Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 759 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is a new game with a new storyline set in world of the Super NES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    No two ways about it: if you own a 3DS, this Zelda is a must. It’s an intelligent and entertaining action game, brimming with fresh ideas and fascinating worlds. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    Painting over any cracks that were starting to appear in the Zelda series, A Link Between Worlds is a refreshing experience and another Nintendo 3DS masterpiece.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    96
    A stellar game all the way around. A Link Between Worlds maximizes the concept of depth, from the 3D, to the 2D mechanic, to the characters. This game certainly fits well in the pantheon of amazing Zelda games.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    It’s not just a nostalgic trip; A Link Between Worlds is an excellent game on its own. That said, this title functions most effectively as fan service to us old heads — the references to the source material are as numerous as they are captivating.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    A Link Between Worlds boasts excellent characterisation and spacial design. Even a too-shallow difficulty curve can't hold this long awaited entry back.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Even the most stalwart, traditionalist series fan should be able to appreciate A Link Between Worlds for what it is: the most interesting new Zelda game since Wind Waker.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    A Link Between World's main problem at the end of the day is a complete lack of heart. There's no defining moment, no memorable villains or characters, and no truly "new" items that make their mark on the series. It's certainly playable in every sense of the word, but I didn't feel the magic I had felt so many times before.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 179
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    What initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid andWhat initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid and immensely satisfying game worthy of standing on its own two feet. Set in the world of A Link to the Past, Link Between Worlds makes the serendipitous combination of a reinvigorating spark with a meaty hit of nostalgia. Presenting freedom of choice gameplay not seen since the original, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds makes no effort to hold the players hand through the richly dense world of Hyrule and it works brilliantly. Rather than following in the footsteps of Game Freak and introducing the franchise to a new generation of audiences at the risk of patronising its long term fans, (I’m looking at you Pokémon X and Y) Link Between Worlds pays homage to those of us who have followed Link since his debut over 25 years ago all whilst paving the way for a reinvention of what it means to make a Zelda game. The puzzles in Link Between Worlds are, as aforementioned, immensely satisfying. I could almost hear the pieces of a riddle snap together in my head as I strived to calculate the answer. It’s a feeling experienced whilst playing the Professor Layton series, but puzzle-solving in this game is made relevant and interesting by the vivid world, close to perfect combat and awe-inspiring imagination. This is a beautiful game, presenting a colourful and vibrant world that just seems to radiate adventure and exploration. The characters are complex and interesting, but perhaps the biggest achievement in terms of its presentation is the silky-smooth 60fps frame rate which stays consistent throughout this 18 hour adventure even with the 3D effect turned on. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    What I at first that would be an annoying adventure soon turned into my favorite. I thought the item rental would be a pain since it seemedWhat I at first that would be an annoying adventure soon turned into my favorite. I thought the item rental would be a pain since it seemed like you would always be losing your items it ended up making hhis game unique and great. Also the whole entire landscape is a nostalgic trip for those who have played LttP dozens of times. My only complaint is that the game can be completed way too fast, but it will make it more fun to speed run this game. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    absolute zelda perfection. i done know how anyone could give this game a negative rating (unless they were trolls which is likely)

    zelda
    absolute zelda perfection. i done know how anyone could give this game a negative rating (unless they were trolls which is likely)

    zelda fans, zelda newcomers....you are buying a modern classic. dont let this one pass you by.
    Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Amazing Game, In my opinion the best Zelda game to date. At the very least for handhelds. It is a memorable experience with fun andAmazing Game, In my opinion the best Zelda game to date. At the very least for handhelds. It is a memorable experience with fun and interesting dungeons and clever puzzles, a recommendation for anyone who likes puzzling, good stories, adventures and crawling dungeons. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Nintendo shows that they still know what they're doing. I loved a Link to the Past, and this modernization of the game works just as well. INintendo shows that they still know what they're doing. I loved a Link to the Past, and this modernization of the game works just as well. I was enthralled by the stretches of Hyrule, and the Dark World, now called Lorule. Nostalgia made sweet impact as familiar music and areas hit.

    I appreciate that the game is fast-paced and more action oriented, and it provides a great classic feel. What's also great is being able to rent every item you could possibly need. It's great to just jump right into the action with reckless abandon.

    The game's story is also quite a bit different. The ending was also quite atypical from most Zelda games, and I enjoyed watching it unfold throughout the adventure.

    Although the game managed to replicate the old school feel, it didn't replicate the old school challenge. This might just be the easiest Zelda game to date, even easier than Wind Waker. I understand the reasoning because of how open the world was. The game's later dungeons are all accessible at once, so it would be unfair for someone whose new to enter a ridiculous dungeon, but I love digging through enormous dungeons. Some veterans may even finish the game in 10 or so hours. There is hero mode, but considering how easy it was, it would've been nice to have the option right off the bat.

    Still, it's a great game, especially for newcomers and those who might be intimidated by the series.
    Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    This game is ALMOST perfect. The dungeon design, great! The concept of being able to turn into a painting, great! Two worlds, Hyrule andThis game is ALMOST perfect. The dungeon design, great! The concept of being able to turn into a painting, great! Two worlds, Hyrule and Lorule, great! Item renting, not so great... I think the renting system is OK, but i like the feeling when you unlock items inside dungeons and after that, you are ready to beat the boss. In A Link between worlds, this experience just isnt there. With that being said, this is the best handheld Zelda game ever made. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2014
    1
    Terrible. Remember when chests contained something besides rupees... How about we let the play rent these items for rupees then find in theTerrible. Remember when chests contained something besides rupees... How about we let the play rent these items for rupees then find in the chests because that makes the game funner. So you know all the items you can get in the game from the very start removing any surprises. If you ever wanted a MMO without leveling this is it.... 4 hours long if you enjoy grinding... Expand

See all 179 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.