this review Bias, I made this account literally just to rate this game. Super Mario 3D Land has AMAZING levels that are each unique, but because of how easy this game is you will breeze past them without fully appreciating them. This game passes out power-ups, free lives and easy check points like no other. If you get more then 7 hours out of this game I will be VERY impressed, once you beat it there will be no satisfaction because you will never have felt any risk of losing at any point. By the end of the game I had 140 extra lives and rarely lost any, even if I did lose some each level would pretty much hand out 2-4 more lives anyway.

    If you have a friend with this game go ahead and borrow for the weekend, but it is no where near worth the $40 or the high praise it seems to be getting. You will forget about this game very quickly and it won't live anywhere near to the expectancy the original games did.
    Expand
  101. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This is one of my new favorite 3DS games it uses all the 3D technology and it is worth 40 bucks on release.Tho it is slow in the beginning and then picks up. I still would not rate this game low it is a must have if you own a 3DS. Especially for the holidays it is a great gift.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Mario is back! In a classic Mario-fashion you jump your way througheight worlds, where you battle goombas, koopas and the main meaniehimself, Bowser. This game is never particularly difficult, butgradually advanced to a challenge that feels just perfect. Fun, varied and guaranteed to make you smile.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    Lifesaver for all Nintendo 3DS owners. Super Mario 3D Land delivers flawless design and perfect use of 3D effects during the whole game. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    90
    The Nintendo 3DS has had a slow start, but I feel this marks one of the first important games to come out on this system. I can't say it's a must buy, but is really close for those who have already picked up a 3DS. The amount of content in this game along with the varying degree of gameplay makes this one of the best Mario games I've played in a while.