Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 872 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is a new game with a new storyline set in world of the Super NES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    No two ways about it: if you own a 3DS, this Zelda is a must. It’s an intelligent and entertaining action game, brimming with fresh ideas and fascinating worlds. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    A Link Between Worlds recognizes that it’s not tacked-on stealth segments or waggling a controller to roll bombs that makes Zelda tick—it’s the unbounded exploration and freedom found in the NES original, and it’s finally back in full force here. Every Zelda fan needs to play this game.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    96
    A stellar game all the way around. A Link Between Worlds maximizes the concept of depth, from the 3D, to the 2D mechanic, to the characters. This game certainly fits well in the pantheon of amazing Zelda games.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    It’s not just a nostalgic trip; A Link Between Worlds is an excellent game on its own. That said, this title functions most effectively as fan service to us old heads — the references to the source material are as numerous as they are captivating.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    A Link Between Worlds boasts excellent characterisation and spacial design. Even a too-shallow difficulty curve can't hold this long awaited entry back.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Even the most stalwart, traditionalist series fan should be able to appreciate A Link Between Worlds for what it is: the most interesting new Zelda game since Wind Waker.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    A Link Between World's main problem at the end of the day is a complete lack of heart. There's no defining moment, no memorable villains or characters, and no truly "new" items that make their mark on the series. It's certainly playable in every sense of the word, but I didn't feel the magic I had felt so many times before.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 193
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    What initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid andWhat initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid and immensely satisfying game worthy of standing on its own two feet. Set in the world of A Link to the Past, Link Between Worlds makes the serendipitous combination of a reinvigorating spark with a meaty hit of nostalgia. Presenting freedom of choice gameplay not seen since the original, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds makes no effort to hold the players hand through the richly dense world of Hyrule and it works brilliantly. Rather than following in the footsteps of Game Freak and introducing the franchise to a new generation of audiences at the risk of patronising its long term fans, (I’m looking at you Pokémon X and Y) Link Between Worlds pays homage to those of us who have followed Link since his debut over 25 years ago all whilst paving the way for a reinvention of what it means to make a Zelda game. The puzzles in Link Between Worlds are, as aforementioned, immensely satisfying. I could almost hear the pieces of a riddle snap together in my head as I strived to calculate the answer. It’s a feeling experienced whilst playing the Professor Layton series, but puzzle-solving in this game is made relevant and interesting by the vivid world, close to perfect combat and awe-inspiring imagination. This is a beautiful game, presenting a colourful and vibrant world that just seems to radiate adventure and exploration. The characters are complex and interesting, but perhaps the biggest achievement in terms of its presentation is the silky-smooth 60fps frame rate which stays consistent throughout this 18 hour adventure even with the 3D effect turned on. Collapse
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    When I was in grade school, my friend "gave" me a game called 'The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past'. I got so hooked up I can't stopWhen I was in grade school, my friend "gave" me a game called 'The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past'. I got so hooked up I can't stop playing. It was the first Zelda game I've played.

    I bought The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds the other day and I can't believe I'm almost done with the game. It's nostalgic and funny because there are things have changed and I can't stop my curiosity. It is a game worth the replay.

    PS: Sorry Emmanuel, I never returned the SNES cartridge to you, I still have your game.
    Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds has everything you could ever ask for in a nostalgic Zelda title. Great graphics, great gameplay,The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds has everything you could ever ask for in a nostalgic Zelda title. Great graphics, great gameplay, great dungeons, very well thought-out bosses (adding a unique spin on some old friends) and fantastic, memorable characters, I would recommend this game to every Zelda fan in the world who ever doubted this title, and I would highly recommend it to those who already thought of getting it. This title takes the old, nostalgic feeling that nostalgic Zelda fans have been waiting for and they blend it to perfection with all the wholesome wonder of a brand-new, shiny title off of the shelves. It is my favorite Zelda since Twilight Princess, and even then, there are several things I like about this more than TP even, and it would be extremely worth your time to play this title. Just don't play it too quickly! Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I really like this iteration of Zelda. A few new innovations and less a compelling story, but it is made up for in the tight controls,I really like this iteration of Zelda. A few new innovations and less a compelling story, but it is made up for in the tight controls, gorgeous graphics, unique vibrant worlds and plenty of exploration. I personally like the wall merge capability and how it was integrated into battles and some fairly complex puzzles, which this game has plenty of. You have to think through a lot of your next moves carefully, but it is never to hard.
    I played all the way through in 2 days, about 20 hours worth. I didn't want it to end, but with the addition of a more "open" game-play philosophy for a Zelda game, replay is moderately high. 10
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Nintendo shows that they still know what they're doing. I loved a Link to the Past, and this modernization of the game works just as well. INintendo shows that they still know what they're doing. I loved a Link to the Past, and this modernization of the game works just as well. I was enthralled by the stretches of Hyrule, and the Dark World, now called Lorule. Nostalgia made sweet impact as familiar music and areas hit.

    I appreciate that the game is fast-paced and more action oriented, and it provides a great classic feel. What's also great is being able to rent every item you could possibly need. It's great to just jump right into the action with reckless abandon.

    The game's story is also quite a bit different. The ending was also quite atypical from most Zelda games, and I enjoyed watching it unfold throughout the adventure.

    Although the game managed to replicate the old school feel, it didn't replicate the old school challenge. This might just be the easiest Zelda game to date, even easier than Wind Waker. I understand the reasoning because of how open the world was. The game's later dungeons are all accessible at once, so it would be unfair for someone whose new to enter a ridiculous dungeon, but I love digging through enormous dungeons. Some veterans may even finish the game in 10 or so hours. There is hero mode, but considering how easy it was, it would've been nice to have the option right off the bat.

    Still, it's a great game, especially for newcomers and those who might be intimidated by the series.
    Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    Instant classic with minor issues:

    * strange level design choices - Keys next to its doors- * too easy ( I saw the game over screen twice
    Instant classic with minor issues:

    * strange level design choices - Keys next to its doors-
    * too easy ( I saw the game over screen twice only)
    * Game design shows a lack of dedication and long term gameplay design - The store allows to rent and buy the item too easily making it totally unnecessary as there is no grinding , i would rather prefer to include the items as they were in previous games( inside dungeons) or make new areas with puzzles to retrive them . At the end, the Ravio shop has a very minor importance
    Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2014
    1
    Terrible. Remember when chests contained something besides rupees... How about we let the play rent these items for rupees then find in theTerrible. Remember when chests contained something besides rupees... How about we let the play rent these items for rupees then find in the chests because that makes the game funner. So you know all the items you can get in the game from the very start removing any surprises. If you ever wanted a MMO without leveling this is it.... 4 hours long if you enjoy grinding... Expand

See all 193 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.