Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales of the Abyss takes the PS2 classic and updates it for play on the Nintendo 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 90
    Tales of the Abyss holds up surprisingly well on the 3DS, despite being a relatively conservative port of the original. And with the 3DS's small selection of RPGs, it's a must have, and a great entry point in the Tales series.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    84
    The world of Luke and his friends seems to be small at first. But it offers a lot of secrets and adventures. Most of the dialogues convince and progress the story, and the likeable characters know how to entertain.
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    80
    Tales Of The Abyss is a title definitely recommended to all holders of a 3DS.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    78
    Tales of the Abyss is a classic JRPG tha fans of the genre will like, despite some techical and gameplay issues.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    72
    There's tons of content to play though here if you've never experienced Tales of the Abyss. If you have, though, skip it, because there's not so much as a single word of dialogue added to this release.
  6. Jan 4, 2012
    70
    It's ultimately interesting enough to keep you playing until the end. [Jan/Feb 2012, p.88]
  7. Feb 22, 2012
    33
    From its soulless and utterly unendearing cast of characters to its needless backtracking and convulted story, Tales of the Abyss has very little to offer even die-hard JRPG enthusiasts.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I loved this game. At first Luke was really annoying but towards the end he became one of my favorite characters along with Tear and Jade. His relation to Ashe (which I will not spoil) is perfectly executed. The plot is very deep and the world is very interesting and unique. The combat is good but I really enjoyed the story and characters. The Six-God General were all great characters and how the Score (prophases written telling the entire future) plays out was very interesting. The music was also very good my favorite song being Meaning of Birth. The 3D aspect isn't that good but I really only turn the 3D on during cutscenes so I didn't mind Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Fans of the "Tales of" series are obviously going to be very pleased with the first (and hopefully not last) entry on the 3DS. There is a staggering amount of material in this game, especially for being a cart portable game. The game is gorgeous, fun, and engaging.

    Story - Easily the strongest part of the game, the story is very engaging and it is amazing to watch the character development. The main protagonist can be a bit annoying in the beginning of the game, but the maturing that he does in the 40 - 60 hours of your game-time will be well worth the annoyances early on. The main plot is full of twists and turns, and does not fill up your time with 20 minute cutscenes.

    Presentation - Essentially a port from the PS2 title of the same name, Tales of the Abyss has near-identical appearance from it's original release. That is not to say that they are bad at all! The art style has made this game age very well and the graphics are actually a bit impressive for a handheld RPG title. The menus are easy to use and there's plenty of customization available.

    Sound - The sound is what you would expect from an RPG. There are sweeping scores, fast-tempo rock battle music, and sometimes-annoying menu sound effects. The English voice-acting is very well done and fits the game perfectly.

    Overall - This game is worth any RPG fan's time. If you've been pining away for that engaging title that you could sink your teeth into on the 3DS, this is the game for you! Don't wait too long, though, because NAMCO is notorious for releases the Tales of games in limited production runs. Get it from your local retailer now, before it is only available on EBay for $90.
    Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Tales of the Abyss, the first game in the series to make use of the free run system for its 3d battles, is probably the best entry in the franchise so far and has aged very well. The world of Auldrant is extremely well portrayed, and the plot is convincing, deep and enthralling till the ending credits, with a solid, likeable cast that will often surprise you with their interactions and they way they develop during the game's events.

    The game is also filled to the brim with optional scenes that will make a lot of difference if you want to fully understand what's going on, and the Tales series' skits are a nice way to have a constant feedback from your party members. All those features make the game extremely lengthy, too: with all the side material this game can last even more than 100 hours.

    The battle system is also great, and makes use of the 3d arena by allowing you to freely move your characters and build up combos of skills and magics in extremely fast paced action battles. The PS2 version had some issues, like the unnerving loading times and glitched world map, but this 3DS port completely solved them, making this the definitive way to enjoy this game.
    Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    This is the first of the "Tales of the Abyss" games I have ever played, and I like it! I was expecting a little more free roam in battle, but i like how i learned free roam with the L button. I am not very far in it, so it hasn't gotten difficult yet, but i would recommend it to any of my friends. I didn't give it a 10 because i didn't think it was good enough for a ten, but i think it definitely deserves a 9! Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    A pretty solid RPG for the 3DS. The touchup work was great, it's a great looking game. The characters were great and the gameplay was fun. Overall it's a solid enough game, would recommend if you like JRPGS because it's a pretty big one. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    7
    I tried to like this more and for a while I did. But for some reason I found myself not caring for the story or characters enough to carry on. It's a good game but you'll need to be a bit more patient than I was with it. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    1
    I have never in my life as a gamer played a game that was more boring and uninspiring as this one. it looks pretty on the 3ds, but that's it''s only redeeming feature (and playing a game merely because it's "pretty" is doing a massive disservice to the gaming industry.)

    the combat is interesting in that it's a departure from your typical turn-based combat, but that doesn't even begin to make up for the fact that the characters are contrived, cookie-cutter parodies. I could not once find a moment in this game where i felt any sort of emotion for the characters. this game may appeal to your typical jRPG fans, but then anything that's even remotely "anime" will appeal to them, even if it is a steaming pile with "cute anime eyes" slapped on.

    overall, best to avoid this game unless you want to play an uninspiring game where the story is forced and predictable.
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews