Super Mario 3D Land 3DS

Super Mario 3D Land Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 946 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get Ready for a New Spin on a Familiar Tail. Super Mario 3D Land reinvents everything fans love about Mario gaming with the first platforming environment in true 3D, without the need for special glasses. Players will experience a new sense of depth, distance and speed while running, jumpingGet Ready for a New Spin on a Familiar Tail. Super Mario 3D Land reinvents everything fans love about Mario gaming with the first platforming environment in true 3D, without the need for special glasses. Players will experience a new sense of depth, distance and speed while running, jumping and stomping on enemies throughout the levels. Tanooki Mario returns: The fan-favorite Tanooki suit makes its first appearance on the Nintendo 3DS. Use the Tanooki suit’s tail to attack enemies or float gently down from great heights. These abilities help players move through the 3D environments with more confidence. 3D visuals make it easier for players to judge the depths and distances in their environments. Players can more accurately judge the jump to the next platform or how far Mario is from a question block. New and familiar abilities add unique game-play strategies to the adventure. Mario can perform a rolling somersault attack or run fast with a dash move. The Circle Pad gives players complete control to confidently move Mario through fun and challenging environments. New enemies include Goombas with tails, tall stacks of Goombas and a Piranha Plant that spits ink to obscure a player’s view. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    100
    There's no question – if you own a 3DS, this is the best game on the platform, and instantly worthy of a purchase. It's one of the best portable platformers I've ever played (and I've had my fair share), and an almost shockingly good Mario title on any platform.
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    98
    It's the best game on the 3DS and it justifies the purchase of the system all by itself.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    92
    Super Mario 3D Land proves that gaming's most enduring mascot is also its most adaptable.
  4. Nintendo Power
    Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Really though, Super Mario 3D Land is a triple-A title, and as good a reason as you'll ever have for picking up a Nintendo 3DS if you haven't already. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  5. Nov 27, 2011
    90
    Inventive, beautiful and dangerously addictive, Super Mario 3D Land is the 3DS defining game, capitalising on the system's strengths and value of portability, while recalling the best qualities of both 2D and 3D iterations of the franchise. Not to be missed.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    Time to dust off that 3DS and let Mario do what he does best - Super Mario 3D Land is pure entertainment from start to finish.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 273
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Super Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portableSuper Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portable experience and I can't put it down. I can't give it a 9.7 on here, so it's rounded up to 10. Buy it! Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I've had a great time with this game so far, only played through the first few worlds trying to savor it. It kind of feels like a crossI've had a great time with this game so far, only played through the first few worlds trying to savor it. It kind of feels like a cross between Mario3+Galaxy+Mario64, it has linear progression of a 2D title but also the freedom of movement of a 3D title. The 3D effect is useful in most areas which is a huge plus for the system. The graphics are amazing too, easily match that of Galaxy on the Wii. This game really is the killer app for the 3DS, now is the time for getting a 3DS guys and gals! Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    incredible! 3ds best game! Mario is back in style! essential for any player in general, will make you really enjoy it! wonderful, colossal,incredible! 3ds best game! Mario is back in style! essential for any player in general, will make you really enjoy it! wonderful, colossal, hilarious and all the adjectives you can think of .. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Gameplay-9: The gameplay is great and the action and exploration is fun every time, the difficulty of the levels can fluctuate a bit though.Gameplay-9: The gameplay is great and the action and exploration is fun every time, the difficulty of the levels can fluctuate a bit though.
    Length-10: This game has 16 huge worlds with lots of star medals to collect and you can always challenge your speed, very nice and lengthy game, especially for a handheld
    Sound-9: The sound is amazing, and sounds very well orchestrated. The reason it gets a 9 is because, the music isn't quite as driving or epic as some other games, but overall very good
    Graphics-10. Very smooth detailed graphics, especially for a handheld.
    Fun-9: This game is great, it is really enjoyable looking for ways to find and solve ways to get medals, its almost as if they mixed in elements of the puzzle genre, without the frustration of having a nearly impossible puzzles.
    Overall: 9.4 Amazing
    Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game starts out as a very simple version of Mario, although it's Mario at his best. The graphics pop, and the wonderful 3D inclusion really was intuitive and useful within the game. This was the first game where I actually kept the 3D on through the levels as it wasnt bothersome and it added to the gameplay. I only found myself actually NEEDING the 3D in a countless amount of areas within the just under 100 levels of gameplay. The major replay-ability of this game just helps add to the excitement of replaying through the game as well if you played through then you know what I'm talking about. I don't want to ruin anything for anyone. By far one of the best final Bowsers fights!!!!

    Don't Read --Spoilers AHEAD!!!!----


    Well after you beat the game you unlock the special land, which is a whole different game in itself. Though not all the lands are completely different, they do add a good challenge to those who dare to beat the game outright. The game went from too easy, to actually very challenging. A friend of mine only lost a total of 2 lives in the first land while he lost 45 in the special land. It can get pretty challenging.

    This definitely wasn't the best Mario game ever but it was definitely a great first attempt on the 3DS, and showed that the 3DS has yet so much more to come to unleash to power behind the console.
    Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2015
    8
    Solid plattformer, without the quality thad made the series great, and without any innovations or especially well gameplay, level design,Solid plattformer, without the quality thad made the series great, and without any innovations or especially well gameplay, level design, graphics or 3D.
    Pretty much feels like New Super Mario Bros in small 3D environments, which definitely isnt a bad thing, and i can certainly see people having fun with this game, but as the systems primary Mario game, it did disappoint me.

    All in all, 80/100 points, for still being one of the best plattformers on the system...
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    this is the worst mario game i've ever played. it tries to combine the best parts of nsmb and smg but the end result is a massive failure. i'mthis is the worst mario game i've ever played. it tries to combine the best parts of nsmb and smg but the end result is a massive failure. i'm sorry nintendo but there should not be a run button in a 3d mario game. that's just dumb. the analog stick is there for a reason. the game feels really awkward to control and mario is super slow it's clear nintendo made this game for little kids. there are only 2 new power-ups i mean wow nintendo could you be any more lazy. oh yeah they could be more lazy, because half of the soundtrack is reused from smg. no i'm not making this up. the few original songs by the way are completely forgettable. this game is terrible i feel bad for anyone who buys it Expand

See all 273 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  2. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.