Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Go beyond the movie to experience what it's like to BE Spider-Man like never before. Set shortly after the events of Columbia Pictures' new film, The Amazing Spider-Man throws New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of unimaginable threats. Experience the new Web Rush mechanic as Spidey twists his way through the NYC skyline with unprecedented speed and grace. The game's original story also explores beautiful indoor environments, as you'll encounter everything from skirmishes with everyday street thugs to pulse-pounding confrontations with Spider-Man's most lethal foes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    The Amazing Spider-Man is a solid 3DS game that will provide fun so long as you don't also have the console versions. The scaled-down structure helps keep it bite-sized, but the awkward controls and camera system can cause headaches at times. If this is your only avenue, there is plenty of fun to be had, but if you have the means I highly recommend picking up one of its bigger brothers, perhaps outside of the Wii version. There is just no excuse for that.
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    A generally good experience, and a fun one most of the time, but its issues keep it from truly ascending to the heights of being Spectacular. Or Sensational. Or Astonishing.
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    67
    The Amazing Spider-Man for 3DS is a mixed bag of a game that manages to amount to more than the sum of its parts. The combat is incredibly simple and varies little throughout the game, but the sheer power of the character and great flow of combat makes it satisfying and fun to watch.
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    50
    Beenox has done some good work with the webslinger, but to call its latest Spider-Man game "amazing" on 3DS would be a massive stretch. The story is passable, nestling deep enough that you want to see where it may go, and almost in spite of itself delivers enough moments that really capture the essence of Spider-Man, but between the repetition and glitches there may come a point where you'll have to have a good think about whether it's a game you want to see through to the end of its six-to-eight hours.
  5. Aug 1, 2012
    50
    However, any fun derived from Spider-Man's web-slinging and butt-kicking is overshadowed by the game's weak overall presentation. [Aug 2012, p.82]
  6. Jul 12, 2012
    50
    It may not take any giant leaps for the platform but it does give a solid performance and really shows that Beenox takes their hand held games seriously. It gives us hope that they can really pull off something great in the future.
  7. 40
    Even as a fairly hardcore fan of Spider-Man, I can't recommend the 3DS version. The GameCube Spider-Man games from ten years ago were better than this.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    Most people have been infuriated at this game for its lack of a free-roam, or its graphics not comparing to that of the WiiU and PS3. They're wrong. This game is a simple, fun action game that takes people back to some of the earlier villains such as the Rhino or Black-Cat, and puts the player in with many ways to beat each mission, be it stealth, action or anything in-between. There are plenty of upgrades and hidden packages, but its still not perfect. Once in a while younger players may get lost in some of the levels and not know where to go, And its true that the alternate suits you can unlock just aren't different enough, but the gameplay is fun and can be strategic (only if you use the stealth approach), even if it is over somewhat quickly. Players will enjoy seeing the aftermath to Connors experiments from the movie, as welll as the trademarked spidey-humor and of course- Spider-Mans ridiculously big arsenal of attacks, be it flips or kicks or twirls or throws, he always keeps you guessing. Worth the $30.00, probably not much more. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    With rather uninspired graphics on the 3ds, The Amazing Spiderman just isn't able to shine. Although web slinging and climbing on walls has never been quite as fun in a Spiderman game, the graphics really do bog down the experience, along with a lack of mission variety. All that said, if you are truly a Spiderman fan, you will still find enjoyment in this 3ds version. The 3d effect and voice acting are some added bonuses, and some extra content and unlockables are littered in the games levels. Collapse
  3. Jul 7, 2012
    7
    My brother got my a hat thanks to this game. 10/10
  4. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    I gave up on Spiderman games long ago, but after reading reviews for this game, I decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did. The game is fun, mindless at times, but fun. The controls are awkward at times and the camera angles are aggravating but those little grievances are not enough to drag the game down much. The graphics are decent enough and the sound is good. This game will appeal to all spidey fans but if your expecting anything similar to Batman : Arkham City then you will be disappointed. Expand
  5. May 30, 2013
    5
    Well i have to say that this was rather disappointing. Most video games based off movies are pretty bad, but the spider man games have always held a special spot in my heart. Until now. First off, it's not a free roaming sandbox game, even though the ps3 and xbox versions were, and the 3DS absolutely has the power to support it. The game is pretty short and doesn't have much replay value. Really other than that some things were kind of cool, the web slinging, the combat, pretty fun, but fairly basic. Long story short, i got the game, i played all the way through it, but i won't be playing it anymore. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    i prefer more the pc version of this game, sorry