The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is a new game with a new storyline set in world of the Super NES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    No two ways about it: if you own a 3DS, this Zelda is a must. It’s an intelligent and entertaining action game, brimming with fresh ideas and fascinating worlds. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    A Link Between Worlds recognizes that it’s not tacked-on stealth segments or waggling a controller to roll bombs that makes Zelda tick—it’s the unbounded exploration and freedom found in the NES original, and it’s finally back in full force here. Every Zelda fan needs to play this game.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    96
    A stellar game all the way around. A Link Between Worlds maximizes the concept of depth, from the 3D, to the 2D mechanic, to the characters. This game certainly fits well in the pantheon of amazing Zelda games.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    It’s not just a nostalgic trip; A Link Between Worlds is an excellent game on its own. That said, this title functions most effectively as fan service to us old heads — the references to the source material are as numerous as they are captivating.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    A Link Between Worlds boasts excellent characterisation and spacial design. Even a too-shallow difficulty curve can't hold this long awaited entry back.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Even the most stalwart, traditionalist series fan should be able to appreciate A Link Between Worlds for what it is: the most interesting new Zelda game since Wind Waker.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    A Link Between World's main problem at the end of the day is a complete lack of heart. There's no defining moment, no memorable villains or characters, and no truly "new" items that make their mark on the series. It's certainly playable in every sense of the word, but I didn't feel the magic I had felt so many times before.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 227
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    What initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid andWhat initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid and immensely satisfying game worthy of standing on its own two feet. Set in the world of A Link to the Past, Link Between Worlds makes the serendipitous combination of a reinvigorating spark with a meaty hit of nostalgia. Presenting freedom of choice gameplay not seen since the original, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds makes no effort to hold the players hand through the richly dense world of Hyrule and it works brilliantly. Rather than following in the footsteps of Game Freak and introducing the franchise to a new generation of audiences at the risk of patronising its long term fans, (I’m looking at you Pokémon X and Y) Link Between Worlds pays homage to those of us who have followed Link since his debut over 25 years ago all whilst paving the way for a reinvention of what it means to make a Zelda game. The puzzles in Link Between Worlds are, as aforementioned, immensely satisfying. I could almost hear the pieces of a riddle snap together in my head as I strived to calculate the answer. It’s a feeling experienced whilst playing the Professor Layton series, but puzzle-solving in this game is made relevant and interesting by the vivid world, close to perfect combat and awe-inspiring imagination. This is a beautiful game, presenting a colourful and vibrant world that just seems to radiate adventure and exploration. The characters are complex and interesting, but perhaps the biggest achievement in terms of its presentation is the silky-smooth 60fps frame rate which stays consistent throughout this 18 hour adventure even with the 3D effect turned on. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2017
    10
    WHATS UP YOU AMAZING PEOPLE! This is my Review for The legend of Zelda: A link between worlds.

    As soon as i turned the game on and started
    WHATS UP YOU AMAZING PEOPLE! This is my Review for The legend of Zelda: A link between worlds.

    As soon as i turned the game on and started the story i immediately fell in love with the game from the way it acts a lot like the original game while also adding its own style, graphics and gameplay designs with a similar story to other games but with its own spin on things (which is told on the title of the game) which made it to me the best Legend of zelda hand held game that I've ever played so far.
    Thanks for reading and check my other reviews for other games and movies BBYYEE
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    ok. actually 9.5
    this game is not perfect as ocarina of time or skyward sword
    but its look like a link to the past remake. its good to see
    ok. actually 9.5
    this game is not perfect as ocarina of time or skyward sword
    but its look like a link to the past remake. its good to see that
    it has a good gameplay,with graphics very descents and a good story
    not excelent but good
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    Just beat Zelda: a Link Between Worlds last night. Put in about 23h into the game, and honestly over the past week and a half I've had troubleJust beat Zelda: a Link Between Worlds last night. Put in about 23h into the game, and honestly over the past week and a half I've had trouble putting it down.

    It's one of the best of the LoZ games that I've played, if only for its sheer presentation and fluidity of gameplay. The music is outstanding, the world and graphics are beautiful with crazy attention to detail, and the puzzles are tricky and entertaining.

    The best part of the game for me was how much of an undirected open world approach they took. It was pure exploration and discovery, where every nook and cranny could be investigated by using one item or another. Also, it's a completionists wet dream, with tons of extras to keep you exploring all across the map.

    One of my few complaints is how the final dungeon felt a bit 'cheap' in that it didn't require much effort at all. I didn't even realize I was at the final boss because I expected the game to require more effort for me to reach him. And while the final boss was spectacular to look at, I found him to be rather easy to defeat in comparison to previous Zelda games. This applies over to all aspects of the game in general, the relative ease of getting through the game took away from the experience, in my opinion, because while you were getting stronger, getting better items, and generally becoming a badass, the level of difficulty never really rose to meet your challenge.

    For example, it wasn't until much later in the game did I realize I could upgrade all of my items. I literally had 2 dungeons left to finish before getting any of the upgraded items, which means that I could have finished the entire game without upgrading any of the items. It gives that whole sidequest of upgrading your gear seem trivial.

    Those are some of the only real knocks I can make on the overall excellent game. It's hard to believe what they can do on mobile nowadays. I remember owning a gameboy as a kid, and my favorite game for it was by far The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening. That game had managed to capture so much of what made the Zelda games more than just fun, more than the sum of their parts. It's nice to see the spirit that that old game encompassed alive and well on modern portable systems, and the 3DS proves itself a worthy home for the Zelda series.

    I really can't recommend this game enough.
    Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2015
    9
    I bought this game after watching some reviews , at first i really think isn't the graphic resemble gba games or like come on now is 20xx yrsI bought this game after watching some reviews , at first i really think isn't the graphic resemble gba games or like come on now is 20xx yrs whats wrong with the company but after the playing the game it is more entertaining than a lots of games (i am not a zelda fans , i knew zelda and link when SSBB) i played for 15hrs (finished the first difficulty and unlocked every items) ya and i didn't touch it until now , i only wish this game can be cheaper ._. The game is fun to play but too short to me /. Expand
  6. Feb 29, 2016
    9
    Do you have a 3ds? Yes? Ok great. Do you have this game? No? THEN FREAKING GO TO THE SHOP AND PURCHASE IT. This game is pure awesomness.Do you have a 3ds? Yes? Ok great. Do you have this game? No? THEN FREAKING GO TO THE SHOP AND PURCHASE IT. This game is pure awesomness. Probably one of my favourite zelda games. It has lots of dungeons and you can even do in the order what your little heart desires. The only negative point is you have to buy all the items and because of that it losts a bit of adventure from it, so that's why I give it just 9 points but besides that it's an instant classic Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    The original Zeldas on the NES, were among the first games i have ever played as a kid, back in the early 90s. Then i played all of theThe original Zeldas on the NES, were among the first games i have ever played as a kid, back in the early 90s. Then i played all of the sequels. I loved those early Zeldas very much, with a special place in my heart for Link's Awakening on the Game Boy, the best Zelda game ever, bar none (take that Ocarina of Time, you are great but not the best Zelda).

    So, as you can imagine, this game is supposed to be something i should find enjoyable. After all, i grew up with games like this, i own a 3DS, enjoy relaxed handheld gaming on my bed, what's not to like?

    Well, this game is boring trash, and has nothing to do with the early top view zeldas at all. It is vastly overrated, relying on misplaced nostalgia to sell copies and get good reviews.

    There is no challenge in this game, it is boring and tedius. The graphics are really bad, and the 2D wall walking gimmick is retarded.

    This is one of the weakest Zelda games ever, down there with the DS games which sucked as well.

    The normal rating should be a 6, but i got to balance all the fangirls, so i rate it with a 0.
    Expand

See all 227 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.