Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Overall, Denpa Men 2 is a vast improvement over the first with the addition of a rather large over-world to explore, a classic RPG soundtrack, a seemingly shallow story that evolves into a deeper (but still comical) tale as you progress, and great 3D visuals with the dungeons actually looking deep due to the semi top-down view.
  2. 90
    Nintendo's Wii U may be foundering, but the company has been knocking it out of the park on the 3DS lately. Minis on the Move joins other greats like Pushmo to make the 3DS an amazing platform for anybody who enjoys a good puzzle game. Check it out, and prepare to get addicted to sliding tiles and frantically saving minis from a plunge into the dark abyss.
  3. Genius Sonority has looked beyond the waves this time around and what it has found has helped strengthen the good signals we got last time.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you're up for tackling a long, sweet, silly retail-sized RPG for a fraction of the price, the Denpa Men are sure to please.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    The Denpa Men 2 is the sequel we were hoping for, offering up quirky RPG action that is as challenging as it is silly.
  6. May 30, 2013
    80
    A wide variety of characters to recruit and hidden treasure abound keeps Denpa Men 2: Beyond the Waves fresh from start to finish.
  7. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    If you’re on a budget and looking for a portable dungeon crawler with loads of content and personality to spare, it’s hard to get more bang for your buck.
  8. Jun 3, 2013
    79
    A weird dungeon crawling adventure with neat features (including AR compatibility) and a unique sense of humour.
  9. Oct 7, 2013
    78
    Often grindy to the point of frustration, but luckily it balances that out by having heart, personality and colour to spare. [Aug 2013]
  10. 70
    While I can’t recommend it to everyone, if you’re the kind of person who doesn’t mind a punishing grind and some badly designed mechanics, there’s a lot to love under the surface.
  11. Jul 4, 2013
    50
    As with their past work, Genius Sonority has interesting ideas that regularly get in their own way. Denpa Men 2: Beyond the Wave’s no different and the iteration never comes together. It makes only a bit of forward progress with eShop’s limitations putting strain on the potential. They came by wave and so they went.
  12. Jun 30, 2013
    50
    Although I badly want to like The Denpa Men 2: Beyond the Waves more than I do, the honest truth is that it's a hell of a lot of work for a game that's basically nothing but grinding through dungeons. If the difficulty and frequency of encounters were just a bit lower, the insanely high cute factor would be able to carry the experience and I probably would have powered through. Instead, it's way, way too much effort for too little return—my patience and stamina wore out long before the credits rolled.
  13. Jun 27, 2013
    50
    Beyond just the fact that it’s a little boring to play, there are also the weird problems to deal with, and the game’s charm is nowhere near enough to make up for them. Even when you’re playing, it does so much of taking care of itself that I started to wonder why I’m even playing this when it can so easily play itself.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This game is really good. It takes what was awesome from the first one and evolves from there. Now you can equip your Denpas and actuallyThis game is really good. It takes what was awesome from the first one and evolves from there. Now you can equip your Denpas and actually watch them wear everything you equip on them. You can travel the land as if you were playing those amazing rpgs from 15 years ago.

    I haven't finished it, but I'm can't put it down either. If you are looking for a unique experience and good rpg game, this one is for you.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    9
    This game is really fun and challenging at the same time, I enjoyed playing this game a lot and if you have a 3ds, I would consider getting this game.