• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2011
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 57
  2. Negative: 16 out of 57
  1. 48
    You'll finish the only interesting mode in less than two hours, and the mini-game modes don't provide much replay value. Expect to play this for a weekend, and then forget about it completely.
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    45
    The only thing Super Monkey Ball 3D manages to offer is a functional control scheme that shows off the 3DS' gyroscopic capabilities - provided you don't care to play in actual 3-D. Everything else about the game, from its short and unchallenging missions to its worthless extra play modes, is not worth your time. It might be best if Sega lets these monkeys hop into their balls and roll off into the sunset; their time has clearly passed.
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    42
    The only really decent thing about the game is that the soundtrack is pretty good. It doesn't warrant being called the best in the series, but it's about the only highlight I feel is worth mentioning.
  4. Mar 25, 2011
    41
    Super Monkey Ball 3D feels in some way unfinished. It looks like SEGA couldn't finish the port in time. Only one of the three game modes works in 3D, the other two just flicker and make you turn back to 2D voluntarily. There's no monkey party in 3D yet.
  5. 40
    A very short game that offers little - the classic mode - the rest is a complete blackout.
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    40
    Overall Super Monkey Ball 3D contains two insultingly bad games and one that's quite alright, as long as you turn off the 3D effects and gyroscope controls. This is of course very disappointing, and we were expecting so much more from the series debut on 3DS.
  7. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    An empty experience.
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    40
    There was a time when Super Monkey Ball was synonymous with quality, but now we're not so sure anymore.
  9. Mar 27, 2011
    40
    It looks and controls like the originals, but this lacks anything of the challenge, design flair or variety of a really super Monkey Ball.
  10. Mar 25, 2011
    40
    This kind of release does the publisher no favours at all. If content is king, then Super Monkey Ball 3D is very much the Prince Andrew of the 3DS launch.
  11. Mar 25, 2011
    40
    The original concept of Super Monkey Ball 3D is still pleasant, that's for sure. However, it is impossible to play properly with both the motion gameplay and the 3D activated... Anyway the 3D disturbs more than it helps here. The new Kart and Combat modes are of no help to raise the whole game, which is a bit disapointing at the end.
  12. Mar 16, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. May 22, 2011
    30
    So gratingly tedious in navigating stages that Monkey Ball's overarching identity is lost. [Issue#109, p.120]
  14. Apr 8, 2011
    30
    Short, disappointing, and certainly not worth spending £40 on.
  15. 30
    Super Monkey Ball 3D is a mess. Sega appears to have forgotten how to make a good Monkey Ball game. The puzzle levels are uninteresting, and the two multiplayer modes are extremely poor rip-offs of Mario Kart and Super Smash Bros. I can't recommend this game for anyone.
  16. Mar 31, 2011
    20
    It's really a shame that Super Monkey Ball 3D is so disappointing, because it does have a lot of charm.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    Oh crap. I accidentally put 10 instead of 5.5 (5). Well there now they even each other out. Read my actual review if you want an in depth look in the game. Yeah. . . . Full Review »
  2. Oct 24, 2014
    2
    Play Monkey Ball 2 on Gamecube and then tell me this adds up in anyway. This version of the game is possibly the worst game I have ever played. I beat the main game in half and hour and the rest is so terrible I got rid of it immediately after. This is worthy of complaining to Sega....shameful and do not waste your money if you are over the age of 5. Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    5
    A mediocre, bargain bin title at best, that is one quarter traditional, fun Monkey Ball and two quarters bland and forgettable. This game could have easily been one of my favorites for the 3DS system, having the developers devoted more of their time to expanding the blatantly short, but fantastic Monkey Ball mode, as opposed to tacking on a soulless kart racer and an uninspired fighter. Full Review »