Tetris Axis 3DS

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    Dec 17, 2011
    71
    A sparkling collection, but its successes come from repackaging old content. [Jan 2012, p.88]
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    70
    The 3DS version of Tetris is quite interesting due to the new Fever mode. The lack of a deep online multiplayer (the classic versus is simply not enough) is a shame, but the game is honest anyway. If you're a Tetris deviant you can't miss this fake 3D edition.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    70
    Looking at the product as a whole, there is both quantity and quality. However, there is a lack of some ingredient that links the various modes, something that adds more depth to the whole package. Despite this, the number of game modes is simply stunning.
  4. Nov 4, 2011
    70
    If you're after a quick Tetris fix, and you own a 3DS, this iteration is an obvious choice. For those who have every other version on the market though, it might not do enough to continue the blocky wonderland.
  5. 70
    Mountains of game modes and content but only a molehill amount of personality, this does nothing for either Tetris or the 3DS's back catalogue.
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    70
    Even after all these years, Tetris is an addictive and nice game to play. You don't have to buy this for new elements like AR-modes or the 3D-support. But you can buy it for its online options and a lot of the offline modes.
  7. Oct 22, 2011
    70
    The classic Tetris doesn't know to make good use of 3D. It's a game full of modes, with 8 players online and many hours of traditional fun and new interesting additions. But only that.
  8. Oct 17, 2011
    70
    I liked the addition of dancing Miis and club-style classical music remixes, and the graphical presentation and 3D novelties were neat, but none of this really satisfied my craving to play some good ol' Tetris. Somehow the standard-ish Marathon mode wasn't doing it for me.
  9. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    Tetris Axis delivers classic gameplay with lots of modes and options, but most of it is very familiar.
  10. Oct 7, 2011
    70
    Tetris Axis falls short of spectacular but still proves to be a worthwhile addition to the classic's illustrious handheld legacy with its expanded online component and oddly addictive Fever mode.
  11. Oct 3, 2011
    70
    Axis might not be the best Tetris of all time, but it's filled with so many features that its $29.99 price tag is be easily justified, no matter how many times you've bought this game already.
  12. Oct 3, 2011
    70
    If you haven't picked up Tetris in a while, this isn't the best or the cheapest version available, but if it's really is all you can find, it's impossible not to recommend playing a few matches.
  13. Oct 3, 2011
    67
    Personally speaking, though, Axis is unbearable: A hodgepodge of ideas with no aesthetic consistency. It includes practically every Tetris derivative mini-game to have been pushed out the door by various licensees over the past decade, both good and bad, making it a sort of omnibus. At the same time, the whole thing feels cheap and generic, and there's very little visual consistency from mode to mode.
  14. 65
    It's just one of those games that really is best played in its original, simple Marathon mode.
  15. Oct 21, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    This is a surprisingly great game. There is a lot of content and for, some games, the 3d effect seriously add to the experience. I have beenThis is a surprisingly great game. There is a lot of content and for, some games, the 3d effect seriously add to the experience. I have been playing this game a lot in the past few days and I can already say that this is one of the few games that I will keep for a long time. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    This is the Tetris game to get. This game has so many modes, and is so addicting. I am having fun making bit art 3-d models in the shadowThis is the Tetris game to get. This game has so many modes, and is so addicting. I am having fun making bit art 3-d models in the shadow editing mode. Nintendo is good at including little touches that make the game a bit more fun then you would expect. The quick play menu is a real plus for jumping into a Tetris game quickly. Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    A very good "Tetris" title with lots of options. The 3D effect is all right but mostly unnecessary. I'd prefer a downloadable version, but IA very good "Tetris" title with lots of options. The 3D effect is all right but mostly unnecessary. I'd prefer a downloadable version, but I already bought the cart. Full Review »