Super Mario 3D Land 3DS

Super Mario 3D Land Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 984 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get Ready for a New Spin on a Familiar Tail. Super Mario 3D Land reinvents everything fans love about Mario gaming with the first platforming environment in true 3D, without the need for special glasses. Players will experience a new sense of depth, distance and speed while running, jumpingGet Ready for a New Spin on a Familiar Tail. Super Mario 3D Land reinvents everything fans love about Mario gaming with the first platforming environment in true 3D, without the need for special glasses. Players will experience a new sense of depth, distance and speed while running, jumping and stomping on enemies throughout the levels. Tanooki Mario returns: The fan-favorite Tanooki suit makes its first appearance on the Nintendo 3DS. Use the Tanooki suit’s tail to attack enemies or float gently down from great heights. These abilities help players move through the 3D environments with more confidence. 3D visuals make it easier for players to judge the depths and distances in their environments. Players can more accurately judge the jump to the next platform or how far Mario is from a question block. New and familiar abilities add unique game-play strategies to the adventure. Mario can perform a rolling somersault attack or run fast with a dash move. The Circle Pad gives players complete control to confidently move Mario through fun and challenging environments. New enemies include Goombas with tails, tall stacks of Goombas and a Piranha Plant that spits ink to obscure a player’s view. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Super Mario Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    100
    There's no question – if you own a 3DS, this is the best game on the platform, and instantly worthy of a purchase. It's one of the best portable platformers I've ever played (and I've had my fair share), and an almost shockingly good Mario title on any platform.
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    98
    It's the best game on the 3DS and it justifies the purchase of the system all by itself.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    92
    Super Mario 3D Land proves that gaming's most enduring mascot is also its most adaptable.
  4. Nintendo Power
    Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Really though, Super Mario 3D Land is a triple-A title, and as good a reason as you'll ever have for picking up a Nintendo 3DS if you haven't already. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  5. Nov 27, 2011
    90
    Inventive, beautiful and dangerously addictive, Super Mario 3D Land is the 3DS defining game, capitalising on the system's strengths and value of portability, while recalling the best qualities of both 2D and 3D iterations of the franchise. Not to be missed.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    Time to dust off that 3DS and let Mario do what he does best - Super Mario 3D Land is pure entertainment from start to finish.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 273
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Super Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portableSuper Mario 3D Land delivers a awesome 3D experience with great game play we expect from Mario. Everything is top notch for a portable experience and I can't put it down. I can't give it a 9.7 on here, so it's rounded up to 10. Buy it! Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2016
    10
    I simply could not believe that a game looking so fantastic could run on 3DS. For me personally, this is THE ultimate 3DS handheld experienceI simply could not believe that a game looking so fantastic could run on 3DS. For me personally, this is THE ultimate 3DS handheld experience (along with Fire Emblem Aweakening). A must play title for every owner of 3DS. Expand
  3. SPC
    Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is the reason to own a 3DS, the game we have all been waiting for! Super Mario 3D Land makes the best use of 3D I have ever seen in aThis is the reason to own a 3DS, the game we have all been waiting for! Super Mario 3D Land makes the best use of 3D I have ever seen in a game and is super fun to boot! With wonderful level design, tight controls, and challenges for the casual and hardcore alike. I highly recommend this one! Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Wow, I thought I was fed up with Mario titles. I thought I had grown past them. For some reason I ignored this title's existence for the 1stWow, I thought I was fed up with Mario titles. I thought I had grown past them. For some reason I ignored this title's existence for the 1st year owning my 3DS. What a freaking mistake! A co worker set me straight by, after a discussion about this game, lending me the cartridge for one day. Needless to say when I had to hand it back to him, I also got myself a copy immediately. I couldn't let it go anymore. The use of the 3DS's amazing 3D capabilities is simply exceptional. Level design is brilliant. Camera movements are virtually perfect. While the Mario sidescrollers have gotten old for me, this kind of title is a reminder Nintendo are still veterans of good level design and great game mechanics and can still manage a hit like is Super Mario 3D Land! Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    No one does pure unbridled gameplay like Nintendo. I'd rank this the second best Mario game in recent years (behind Galaxy 2 but just ahead ofNo one does pure unbridled gameplay like Nintendo. I'd rank this the second best Mario game in recent years (behind Galaxy 2 but just ahead of Galaxy). Tapping on great Mario entries from the past such as Mario Bros. 3, Super Mario World and the Galaxy games, 3D Land is both a reverential treatment of classic gameplay and a wonderfully refreshing portable title. The fact that it's the strongest showcase of the system's 3D capabilities makes this an absolutely essential purchase. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2015
    8
    Solid plattformer, without the quality thad made the series great, and without any innovations or especially well gameplay, level design,Solid plattformer, without the quality thad made the series great, and without any innovations or especially well gameplay, level design, graphics or 3D.
    Pretty much feels like New Super Mario Bros in small 3D environments, which definitely isnt a bad thing, and i can certainly see people having fun with this game, but as the systems primary Mario game, it did disappoint me.

    All in all, 80/100 points, for still being one of the best plattformers on the system...
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    this is the worst mario game i've ever played. it tries to combine the best parts of nsmb and smg but the end result is a massive failure. i'mthis is the worst mario game i've ever played. it tries to combine the best parts of nsmb and smg but the end result is a massive failure. i'm sorry nintendo but there should not be a run button in a 3d mario game. that's just dumb. the analog stick is there for a reason. the game feels really awkward to control and mario is super slow it's clear nintendo made this game for little kids. there are only 2 new power-ups i mean wow nintendo could you be any more lazy. oh yeah they could be more lazy, because half of the soundtrack is reused from smg. no i'm not making this up. the few original songs by the way are completely forgettable. this game is terrible i feel bad for anyone who buys it Expand

See all 273 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked

    Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked Image
    Published: October 10, 2017
    We rank every Super Mario game by score from worst to best.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.