The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1019 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is a new game with a new storyline set in world of the Super NES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    No two ways about it: if you own a 3DS, this Zelda is a must. It’s an intelligent and entertaining action game, brimming with fresh ideas and fascinating worlds. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    A Link Between Worlds recognizes that it’s not tacked-on stealth segments or waggling a controller to roll bombs that makes Zelda tick—it’s the unbounded exploration and freedom found in the NES original, and it’s finally back in full force here. Every Zelda fan needs to play this game.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    96
    A stellar game all the way around. A Link Between Worlds maximizes the concept of depth, from the 3D, to the 2D mechanic, to the characters. This game certainly fits well in the pantheon of amazing Zelda games.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    It’s not just a nostalgic trip; A Link Between Worlds is an excellent game on its own. That said, this title functions most effectively as fan service to us old heads — the references to the source material are as numerous as they are captivating.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    A Link Between Worlds boasts excellent characterisation and spacial design. Even a too-shallow difficulty curve can't hold this long awaited entry back.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Even the most stalwart, traditionalist series fan should be able to appreciate A Link Between Worlds for what it is: the most interesting new Zelda game since Wind Waker.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    A Link Between World's main problem at the end of the day is a complete lack of heart. There's no defining moment, no memorable villains or characters, and no truly "new" items that make their mark on the series. It's certainly playable in every sense of the word, but I didn't feel the magic I had felt so many times before.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 214
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    What initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid andWhat initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid and immensely satisfying game worthy of standing on its own two feet. Set in the world of A Link to the Past, Link Between Worlds makes the serendipitous combination of a reinvigorating spark with a meaty hit of nostalgia. Presenting freedom of choice gameplay not seen since the original, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds makes no effort to hold the players hand through the richly dense world of Hyrule and it works brilliantly. Rather than following in the footsteps of Game Freak and introducing the franchise to a new generation of audiences at the risk of patronising its long term fans, (I’m looking at you Pokémon X and Y) Link Between Worlds pays homage to those of us who have followed Link since his debut over 25 years ago all whilst paving the way for a reinvention of what it means to make a Zelda game. The puzzles in Link Between Worlds are, as aforementioned, immensely satisfying. I could almost hear the pieces of a riddle snap together in my head as I strived to calculate the answer. It’s a feeling experienced whilst playing the Professor Layton series, but puzzle-solving in this game is made relevant and interesting by the vivid world, close to perfect combat and awe-inspiring imagination. This is a beautiful game, presenting a colourful and vibrant world that just seems to radiate adventure and exploration. The characters are complex and interesting, but perhaps the biggest achievement in terms of its presentation is the silky-smooth 60fps frame rate which stays consistent throughout this 18 hour adventure even with the 3D effect turned on. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    It's Zelda, what can you say. If you like the franchise, especially the older ones, get this. If not, then ignore it.
    The new mechanic where
    It's Zelda, what can you say. If you like the franchise, especially the older ones, get this. If not, then ignore it.
    The new mechanic where you stick to walls is a nice feature, and so is the new magic bar. Not much else to say.
    Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    This Zelda iteration took me by surprise and never let go, it's one of the best Zelda games dare I say, ever; the beauty in the visualThis Zelda iteration took me by surprise and never let go, it's one of the best Zelda games dare I say, ever; the beauty in the visual direction is rivaled not only by an intricately amazing dungeon designs but also by one of the best soundtracks you'll ever hear in a video game. This game changed a lot of Zelda conventions for the absolute better, from the way the items, exploration and puzzles are handled to the innovative and thought-provoking use of the New power of 2D Link "Merging" with walls. It also has the best use of 3D on the 3DS. All in all, Zelda: ALBW succeeds in almost every way imaginable for a videogame masterpiece and continues to cement the notion held by many gamers that the Zelda franchise is the gold standard for video games. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    As someone who considers a Link to the Past to be the best Zelda game of all time (incidentally also the first I remember playing), I wasAs someone who considers a Link to the Past to be the best Zelda game of all time (incidentally also the first I remember playing), I was excited to hear about a remake; even moreso when it was announced that it would be a sequel.

    Now that I've played it, I can say it's even better than my high expectations made it seem. With gorgeous graphics, brilliantly placed 3D, nostalgic gameplay, and a surprisingly intriguing story (albeit most of the twists were near the end), any video game fan not just fans of Zelda would be stupid not to pass up such a modern masterpiece.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Nintendo shows that they still know what they're doing. I loved a Link to the Past, and this modernization of the game works just as well. INintendo shows that they still know what they're doing. I loved a Link to the Past, and this modernization of the game works just as well. I was enthralled by the stretches of Hyrule, and the Dark World, now called Lorule. Nostalgia made sweet impact as familiar music and areas hit.

    I appreciate that the game is fast-paced and more action oriented, and it provides a great classic feel. What's also great is being able to rent every item you could possibly need. It's great to just jump right into the action with reckless abandon.

    The game's story is also quite a bit different. The ending was also quite atypical from most Zelda games, and I enjoyed watching it unfold throughout the adventure.

    Although the game managed to replicate the old school feel, it didn't replicate the old school challenge. This might just be the easiest Zelda game to date, even easier than Wind Waker. I understand the reasoning because of how open the world was. The game's later dungeons are all accessible at once, so it would be unfair for someone whose new to enter a ridiculous dungeon, but I love digging through enormous dungeons. Some veterans may even finish the game in 10 or so hours. There is hero mode, but considering how easy it was, it would've been nice to have the option right off the bat.

    Still, it's a great game, especially for newcomers and those who might be intimidated by the series.
    Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!
    This the Zelda game every die-hard fan wanted to see. We revisit the world of A Link To The Past with a whole new
    I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!
    This the Zelda game every die-hard fan wanted to see. We revisit the world of A Link To The Past with a whole new gameplay style. With all the fans drooling over Majora's Mask 3D, this game will make the fans still excited for the next Zelda games to come
    Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2016
    1
    Wow, what can I say? This game is such an utter disappointment. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past is my 3rd favorite game of all timeWow, what can I say? This game is such an utter disappointment. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past is my 3rd favorite game of all time and my 1991 Game of the Year. That's number 3, out of over 4000 games played. I will be honest, I did not complete this game, nor did I play it longer than an hour. The simple fact that they made the items available to rent completely disgusted me. The fun of the original was to complete each dungeon boss with the item you found in said dungeon. For example: The hammer in dungeon 1, was used to destroy the scorpion monster in that dungeon. The hookshot in dungeon 2 was used to pull the "segments" off of the "balloon" monster in dungeon 2. That was all I needed to be subjected to in order to completely quit this game and return it the same day i purchased it. This game would be amazing had the original SNES game never been made. It's good for those who do not want any kind of challenge or for a younger audience. I implore you to rethink your purchase if you love Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past as much as I do. This is not it. Your best bet is to hopefully wait for a 25th anniversary edition to be released on 3DS store (Likely will not happen, but it would generate money for Nintendo if they did.) Expand

See all 214 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.