User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 658 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 658

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game?

    Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time.

    But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    This game is really one of the greatest games ever made, and has aged incredibly well. I havent played it since the original release more than a decade ago (although I played it for a while on the Gamecube collection) and this is an extremely well done remake. The graphics are much nicer, and the 3D really gives them an whole new level of polish. This is a must have for both old Legend of Zelda fans who have experience it before (so you can experience the absolute best version of one of the best games of all time) and for all the people who never got the privilege of playing this before. Dont listen to the haters, this is an absolute gem, a game I would gladly buy a 3DS just for playing it (although I didnt, there are a ton of announced games for it that im sure will be amazing). If you are still on the fence, stop reading and go BUY IT! And if you are about to play it for the first time ever or replay it since the original release (like me), brace yourself and get really to lose yourself in one of the most magical and just plain fun games ever. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Quite possibly the best version of Ocarina of Time. The game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensor features add some welcomed improvements. As for the 3D in particular - it is excellent, it adds depth to everything and does not feel 'tacked-on'. I would definitely recommend this game if you have, or are considering a Nintendo 3DS.
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Firstly Trolls (for anyone who dosen't know are people who just post zero's because they are fans of Microsoft or Sony not Nintendo) and I really think people should respect games if they like them. As obviously, these troll haven't actually bought the game. So, I would like to start by saying the Overall User Review Score can't really be taken as an honest view, as some will post 10's just to get the score high, (although the game is very good in my opinion and worthy of a 10) or more commonly Trolls who post 0's. Anyway, sorry about that and on with my thoughts. OOT of 1998 was unjustifiable brilliance, now OOT 3D has bettered even the brilliance of the original. The story line is a thing of utter beauty, and the controls of the 3DS Make navigation, fighting, and boss battles simply more enjoyable than the N64 Or GC Versions. Amazing fight scenes, boss battles, and puzzling challenges and quests from the original, now combined with better controls, great visual improvements and glorious 3D, Ocarina Of Time 3D is worthy of nothing less than 100 out of 100, the only dissapointment is that it will never achieve the score the original OOT achieved on here due to the game being a sequel, but make no mistake, the Critic Scores do not reflect the truth. Ocarina Of Time 3D is easily worthy of the same or better score on Metacritic, in fact, it's easily worthy of 1,000,000 out of 100, it is gaming perfection, or as close as anyone will ever come. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    @ God_itself: So, what you're pretty much saying is that you think the game is really hard? Now, run-along, get back to playing COD--you have "glitches" to find.

    On to the user review: I'm not going to say again what everyone has stated countless times about this game; in a nutshell, it's an absolute classic. The touch screen menus make it easier to manage things, and the tilt
    feature for aiming is great. The graphics are a little tired, but it more than makes up for it in every other aspect. A definite buy if you already have a 3DS, and if you don't, this may be the first title that makes it truly worth the investment. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Ocarina Of Time comes to life on the 3Ds with great 3D. I love the new menu system and the overall presentation is the best to date. My review of the actual game is a 10 any day of the week. But what is so great about this version is it's portable and translated well to portable controls. It's perfect and anyone who loves action rpg's will fall in love with this masterpiece.
  7. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Ocarina of Time, the best Game to have ever been released is now out with hd graphics and in 3D so it's how we remembered the picture quality being 13 years ago before tvs made old games look like tetris. I am so glad nintendo re-mastered this game and I hope they do the same for majoras mask and also the wind waker. I am loving this game and have been waiting 13 years to do so again. I wish people stopes calling Ganondorf, Ganon as that is Ganondorf's second form. Anyway the scores on here should be the same as the original at least 99 if not 100/100. I would give this higher if possible. I would rather games like oot metal gear solid, resident evil, Mario, silent hill etc etc get a hd remake then waste my money on boring fps that are the same thing but the characters are in a different war with different clothes on. As them games are out most Fridays and games are going downhill. Yet thanks to nintendo this game is amazing and the games line up for it is looking good too. This should without a doubt get game of the year and if anyone wants to call them self a true gamer without getting a 3DS to play the best game of all time then be ashamed. Top marks for a top game. 13 years since the release and not just by critics scores but The legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time has NOT been beaten! FACT. Outstanding! Perfect! Now if off to play it some more. Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The user reviews are only this low right now because of haters and trolls. This game truly deserves at least an 8.5. It really holds up the Ocarina of Time experience and even does a bit more. Not only will Zelda fans love this game to death, but newcomers will finally be able to enjoy what is arguably the best game of all time. The touchscreen controls streamline the experience making it a lot less annoying to switch between items (Water Temple and the Iron Boots) and the gyro controls are VERY effective and work so well (except with 3D on). Newcomers may not feel that this game is one of the best games ever anymore as back in the day this game was a technical marvel and now, not so much, but anyone who has ever touched a video game controller should and will love this game. Expand
  9. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    This game is flawless. Everything about it is perfect. Not only is it done up to feel like a new game to people who (shamefully) have not played it before, but it is exactly how people who owned the original remember it. Even the fun glitches can be performed, which is rarely a good thing for most games, but for this is just bliss. Definitely a must have.
  10. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Finally, the reason I bought a 3DS, the remake of what I believe is the best game ever made, The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time 3D is here, and it does not disappoint in the least. For those who've been living under a rock, this is a complete redo of Ocarina of Time for Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo's newest handheld gaming device. And in case you've been living under a rock for a really good amount of time, the 3DS does 3D without glasses, and unlike the movies, aside from Avatar, Nintendo 3DS does 3D right, but of course 3D isn't for everyone, that's why Nintendo added a 3D slider, play without 3D if you want. However, this isn't a review for the 3DS, it's a review of one of it's most anticipated, system selling, games. If you've played the original game on N64 or Gamecube, you know what to expect here. It's ultimately the same game. Same story, same dungeons, same everything. However, there are a lot of key differences. The first thing people notice is the graphics. The graphics have been largely updated, and look really nice. It's not a huge epic graphical upgrade, as in looking like Elder Scrolls, but it still looks pretty nice for an N64 remake. There's much more detail to the environments than the original, and the cutscenes and characters look very different than the original. The graphics look real nice, but of course let's get the the reason it's on 3DS, the 3D. This game actually does really well at taking full advantage of the 3D effect. There are tons of ways the 3D is utilized in this remake. When Link gets an item and holds it up, it's right up at my face, it's as if I can reach out and grab the item with my fingers. When I pick up a chicken, his feathers are flying off of him, and flying directly at me. When I'm in the forest, all the pixie particles in the air are floating towards me, and looks like they might hit my face. The 3D really plays a nice big part in this game, and it looks beautiful. You'll definitely want to play this game in 3D as often as possible, especially during the cutscenes. Just be careful of the battery life, LOL. But now we move into gameplay. Of course the game also takes advantage of the DS touchscreen, showing your inventory, the map, and so on, while nothing but the action button and character text appears on the 3D screen. Unlike the original though, you get 4 item slots instead of 3, 2 are the X and Y buttons, and the other 2 are usable via touchscreen. Some of the items have been adjusted to how they are equipped. Such as the ocarina, which has it's own separate item slot, acting as a 5th item slot on the touchscreen, so it is always equipped, and never has to take up room on your 4 main slots. The iron boots have also been adjusted in order to help make the dreaded Water Temple tolerable. The iron boots are now equipped that same way they are in Twilight Princess, they can be equipped via item slot instead of constantly pausing the game to put them on or remove them ,like you had to in the original. The cutscenes in the Water Temple have also been adjusted to help point out clues that many gamers missed in the original game, causing them to get stuck. The Water Temple is still hard, but is now tolerable. Another thing about the remake that overshadows the original is the amazing replay value. The remake includes Master Quest, which was available on Gamecube. Ocarina of Time Master Quest is the same game, but all the dungeons are completely redone, and far more difficult than the original to figure out. Try completing the Water Temple in Master Quest mode. And unlike the Gamecube version, the 3DS Master Quest is completely mirrored. Remember how the Gamecube version of TP was mirrored from the Wii version? Exactly. But to top it all off, the enemies inflict twice as much damage than before. YEESH! This is a game mode designed for Zelda veterans, but if you want to take on the challenge, you have to unlock it first via the regular game mode. Beat the game, and you can then take on the Master Quest challenge. That is amazing replay value right there, and on top of all that, you can go back to your house in the woods and battle past bosses again, anytime you want via Boss Mode. But my favorite new feature in this game is the gyroscope. With it you can aim your bow with great precision via motion control. I wasn't nuts about the idea, but once I tried it, I couldn't go back. The gyroscope amazed me, and it's what I use in the game regularly. Overall, the remake is amazing, and deserves nothing less of a perfect score. It's just as good as the original, but unlike the original, it's portable. A great remake of a classic. Ocarina of Time 3D gets a 10/10. Expand
  11. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    When i saw the user score for this game i laughed. This is the first time ive played the game and i can safely say its the best game ever. Its only got a user score of 7.1 because of trolls putting 0
  12. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    ** Let me be clear from the beginning: I scored this game a 10 to partially offset the scores of 0 from trolls. My true score would be a 9. **

    Those who haven't played Ocarina of Time before can stop reading and go buy the game. It's a classic for a reason, and the gameplay is as delightful as it's always been.

    Whether you enjoy the 3D effect or not, the graphical upgrades that this
    version received are fantastic. I gasped when I first left my room and saw the village, and that sense of wonder remains, no matter if I have the 3D on or off. Personally, I enjoy having it on for exploration and cut scenes, and turn it off for dungeons.

    My only minor complaint is that the left trigger on the 3DS is in no way as comfortable or natural to use as the Z-trigger on the N64. That's a more than acceptable trade off for being able to enjoy this game without being tethered to the TV.
    Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Hysterical, who in the world who values their credibility would rate any form of Ocarina of Time with a zero? Definitely the guys impatiently anticipating a UFC release on 3DS. Hey trolls, what did you think of MGS2 and FFVII? Terrible right? How about that alternative fundamental math class in high school? Significantly harder than OoT, let me guess, you quit halfway? A rant is more worthwhile than a review here! Seriously, this is arguably the greatest (and not arguable in any way in the top two or three) video games. No qualifier there, just video games period... And it's been improved! Graphics are beauty and who wouldn't want to be able to slip it into your pocket on sleep to play briefly and very very often? The complaint can be made (the only one I see so far in the my 20th playthrough of OoT) Is the L button being compared to the Z trigger. That's hardware though, and that's looking for a criticism in a critique. 10/10 all the way, no doubt about it, this one never looses charm in any rehash, it's our heritage.

    Man oh man trolls, I forgot how much you suck.
    Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Oot is one of the best game ever. Now you get to play it with impressive 3d and revamped graphics. What more can you ask for? If you have played this before, you should play it again, if you havan't, go get it right now!
  15. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    The original is timeless, and this is perfect proof of that. This game is considered one of the best games of all time, and it surely has stood the test of time. The graphics don't seem to be improved at all, but that is far from true. They upgraded the graphics and character models, but everything is in the same position as the first and feels as the original. The sound and music is excellent, this is one definitely one you should play with head phones. The 3DS speakers don't do it justice. The story is obviously the same, which is simple but perfect. The controls are excellent, with the bottom screen being used as a map and items. It works perfectly, especially when putting Iron boots on and off. It is a bit of a disappointment with the lack of new content, but there is still a lot to do with Master Quest and Boss mode. Just don't expect a whole lot of new stuff. This game is a must play for anyone that hasn't played the original and for anyone that owns a 3DS. It should also be picked up for anyone who enjoyed the original, because it is amazing. Expand
  16. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    This game is very fun. I never played this game before the 3ds version. I have to say, I can see why this game is so great and why it's considered one of the best, if not the best, game of all time. It's 13 years old and the combat and feel is still very good. I just can't imagine how good it was when it was first released. The only thing the old version is lacking now adays is the graphics. Nintendo fixed that by updating them, and I have to say, they look great. Way better and brighter than the original. If I never heard of this game before, I would have thought it was a stellar handheld experience, in the present! This is without a doubt the best 3DS game out right now. It may be the best 3ds game for a while. This is a GREAT game that can be played by anyone. The puzzles are fun, the combat is amazing, the graphics are really good and vivid, and the theme and story is magical and atmospheric. If you own a 3ds and only have one choice for a game, this is it. Incredibly great! Expand
  17. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome. i thought it would look good because of the screen shots id seen, but it is even more beautiful then i thought it would. it's a classic and it deserves a ten back then, so what does that say about this remake? this remake is better than the original. it's portable, the touch screen and motion stuff is awesome, and its in 3D. if metacritic had a number higher than 10 this game would get it. Expand
  18. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    this game looks and feels like the original game the 3d looks makes it more polished and more detailed then the game cube or n64 versions. It dosen't get any better than a 3d remake of Zelda. While some things like stairs are not really polished but it dosen't even affected the game play. If you havent played it on n64 go pick it up for ur 3ds :,)
  19. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    So far, everything I remember my childhood favorite to be. The updated graphics really add to this already great game, and the 3d is a great touch. This game was the reason my first tattoo was the triforce.
  20. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    A fantastic remake of the best game EVER with updated graphics that keeps the original art style and gameplay completely intact, and has good 3d effects. nuff said.
  21. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    The best game ever returns! And it still has a few mild niggles (Jabu Jabu's belly, old camera) but it's simply brilliant. I'm new to the game, and I already have some of the fondest gaming memories of my entire gaming life. Stepping onto Hyrule field, swimming with the Zoras, becoming Adult Link...it's as close to perfect as gaming's ever going to get, witht he only games I know of matching it's excellence are other games I've given the elusive 10/10. Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The game is great, like it was 13 years ago. Don't listen to some of these negative comments (though I'm sure you've heard enough praise about this game anyways) Are the console versions better? Yes, but it's great that I can now play one of (if not the) greatest game of all time anywhere I want. Thank you, Nintendo.
  23. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Is The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.... Every game has a story, only one is a Legend! Now, the legend with nice graphics and extras (Master Quest!!!), you must have this game
  24. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This game is so addictive I find myself having to control the time I play on it to make sure i get the most out of it. You should definately buy it!
  25. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Zelda:OoT was at the time, the best video game ever made, and very few has topped it. although i'm not a fan of remakes. Oot 3D was, in my opinion, the perfect remake, though it lacks the nostalgia of the original, it is still fantastic to see the legendary title with all its content, and a fresh coat of paint!
  26. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    This is a True update to my favourite Game of all time! Getting back to those cherish memories solving puzzles in Dungeons and feeling actually accomplished is a feeling only Ocarina of time Creates and this time with Recreated Beautiful Graphics
  27. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    There are a lot of haters here so I'm simply going to say this: This is the highest rated game of all time. The lowest rated reviews are written by trolls who just enjoy hating on a good game.

    The fact of the matter is, this is one of the best remakes ever done, because it improves on what many gamers consider perfection. The overhauled visuals are absolutely stunning and are a beautiful
    thing to behold especially if you've played the game before. The 3D is absolutely stunning and really adds a great sense of depth to the game. It may kill the battery life, but honestly, you NEED to play with the 3D on at least for a bit. It really is that fantastic.

    The audio is slightly cleaned up, and this is one of the few disappointing aspects of the game. A fully orchestrated soundtrack would have been absolutely amazing, but there's a reason these songs are seen as some of the best ever composed in the history of the medium. The MIDI tracks don't sound nearly as good as they could, but it's far from terrible. Headphones are recommended.

    The best part of this remake is easily in the revamped controls and interface. Remember constantly pausing and unpausing the game to equip and unequip the Iron Boots in the Water temple? That's been remedied by the addition of the touch screen. It allows for you to access your inventory quickly and easily. Items are assigned to 2 physical buttons and 2 touch panels. This makes swapping items extremely easy and quick, as it should be. The Ocarina now has its own dedicated panel in the bottom left of the touch screen, freeing up that 4th inventory slot. All in all the interface is significantly better and improves vastly on the original.

    Finally, it's a Zelda game. They are ALWAYS good. There's never been a poor Zelda game (CD-I games do not count as Nintendo had no part in creating them), and this is arguably the best of them all. Frankly, if you own a 3DS, this is a must own game, hell, it may be the game that you bought the 3DS for. Either way, buy this game and realize WHY it's literally THE highest rated game of all time. On both Metacritic and GameRankings, it just doesn't get better than this
    Expand
  28. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Ocarina of Time is one of the few games that I've ever played that truly captured my imagination. The first time I played it, when I was 9, sucked me into the land of hyrule just as well as it did when I played the game 8 years later. Looking at the screenshots of this game show me the land of Hyrule, the way I imagined it as a child. It's a truly wonderful game, and simply a must buy.

    10/10
  29. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    It was fifteen years ago today,
    Nintendo taught the world to play.
    It's been going in and out of style,
    but it's GUARANTEED to raise a smile.
    So may I introduce to you,
    the game you've loved for all these years,
    THE LEGEND OF ZELDA: OCARINA OF TIME!
  30. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    It's literally the same exact game as the Ocarina of Time that came out over a decade ago, and its just about as brilliant. However, it doesn't quite capture the same magic that I experienced with the N64 version. This is mainly because the dialogue is just shot out at you at ridiculously fast speeds. There's not the same sort of drama that the original had - the dialogue was spelled out as if the characters were speaking it word by word, and in this one its all just thrown at you as if it wants you to finish the game more quickly or not give much attention to this wonderfully put together scenes. But besides that the game is fantastic and offers much more along with a game that is already a classic. It's remastered and the 3D really helps bring you into the world. Some of the dialogue is even changed slightly to make it more understandable - like the guy (or chick - the gender always confused me) who wants to buy stuff from you now more accurately declares that he wants to buy something that you carry in a bottle rather than any old item. Also the build-up to meeting Princess Zelda is put together well. Boss Mode is a great addition as well as Master Quest, which is like looking at the game all over again from new eyes - it's more difficult than the original simply because the world is mirrored and at times that can be very confusing. Pretty much everything we loved from the original is there, just it's all made to look even more impressive and sound more real (except they kept the music and a few sound effects of monsters and that sort of stuff). It's a masterpiece, like the original, but I can't really say it beats the original - mainly just because of that sped up dialogue. Oh! - and it's the best 3DS game out there, so buy it! Expand
  31. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    They actually improved upon perfection in OoT 3D, and if you don't see that you have no soul and have no business reviewing games. Simple as that. Go back to your generic brown and gray shooters if you can't appreciate Zelda, because us true fans of gaming will continue to buy and support Zelda to keep the medium alive and well.
  32. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing remake of one of the most beloved games of all time. Improved graphics, improved sound quality, and added bonuses for beginners (e.g. Visions). Some people were complaining on the controls but I think they are great! The gyroscope makes movement easier.The new motion sensor in first person makes it easier to aim at your target or view your surrounding area. If your a Zelda fanatic or a newbie, this game is a must have. Expand
  33. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Best zelda ever made, made even better. Amazing, Fantastic, Perfect, Flawless, Best video game ever made. Buy it now! Stop thinking about it! Sell your dog and buy this game.
  34. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    this game is just magical, lord of the rings good! i'm sick of people saying it's a 13 year old game, did the godfather trilogy on blueray get any bad reviews no, just take the game for what it was and still is, Pure perfection!
  35. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    It was perfect in 1998 and it's perfect in 2011. The game is flawless from gameplay to story to the updated graphics etc. I just wish all of the music would have been orchestrated and it would have had some more special features. Still a 10/10 though.
  36. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    After playing the remastered 3D version of Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time, I can now say Iâ
  37. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Perfect game. I was just telling someone about all the bosses in this game, and it really was fun to describe them. I really hope that Majora's Mask gets the 3D treatment as well. I love the Master Quest - to get double the damage really adds to the difficulty, and to have it completely mirrored makes it feel like 2 games in one! 10/10
  38. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    I'm going to say this right off - I am a biased reviewer. I loved the N64 original so much, it's one of my most distinct childhood memories, one of my favourite games of all time and I bought a 3DS for this. If you own a 3DS, you simply have to own this game. Playing it again, I had forgotten just how difficult it was; if you find games lacking in challenge recently, as I do, then you will definetly want this. If I hadn't played it before, I would be pretty lost, and I'm not casual gamer. If you're not a confident gamer, don't be afraid to pick up the guide, no one will think less of you! I only briefly played the Master Quest on GameCube, but I am surprised at how much more difficult it is. I died twice in the Deku Tree (first dungeon) while playing it on the 3DS, and that is embarrasing!

    On to the critical stage though - the 3D is pointless, though I think that about the console in general. I played the entire game with the 3D off, and everytime I tried to put it on everything looked stupid and all I could see was the foreground. Also, if you have played the GameCube version, then this adds little, which is unfortunate. There is the ability to go back and fight bosses again, but c'mon, this is not a goundbreaking new feature. All in all, I expected more from this remake, but simply based on the game alone, it is astounding, so much fun, and...just go buy it!
    Expand
  39. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    I don't think there is anything I could say about this game that hasn't been said in the past, like, 12 years since it originally came out. It's a good game, play it. The 3DS version works perfectly. Controls are great and the second screen working as the map is quite a good idea. Additionally, graphics have received an upgrade. The magic of the original and the improvements of a re-release make this a great package overall. Expand
  40. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Well after such a long time the most amazing video game in history finally returns. Nintendo have played an absolute blinder by rereleasing this game. Graphically they have improved the look overall but only to the point that it looks familiar, the animation of the enemies and characters has improved and looks much better and more fluid. The 3D effect really gives the game a much more epic scale, even link just swing a sword directly at the camera looks amazing.

    Besides the looks of the game little has changed. The inventory is much easier to use now that the game has moved to the 3ds, even the use of the gyroscope for aiming and looking round is very good.

    While the game stays true to the original and even includes the master quest and a boss challange mode i feel it maybe lacks one more thing but this is still an excellent game and will remain one of Nintendo's crown jewels.
    Expand
  41. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    The original was one of my favourite games of all time and this version has given everyone who loved it back then a title as beautiful as they remember it... not as it actually is when they replay the original. I truly envy those playing it for the first time in its best possible version. A true masterpiece that has only improved with age and shows how truly revolutionary it was back in 1998 to still be a classic of the time of its rerelease Expand
  42. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    I remember playing this on the N64 as a child, and allot has changed since the N64 version, but not to much to say they have ruined it, real Zelda fans have to play this game.
  43. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Zelda is a great remake It takes me back to my youth and n64 days. I forgot how some of the puzzles are not very obvious to solve,but saying that it's still a great game and it's the best game on the 3ds. and the 3d works great. Much recommend zelda fan or not
  44. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Many people complain about this game not adding any new items/dungeons or for being the same game released for the 100th time. However what those people seem to miss is the that this version of Ocarina of Time is portable and playable wherever you go, and with beautifully updated graphics to boot. In fact the graphics pretty much bring the game's artwork to life, making everything look like the original artist intended them to look.

    Other changes include a Boss Battle mode which is nice for people who either want to test how fast they can beat a certain boss or those who simply just want to replay their favorite boss/es. Also the added Master Quest has been changed, making it a fresh experience for those who have already played the Master Quest, by mirroring the game (left is now right and vice versa) and having the enemies do twice the damage. Aside from the big aforementioned changes, alot of little tweaks went into the game as well. The menu no longer requires you to press start and interrupt the game to switch your items, now you can simply navigate your menu on the bottom screen thanks to an easy interface. You can also now use up to 4 items, instead of just 3 like in the original game, with 2 being tied to buttons and 2 being tied to the touch screen. You can also see the notes for any song your playing on the Ocarina, so should you get stumped or forget you can easily see what the right notes are. They've also even added a feature where you can get hints for how to solve a puzzle should you want help.

    Now, having gone over the changes, let's discuss the cons of this version of the game. If you want to climb on top of say a block, the controls aren't too responsive. You will have to run into the block for about 2-3 seconds before it gives you the option to climb which is an odd thing indeed. Another thing that's odd control wise is using Z-targeting for long periods of time causes cramps, unfortunately because of the size of the 3DS it can hurt your hand after 2-4 hours of play depending on how often you use Z-targeting. These are minor annoyances however and don't end up bothering me too much, though the Z-targeting might affect those who play longer than I do. For me the most annoying thing about this particular version of the game is using the Ocarina. It's pretty simple to activate the Ocarina, a special touch screen button is made specially for it so you don't have to sacrifice one of your 4 item slots. However the buttons used for the notes of the songs ensure that old fans and newcomers won't remember how to play a single song. Remembering buttons corresponding to a direction,up down left right, and the "A" button for playing songs is fairly easy. However in this game the songs use the "L" and "R" shoulder buttons as well as "X, A,Y" is not simple to learn at all, and there is no pattern I can think of to make it simple to remember. What saves this issue from being really annoying is the ability, that I mentioned above, to look at notes for a song as you play it. However even with that feature it's still pretty annoying.

    Now don't let the few control annoyances I mentioned dissuade you, there are only a handful of situations where they become truly noticeable flaws. The game is still as masterful as ever, with more content packed into it than any other version of the game and better visuals than all the other versions as well. If you want the definitive version this is it. Or if you're like me and want to experience your favorite game on the go then this is also it.

    (I only wished some of the characters got as much attention to their details as Link and that the music was remastered to match the graphics, but those are small wishes)

    Final Grade - A
    Expand
  45. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    I have never played a Legend of Zelda game before so I am completely unbiased. I can tell you first hand, That this game is pure bliss. A marriage of many different video game genres that fuses into artwork. This is nothing less than pure genius.
  46. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    Certainly the definitive version of this game. There isn't much i need to say. Who hasn't played this game? It's a great game and well this is certainly the best way to play it. The gyro controls add a lot in my opinion and make it fun. The 3D is immersive and certainly adds to the experience. It is by no means the best Zelda game ever, nor is it the GREATEST game ever. Just about every zelda game after it has improved upon the mechanics in this game as well as improved its ability to tell a story and well just have tons more content and sidequests to do.

    You can't go wrong with this game. It basically guarantees at LEAST 15 hours for your first playthrough and the addition of the masterquest as well as the boss challenges give it some decent replayability. I reccomend this game
    Expand
  47. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Visuals, game play, music, all still perfect. Honestly the best 3DS game out so far, and probably for the rest of the year. It's about time the system got the kind of titles it deserves.
  48. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This >> "10 OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game? Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time. But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games." Expand
  49. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Even thirteen years after it's initial release, it's still feels fresh. That's an amazing feat. Games get older very fast, but all Ocarina of Time needed was a paint job and it's good to go. OoT is still a fantastic adventure full of mystery, adventure and action. A true gem. A classic remastered, so new people can enjoy it as well.
  50. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I adored this game. I was in love with the classic and now I'm in love all over again. This remake really reminded me that, well - Nintendo know how to make a friggin' classic! It's hard to put into words how good Ocarina of Time 3D is.
  51. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Still the same Masterpiece that came out during my childhood!, The graphics are much more colorful and beautiful than ever, and the Master Quest is simply a magnificent add!... No much to say about it... It's ''perfect''!
  52. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    It took me 40 hours to finish this game. I loved the mix between discovery, reflection and action. The atmosphere of each part of the world is unique thanks to its graphic design, music and characters.
  53. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    I'm sure everyone and their mom has played and beaten this game before, it's been out for at least 10 years now, so I'm sure you already know that this game is great. This is remake of the Legend of Zelda disc that came with the Gamecube all those years ago. It features the original game plus a harder version of the story as well, which was not originally released in the States. Again if you played this before, there's nothing new here. Same enemies, same environments, same everything. I will say the graphics look amazing running on the system but the 3D in this game is HORRIBLE. Turning on the 3D is just inviting horrible headaches. For some reason it just doesn't work at all. That might just be my copy acting up and not indicative of all the copies but I cannot play the game on 3D at all without getting major eye strain. Other than that though everything here is still really good. You don't need me to tell you that this game is good. I will say though that watch out for the 3D aspect of the game as it's not very good at all. Expand
  54. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This is a game that's definitely worth it. Another great thing about The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is the fact that you can play Master Quest after you beat the original game for the first time. The only minor complaint that I have is that some of the graphics from LoZ:OoT64 are still reminiscent in this game, such as blocky-looking fields. Overall, this game is going to bring you back to the good ol' days. Expand
  55. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Remains the best game of all time and unbeatable, its graphics look beautiful in the eyes inda, even after years, and now with the 3d effect and even more live without plavras to describe such a masterpiece.
  56. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    A great game for the 3DS library, this remakes of the highest rated video game of all time not only maintains what was so great about the N64 gem, but is the best way to play the game thanks to its redone graphics, better controls, and gameplay mechanics. This is a great game all around. 10/10
  57. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Just came from the Skyward sword page after I dumped all my rage over there.
    So now I can be nice and say that I would rather play ocarina of time for the fourth time on a tiny little screen than waste even another 5 seconds on that other piece of crap that got me raging and spewing over shallow story and a retarded control scheme.
    Even after all these incarnations of the same game, OOT is
    a wondrous, soothing and extremely enjoyable experience.
    Graphics are massively improved and the game plays like a charm.
    Love everything about it and honestly I wish they still made them like this.
    Expand
  58. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    I actually prefer this version to the original. It looks better and the additions and tweeks they've made help the game out without harming the magic of the original. Being able to use Epona in the wild really makes getting around easier for example.
  59. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Leave it to Nintendo to remake a great classic and make it even better.I remember when I first played Ocarina of time on Nintendo 64 when I was still in junior high school and all day long all I could think about was Ocarina of time,and when I finally got home from school and went strait to my N64 and continue my adventure in Hyrule I was Amazed.well the same can be said today with the 3DS version of a master piece of all ages,the game looks way better than it did back on the N64 and (and it didn't look bad on N64 either).this is still my all time fave game ever made and I have to say if you love a great story and enjoy the Zelda series you gotta pick this amazing title up ASAP.great memory's coming back to me.Thanks Nintendo for giving us great games than we all hold dear to our hearts. Expand
  60. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game really does a good job at updating the graphics and does a great job at keeping a lot of the original features of the original game intact. Really awesome game and very good remake. A must own for 3DS users
  61. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    This game that was a legend in the past on the Nintendo 64 returns to the future on the Nintendo 3DS System. The visuals in this version of the game are greatly improved since its debut on the Nintendo 64, these graphical updates include more detailed character models, newer graphical textures and completely refined animations which are further enhanced by the 3D view mode feature of the Nintendo 3DS. The game still utilizes the same sound effects, soundtrack and voice clips from the Nintendo 64 version but have been modified to be cleaner and clearer through the use of modern technology and software, a special bonus orchestral piece also awaits you in the credits.
    The gameplay is the exact same as it was on the Nintendo 64 version except with tweaks to fix glitches and to update the collision detection.The new in-game layout is refined to make the top screen Link is traveling on less cluttered while having easy access to all you important information and tools on the bottom screen for easy access and use. New features to this version of the game is the hard mode "Master Quest" difficulty (both normal difficulty and "Master Quest" difficulty have three save file each, which totals to 6 different save files all together) which need to be unlocked by completing the game on the normal difficulty first and was originally introduced in the Gamecube Version of this game which was exclusively a preorder bonus to Legend of Zelda: Windwaker and did not appear in the original Nintendo 64 version, a Boss Rematch mode and a Boss Gauntlet mode for those who want to test their skills against previously defeated bosses or run for setting a new best time, the choice to use or not use gyroscopic controls for specific weapons and items, the choice to use or not use the 3DS's 3D view mode and tutorial videos to aid beginners who may find the game too difficult to solve on their own.
    The game is overall an amazing package and a fun and challenging adventure game from the past with modernized improvements here and there to make this great game even better, some will love this nostalgic trip down memory lane of one of the greatest early 3D adventure games out there on a Nintendo console while others may not enjoy the aged feeling of the game mechanics, controls and primitive enemy AI.
    Expand
  62. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    I never played OOT when it was first released. I never played any of the re-releases on Gamecube or the Wii Virtual Console. The 3DS release is my first experience with one of the most universally adored games from the most celebrated gaming franchise in history. And it's simply a joy to play.

    OOT 3D gives the aging visuals a new coat of paint , a boss challenge mode and Master Quest,
    an unlockable version of OOT with certain details tweaked or reversed. However, beneath the superficial changes and the inclusion of two welcome, but unspectacular additions, beats the heart of a gaming classic which has aged extremely well. Not only has the game remained highly playable, it is one of those rare moments in gaming where the gameplay, art direction, music etc. comes together to form a truly harmonious experience. OOT 3D might be the definitive version of one of the most critically acclaimed and important games in history. That alone, makes it an essential purchase for 3DS owners and gamers everywhere. Expand
  63. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Oh. My. God. Whenever you play this magnificent piece of gaming perfection, everything else close to perfection is basically spoiled, really. The 3D effect is awesome, nothing's been messed with, the level design is great. the music is still spine-chilling and the combat and the puzzles are still spot-on. Shame you have to turn the 3D off for fights, the gyroscope control is a bit iffy and Nintendo just can't get the first dungeon right. But if you own a 3DS and you don't have this game, you really shouldn't be gaming. End of story. Expand
  64. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    This is the same acclaimed game that many of us loved, with the subtle cosmetic make over, which best matches our fond memories of the game rather than the actual blurry textured low resolutions of N64 in 1998.

    The greatest thing about 3DS version, more than the added 3rd dimension, is the ability to play it anywhere thanks to the handheld platform. Those who ranks the game in the red
    scales cannot be taken seriously as a professed gamers! Z targeting, and many other gameplay mechanisms imitated by others shows the stature that the game is still being held in great regards.

    A sublime joy to play and experience.
    Expand
  65. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In 1998, Ocarina of Time was released, then came the Master Quest for the GameCube. Ocarina of Time remains to be one of the greatest games ever released. This 3DS remake is nearly perfect in every way. In fact, I would say it is just as good, if not better than the original release (Don't get me wrong, the original is amazing.) Why do I say that? The game remains largely unchanged. I would say it is the EXACT same thing, (disregarding the Master Quest). The graphics are the only real change. The sound is the same, gameplay is the same, and the story is the same. Only very little changes are made to the core game. The graphics, however, make this version stand on it's own. The 3D is only an added bonus that can add depth to the graphics (which in my opinion, is done extremely well.) The Master Quest is a great addition to the already amazing game. *Possible Spoilers!!!* It adds enhanced dungeons, and a completely mirrored world, where everything is switched around. This ensures that the experience will remain fresh through the Master Quest playthrough. Overall, I give this game a 10/10. Trust me and pick it up if you own a 3DS. And if you're a fan of the Zelda series, then it is a must. Expand
  66. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    This IS one of the greatest games of all time and this port holds true to the original. Any of these young kids complaining and saying this game isn't very good need to back to their Modern Warfare games and get treated for their ADD. The feelings of playing the original on the N64 with that controller can't be matched but this comes close. The wonder is still there and it holds the test of time. Even if other games have tried to imitate what Ocarina did for more than a decade it's done better here for the most part. Expand
  67. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    The game is well polished, highly respectable, and out of one of the greatest game series that ever existed it relives a classic game that sparked a legend, if this game was not good, then what could replace it?
  68. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    There's always at least one troll that makes a review without ever playing the game, just because they're a console/loyalist fanboy/girl that doesn't know what they're talking about and have obviously never played the game in their life. This game has never been worth less than a 9.

    The reason for that is simple, it's still a blooming great game even if it is just a remake with the same
    mechanics of 13 years ago. The controls work well, especially the new aiming with the 3DS' gyro sensor, there were a few occasions where the Z lock on could've worked better, and for some reason most of the time when Link falls from high places he no longer rolls, which can get annoying if you're low on hearts.

    There is new content in terms of Easter eggs and a brand new Master Quest (not the GC version) that's mirrored. The graphical upgrade is nice, takes away the fog while adding more colour, more polygons and better textures on the most part, as well as better lighting effects. And overall, although the water temple was made easier (which it didn't need) the game is still great to play through and I'm not riding on nostalgia simply because I only got and completed the original 5 years ago.
    Expand
  69. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a remake of a 13-year oly classic. I've played a lot of remakes and most were not as good as the original. But Ocarina of Time is even better. The game offers improved graphics including a superb 3D effect. The controls were also improved (changing boots, etc. is much faster now).

    The gameplay and the design remained untouched - and both aged
    very, very well. The world and dungeon design is absolutely stunning - even when you compare it do modern games.

    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is considered to be one of the best games ever. And indeed it is. You cannot do anything wrong with buying this game. Have fun!
    Expand
  70. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    All i can say is that its just as brilliant as its always been but with better graphics.

    Even tho i knew where to go and i knew all the locations its still a lengthy game as it took me about 4 days to complete 100%. which is much longer than a lot of modern games such as call of duty.
    To my surprise the controls are actually really good for a handheld.
    When i look back at it there seemed
    to not have as much combat as there where puzzles but i never complained about it because was that good.
    The only thing i miss is not having a big tv screen in front of me to play.
    So far this is a reason to buy a 3ds alone.
    BUY IT
    Expand
  71. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    This was my first experience with Ocarina of Time, and I've loved every second of it. The dungeons are incredibly well thought out, the boss fights are challenging (but not frustrating, which keeps them fun to play, even when you've completed them before) and there's a great plenty of extra side-quests to partake in, and the addition of the "Master Quest" upon finishing the main game means that the replay value is high. This is probably up there as my #1 reason to purchase a 3DS, and definitely the game that you'll bring out when showing others what the system is capable of. Expand
  72. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece. This game includes great length, great story, absolutely awesome puzzles and of course the graphics. It's been pretty much 13 years since the original game on the N64 and because of certain limitations, the N64 version looked a bit......blocky. Now having it on the 3DS, the game looks a million times better (especially the effects that appear when you play the ocarina). Great Work Ninty, you have crafted a true masterpiece. Expand
  73. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I loved the original and i love this one just as much!! The 3D and the graphic improvements make this game worth wile getting. There is nothing like revisiting a classic N64 game!!! 10 out of 10!!!
  74. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Quite simply one of the best 3ds titles out there. Yes, we know it's a port, Yes, we know that you've played it on the N64 but given that the graphics were given an overhaul as well as the sound/music, this game is certainly a "must have" for any serious gamer that has a 3ds. They've even been so faithful to the game that the water temple is still as infuriating as it was on the N64 as well as how Navi can be so very annoying "hey, Hey, Listen, Hey, watch out, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, listen, hey, listen, listen, watch out" but without all those little things, would it truly be a faithful 3d rendition of one of the best selling games that surely deserves the accolades that come with it? no... I tip my hat to Nintendo for releasing this on the 3ds and i am eagerly awaiting when/if Majora's Mask might get the same treatment (because, let's face it, OoT and MM are two of the best zelda games that Nintendo has produced.) Expand
  75. May 26, 2012
    10
    The old version is a great game but this version makes the original feel almost obsolete. It makes perfect use of the controls and remasters everything that made the original Ocarina so good. Now the 3DS should get a remake of Majora's Mask.
  76. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Even after 13 years after its 1998 release Ocarina of Time is still legendary. First off, the controls were the best back then and even now they hold up to today's high standards. One part of the control scheme that made the game play so smooth was the intuitive Lock-on system. This may seem like it would make Ocarina of Time a snap, but there is still a great difficulty level. The graphics were great then, but now they look very crisp and bright. Unfortunately I can't say how the 3D effect is as I can't see it. One of the best things about the Ocarina of Time is the story. It seems simple and to the point, but it is riddled with plot twists that keep you coming back for more. One aspect of video games that many overlook is the music. Ocarina of Time has one of the best game soundtracks I have ever heard. And the variety of music styles is amazing! There aren't just one or two great tracks, every soundtrack is unique and great.

    Overall, this is the best game I have ever played as it is the perfect mix of action, puzzles and story. If you call yourself a gamer you need to play some version of this game.
    Expand
  77. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    The LoZ OoT 3D is a fun game with 1 thing that drives me insane which is Navi, I have no other problems with it 91/2 out of 10 , 96.5% out of 100% very good buy it
  78. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Ocarina of Time is widely known as the best Zelda game ever made, if not the BEST game ever made. Everyone was dreaming for the day a remake would be made. Nintendo 3DS had no AAA games at the time, so it was a no brainer to make it for that system. How did it fare? Let's find out.

    Gameplay: This is the same game you have come to know and love. The only big change is the way you use your
    items. The touch screen is used to great effect, allowing you to use your items with the touch of a item. This allows for a less cluttered screen, and being able to see more of the action. Other then that, it really is the same gameplay as the original, with a less clunky controller. The added addition of the master quest is a nice bonus too, as it is a re-design of the dungeons from the original Ocarina of Time, and a tougher version as well. Great for people who played the original to death, like myself.

    Visuals: Now this is the biggest change of the game. The graphics look great for the 3DS, and amazing compared to the original graphics. The 3D is used to great effect, and is actually a huge difference when turned on compared to being off. It can be a little overpowering at times, but can easily be adjusted. All character models are smoothed out, no more jaggy edges, and no sudden pop up textures. This is Ocarina of Time with a fresh coat of paint. You will see no complaints from me about the visuals, this is a amazing looking game.

    Controls: Another big change from the N64 Original is the controls. You can now use items such as the Slingshot and the bow with the gyroscope controls of the 3DS. The only drawback is it can easily put the 3D feature out of wack. However, this can be turned off, if you wish to use the traditional controls of the control stick. The ocarina also has been overhauled, and is controlled by all the buttons, not the c buttons of the original N64 controller. Other then that, this is the same control scheme you know and love.

    Sound: HEY LISTEN! HEY LISTEN! The sound is great. Navi is still as annoying as ever, and it actually sounds like the sound has improved. Sword hits sound great, and Link still has his usual grunts and yells. Music is still great, from Hyrule Castle, to Lost Woods.

    Summary: The greatest game ever made in my opinion, made even better. This is the game to own for a 3DS owner, and the reason to buy a 3DS for a non owner.

    Score: 10/10
    Expand
  79. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This is got to be the second best game ever, next to skyward sword. It is one of the 11 games that can actually get a ten in my book. It tells an amazing story, with amazing gameplay, mind-boggling puzzles, beautiful graphics, beautiful music, and awesome action. If you haven't played this game, you should definitely. Even if you end up hating it, you can say you've beten and amazing game with great diversity in gameplay throughout the entire adventure. Expand
  80. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    This is simply the most fun adventure ive ever had in a game. ive never ever got so involved with a game.
  81. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Loved playing through this awesome game again. The addition of 3D visuals really enhances the play experience. Just as much fun as the first time I played in the N64 all those many years ago.
  82. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I totally missed the 32/64 bit gaming era, therefore I never played with this game on N64 or other Nintendo platform before. I bought this title with Zelda 25th Anniversary Edition 3DS handheld console and these together completely amazed me and lived up to my expectations. Ocarina Of Time 3DS deserves all the top ratings with it's wonderful playability and athmosphere. It is a real great adventure in the land of Hyrule! Expand
  83. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    The greatest game ever made, now portable, with improved textures, framerate, and draw distance, the same flawlessnes of the original anyone can love, new and old players alike!
  84. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    The is easily the definitive version of this game. Everything that was improved is for the better, most notably the graphics. It looks great in 3D as well as 2D. The interface changes integrating the touch screen also streamline things nicely. People have been complaining about the Z-targeting not being improved. And while it's largely the same, it's not worse but any means, and not really ever a hindrance to the game play. In fact, I'm glad they didn't tinker with the mechanics too much. Nearly fifteen years after its release, this game is still fun and engaging. Sure, this 3DS port is basically just a shiny new coat of paint, but that's all this game really needed anyway. Expand
  85. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Normally, remakes suck. Either they change too much, or they don't change anything at all. The Ocarina Of Time remake is not only just as good as the original, but I believe it even surpasses it. That is saying quite a lot as OOT is considered one of the best video games of all time. To those unfamiliar with the zelda story and have apparently been living under a rock heres the quick version:Zelda gets kidnapped, Link, an elf, goes on a journey to rescue her. As cleche as this sounds, it is told really well, and has a cast of interesting side characters as well. The gameplay is just as addictive as ever, though it is very hard to explain, but trust me, its a blast. The sword combat is easily the best in gaming history, by the end of each battle, my hands would be sweating. The graphics have been improved and look goregous, even better than some games on the consoles. The 3D actually does make sense here, and while it doesn't dramatically change the gameplay, it works well. This port proves that Ocarina Of Time not only holds up, but gets better every year after its release. I have yet to a play a game that even comes close to being as good as this masterpiece. Expand
  86. May 28, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing game from beginning to end. Truly a must play for anyone who considers themselves to be a gamer. I have to say that I bought the 3DS system mostly for this game even though I have long been fairly biased against anything 3D. I find it unnecessary, it makes my head hurt, companies tend to overdo things just for the sake of making "cool 3D effects" etc. Much to my surprise I found myself sliding the 3D slider up into the "On" position a majority of the time. Don't get me wrong though, the effects aren't perfect. There were some points where the 3D seemed overdone, and it is hard to stay directly in front of the 3DS system while using the Gyroscope to aim. This results in you losing view of your target as you awkwardly tilt your system trying to get back in the line of "Effective 3D viewing angle". Ok now I'm finally going to talk about the game itself. Classic Zelda game just like the original. The integration of the touch screen also helps a lot in terms of item selection and switching between equipment quickly. I have nightmares remembering going through the infamous "Water Temple", having to pause and switch to my iron boots, then pause and switch back, and then pause and switch back again. As if the Water Temple wasn't hard enough already? Being able to put more items on the touch screen to switch quickly between eliminates this hassle and allowed me to navigate the Water Temple (and the entirety of the game) with greater ease. One tiny complaint I have is not with the original "Ocarina of Time" game but with the included "Master Quest" version of the game. Though the resigned dungeons add to the challenge of the game--keeping me preoccupied for many many hours--some of the elements in them just feel hard for the sake of being hard. They seem more obtuse and or odd than like an intricate or difficult puzzle. For example (Minor spoiler but not really that much) when you are inside Jabu Jabu's belly, instead of stepping on switches or shooting buttons to open doors and activate other in game entities, the game has you shoot cows with your slingshot. Yes cows. There are cows sticking out of the wall and it took me a full 20 minutes before I figured out why it was there. The spirit temple layout in Master Quest was a bit of a let down for me. The spirit temple is one of my favorite temples out of all Zelda games. It offers solid level design that is challenging, without being too challenging that it will make you discouraged. The Spirit Temple in Master Quest does make me discouraged. It was 'hard just for the sake of being hard' as I said before. Some of the switches are just hidden in the corners of rooms out of view. However all of these little gripes I have with Master Quest are fairly minor and--seeing as it is an added bonus to the original game--should not be seen as a deterrent to buying the game. In conclusion, this game is a very solid system port. The original game is considered by many to be " the greatest game of all time" and this newest version brings back everything the old game offered and more. Expand
  87. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Have only had this game for about half a day: but I can already tell you that for any Zelda lover, it's an extremely satisfying and nostalgic experience to play. Without a doubt, it's still my favourite game on the current 3DS market, and the main reason I bought a 3DS to play! I love the new features that are added into the game; and am very happy that they didn't change the main game. I would absolutely love it if they did the same thing for majora's mask- I know some people think that nintendo shouldn't rely on their old games, but Zelda has so many fans that would love a remake/remodel of the classic games, this decision to redo old games by the company will certainly not end up in any kind of flop- just look how successful and how popular the OOT remake is!! Rock on, Nintendo. Expand
  88. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    A more than perfect remake of a perfect game! What's not to love? If you missed this GEM in 1998, or want to experience it anew, look no further. I almost cried due to amazement and nostalgia when I first played it. If you are a 3DS owner, it's out of the question: GET IT.
  89. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    It's good, better than the original, and this isn't based off of nostalgia because I first played this around 2007. The end. There are more things they could have improved on, though. Like they could have added more content, like more secrets and things like that.
  90. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    Ocarina of timed 3d is a magical remake of possibly the greatest game of all time. How much more could you ask for? The game takes the classic game and fixes the very small problems like rough textures and slopes (minor complaint) and makes it look how the developers wanted it to be. This was my first zelda game. (I wasn't born during OoT and sadly I haven't played any other zelda :( other than albw) This allows a new generation to play and get introduced to zelda. In conclusion this game rocks. Get it. Just.. get it. Expand
  91. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    This is a master-piece of art. I mean, this game makes me feel like I'm playing it on the N64. After about 2 weeks ago, I picked up a 3DS, strictly for this game alone. I have to say, this is my favorite purchase so far this year. The game itself is a far upgrade in graphic change, but the gameplay is the same, classic gameplay we all know and love. Water Temple is just as frustrating,but then again the nostalgic feel of frustration of Water Temple is hilarious. As in new features, the 3D effect is obviously included, but other then that they included the touch screen inventory interface. It's a lot easier to access your equipment, and also makes Water Temple a lot less time consuming (hint, switching in and out of heavy boots). They also included a new enhanced Master Quest, which is same difficult one we know today from the Gamecube port, but instead the world is mirrored as well. As in everything in the world itself that right = left, and left = right, well you get the point. Review in a Nutshell: Best portable game of the year from the original best game of the decade. Period. Expand
  92. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    You know, the HD graphics were fantastic enough to me, but I had no idea the 3D was going to be so amazing with this. It's a fantastic remake of a classic game, loving every minute of it!
  93. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    Wow what a flashback I got while playing this game. Zelda Ocarina of Time was an amazing game when it first came out all those years ago and still is today. This time it was on the 3ds and did not let me down. They remastered this game making sure they crossed every "T" and dotted every "I." I must say that Link looks pretty amazing in 3D. If you loved this game for the Nintendo 64, it is worth saving Hyrule again on the 3Ds! Expand
  94. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Let's do some simple math: this is the definitive version of the greatest game ever made. Pure perfection. = easiest 10 ever. What blows me away is, this being my forth or fifth play through, is that the gameplay is so thick that with so much to the game each playthough seems like the first time. Especially the dungeons. They are so complicated that it is impossible to simply remember what I did last time. And i feel like im playing it from scratch, I mean this quite literally. And the 3d: I will always have trouble keeping it centered during intense gameplay (for any game), leading to unplayable blur. But I've accepted this and just leave it on for exploration and cutscenes. Like I said, I've accepted this about the 3ds for every game that takes place is 3 demensions (the games demensions, side scrollers work great in 3d). Oot, thank you once again for giving me another shot at the greatest game ever. Expand
  95. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Some games just don't let you go, thinking about them long after the credits. Like an incredible movie the feel and nostalgia can stick with you. In some cases for more than a decade. OoT is like that for many people, myself included, but I'm not sure if you're playing it for the first time how these rose colored lenses are effecting this review. Thankfully the game is built one of the most solid gameplay mechanics ever created. Things that are staples in any 3rd person action game are set in stone from this Zelda forward. The best part is none of it feels stale, outdated or out of place. This feels like a current game for a great handheld. It's a reminder of what makes good games, why analog and buttons are so important, and the 3D is icing on the cake. The latter of which is done very well from the games I've seen. The 3D accents all the depth in the game, and provides a visual pop for things like cucco feathers, Nai, arrows, and treasure items. None of it is necessary but that doesn't mean it isn't a grinning treat to crank the 3D to the max while watching Gannon in a cutscene. With few games available now Zelda once again makes for the perfect launch title and showcase for your Nintendo. Whether you're playing it again or for the first time there's a lot of enjoyment in Link's seminal hit. Expand
  96. May 10, 2012
    9
    I remember when I was little playing this game on my aunt's Nintendo 64 and although I didn't know what I was doing because I was so young I do have some fond memories of it. I remember looking at it and being amazed at how cool it all was and always curious about it, but all these years in between now and back then I found myself avoiding the series for some reason, maybe it was because I wasn't looking for a new series to get committed with, or I was just intimidated I don't know, but now I've finally played through the Ocarina of Time and I'm proud to say I loved almost every second of it and the Legend of Zelda series has a new fan. The controls are smooth as butter, the motion controls work phenomenally and I can't imagine playing this game any other way, the graphics are gorgeous and the 3D effect works well with this game (I'm not a huge fan of it though), and every little sound in the game is outstanding, it truly has what may be the best soundtrack ever, and it comes with extra bonuses like the master quest mode which adds more to the game and increases the difficulty, and also has a boss challenge mode . It's truly just a masterpiece that has withstood the test of time, and is definitely one of the greatest games of all time and one of my new top 10 favorite games of all time, if you haven't played this masterpiece now is the time because this is probably the best version to play, go out and get this now. Expand
  97. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Well, the remake we all least expected finally came and brought itself to be the definitive version of OoT. This game perfectly shows what a port SHOULD be like, improvement while not ruining the feeling of original. This is essentially the same exact game from 1998 with bugfixes, vastly improved graphics and animations, more ease to the controls and more. OoT 3D eliminates all reason to ever play the original when so much more is available. This port addresses many issues accompanied with the original version. For example, the Boots used to have their own section in the Gear subscreen, meaning that EVERY SINGLE TIME you wanted to equip them in the water temple, you had to pause and do so. OoT 3D solves this problem in the same way that Twilight Princess and The Wind Waker did, making the Iron Boots and Hover Boots equippable to Y, X, and the two touch screen slots. The controls may be difficult at first but after continued play, you will get used to it. Throughout my entire playthrough of this new version, I have only run into one issue, which might be just a nitpick, but I find the Ocarina controls very difficult and confusing as opposed to the simplicity of the N64 controls. They do not feel anything like the old N64 controls with C, making applying songs you know from the original version difficult to do. For example, Zelda's Lullaby. On the N64, controls to play this song are < ^ > < ^ >, while on the 3DS, it's X A Y X A Y. Moving on, the visuals make a nice improvement to OoT's style, while not taking us away from it. Young Link no longer looks like a fat dwarf holding an enlarged knife and a life sized beetle shell. Still, some things seem very dated to this point, such as the flat stairs. I wouldn't have minded improvement in those areas but either way the game is beautiful compared to it's N64 counterpart. The only major modifications I see, however, are all to Link's models. At times, it makes the game look glary. For my final rating, I would supposedly give it a 9.8 out of 10, but seeing as metacritic doesn't allow it, I'll leave it at 9. Great port but could still use some improvement. Expand
  98. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    It's no surprise that this is considered one of the best games of all time. How good is this remake exactly? Watch my review to find out!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AZc0hVFtBk
  99. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    The original Ocarina of time is one of the greatest games ever. The remake only makes it even better. One of the biggest selling points is the complete graphical overhaul. And let me say, the new look is smoother, more polished, and just plain better. The 3D effect is nice and does some cool stuff without being gimmicky. One dissapointment is the music. Don't get me wrong, the music is great, it's just Nintendo has literally not changed anything. The tunes, while great, have started to show age. The touch screen has given the blessing of easier item switching, something which everyone is thankfull for. While the puzzle solving and exploration is entertaining, the sword combat, like the music, is aged. Link's combat options are limited, with only 2 avalible sword attacks (regular slash and jump attack). This is only a minor blemish in a near perfect experiance though. This is a great way to experience a already great game, and a must buy considering the 3DS's lackluster library. Expand
  100. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    great game. you wont a good rpg for 3ds. Zelda is the game to get. 3d effects are awesome. game looks great. varrys from easy to hard. this is realy a A++ game.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    For Zelda fanatics, this re-release of one of the best Zelda titles out there seems like it could be a cash grab – but the additions, especially the great use of the 3DS graphical prowess and the 3D itself make it a must purchase for all gamers, new and old.
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    92
    One of the most definite games from the 90's is back better than ever. The new visuals brighten the epic adventure well, and the Master Quest is a nice add. All in all Ocarina of Time is a true classic belonging in every 3DS owner's shelf. [Aug 2011]