Tales of the Abyss 3DS

Tales of the Abyss Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales of the Abyss takes the PS2 classic and updates it for play on the Nintendo 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 90
    Tales of the Abyss holds up surprisingly well on the 3DS, despite being a relatively conservative port of the original. And with the 3DS's small selection of RPGs, it's a must have, and a great entry point in the Tales series.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    84
    The world of Luke and his friends seems to be small at first. But it offers a lot of secrets and adventures. Most of the dialogues convince and progress the story, and the likeable characters know how to entertain.
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    80
    Tales Of The Abyss is a title definitely recommended to all holders of a 3DS.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    78
    Tales of the Abyss is a classic JRPG tha fans of the genre will like, despite some techical and gameplay issues.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    72
    There's tons of content to play though here if you've never experienced Tales of the Abyss. If you have, though, skip it, because there's not so much as a single word of dialogue added to this release.
  6. Nintendo Power
    Jan 4, 2012
    70
    It's ultimately interesting enough to keep you playing until the end. [Jan/Feb 2012, p.88]
  7. Feb 22, 2012
    33
    From its soulless and utterly unendearing cast of characters to its needless backtracking and convulted story, Tales of the Abyss has very little to offer even die-hard JRPG enthusiasts.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Tales of the Abyss, the first game in the series to make use of the free run system for its 3d battles, is probably the best entry in theTales of the Abyss, the first game in the series to make use of the free run system for its 3d battles, is probably the best entry in the franchise so far and has aged very well. The world of Auldrant is extremely well portrayed, and the plot is convincing, deep and enthralling till the ending credits, with a solid, likeable cast that will often surprise you with their interactions and they way they develop during the game's events.

    The game is also filled to the brim with optional scenes that will make a lot of difference if you want to fully understand what's going on, and the Tales series' skits are a nice way to have a constant feedback from your party members. All those features make the game extremely lengthy, too: with all the side material this game can last even more than 100 hours.

    The battle system is also great, and makes use of the 3d arena by allowing you to freely move your characters and build up combos of skills and magics in extremely fast paced action battles. The PS2 version had some issues, like the unnerving loading times and glitched world map, but this 3DS port completely solved them, making this the definitive way to enjoy this game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Here's the best advice I can give to anyone who might be thinking about buying this game: BUY IT NOW!!! Namco likes to not release too manyHere's the best advice I can give to anyone who might be thinking about buying this game: BUY IT NOW!!! Namco likes to not release too many copies of the Tales of series for some reason and it's like pulling teeth trying to find a copy of whatever version you want to play. As of this review, this version of the game has only been out for 1 week and I already had to go to 5 stores to find it around me New. I can't even imagine what it'll be like a few months down the road if it's already this difficult to find. So, do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this game immediately after reading this. The game is awesome and there are other reviews that talk about how good it is. My main goal is to warn people that this game is already difficult to find and to anyone who's going to wait to pick this up, good luck finding a copy and to not having to resort to going on ebay and getting it for 60 bucks. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    I have to say, that Tales of The Abyss does for the series what Final Fantasy IV: Complete did for the Final Fantasy series, it polishes overI have to say, that Tales of The Abyss does for the series what Final Fantasy IV: Complete did for the Final Fantasy series, it polishes over a bit and keeps the originality of what made the game so excellent to begin with. Playing this on my 3DS was well worth it, and I'm so glad to be able to play it again, especially on a handheld. The game is just beautiful, definitely worth your time. Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2015
    8
    I will acknowledge that this game is quite above average, at the very least. The story is deep, is has interesting subject matters, theI will acknowledge that this game is quite above average, at the very least. The story is deep, is has interesting subject matters, the characters are quite likable and the world is one of the better realized settings I have seen in a game. However, there are a few traps in the game, traps that will ruin your experience, and make your long, great adventure into a miserable drag. Traps, that if you fall into them, will throw you out of the experience and will make you into a cynical critic of the story, characters and events. I will tell you, without spoilers of course, what these kinds of traps are so you can have a great, deep and intriguing playing experience:
    First off, the game does not take into account 'foo strategies' (extra credits). What I mean is that one of your party members you meet in the first ten minutes is ridiculously strong, and quite frankly, breaks the game. The strength of this character lies in his agility and quick strikes, that makes every enemy in the game flinch and unable to do much in resistance. I liked this character's style a lot, so I used him the most, and when a challenge came by I could kick its ass no problem. This was such a good feeling. However, at some point I simply could not switch back to the other characters. Why? Because at some point, you just get to a point where switching to other characters hurts you, because I didn't have as much experience with them, the enemies actually gets the better of me. They were so strong that I felt I could not even train or experiment with the other characters, because the monsters would just beat me down again and again, and I would have to use costly mana and revival items all the time. You barely need to worry about those things with that one character, since he can take down pretty much every single enemy himself in a one on one fight. The problem comes with multiple foes, but guess what? He has great area-of-effect attacks that hits everywhere around him too. And I never wanted to go back to an earlier area to train either, since the game has a slow enough pace already. My point is: Experiment with everyone, and don't just stick with your favorite, since you won't experience any of the large depth the battles has that way.
    Second, the game may feel very linear and restricting if you just go from place to place. This game pretty much discourages exploration with sandstorms. barrages and blizzards blocking you so much of the time. But don't let that dissuade you: go and find what the game has to offer, and if you feel the story is already going slow enough, the side-quests actually spice it of quite a bit, often more than the main story because it really takes it time with foreshadowing and events.

    I fell into both these traps, and the game became a rather terrible experience for me, the only thing keeping me going being I wanted to finish it. Which took about 15 more hours than I expected. However, if you avoid these two problems you will have a great adventure waiting ahead of you, one that a lot of consider one of the best RPG of all time.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Great game, of a great series, it takes you through a magical land and has quite an interesting story, however fans of the genre will noticeGreat game, of a great series, it takes you through a magical land and has quite an interesting story, however fans of the genre will notice quite some "clichés" and sometimes the game suffers from frame rate during battles, which can be a little mood-killing... Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    This is an enjoyable action RPG with beautiful graphics,a big cast of characters and a generous-sized world to explore. The only downside isThis is an enjoyable action RPG with beautiful graphics,a big cast of characters and a generous-sized world to explore. The only downside is the lack of difficulty - most enemies, even bosses, can be beaten pretty easily as long as you're levelled-up enough. Even so, Tales Of The Abyss is a lot of fun. Collapse
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    1
    I have never in my life as a gamer played a game that was more boring and uninspiring as this one. it looks pretty on the 3ds, but that'sI have never in my life as a gamer played a game that was more boring and uninspiring as this one. it looks pretty on the 3ds, but that's it''s only redeeming feature (and playing a game merely because it's "pretty" is doing a massive disservice to the gaming industry.)

    the combat is interesting in that it's a departure from your typical turn-based combat, but that doesn't even begin to make up for the fact that the characters are contrived, cookie-cutter parodies. I could not once find a moment in this game where i felt any sort of emotion for the characters. this game may appeal to your typical jRPG fans, but then anything that's even remotely "anime" will appeal to them, even if it is a steaming pile with "cute anime eyes" slapped on.

    overall, best to avoid this game unless you want to play an uninspiring game where the story is forced and predictable.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews