User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    With rather uninspired graphics on the 3ds, The Amazing Spiderman just isn't able to shine. Although web slinging and climbing on walls has never been quite as fun in a Spiderman game, the graphics really do bog down the experience, along with a lack of mission variety. All that said, if you are truly a Spiderman fan, you will still find enjoyment in this 3ds version. The 3d effect and voice acting are some added bonuses, and some extra content and unlockables are littered in the games levels. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    I gave up on Spiderman games long ago, but after reading reviews for this game, I decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did. The game is fun, mindless at times, but fun. The controls are awkward at times and the camera angles are aggravating but those little grievances are not enough to drag the game down much. The graphics are decent enough and the sound is good. This game will appeal to all spidey fans but if your expecting anything similar to Batman : Arkham City then you will be disappointed. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    i prefer more the pc version of this game, sorry
  4. Jul 7, 2012
    7
    My brother got my a hat thanks to this game. 10/10
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    Most people have been infuriated at this game for its lack of a free-roam, or its graphics not comparing to that of the WiiU and PS3. They're wrong. This game is a simple, fun action game that takes people back to some of the earlier villains such as the Rhino or Black-Cat, and puts the player in with many ways to beat each mission, be it stealth, action or anything in-between. There are plenty of upgrades and hidden packages, but its still not perfect. Once in a while younger players may get lost in some of the levels and not know where to go, And its true that the alternate suits you can unlock just aren't different enough, but the gameplay is fun and can be strategic (only if you use the stealth approach), even if it is over somewhat quickly. Players will enjoy seeing the aftermath to Connors experiments from the movie, as welll as the trademarked spidey-humor and of course- Spider-Mans ridiculously big arsenal of attacks, be it flips or kicks or twirls or throws, he always keeps you guessing. Worth the $30.00, probably not much more. Collapse
  6. May 30, 2013
    5
    Well i have to say that this was rather disappointing. Most video games based off movies are pretty bad, but the spider man games have always held a special spot in my heart. Until now. First off, it's not a free roaming sandbox game, even though the ps3 and xbox versions were, and the 3DS absolutely has the power to support it. The game is pretty short and doesn't have much replay value. Really other than that some things were kind of cool, the web slinging, the combat, pretty fun, but fairly basic. Long story short, i got the game, i played all the way through it, but i won't be playing it anymore. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2013
    0
    Most people have been infuriated at this game for its lack of a free-roam, or its graphics not comparing to that of the WiiU and PS3. They're wrong. This game is a simple, fun action game that takes people back to some of the earlier villains such as the Rhino or Black-Cat, and puts the player in with many ways to beat each mission, be it stealth, action or anything in-between. There are plenty of upgrades and hidden packages, but its still not perfect. Once in a while younger players may get lost in some of the levels and not know where to go, And its true that the alternate suits you can unlock just aren't different enough, but the gameplay is fun and can be strategic (only if you use the stealth approach), even if it is over somewhat quickly. Players will enjoy seeing the aftermath to Connors experiments from the movie, as welll as the trademarked spidey-humor and of course- Spider-Mans ridiculously big arsenal of attacks, be it flips or kicks or twirls or throws, he always keeps you guessing. Worth the $30.00, probably not much more. Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. There are glimmers of promise in the 3DS version, but the execution is so bad and the graphics engine so lacklustre, that you'll find it hard to squeeze more than a few drops of genuine pleasure out of this cold, grey stone. [Sept 2012, p.107]
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    50
    However, any fun derived from Spider-Man's web-slinging and butt-kicking is overshadowed by the game's weak overall presentation. [Aug 2012, p.82]
  3. 40
    Even as a fairly hardcore fan of Spider-Man, I can't recommend the 3DS version. The GameCube Spider-Man games from ten years ago were better than this.