Super Mario 3D Land 3DS

Super Mario 3D Land Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 957 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get Ready for a New Spin on a Familiar Tail. Super Mario 3D Land reinvents everything fans love about Mario gaming with the first platforming environment in true 3D, without the need for special glasses. Players will experience a new sense of depth, distance and speed while running, jumpingGet Ready for a New Spin on a Familiar Tail. Super Mario 3D Land reinvents everything fans love about Mario gaming with the first platforming environment in true 3D, without the need for special glasses. Players will experience a new sense of depth, distance and speed while running, jumping and stomping on enemies throughout the levels. Tanooki Mario returns: The fan-favorite Tanooki suit makes its first appearance on the Nintendo 3DS. Use the Tanooki suit’s tail to attack enemies or float gently down from great heights. These abilities help players move through the 3D environments with more confidence. 3D visuals make it easier for players to judge the depths and distances in their environments. Players can more accurately judge the jump to the next platform or how far Mario is from a question block. New and familiar abilities add unique game-play strategies to the adventure. Mario can perform a rolling somersault attack or run fast with a dash move. The Circle Pad gives players complete control to confidently move Mario through fun and challenging environments. New enemies include Goombas with tails, tall stacks of Goombas and a Piranha Plant that spits ink to obscure a player’s view. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    100
    There's no question – if you own a 3DS, this is the best game on the platform, and instantly worthy of a purchase. It's one of the best portable platformers I've ever played (and I've had my fair share), and an almost shockingly good Mario title on any platform.
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    98
    It's the best game on the 3DS and it justifies the purchase of the system all by itself.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    92
    Super Mario 3D Land proves that gaming's most enduring mascot is also its most adaptable.
  4. Nintendo Power
    Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Really though, Super Mario 3D Land is a triple-A title, and as good a reason as you'll ever have for picking up a Nintendo 3DS if you haven't already. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  5. Nov 27, 2011
    90
    Inventive, beautiful and dangerously addictive, Super Mario 3D Land is the 3DS defining game, capitalising on the system's strengths and value of portability, while recalling the best qualities of both 2D and 3D iterations of the franchise. Not to be missed.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    Time to dust off that 3DS and let Mario do what he does best - Super Mario 3D Land is pure entertainment from start to finish.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 271
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Super Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portableSuper Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portable experience and I can't put it down. I can't give it a 9.7 on here, so it's rounded up to 10. Buy it! Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I've had a great time with this game so far, only played through the first few worlds trying to savor it. It kind of feels like a crossI've had a great time with this game so far, only played through the first few worlds trying to savor it. It kind of feels like a cross between Mario3+Galaxy+Mario64, it has linear progression of a 2D title but also the freedom of movement of a 3D title. The 3D effect is useful in most areas which is a huge plus for the system. The graphics are amazing too, easily match that of Galaxy on the Wii. This game really is the killer app for the 3DS, now is the time for getting a 3DS guys and gals! Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    incredible! 3ds best game! Mario is back in style! essential for any player in general, will make you really enjoy it! wonderful, colossal,incredible! 3ds best game! Mario is back in style! essential for any player in general, will make you really enjoy it! wonderful, colossal, hilarious and all the adjectives you can think of .. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. after all of these years most mario games on handhelds have been in 2D sidescroling. but then nintendo ended this streak with super mario 3D land on the 3DS. The first original 3D super mario game on a handheld console. The game looks great in graphics, the 3D effect sometimes helps you play the game, everything just feels better with the 3D on. the gameplay is like a mixture of super mario 64, super mario galaxy, and new super mario bros, it's a 3D mario game that plays like a 2D mario game, so you walk through levels like super mario 64 or galaxy and end the level by touching the flagpole, no looking for shine sprites or power stars to finish the level, nope you just touch the flagpole, I really like this blend of gameplay and think that it really works well. This game also brings back the tanooki suit from super mario bros 3, and I really like that they brought a classic power up into a 3D world. the 3D effect has two levels, pop out 3D where the images look like they're popping off the screen, and depth 3D the images look like you're looking at them from a window. the 3D helps you with the game because there are some puzzles that can only be solved if the 3D effect is on, the illusions like a bunch of boxes and one box is far away but looks like it's with all of the other boxes. These illusions were very cool and it really made the game a lot better. just like the other mario games, the story is simple, Princess peach has been kidnapped by bowser and mario has to save her. There are 8 worlds and 8 special worlds that get unlocked after completing the main game. you also can hunt down star coins which are hidden in levels to unlock more levels in the special worlds, this adds a lot of replay value to the game. the star coins aren't just used to unlock levels in the special worlds, they also unlock castles in world 5 and world 8. by the way, let's talk about the bosses, in castles world 5 and 8 you fight bowser, and the rest of the worlds have starships just like super mario bros 3, and the boss of the starships is some guy who just spins around untill he gets dizzy. all in all this is a great mario game and is a must have for all 3DS owners, it's not as good as good as the super mario galaxy games but it's pretty close. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    This game is truly amazing. It allows for much easier gameplay for younger kids and more challenging levels for older. And I love the TanookiThis game is truly amazing. It allows for much easier gameplay for younger kids and more challenging levels for older. And I love the Tanooki Suit and other power-ups. Nintendo really outdid itself, just like they did with the Super Mario Galaxy's, Sunshine, and others alike. My only problem is that Bowser Jr. is not in it. Still, Boom Boom, Pom Pom, and the many forms of Bowser are very fun. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2015
    8
    A solid game, as to be expected from Nintendo. The graphics are charming, the levels are interesting, and it is great to just relax and getA solid game, as to be expected from Nintendo. The graphics are charming, the levels are interesting, and it is great to just relax and get your mind off things. Also, the 3D feature of 3DS finds its use here; it's much easier to navigate levels and aim your jumps with 3D on, so this was the first time i turned it on since i bought the system. The controls should be mentioned; Mario controls really smoothly, with a satisfying sense of weight and inertia; it's easy to get used and use the controls to the max.

    There are, however, issues. The game is, for its price, really short; if you play it with intention to beat it, you will be done in a couple of hours, give or take. Unlike some other games which provide bonuses for putting 3DS away for a while, there are no such incentives here; you will be forced to put the game away not because you had enough, but because you know you will be done with it too quickly otherwise. Furthermore, while levels in the game are, as per usual, divided into worlds, there are no themes in those worlds to speak of; while minor, it is really strange and takes away a spoonful of fun there was in looking at those cool new places you could visit.
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    this is the worst mario game i've ever played. it tries to combine the best parts of nsmb and smg but the end result is a massive failure. i'mthis is the worst mario game i've ever played. it tries to combine the best parts of nsmb and smg but the end result is a massive failure. i'm sorry nintendo but there should not be a run button in a 3d mario game. that's just dumb. the analog stick is there for a reason. the game feels really awkward to control and mario is super slow it's clear nintendo made this game for little kids. there are only 2 new power-ups i mean wow nintendo could you be any more lazy. oh yeah they could be more lazy, because half of the soundtrack is reused from smg. no i'm not making this up. the few original songs by the way are completely forgettable. this game is terrible i feel bad for anyone who buys it Expand

See all 271 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  2. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.