The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1049 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is a new game with a new storyline set in world of the Super NES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    No two ways about it: if you own a 3DS, this Zelda is a must. It’s an intelligent and entertaining action game, brimming with fresh ideas and fascinating worlds. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    A Link Between Worlds recognizes that it’s not tacked-on stealth segments or waggling a controller to roll bombs that makes Zelda tick—it’s the unbounded exploration and freedom found in the NES original, and it’s finally back in full force here. Every Zelda fan needs to play this game.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    96
    A stellar game all the way around. A Link Between Worlds maximizes the concept of depth, from the 3D, to the 2D mechanic, to the characters. This game certainly fits well in the pantheon of amazing Zelda games.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    It’s not just a nostalgic trip; A Link Between Worlds is an excellent game on its own. That said, this title functions most effectively as fan service to us old heads — the references to the source material are as numerous as they are captivating.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    A Link Between Worlds boasts excellent characterisation and spacial design. Even a too-shallow difficulty curve can't hold this long awaited entry back.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Even the most stalwart, traditionalist series fan should be able to appreciate A Link Between Worlds for what it is: the most interesting new Zelda game since Wind Waker.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    A Link Between World's main problem at the end of the day is a complete lack of heart. There's no defining moment, no memorable villains or characters, and no truly "new" items that make their mark on the series. It's certainly playable in every sense of the word, but I didn't feel the magic I had felt so many times before.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 218
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    What initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid andWhat initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid and immensely satisfying game worthy of standing on its own two feet. Set in the world of A Link to the Past, Link Between Worlds makes the serendipitous combination of a reinvigorating spark with a meaty hit of nostalgia. Presenting freedom of choice gameplay not seen since the original, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds makes no effort to hold the players hand through the richly dense world of Hyrule and it works brilliantly. Rather than following in the footsteps of Game Freak and introducing the franchise to a new generation of audiences at the risk of patronising its long term fans, (I’m looking at you Pokémon X and Y) Link Between Worlds pays homage to those of us who have followed Link since his debut over 25 years ago all whilst paving the way for a reinvention of what it means to make a Zelda game. The puzzles in Link Between Worlds are, as aforementioned, immensely satisfying. I could almost hear the pieces of a riddle snap together in my head as I strived to calculate the answer. It’s a feeling experienced whilst playing the Professor Layton series, but puzzle-solving in this game is made relevant and interesting by the vivid world, close to perfect combat and awe-inspiring imagination. This is a beautiful game, presenting a colourful and vibrant world that just seems to radiate adventure and exploration. The characters are complex and interesting, but perhaps the biggest achievement in terms of its presentation is the silky-smooth 60fps frame rate which stays consistent throughout this 18 hour adventure even with the 3D effect turned on. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    I love every aspect of this game. I especially enjoy how there is a great use of the 3D effect from a top down point of view. The portraitI love every aspect of this game. I especially enjoy how there is a great use of the 3D effect from a top down point of view. The portrait mechanics is very clever and adds a unique flare to the puzzles. The story is rich with adventure and decent level of difficulty. There is also a rent an item feature that creates a great balance of exploration freedom. The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is one of the few games that deserves a 10/10 Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best Zelda game since A Link to the Past. It's a shame it took Nintendo 22 years to realize that the top-down 2D style ofThis is by far the best Zelda game since A Link to the Past. It's a shame it took Nintendo 22 years to realize that the top-down 2D style of Zelda is the BEST style of Zelda. I really hope they learned their lesson so I don't have to wait another 2 decades for another one! Keep the 2D top-down Zelda games coming!

    At first I was turned off by the art style, but after playing it, I not only got used to it (almost immediately), but I actually really like it now! Also, the wall painting mechanic I thought would be gimmicky and dumb, but it's actually pretty cool and I really like it now too!

    The new item system allows a new sort of freedom (tackling dungeons in any order you want is pretty neat).. If you found the game too easy, a hard mode unlocks after you beat the game, which is a nice challenge.

    The music and frequent references to A Link to the Past are nostalgia heaven!

    The original Zelda, ALTTP, and Link's Awakening were the best Zelda games and A Link Between Worlds is right up there with them!

    Go buy it if you haven't already! You will love it! It's the game of the decade and certainly game of the year for me! Thank you, Nintendo!
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite Zelda games. It's the perfect length for what it does and the presentation is top notch especially for a portable system.One of my favorite Zelda games. It's the perfect length for what it does and the presentation is top notch especially for a portable system. (Portables sure have come a long way, huh?) This is a really fun puzzle-dungeon game to pick and play whenever you want. It's so easy to jump into and play. And if you find it easy, you can change the difficulty upon beating it the first time, and the game is highly replayable because you can do the dungeons in any order you want! You can get all the way up to the boss fight in one dungeon then up and decide to do a different one.

    My problems: Why oh why can't you skip or fast forward through the cutscenes? Why can't you just save anywhere? You can buy things that let you leave the dungeons immediately and you can warp to save points from anywhere on the overworld, but it'd just be better to save anywhere! I don't get why PORTABLE games should have arbitrary save points. This game also uses pretty much the same overworld map as A Link to The Past...but I've never played that game, and I don't find that being familiar with it is necessary at all.
    Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can remember playing the original A Link to the Past on the Super Nintendo years ago. And while my memories from the original can never be replicated, this newest rendition will produce many additional enjoyable moments. If you have been attempting to find an explanation (or excuse) to purchase a 3DS or 2DS, THIS GAME ALONE IS WORTH ITS WEIGHT IN GOLD AND IS REASON ENOUGH TO BUY A 2DS OR 3DS!!

    I have been amazed at how the game can play tricks visually, even without the use of the 3D depth slider. The merge ability is a great twist on the gameplay, and for anyone who has played the Paper Mario series, you should easily transition into this method. And just when you think you have explored most of the new areas, the game leads you into other new areas to explore.

    I have only finished the first palace, but can tell that I will be hooked until the very end.
    Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2015
    9
    One of the best Zelda games in recent years. It gives an unprecedented amount of freedom to the player, has great dungeon design and puzzles,One of the best Zelda games in recent years. It gives an unprecedented amount of freedom to the player, has great dungeon design and puzzles, some great boss battles and a pretty good story. The only flaw I can think of are that the game is a bit short. It is also a bit on the easy side but the Hero Mode makes up for it.
    A must buy for any 3DS owner.
    Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    The original Zeldas on the NES, were among the first games i have ever played as a kid, back in the early 90s. Then i played all of theThe original Zeldas on the NES, were among the first games i have ever played as a kid, back in the early 90s. Then i played all of the sequels. I loved those early Zeldas very much, with a special place in my heart for Link's Awakening on the Game Boy, the best Zelda game ever, bar none (take that Ocarina of Time, you are great but not the best Zelda).

    So, as you can imagine, this game is supposed to be something i should find enjoyable. After all, i grew up with games like this, i own a 3DS, enjoy relaxed handheld gaming on my bed, what's not to like?

    Well, this game is boring trash, and has nothing to do with the early top view zeldas at all. It is vastly overrated, relying on misplaced nostalgia to sell copies and get good reviews.

    There is no challenge in this game, it is boring and tedius. The graphics are really bad, and the 2D wall walking gimmick is retarded.

    This is one of the weakest Zelda games ever, down there with the DS games which sucked as well.

    The normal rating should be a 6, but i got to balance all the fangirls, so i rate it with a 0.
    Expand

See all 218 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.