Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest version of Street Fighter makes its transition to the Nintendo 3DS with Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition. The console experience is now in the palm of your hand with new features that utilize the capabilities of the Nintendo 3DS to its fullest. Packed with 35 playable characters, bonus stages and cinematic Ultra combos, Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition expands the action by allowing you to fight your friends around the world using Wi-Fi. New to the franchise are the figurine mode, which utilizes the Street Pass feature to add a collectible meta-game, and the 3D over-the-shoulder camera option that takes fighting to new depths. For those new to the franchise, a simple mode has been added allowing players to pull off challenging moves with a single touch of the screen. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    100
    This is a full-featured port on a new platform, and it is without question the best portable fighting game ever released.
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    90
    Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition is a perfect port and then some. Everything its bigger console-version brother had, you'll see return on the smaller screen of the 3DS. The extra options are fun additions, but don't really improve on the game itself. That brings us to a nice and simple conclusion: are you sick of Street Fighter IV yet, or what?
  3. May 22, 2011
    90
    This is easily the best title in the 3DS launch lineup, and it's proof that the potential is there for the slow-starting system.
  4. Mar 17, 2011
    87
    A staggering port of an exceptional fighting game, but for all its accomplishments this is not the definitive version of the game. [Mar 2011, p.47]
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    85
    A great game. It's not only the best launch game for the Nintendo 3DS, but will certainly be regarded as a great purchase for years to come.
  6. Apr 17, 2011
    80
    Nice use of the 3D effect, a lot of content, great controls and simply the best release game on the console.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    60
    Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition could arguably be the best portable version of the core series yet produced, but this is testament to the severely limited nature of what came before rather than any standout success on this game's part.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This game got me in to fighting games. I used to hate them.
    Starting out with this game I was using the touchscreen buttons for the combos but
    slowly over time learned to execute all the combos the old fashioned way. I love this game so much I went out and got it along with an arcade stick for my 360.
    Can't wait for Street Fighter x Tekken!
    Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    I had never played street fighter before, but this seems like the best one. I'm not that good at it, but everything is so balanced and well-executed The soundtrack rivals SSB Brawl's, and the graphics are stunning for a 3DS game. If you don't buy this, you don't have the right to call yourself a gamer. It is almost perfect Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    SSF4 looks amazing on the 3ds and i can't stop playing it. Its great in short bursts and the online is fantastic! The 3d effect suits the game well and the controls are very easy to learn. Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition is a very good game. It has everything that is needed to make a good Street Fighter game. The 3D effect, while not needed to be up to the system's max, is not the greatest that could have been done, but when it is used, provides a nice addition to the game. The online functionality is very good, allowing for quick matchups and custom matchups. The controls are smooth and seamless, while being inviting to newer players. They may need to take some time and check things out, both in the game and in the manual, but it is a very good game. Though it has some minor bumps that could have been fixed and prepared for that launch, it is, overall, a great game. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    The 3ds is a little too small for bigger hands, that's the only problem I can really find with it. It's a fighting game, what do you want? A story review? Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    I've never played the console versions so i don't have anything to compare it to, but this game is really good. I wouldn't say that this game is a 10 though like other reviewers have. it is a good game and was probably the best launch title available. the character roster is massive. I've never even heard of some of these characters before playing this game. the best part is that the old classic character are also in this game. my old favorites from the super Nintendo. i recommend this game to fans of fighting games everywhere. if you don't like fighting games why are you even reading this review? Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2012
    6
    This is a good game, mainly because I'm not a "traditional street fighter player" and know like no moves", so they added moves for the touch screen, which is good. But unfortunately I've gotten bored of it because I'm bad at multiplayer and none of my friends have this game. Collapse

See all 46 User Reviews