User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1257 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    The game is well polished, highly respectable, and out of one of the greatest game series that ever existed it relives a classic game that sparked a legend, if this game was not good, then what could replace it?
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    There's always at least one troll that makes a review without ever playing the game, just because they're a console/loyalist fanboy/girl that doesn't know what they're talking about and have obviously never played the game in their life. This game has never been worth less than a 9.

    The reason for that is simple, it's still a blooming great game even if it is just a remake with the same
    There's always at least one troll that makes a review without ever playing the game, just because they're a console/loyalist fanboy/girl that doesn't know what they're talking about and have obviously never played the game in their life. This game has never been worth less than a 9.

    The reason for that is simple, it's still a blooming great game even if it is just a remake with the same mechanics of 13 years ago. The controls work well, especially the new aiming with the 3DS' gyro sensor, there were a few occasions where the Z lock on could've worked better, and for some reason most of the time when Link falls from high places he no longer rolls, which can get annoying if you're low on hearts.

    There is new content in terms of Easter eggs and a brand new Master Quest (not the GC version) that's mirrored. The graphical upgrade is nice, takes away the fog while adding more colour, more polygons and better textures on the most part, as well as better lighting effects. And overall, although the water temple was made easier (which it didn't need) the game is still great to play through and I'm not riding on nostalgia simply because I only got and completed the original 5 years ago.
    Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    It's no surprise that this is considered one of the best games of all time. How good is this remake exactly? Watch my review to find out!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AZc0hVFtBk
  4. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a remake of a 13-year oly classic. I've played a lot of remakes and most were not as good as the original. But Ocarina of Time is even better. The game offers improved graphics including a superb 3D effect. The controls were also improved (changing boots, etc. is much faster now).

    The gameplay and the design remained untouched - and both aged
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a remake of a 13-year oly classic. I've played a lot of remakes and most were not as good as the original. But Ocarina of Time is even better. The game offers improved graphics including a superb 3D effect. The controls were also improved (changing boots, etc. is much faster now).

    The gameplay and the design remained untouched - and both aged very, very well. The world and dungeon design is absolutely stunning - even when you compare it do modern games.

    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is considered to be one of the best games ever. And indeed it is. You cannot do anything wrong with buying this game. Have fun!
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Quite simply one of the best 3ds titles out there. Yes, we know it's a port, Yes, we know that you've played it on the N64 but given that the graphics were given an overhaul as well as the sound/music, this game is certainly a "must have" for any serious gamer that has a 3ds. They've even been so faithful to the game that the water temple is still as infuriating as it was on the N64 asQuite simply one of the best 3ds titles out there. Yes, we know it's a port, Yes, we know that you've played it on the N64 but given that the graphics were given an overhaul as well as the sound/music, this game is certainly a "must have" for any serious gamer that has a 3ds. They've even been so faithful to the game that the water temple is still as infuriating as it was on the N64 as well as how Navi can be so very annoying "hey, Hey, Listen, Hey, watch out, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, listen, hey, listen, listen, watch out" but without all those little things, would it truly be a faithful 3d rendition of one of the best selling games that surely deserves the accolades that come with it? no... I tip my hat to Nintendo for releasing this on the 3ds and i am eagerly awaiting when/if Majora's Mask might get the same treatment (because, let's face it, OoT and MM are two of the best zelda games that Nintendo has produced.) Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Leave it to Nintendo to remake a great classic and make it even better.I remember when I first played Ocarina of time on Nintendo 64 when I was still in junior high school and all day long all I could think about was Ocarina of time,and when I finally got home from school and went strait to my N64 and continue my adventure in Hyrule I was Amazed.well the same can be said today with the 3DSLeave it to Nintendo to remake a great classic and make it even better.I remember when I first played Ocarina of time on Nintendo 64 when I was still in junior high school and all day long all I could think about was Ocarina of time,and when I finally got home from school and went strait to my N64 and continue my adventure in Hyrule I was Amazed.well the same can be said today with the 3DS version of a master piece of all ages,the game looks way better than it did back on the N64 and (and it didn't look bad on N64 either).this is still my all time fave game ever made and I have to say if you love a great story and enjoy the Zelda series you gotta pick this amazing title up ASAP.great memory's coming back to me.Thanks Nintendo for giving us great games than we all hold dear to our hearts. Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    Great remake of one of the best games of its generation. Still enjoyable today. Totally recommended, one of the best games on the 3DS. Although you can skip it if you have already played it to death before. Not much have been added.
  8. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    It's a great Zelda game for the time it was originally released. I rented it to see how they improved upon it, and I really like how the 3D effect added to the experience (unlike some reviewers complaining about headaches). I would've preferred to see a new Zelda game and still looking forward to see a 3DS-only title, but this is a good remastered classic until a new Zelda arrives.
  9. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    I got the game, and I can honestly say that I'm not too impressed. After playing a few hours through the game, I found it dull, and lacking. For those who say the game is a "masterpiece", I would say think again. The people who find this game amazing, they are just legend of zelda fanboys that have an extremely biased opinion. There are so many other good games out on the market, that thisI got the game, and I can honestly say that I'm not too impressed. After playing a few hours through the game, I found it dull, and lacking. For those who say the game is a "masterpiece", I would say think again. The people who find this game amazing, they are just legend of zelda fanboys that have an extremely biased opinion. There are so many other good games out on the market, that this one isn't worth it. Expand
  10. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    One of the only reasons to own a 3DS at the moment. Fanboyisms aside it's a long overdue release, well worth the trip down nostalgia lane. To use a rather apt analogy, it does for the 3DS what the re-invigoration of Mario 64 did for the DS. Those who never experienced the original stand a good chance of enjoying themselves with Ocarina of Time 3D, the game-play has stood the test of time.One of the only reasons to own a 3DS at the moment. Fanboyisms aside it's a long overdue release, well worth the trip down nostalgia lane. To use a rather apt analogy, it does for the 3DS what the re-invigoration of Mario 64 did for the DS. Those who never experienced the original stand a good chance of enjoying themselves with Ocarina of Time 3D, the game-play has stood the test of time. Anyone that failed be to taken in by the originals charm is still unlikely to be won over as the game remains largely the same. Expand
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    You know, the HD graphics were fantastic enough to me, but I had no idea the 3D was going to be so amazing with this. It's a fantastic remake of a classic game, loving every minute of it!
  12. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    Wow what a flashback I got while playing this game. Zelda Ocarina of Time was an amazing game when it first came out all those years ago and still is today. This time it was on the 3ds and did not let me down. They remastered this game making sure they crossed every "T" and dotted every "I." I must say that Link looks pretty amazing in 3D. If you loved this game for the Nintendo 64, it isWow what a flashback I got while playing this game. Zelda Ocarina of Time was an amazing game when it first came out all those years ago and still is today. This time it was on the 3ds and did not let me down. They remastered this game making sure they crossed every "T" and dotted every "I." I must say that Link looks pretty amazing in 3D. If you loved this game for the Nintendo 64, it is worth saving Hyrule again on the 3Ds! Expand
  13. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Let's do some simple math: this is the definitive version of the greatest game ever made. Pure perfection. = easiest 10 ever. What blows me away is, this being my forth or fifth play through, is that the gameplay is so thick that with so much to the game each playthough seems like the first time. Especially the dungeons. They are so complicated that it is impossible to simply remember whatLet's do some simple math: this is the definitive version of the greatest game ever made. Pure perfection. = easiest 10 ever. What blows me away is, this being my forth or fifth play through, is that the gameplay is so thick that with so much to the game each playthough seems like the first time. Especially the dungeons. They are so complicated that it is impossible to simply remember what I did last time. And i feel like im playing it from scratch, I mean this quite literally. And the 3d: I will always have trouble keeping it centered during intense gameplay (for any game), leading to unplayable blur. But I've accepted this and just leave it on for exploration and cutscenes. Like I said, I've accepted this about the 3ds for every game that takes place is 3 demensions (the games demensions, side scrollers work great in 3d). Oot, thank you once again for giving me another shot at the greatest game ever. Expand
  14. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Some games just don't let you go, thinking about them long after the credits. Like an incredible movie the feel and nostalgia can stick with you. In some cases for more than a decade. OoT is like that for many people, myself included, but I'm not sure if you're playing it for the first time how these rose colored lenses are effecting this review. Thankfully the game is built one of theSome games just don't let you go, thinking about them long after the credits. Like an incredible movie the feel and nostalgia can stick with you. In some cases for more than a decade. OoT is like that for many people, myself included, but I'm not sure if you're playing it for the first time how these rose colored lenses are effecting this review. Thankfully the game is built one of the most solid gameplay mechanics ever created. Things that are staples in any 3rd person action game are set in stone from this Zelda forward. The best part is none of it feels stale, outdated or out of place. This feels like a current game for a great handheld. It's a reminder of what makes good games, why analog and buttons are so important, and the 3D is icing on the cake. The latter of which is done very well from the games I've seen. The 3D accents all the depth in the game, and provides a visual pop for things like cucco feathers, Nai, arrows, and treasure items. None of it is necessary but that doesn't mean it isn't a grinning treat to crank the 3D to the max while watching Gannon in a cutscene. With few games available now Zelda once again makes for the perfect launch title and showcase for your Nintendo. Whether you're playing it again or for the first time there's a lot of enjoyment in Link's seminal hit. Expand
  15. May 10, 2012
    9
    I remember when I was little playing this game on my aunt's Nintendo 64 and although I didn't know what I was doing because I was so young I do have some fond memories of it. I remember looking at it and being amazed at how cool it all was and always curious about it, but all these years in between now and back then I found myself avoiding the series for some reason, maybe it was because II remember when I was little playing this game on my aunt's Nintendo 64 and although I didn't know what I was doing because I was so young I do have some fond memories of it. I remember looking at it and being amazed at how cool it all was and always curious about it, but all these years in between now and back then I found myself avoiding the series for some reason, maybe it was because I wasn't looking for a new series to get committed with, or I was just intimidated I don't know, but now I've finally played through the Ocarina of Time and I'm proud to say I loved almost every second of it and the Legend of Zelda series has a new fan. The controls are smooth as butter, the motion controls work phenomenally and I can't imagine playing this game any other way, the graphics are gorgeous and the 3D effect works well with this game (I'm not a huge fan of it though), and every little sound in the game is outstanding, it truly has what may be the best soundtrack ever, and it comes with extra bonuses like the master quest mode which adds more to the game and increases the difficulty, and also has a boss challenge mode . It's truly just a masterpiece that has withstood the test of time, and is definitely one of the greatest games of all time and one of my new top 10 favorite games of all time, if you haven't played this masterpiece now is the time because this is probably the best version to play, go out and get this now. Expand
  16. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Well, the remake we all least expected finally came and brought itself to be the definitive version of OoT. This game perfectly shows what a port SHOULD be like, improvement while not ruining the feeling of original. This is essentially the same exact game from 1998 with bugfixes, vastly improved graphics and animations, more ease to the controls and more. OoT 3D eliminates all reason toWell, the remake we all least expected finally came and brought itself to be the definitive version of OoT. This game perfectly shows what a port SHOULD be like, improvement while not ruining the feeling of original. This is essentially the same exact game from 1998 with bugfixes, vastly improved graphics and animations, more ease to the controls and more. OoT 3D eliminates all reason to ever play the original when so much more is available. This port addresses many issues accompanied with the original version. For example, the Boots used to have their own section in the Gear subscreen, meaning that EVERY SINGLE TIME you wanted to equip them in the water temple, you had to pause and do so. OoT 3D solves this problem in the same way that Twilight Princess and The Wind Waker did, making the Iron Boots and Hover Boots equippable to Y, X, and the two touch screen slots. The controls may be difficult at first but after continued play, you will get used to it. Throughout my entire playthrough of this new version, I have only run into one issue, which might be just a nitpick, but I find the Ocarina controls very difficult and confusing as opposed to the simplicity of the N64 controls. They do not feel anything like the old N64 controls with C, making applying songs you know from the original version difficult to do. For example, Zelda's Lullaby. On the N64, controls to play this song are < ^ > < ^ >, while on the 3DS, it's X A Y X A Y. Moving on, the visuals make a nice improvement to OoT's style, while not taking us away from it. Young Link no longer looks like a fat dwarf holding an enlarged knife and a life sized beetle shell. Still, some things seem very dated to this point, such as the flat stairs. I wouldn't have minded improvement in those areas but either way the game is beautiful compared to it's N64 counterpart. The only major modifications I see, however, are all to Link's models. At times, it makes the game look glary. For my final rating, I would supposedly give it a 9.8 out of 10, but seeing as metacritic doesn't allow it, I'll leave it at 9. Great port but could still use some improvement. Expand
  17. Jul 28, 2011
    8
    I never played OOT.
    It's great Zelda!
    I can't stop it.

    I forgot how some of the puzzles are not very obvious to solve,but saying that it's still a great game and it's the best game on the 3ds. and the 3d works great.
  18. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    The original Ocarina of time is one of the greatest games ever. The remake only makes it even better. One of the biggest selling points is the complete graphical overhaul. And let me say, the new look is smoother, more polished, and just plain better. The 3D effect is nice and does some cool stuff without being gimmicky. One dissapointment is the music. Don't get me wrong, the music isThe original Ocarina of time is one of the greatest games ever. The remake only makes it even better. One of the biggest selling points is the complete graphical overhaul. And let me say, the new look is smoother, more polished, and just plain better. The 3D effect is nice and does some cool stuff without being gimmicky. One dissapointment is the music. Don't get me wrong, the music is great, it's just Nintendo has literally not changed anything. The tunes, while great, have started to show age. The touch screen has given the blessing of easier item switching, something which everyone is thankfull for. While the puzzle solving and exploration is entertaining, the sword combat, like the music, is aged. Link's combat options are limited, with only 2 avalible sword attacks (regular slash and jump attack). This is only a minor blemish in a near perfect experiance though. This is a great way to experience a already great game, and a must buy considering the 3DS's lackluster library. Expand
  19. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    great game. you wont a good rpg for 3ds. Zelda is the game to get. 3d effects are awesome. game looks great. varrys from easy to hard. this is realy a A++ game.
  20. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    As the original Ocarina of Time was my favorite game ever, this title had the advantage of triggering rose tinted memory's of the original, but the severe disadvantage of having to live up to them. This it did with flying colours. While you wouldn't notice at first glance, every texture and object model has been upgraded, so the general effect is to make the game look as good as youAs the original Ocarina of Time was my favorite game ever, this title had the advantage of triggering rose tinted memory's of the original, but the severe disadvantage of having to live up to them. This it did with flying colours. While you wouldn't notice at first glance, every texture and object model has been upgraded, so the general effect is to make the game look as good as you remember it (rather than as blocky as it actually was). Some of the sounds seem to have been re-recorded, but so faithfully to the original so that you might never notice. The music is as beautiful and epic as ever, though you will need headphones to truly appreciate the upgrade.

    And finally we come to the gameplay. It is still techically the same game you played before so you might imagine it would play just the same. in fact a host of miner gameplay tweaks such as the ability to turn the console for fine aiming, and the touchscreen buttons that can have gear mapped to them, make the whole game run smoother and better than ever. This is not a re-release, but a total upgrade. The 3D if anything is just icing on the already brilliant cake, and means using the analoge stick and rotation controls the bow and slingshot are actually more useful, very easy to use tools.
    Expand
  21. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    Zelda Ocarina of Time 3D is a true gem which along with other titles released after it (Super Mario 3D Land, Super Mario Kart and for me tales of the abyss) that truly makes the earlier discontenting 3DS a joy to own it reinvents a classic and does it well with some of the best looking 3D graphics reproduced on the handheld so far, my main issues are actually with the going aboveZelda Ocarina of Time 3D is a true gem which along with other titles released after it (Super Mario 3D Land, Super Mario Kart and for me tales of the abyss) that truly makes the earlier discontenting 3DS a joy to own it reinvents a classic and does it well with some of the best looking 3D graphics reproduced on the handheld so far, my main issues are actually with the going above expectations when delivering 'NEW' content which wasn't expected of every Zelda fan. We've seen master quest and boss fight modes in the past it would have been nice for an extra that was more intruiging in terms of individuality from other Zelda games. This does not cloud my judgement too much though as I had never completed the original this was the first time I had beat both the main and master quest. As expected of a Zelda game the design is fantastic and Grezzo should be proud of the way in which they've created this game. Graphics: 9 - Some of the best on the system. Presentation: 10 - The presentation style from menus to within the game itself in it's hud are impeccable.
    Gameplay: 9.5 - The gameplay in this game is tweaked to a high enough extent that it maintains a fresh feel through new control schemes such as use of gyroscope and touch screen. Lasting appeal: 9 - As with the original the memory of the awesome design and gameplay choices within this game will stay with you.
    Expand
  22. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    As of now Video Games these days have a new spark in experience. Legend of Zelda Legend of Time 3D has made me buy It to remember all the rewarding moments that all Adult/Teens have had buy winning the video game. By this remake I will say this is a PERFECT game for everyone who remember the best selling game of 1998. So thanks for Shigauro Miyamato and all Nintendo workers for making allAs of now Video Games these days have a new spark in experience. Legend of Zelda Legend of Time 3D has made me buy It to remember all the rewarding moments that all Adult/Teens have had buy winning the video game. By this remake I will say this is a PERFECT game for everyone who remember the best selling game of 1998. So thanks for Shigauro Miyamato and all Nintendo workers for making all our beloved video gaming favorites. - JJ Expand
  23. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I loved Ocarina of Time when it launched in '98 and I love it even more now. The graphics have been greatly overhauled, the Master Quest really is challenging, and the 3D effect is awesome. I have dreamed of an Ocarina remake for a long time, and it was definitely worth the wait.
  24. Sep 4, 2011
    8
    Ocarina of Time back on the 64 was THE best 64 game bar... possibly Mario 64. But other than that, this was an incredible game, from start to finish.
    And now, finally, that same game is back, and even better than before.
    As young Link adventures through countless Temples, destroying enemies in order to fulfil Zelda's prophecy, the game carries you away into the lands of Hyrule. You can't
    Ocarina of Time back on the 64 was THE best 64 game bar... possibly Mario 64. But other than that, this was an incredible game, from start to finish.
    And now, finally, that same game is back, and even better than before.
    As young Link adventures through countless Temples, destroying enemies in order to fulfil Zelda's prophecy, the game carries you away into the lands of Hyrule. You can't not like this game: everything about it is phenominal. For Retro Gamers, they've left in all the bugs and glitches!!!!
    And for newcomers of the series, it's an incredibly welcoming game: there are no tutorals, just self-recognisable controls and a fairy (HEY!!!!!!!!!!!)
    The only reason I would ever mark it down is because of it's slow begining and sometimes I tend to put it down when I have no idea what I'm doing. Sometimes those hint stones don't help...

    + Gameplay is INSANE
    + Controls are a dream
    + Best 3DS Game
    - Can be slow
    - Its hard to know what to do at times!!!

    83%
    Expand
  25. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    To have the chance to play a game that improved the industry with much better graphics is something you must not miss. When the first version was released on N64, I didn't have time to play it much because I was a Playstation Player but I did have friends that had a N64 with Ocarina of Time. When I played it, I had a lot of fun but I never thought that I was going to have so much fun toTo have the chance to play a game that improved the industry with much better graphics is something you must not miss. When the first version was released on N64, I didn't have time to play it much because I was a Playstation Player but I did have friends that had a N64 with Ocarina of Time. When I played it, I had a lot of fun but I never thought that I was going to have so much fun to play it again after more than 10 years with the 3D portable version. Why this game is so nice? You don't have the feeling this game is an old game because the gameplay is almost like today's game release. The new graphics are pretty awesome and the 3D adds a lot of depth to the world. For an action-adventure game, this is one of those you should not miss out. This upgrade version was a great way to make new players enjoy the world of Hyrule. Expand
  26. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This game has been a point of adoration since I first played it, when I was 6. It is so amazing to see it with updated graphics, and having it's minor nuisances fixed (Setting boots as items for easy changing, better depth-perception with 3d, etc.). I really can't get over the reviews that say 'Teh or1g1nal wuz b3ttr.' These people obviously have not played this version, as this is theThis game has been a point of adoration since I first played it, when I was 6. It is so amazing to see it with updated graphics, and having it's minor nuisances fixed (Setting boots as items for easy changing, better depth-perception with 3d, etc.). I really can't get over the reviews that say 'Teh or1g1nal wuz b3ttr.' These people obviously have not played this version, as this is the EXACT SAME GAME, down to every Tektite, every pot, and it's contents, and every NPC. It's sole purpose of being re-released is so that people can finally have a portable version of the same game they knew and loved, or for those new to the game, to put it on a platform that they currently own, instead of having to go out and buy an N64. (I'm sorry that this is turning a bit into a 'Reviewer Review', but I want to clear some things up for those who haven't played the game yet.) I love as well, when thenix says "platforming wasn't good...", or Vlado with "...lack of a jump button...". This game never was, and never will be a platformer. Where even is this 'platforming' that he talks about being "not very good"? Then as far as the lack of jump button is concerned, Link already jumps or climbs over things when he needs to! And as far as Navi's 'worthless hints' that everyone keeps going on about? Simply ignore them if you don't like them! Nintendo makes it's games playable for such a huge variety of gamers, both young and old, so these hints, which many say are useless, are in fact completely invaluable to, say, a six year old playing this game. ( I can remember playing as a six year-old, and not knowing where to go, but having Navi chime in, and let me know.) Anyways, now that that little rant is done, I just want to say that this really is one of the most timeless (no pun intended) games of all... time... (Again, no pun intended) and is most definitely worth your time. (Agh! that's three times now! AH! FOUR!) Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    a beautiful classic. perfect story pacing with original, memorable character design. combat is easy enough and multi-facted for those looking to fight in their own way
  28. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    I know people call this "the best game ever", and the reviews are almost all 10/10, and while its a very, very good game, its not perfect. Its a fair-length game, especially if your hunting out all 100 gold skultullas. The graphics are amazing, the 3D is even better, the boss battles are fun, the puzzles are devious, and the Master Quest changes the whole game by adding harder puzzles toI know people call this "the best game ever", and the reviews are almost all 10/10, and while its a very, very good game, its not perfect. Its a fair-length game, especially if your hunting out all 100 gold skultullas. The graphics are amazing, the 3D is even better, the boss battles are fun, the puzzles are devious, and the Master Quest changes the whole game by adding harder puzzles to all the dungeons. However, once you complete all these things, there's nothing to do. You've won. You can go out and mess with the games many glitches (many of which are hilarious), but that's about it. Also, Master Quest is fun for about 30 minuets, as you've already beaten the game. But overall, OOT3D is a great game. Even if your not a Zelda fan, you'll be hooked on this game until you complete it. Expand
  29. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Probably the best re-release of a video game....ever. This game features all of the great memories you had with it as a kid, but with redone graphics & stunning 3D-effect. It's by far one of the greatest video game experiences, but the 3D just illuminates this game in glory that this game highly deserves. No matter if you've played it before or if you still call the dude in green ZeldaProbably the best re-release of a video game....ever. This game features all of the great memories you had with it as a kid, but with redone graphics & stunning 3D-effect. It's by far one of the greatest video game experiences, but the 3D just illuminates this game in glory that this game highly deserves. No matter if you've played it before or if you still call the dude in green Zelda (even though he's actually Link), you'll love this game. Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Many hours of gameplay that will keep you coming back for more and as well stunning graphics and 3d effects with great sound. Also, for the new generation of players, there is a guide to help you out so this is a game that is recommended for everybody out there.
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    RetroLancerLOL
    Jun 19, 2011
    10 OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features
    RetroLancerLOL
    Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game? Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time. But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  32. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    After all this years, The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time still retains its quality. Perhaps,it may not be a GOTY, but sure it is one of the best handheld games of all time.
  33. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    So, I never played this game back in the 90s. In fact, I didn't really play any video games until this summer, when I bought my 3DS. But even without the nostalgia factor, it's an awesome game. The controls work very well. The gyro aiming is much more precise than the analog stick, at least for me. The only problem is that it doesn't work well with 3D on, since looking at the 3DS screenSo, I never played this game back in the 90s. In fact, I didn't really play any video games until this summer, when I bought my 3DS. But even without the nostalgia factor, it's an awesome game. The controls work very well. The gyro aiming is much more precise than the analog stick, at least for me. The only problem is that it doesn't work well with 3D on, since looking at the 3DS screen from the wrong angle just makes you see double. The touch-screen interface is great. I had heard horror stories about the Water Temple in the original game, mostly relating to how annoying it was to get the Iron Boots on and off. In this version of the game, the boots can be toggled just by pressing a button or tapping the touch screen. Lo and behold, the Water Temple was no problem.

    The graphics are beautiful, especially with 3D turned up. The music is amazing as well, and does a great job of setting the mood.

    But most of all, the gameplay is wonderful. I loved exploring the world of Hyrule: destroying evil, trying to help the civilians I met, working magic with songs, solving puzzles in ruined temples, and being scared half to death by the freaking zombies (sorry, Redeads) in the well. I was sad to see it end (not that the ending wasn't great too...)
    Expand
  34. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    THE BESTTHE BEST GAME--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Probably not for those who have completed and literally explored the crap out of Hyrule dozens of times already. However, the face lift may be a reason for you to dive back in. And if you haven't played the original, what are you doing? GO GET IT RIGHT NOW! Personally, I've enjoyed the replay and have found master quest very enjoyable. In short, not for everyone, but a definite yes forProbably not for those who have completed and literally explored the crap out of Hyrule dozens of times already. However, the face lift may be a reason for you to dive back in. And if you haven't played the original, what are you doing? GO GET IT RIGHT NOW! Personally, I've enjoyed the replay and have found master quest very enjoyable. In short, not for everyone, but a definite yes for Zelda fans and those who haven't played this masterpiece. Expand
  36. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    A great game, remade better!
    Graphics are stunning, music is fantastic and they´ve still managed to capture the true zelda-feeling!
    And with the 3DS touch-screen the gameplay feels right, even though the gyroscope sometimes feels a bit awkward. A must-buy for any 3DS-owner (and a good reason to get one). Graphics - 10 Gameplay - 9.5 Sound - 10 Lasting appeal - 9.5
    A great game, remade better!
    Graphics are stunning, music is fantastic and they´ve still managed to capture the true zelda-feeling!
    And with the 3DS touch-screen the gameplay feels right, even though the gyroscope sometimes feels a bit awkward. A must-buy for any 3DS-owner (and a good reason to get one).

    Graphics - 10
    Gameplay - 9.5
    Sound - 10
    Lasting appeal - 9.5
    Presentation - 10

    Overall: 9.3
    Expand
  37. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    One word: Epicness. The world really comes alive with the 3D effects. A must-buy for every Zelda fan and 3DS owner.
  38. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Having never played this game before i brought it and being it was the first game on the 3ds i brought i was wondering if i would enjoy as much as everyone else and i have. I can see why many would call this game of of the best games of all time. the whole game didn't feel like i was playing a remake of an older version. If you own a 3ds it would defiantly be a buy the updated graphics onHaving never played this game before i brought it and being it was the first game on the 3ds i brought i was wondering if i would enjoy as much as everyone else and i have. I can see why many would call this game of of the best games of all time. the whole game didn't feel like i was playing a remake of an older version. If you own a 3ds it would defiantly be a buy the updated graphics on top of the of 3d effect including the fact its portable makes it wroth every penny. Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A worthy "remake" of the maybe best videogame ever made. The masterpieces of the past need to come to light to the younger generation away but with a design far what we have seen and with less emphasis on what has been done, Ocarina of Time 3D would have been much better than it already is.
  40. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    The game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensor features add some welcomed improvements. I would definitely recommend this game if you have, or are considering a Nintendo 3DS.
  41. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I never played this game the first time around. I did play it on the virtual console but this is truly the definitive version. The graphics have all been upgraded to a much more pleasant lack, and the fact that it's handheld makes it even better. It has some great puzzles, characters and dungeons that you'll always remember. Essential for every 3DS owner
  42. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    A superb game and an amazing adventure filled with great gameplay, astonishing music and a dosage of pure epicness. The 3D effect is profound and brought the world to life.
  43. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Great Zelda game, especially for those "new gamers" who can't seem to pick up the original because of the technological gap. Everything overall is a step up from the original, and the gameplay is still fresh from decades ago. It's also the first "long 3-d" zelda on handheld.
  44. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This game is SOOOOO FUUUUUNNNNN!!!!
    But, some people may not like it because of it's difficulty.
    I recomend you buy this game before any other, even if you don't own a 3ds, buy one right now just for this game! It's totally worth the money, this is a game you'll never forget.
    My favorite enemy is those lizard guys from Dodongo's cavern, they are really fun to fight!
  45. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    I didn't think that Ocarina of Time could get any better. I was wrong. If you like Zelda, Ocarina of Time, or video games in general you must play this. The new graphics are beautiful and the controls are great. I hope that GREZZO will remake Majora's Mask next, because Ocarina of Time 3D just leaves me wanting more!
  46. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    this game, in its own right, is nigh on perfect. no one can deny that. perfect dungeons, story, gameplay, puzzles... it, in its own right, deserves a 10. but as it was assured to be, it is the same as ocarina of time. the new control features improve things, yes, essentially making a dungeon playable which was terrible in the original, but aside from that, you don't have much else. the 3dthis game, in its own right, is nigh on perfect. no one can deny that. perfect dungeons, story, gameplay, puzzles... it, in its own right, deserves a 10. but as it was assured to be, it is the same as ocarina of time. the new control features improve things, yes, essentially making a dungeon playable which was terrible in the original, but aside from that, you don't have much else. the 3d is also not used as effectively as in other games such as star fox 64 3d. however, the game itself is perfect, and i'm not writing to rate improvement, i'm here to rate the game. and really, when a game is this good, do you need much improvement, even 13 years on? this, along with star fox 64 3d, answer that question with a definitive 'no'. Expand
  47. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    the amazing Zelda game returns with better graphics and the same gameplay that made its predecessor on the N64 the best adventure-rpg of all time...an amazing game for your 3ds console!
  48. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Zelda is arguably the very finest franchise in video gaming history and, up until Skyward Sword at least, Ocarina of Time was the best of the entire series. I was dubious as to how it would translate to the 3DS, but I needn't have been. OoT is as good a reason as any to buy the who 3DS console in the first place and for me, cements it's place as one of the best games of all time! 10/10 allZelda is arguably the very finest franchise in video gaming history and, up until Skyward Sword at least, Ocarina of Time was the best of the entire series. I was dubious as to how it would translate to the 3DS, but I needn't have been. OoT is as good a reason as any to buy the who 3DS console in the first place and for me, cements it's place as one of the best games of all time! 10/10 all day long. Expand
  49. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Remastering of a classic. The graphics are a major polished improvement over the N64 version. Featuring challenging dungeons, brain teasing puzzles, a nice story, great game mechanics and a fantastic 3D effect. The game is perfection updated. It feels natural in its new home on the 3DS.
  50. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    A remake of a incredibly highly regarded game like Ocarina of Time could not fail. It's still full of excellent gameplay, and the controls are solid, but not comparable to the N64 game. The graphics have been improved exponentially, and are really a treat to take a gander at. The game includes the normal and the Master Quest version, which took me over 150 hours to complete. I have neverA remake of a incredibly highly regarded game like Ocarina of Time could not fail. It's still full of excellent gameplay, and the controls are solid, but not comparable to the N64 game. The graphics have been improved exponentially, and are really a treat to take a gander at. The game includes the normal and the Master Quest version, which took me over 150 hours to complete. I have never played through the original on the N64 or the Wii, so I had to look up an IGN walkthrough for the game a few times when I got stuck. Getting stuck is much more frustrating than it would be on a console because I use the 3DS more as a mobile system, not an at-home console, where I don't have access to walkthrough Expand
  51. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    Ocarina was a wonderful game back in 98 and it stills a wonderful game today now I wouldnt see this version as a remake, I see it as a modern adaptation because basically there is nothing new.
    First this game is the very same ocarina that we all know and love but whit enchaced graphics and better textures It looks amazing, especially in 3d but nintendo didn´t add much extra
    Ocarina was a wonderful game back in 98 and it stills a wonderful game today now I wouldnt see this version as a remake, I see it as a modern adaptation because basically there is nothing new.
    First this game is the very same ocarina that we all know and love but whit enchaced graphics and better textures It looks amazing, especially in 3d but nintendo didn´t add much extra content exept for the inverted master quest and the boss rush mode, but I think that it would be awesome if nintendo would add new temples and items.
    Now the reason I bought the game was the master quest because I never had it on the gamecube so If you miss that version then theres something that makes the game worth of buying. The master quest version is the same game except that the whole world is mirrored and the dungeons and temples are altered so the puzzles are diferent and more difficult and that may add a new experience while you play it.
    In conclusion it still a great game I said that if you are a legend of zelda fan or you never play this game and you like adventure/RPG games I recommend you to get this game new players will find it challenging and interesting and old fan may experience differently this classic game.
    Expand
  52. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    The best game for the Nintendo 3DS to date. Awesome and detailed graphics, great gameplay, the master quest is even more difficult, new items, etc. The only low point that I found was the lack of new or remastered songs, because a lot of the music sounds exactly like the N64 version. This also was my best reason to buy the system.
  53. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game is timeless. I can remember the first time playing it on the 64 as a kid, it was a piece of art. To be honest, I was a little nervous booting it up again. You know the feeling, when things from the past seem better in retrospect. This isn't one of those times. Zelda is a game that can be great for a 10 year old and a 27 year old. The graphics look great on the 3ds. TheyThis game is timeless. I can remember the first time playing it on the 64 as a kid, it was a piece of art. To be honest, I was a little nervous booting it up again. You know the feeling, when things from the past seem better in retrospect. This isn't one of those times. Zelda is a game that can be great for a 10 year old and a 27 year old. The graphics look great on the 3ds. They remastered them quite nicely. The 3d effect actually does add something to the game. I don't know how Nintendo does it, but it seems like this is a whole new game. I highly suggest this to newcomers and veterans alike. Expand
  54. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Que maravilla de juego. Debo admitir que nunca me intereso jugar Ocarina of Time en el Nintendo 64, pero aunque este es el mismo titulo, se siente como algo completamente diferente. Para empezar: las graficas son mucho mejores, lo que hace mas disfrutable cada escenario. Y si gustan de explorar hasta el ultimo rincon en el mapa, seguramente pasaran 30-40 horas aqui. Ademas, tener mapa eQue maravilla de juego. Debo admitir que nunca me intereso jugar Ocarina of Time en el Nintendo 64, pero aunque este es el mismo titulo, se siente como algo completamente diferente. Para empezar: las graficas son mucho mejores, lo que hace mas disfrutable cada escenario. Y si gustan de explorar hasta el ultimo rincon en el mapa, seguramente pasaran 30-40 horas aqui. Ademas, tener mapa e inventario en otra pantalla resulta muy util. El efecto 3D es un buen agregado, asi­ como el sistema de visiones, para nunca quedarse atorado en un nivel. Realmente vale lo que cuesta. Si nunca jugaron Ocarina of Time, esta es la mejor forma de hacerlo; y si lo hicieron en el N64, vale la pena revivir la experiencia en su version actualizada. Creanme, no se van a arrepentir. Expand
  55. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Truly a classic game. I wish video games were made like this nowadays. Beating a game like this gives one such a sense of accomplishment. The music to this game is genius. In fact, everything about this game is genius. I love the story, setting, levels, bosses, characters. Highly recommend this one.
  56. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This is one of my favorite game. Although this game is just remake of old one. Im sure you can remember how Zelda is amazing game. If you have no idea about new game I recommend you to buy this one.
  57. Dec 18, 2015
    10
    Truly an enjoyable experience. It really amazes me that this game originally came out 17 years ago. 17!
    I could only imagine how much of a mind-blowing experience it was at the time. The gameplay was way ahead of its time.
    What amused me was, though the story obviously was not intended to be its strength, it was nonetheless entertaining because it was probably one of the earliest game
    Truly an enjoyable experience. It really amazes me that this game originally came out 17 years ago. 17!
    I could only imagine how much of a mind-blowing experience it was at the time. The gameplay was way ahead of its time.

    What amused me was, though the story obviously was not intended to be its strength, it was nonetheless entertaining because it was probably one of the earliest game that dealt with Time Travel, and it dealt with it in such a simple and lighthearted way. Time skip / Time travel is often a very good way to develop characters, you can call it a cheat way of doing it, but it works, it gives the characters instantaneous growth and with little effort it can make the audience themselves try to fill in the 7 year gap with their own growth stories for those characters. Gotta say it was very well played whether it was intended or not.

    It's already an amazing game as it is, compound that with nostalgia, it's not surprising that fans often claim this to be the greatest game of all time. Worth my $40 and 30 hours, even in 2015.
    Expand
  58. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Zelda: Ocarina of time was the game more important of a generation. The time has passed and it continues being brilliant, though probably not so much. Thanks to the effect 3d and the renewed graphs make it very interesting and nostalgic game.
  59. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    The masterpiece is once again released on Nintendo's newest system and it impresses. The graphics are a huge improvement from the Nintendo 64 and it looks great. The game holds up amazingly well despite it being over 10 years. There is also an option to play a master quest mode of the game which is a mirrored version of the game with different dungeon layouts. Boss rush mode is alsoThe masterpiece is once again released on Nintendo's newest system and it impresses. The graphics are a huge improvement from the Nintendo 64 and it looks great. The game holds up amazingly well despite it being over 10 years. There is also an option to play a master quest mode of the game which is a mirrored version of the game with different dungeon layouts. Boss rush mode is also available where you try to beat your time. The game is an improvement over the original as well with a very streamlined menu system. You simply tap the screen to instantly open up different menus such as items and back out again. This game may not be for you if you are already an owner of this masterpiece. If you've never owned this game before, you must get this game. Expand
  60. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Ocarina of Time is already one of the most critically-acclaimed games ever, and this version improves upon it. -More accessible controls
    -Graphical improvement
    -Mirrored Master Quest included

    This is the best version of the game. I would recommend this over the original N64 version, which I have played and enjoyed multiple times.
  61. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Ocarina of time has been faithfully translated over to the 3DS and is without doubt gorgeous. The controls are perfect, the camera angles are nearly perfect, and the new gyro controls are well suited to the game. I have played Ocarina of Time on the N64 back years ago and honestly, I hated it but the 3DS version has for some reason captivated me. The new hints that are available in-gameOcarina of time has been faithfully translated over to the 3DS and is without doubt gorgeous. The controls are perfect, the camera angles are nearly perfect, and the new gyro controls are well suited to the game. I have played Ocarina of Time on the N64 back years ago and honestly, I hated it but the 3DS version has for some reason captivated me. The new hints that are available in-game are a bit too much though, they will literally show you what to do or where to go if you get stuck. Thankfully, it is optional so hardcore gamers who are new to Ocarina of time will not have to view them. Overall, this is the best game available currently on the 3DS. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys adventure games and dungeon crawlers. Expand
  62. Apr 6, 2015
    9
    Playing an overworked version of one of the best games of all times on a portable system and in 3D is like a dream come true!
    Not only does the game look absolutely amazing, so does the 3D effect as well, and the new hint system is a highly welcome addition!
    Sadly, Nintendo missed the chance to overwork and improve the game, by releasing a true remake: There still are very little
    Playing an overworked version of one of the best games of all times on a portable system and in 3D is like a dream come true!
    Not only does the game look absolutely amazing, so does the 3D effect as well, and the new hint system is a highly welcome addition!

    Sadly, Nintendo missed the chance to overwork and improve the game, by releasing a true remake:
    There still are very little options, f.e. isnt it possible to change the camera speed, there are no new areas, enemies, quests, items or skills, and no circle pad controls have been patched in, which i miss painfully...

    Still, even after all those years, the game remains amazing and might be the best game for the 3DS...
    93/100 points
    Expand
  63. May 12, 2012
    10
    There's not much I can say about this remake. It has awesome graphics, a great framerate, more content than ever, and the 3d is used really well. Ocarina of time first came out during the fifth generation of gaming, during the big push to 3d. Games during that time tried to impress people with their 3d graphics. With true stereoscopic 3d, the 3d effect does not feel shoehorned in. The gameThere's not much I can say about this remake. It has awesome graphics, a great framerate, more content than ever, and the 3d is used really well. Ocarina of time first came out during the fifth generation of gaming, during the big push to 3d. Games during that time tried to impress people with their 3d graphics. With true stereoscopic 3d, the 3d effect does not feel shoehorned in. The game includes the master quest, which when unlocked (after beating the game one time on the normal mode) flips the world from east to west, and makes the dungeons puzzles much harder. All these features make the best version of my favorite game of all time a game every 3ds owner must play. Expand
  64. May 3, 2013
    10
    Exactly the same as the original but with better graphics (especially the background buildings) and the 3-D is pretty good. The only problem I had with the original is that it doesn't seem too new for me, but as this is an enhanced remake, I do not have that problem. 10/10 (See my review of ocarina of time on my profile to see the full review)
  65. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    This remastered version truly did not disappoint. The improved graphics and the new mirrored Master Quest are enough to get this game even if you finished the original. Amazing launch title for the 3DS it was, indeed. 10/10 Game of the Year 1998... I mean... Handheld Game of the Year 2011...
  66. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend it's perfect
  67. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    the guys behind this remake did an amazing job! they stayed true to the original and just added what needed to be changed! they even included the master's quest which i want to play for ages!
  68. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best remakes of all time, it's instantly memorable, the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is fun and addicting, it's not repetitive or tedious, and it is very epic!
  69. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    I personally never played the N64 Ocarina of Time (I was too young and immature and always bought horrible games), but this was a great summer experience for me. The game was incredibly adventurous and I rarely felt like I was forcing myself to beat it. The story was incredible; the time travel threw me off the first time I did it. The visuals are vivid, the soundtrack is an instantI personally never played the N64 Ocarina of Time (I was too young and immature and always bought horrible games), but this was a great summer experience for me. The game was incredibly adventurous and I rarely felt like I was forcing myself to beat it. The story was incredible; the time travel threw me off the first time I did it. The visuals are vivid, the soundtrack is an instant classic, and the controls are very natural and comfortable. I've put in about 45 hours, but couldn't get myself to finish the Master Quest. Maybe in a few years. A great experience! Expand
  70. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Yes, It's the same game from the n64, exactly. That is PERFECTLY FINE! some things don't need to change, this game was perfect and it is perfect now. Plus you get to play it on the go. Plus the graphics have improved. Plus you feel a bit of nostalgia playing it. Rarely do remakes keep the charm and playability of the original, in this case the game keeps all of its virtues. This is aYes, It's the same game from the n64, exactly. That is PERFECTLY FINE! some things don't need to change, this game was perfect and it is perfect now. Plus you get to play it on the go. Plus the graphics have improved. Plus you feel a bit of nostalgia playing it. Rarely do remakes keep the charm and playability of the original, in this case the game keeps all of its virtues. This is a perfect version of this game, as was the n64 version. I love it, a whole lot. Expand
  71. May 6, 2013
    9
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time on the N64 is one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time and rightly so, the gameplay is fantastic and the amount of hidden secrets in it is impressive, the meat of the game is the dungeons and world to explore, the story was great for it's time although I feel other more recent games in the series have done a much better job delivering aThe Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time on the N64 is one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time and rightly so, the gameplay is fantastic and the amount of hidden secrets in it is impressive, the meat of the game is the dungeons and world to explore, the story was great for it's time although I feel other more recent games in the series have done a much better job delivering a cinematic story, but don't get me wrong for Nintendo 64 the game was phenomenal.

    Now over a decade later we get The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D for Nintendo 3DS, This remake of the classic game delivers better graphics, a more convenient UI for item switching, Gyroscope controls for aiming weapons like the Slingshot or Bow and obviously the ability to play in 3D.

    As many have said here on Metacritic already, this is a fantastic port of the N64 Classic delivering a remake that is the definitive version to play nowadays, The game will give you a solid 20-30 hour experience depending on how much you flesh out the game in terms of finding secrets, doing side quests and other things. The world of Hyrule is a great diverse world with tons of different locations to see from Death Mountain to the Gerudo Desert.

    There is a issue with using 3D and Gyroscope controls at the same time since the sweet spot for 3D can become distorted when you are moving the 3DS system around but both of this features are completely optional.

    The game also the optional "Master Quest" mode which makes the game more difficult and changes some things to add challenge, This is unlocked after you finish the main quest. The game also features hint movies to help you if you get stuck which is a nice addition for newcomers.

    There are some things that obviously show their age now like some of the puzzles being fairly easy since at the time of the original release back in the late 90's, the use of 3D environments in gaming was still a new experience and a lot of the puzzles revolved around this. Hyrule Field is also very empty but obviously this is also due to the limitations of the Nintendo 64. Sometimes the targeting system can be a bit so-so but it's not a big issue and rarely causes issues.

    Overall this is a fantastic port of a classic that defined a generation of video games, If you own a 3DS this is a must have whether you played it on N64 or you are jumping in for the first time, The game holds up very well.
    Expand
  72. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This game hasn't aged a bit. Really, it is as good as it was 15 years ago. Plus, the new master quest makes the adventure even more challenging and fun. Pick this now!
  73. Sep 30, 2015
    9
    While it's pretty annoying that Nintendo feels the need to repackage this game and put it back on the market every couple of years, the magic is still there. I'm not going to **** you and say that the 3D feature adds a whole level of depth to the game and made me feel like I was playing it for the first time again. The 3D was neat, but the really nice thing about this release is the nice,While it's pretty annoying that Nintendo feels the need to repackage this game and put it back on the market every couple of years, the magic is still there. I'm not going to **** you and say that the 3D feature adds a whole level of depth to the game and made me feel like I was playing it for the first time again. The 3D was neat, but the really nice thing about this release is the nice, clean graphics. Expand
  74. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    An amazing game with all your same epicness of 1998, but with more polished graphics and some Easter Eggs. But, I have presenced some FPS falls, especially in boss battles.
  75. May 19, 2013
    8
    This is the best version of the game, mainly because it has the best graphics out of all the versions, I would recommend this game to people that enjoy adventure games.
  76. May 3, 2013
    9
    It's useless to be talk about Ocarina Of Time, the original, since it's considered the best game of all time for some, but in the 3D version, I think they Improved it a lot. First of all, giving the nowadays kids a chance to play this game, it's just, fantastic. Also, in this version, the graphics are obviously better, the soundtrack is smoother, textures are more detailed, and everythingIt's useless to be talk about Ocarina Of Time, the original, since it's considered the best game of all time for some, but in the 3D version, I think they Improved it a lot. First of all, giving the nowadays kids a chance to play this game, it's just, fantastic. Also, in this version, the graphics are obviously better, the soundtrack is smoother, textures are more detailed, and everything is as wonderful as before. I thought that Ocarina Of Time was fantastic, and this game is the same. This game, gets a 9/10 Expand
  77. May 22, 2013
    10
    It's funny how one of the best 3ds games or thee best was originally a Nintendo 64 game showing just how timeless this game is. It is a must by for any hard-core Zelda fan because of the improved visuals and a great starting point for anyone who has a 3ds a doesn't know what game to play first.
  78. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    The definitive version of my favorite game of all time. Improves upon the Nintendo 64 original in so many ways. This was the first 3DS game I purchased and is a must for every 2DS or 3DS owner.
  79. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Just another epic reason to own a 3DS! A classic game remastered with beautiful visuals and 3D graphics. They could have at least considered replacing Navi with something less annoying.. Despite that, this game is a great way to introduce the legend to todays generation of players and newbies alike. The remake encourages Zelda fanatics to rexperiance the classic story. Also, master questJust another epic reason to own a 3DS! A classic game remastered with beautiful visuals and 3D graphics. They could have at least considered replacing Navi with something less annoying.. Despite that, this game is a great way to introduce the legend to todays generation of players and newbies alike. The remake encourages Zelda fanatics to rexperiance the classic story. Also, master quest is a great add-on and another great reason for old gamers to buy it. If you don't have a 3DS, get one. This is a must have game!! Expand
  80. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Ocarina of Time 3D was the first 3DS game I got.
    And, wow, was it the best remake of a game I ever played. Hands down.
    - Amazing Redone Graphics, extremely impressive for early 3DS - Story is a classic among classics - Smooth Controls when using the Circle Pad, not so much when movement with the system itself is used (Bow, Looking Around, etc.) - Music is also amazing, sad that it
    Ocarina of Time 3D was the first 3DS game I got.
    And, wow, was it the best remake of a game I ever played. Hands down.
    - Amazing Redone Graphics, extremely impressive for early 3DS
    - Story is a classic among classics
    - Smooth Controls when using the Circle Pad, not so much when movement with the system itself is used (Bow, Looking Around, etc.)
    - Music is also amazing, sad that it isn't redone
    - Added features from the original, such as 4 item slots and hints for new players using the Sheikah Stone
    - Challenging Redone Master Quest after being the Normal Game
    - Lots of Replay Value
    This game is great, and I think it's better than the original.
    Buy this game now!
    Expand
  81. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time arrived to my N64's cartridge slot in 1999, as it was an Xmas present, I began playing, and I was completely blown away by the incredible 3-dimensional world in which I found myself. I quickly saw that Hyrule had finally been realized in a way I didn't think possible. A massive, open field, a gargantuan mountain that towered over the rest of Hyrule...and a merciless desert with a spirit to guide you to the oasis that was Desert Colossus...this game had every single little thing I wanted to see in a Zelda game since playing A Link to the Past. Now, 12 years later, I put Ocarina of Time 3D into my cartridge. (Stood outside for 3 hours in a raging thunderstorm waiting for my EB Games to open) I didn't think I would experience the same feelings that I felt upon playing the game when I was 5 years old, but I was dead wrong. I knew right then and there that I was a true Zelda fan when I began bawling at how incredible the new and improved graphics looked, and how everything had been made so detailed. Non-Playable Characters were now much more animated, Link himself looked more realistic than ever before, (not to mention Young and Adult Link finally wore the long-absent sword belt around their chests) and the dungeons were rethought in their art/sprite stylings in a way I never imagined. I actually, being in Grade 11 at the time was sent to my school's office because I refused to put the game down and pay attention to my teacher. Having not read about it online at the time, after beating the game, I was appalled to see that a "Master Quest" had opened up on the main screen. Thinking it was going to be the same as the Gamecube one, I began, but I was proven wrong yet again. The Master Quest is easier in some places (such as the Water Temple), but manaically difficult in almost every other place. The double damage aspect, the moved Dungeon Gold Skulltulas, and the fact that NOTHING was missed in the mirroring of the game, made Master Quest almost more enjoyable and fun than the original. When I finally beat the Master Quest, I sat back and silently congratulated Nintendo on doing a PERFECT remake of a PERFECT game. It is now that I wait with bated breath to see them redo The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask on the 3DS in order to finish the duolgy.

    But, in closing, I can most definitely say without a speck of hesitation that The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a remake of the greatest video game ever to grace the face of our planet Earth, and this remake allowed the "Perfect Game" to surpass perfection. It is a game I love and will continue to love until the day comes that my 3DS XL dies and I am unable to buy a machine to play it on.
    Expand
  82. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of Time is one of the best games ever. This remake shows its relevance today. The graphics are awesome and the 3D effect adds an entirely new dimension to zelda. It's amazing. The same spooky, masterful, beautiful music from the original remains. The simple but touching story is still relevant. Ocarina of Time features familiar dungeon gameplay, each with puzzles, enemies, and aOcarina of Time is one of the best games ever. This remake shows its relevance today. The graphics are awesome and the 3D effect adds an entirely new dimension to zelda. It's amazing. The same spooky, masterful, beautiful music from the original remains. The simple but touching story is still relevant. Ocarina of Time features familiar dungeon gameplay, each with puzzles, enemies, and a boss at the end. In each dungeon, you get a new item that is the main subject of that entire dungeon, needed to solve puzzles and fight the boss. Needles to say, every dungeon is perfect, always using items to their full potential but never abusing them either. All the bosses (except Morpha of course) are amazing and clever. The final boss is one that will always be remembered. Additionally, there's a boss fight mode, including a gauntlet in which you take all if them down one after another. There's even a revamped unlockable master quest mode, in which attacks do double damage and the dungeon puzzles themselves are redeigned. It's extremely taxing and a great idea, doubling the lasting appeal of the game.
    I could go on forever about how Ocarina of Time is a brilliant game, but I won't. Just buy it.
    Expand
  83. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    I had not played through all of the original on Nintendo 64 or the disc that came with Wind Waker on the GameCube, so for me this was a glorious opportunity to revisit and play "The best game of all time" with improved controls.

    A must play if you're a Zelda fan. A must play if you like adventure action RPGs A great game in general, even if I was expecting more from it. Lasted me
    I had not played through all of the original on Nintendo 64 or the disc that came with Wind Waker on the GameCube, so for me this was a glorious opportunity to revisit and play "The best game of all time" with improved controls.

    A must play if you're a Zelda fan.
    A must play if you like adventure action RPGs
    A great game in general, even if I was expecting more from it.

    Lasted me 40 hours and definitely worth playing.

    9 of 10
    Expand
  84. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Ocarina of time is one of those timeless classics that are considered the BEST ever in the whole industry, and The classic on the n64 was definitely one of if not the best games ever made, and on the 3ds it's even better.

    - cons -The Remake isn't perfect, and the only REAL complain one could possibly have is the soundtrack.It still is amazing, but the quality is rather low, if the music
    Ocarina of time is one of those timeless classics that are considered the BEST ever in the whole industry, and The classic on the n64 was definitely one of if not the best games ever made, and on the 3ds it's even better.

    - cons -The Remake isn't perfect, and the only REAL complain one could possibly have is the soundtrack.It still is amazing, but the quality is rather low, if the music was orchestrated it would have been much better.The only other issue i can think of is Hyrule field's low geometry, and this is kind of a stupid complain because the game still looks great and this doesn't effect the gameplay at all.

    - Pros +Other than that this remake is a great showcase of how remakes should be done.It adds new features (like the flipped Master Quest, the Boss Challenge and the shikah stones) that don't break the feel of the game, and makes a lot of little polishes and things that only veterans will notice, like the improved physics, and hit detection, the improved camera and all the new easter eggs.Another strong point is the Presentation, The game Looks great, it looks the way it was meant to be, characters and environments have been totally redesigned and look much better.The animation and Framerate are also a lot smoother.The one orchestrated track that has been added to the game is amazing and it sounds just awesome.

    All in all this is a great remake of a classic game, and it makes the game even better.The lack of an orchestrated soundtrack is disappointing, but there is no denying it, this game is a MUST BUY for every 3ds owner or Zelda fan in general.
    Expand
  85. Apr 8, 2017
    10
    Game: The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time 3D
    Genre: Action/Adventure
    Developer: Nintendo System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS) Total Score: 100/100 Value Score: 10/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 10/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +The game has been remade with improved visuals
    Game: The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time 3D
    Genre: Action/Adventure
    Developer: Nintendo
    System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS)
    Total Score: 100/100
    Value Score: 10/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 10/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +The game has been remade with improved visuals and sound. Character designs look way more sharper and improved
    +Includes The Master Quest
    +Includes a Boss Challenge mode
    +The use of the touch screen assist in inventory management which makes swapping between items easier and more accessible during the adventure
    +The touchscreen also assists in playing the ocarina showcasing the notes and other information
    +The ability to choose between using manual and gyro controls when using tools and items
    +Introduction of "Visions" from Sheikah stones allow you to look at hints if you are stuck in the game
    +Iron/Hover boots can now be equipped as usable tools/items rather than equipment like in the original

    Cons
    -N/A
    Expand
  86. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    A port that improved on all of the aspects in the original that could have used improving. While at its core, it's still the same classic, it makes great use of the mechanics that were already in the game and improves others such as the boot switching and the first person aiming which were the main issues with the original game's controls.
  87. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    The young bucks weren't around to witness what this game did for gaming in general, and there hasn't been many games that can claim what OoT can. There's a good reason why this is the best reviewed game of ALL TIME, and ninteno sweetened the deal with a beautiful coat of paint. The sky looks stunning, the water almost glows at night and the motion controls are precise and fluid StillThe young bucks weren't around to witness what this game did for gaming in general, and there hasn't been many games that can claim what OoT can. There's a good reason why this is the best reviewed game of ALL TIME, and ninteno sweetened the deal with a beautiful coat of paint. The sky looks stunning, the water almost glows at night and the motion controls are precise and fluid Still one of the best games ever, now more polished and juicy looking. How could bring I say no? Expand
  88. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    In the years since Ocarina of Time was release to "Best Game Ever" acclaim, much has changed in the Zelda franchise and in open-world games as a whole. Some of these changes, to which we have gotten used, understandably count against the gameplay in this remake, especially since more recent games are more fluid and less likely to leave you clueless as to what to do next. However, Link'sIn the years since Ocarina of Time was release to "Best Game Ever" acclaim, much has changed in the Zelda franchise and in open-world games as a whole. Some of these changes, to which we have gotten used, understandably count against the gameplay in this remake, especially since more recent games are more fluid and less likely to leave you clueless as to what to do next. However, Link's time-travelling adventure remains entirely charming, with compelling storyline, likeable characters, and (Water temple aside) fun and well-crafted dungeons. What's better, the touch screen smooths out equipment management, which was way too tedious in the original. And yes, the absolutely exhillarating final battle remains, in my humble opinion, the best of all time. Expand
  89. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of time 3d was one of the best games ever made. It is amazing on what you could do in the game like collecting all the gold skulltulas and getting all the magical powers. Also the game had some of the most amazing boss fights i have ever seen in any game .This master piece deserves a perfect score for sure. If you don't have it you should go out and get it right now.
  90. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This is truly a great flashback to the greatest game ever made. This was the first experience I have had with Zelda game and I can't stop coming back to it, and the master quest was amazing aswell, the improved graphics, the reimagined controls and the gyroscopic capabilities truly have remade this game into an experience to remember
  91. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I think a lot of people are just expecting a bit too much of this remake, because it IS just a remake, not an improved version or anything. Yes, this game is quite old, but if you haven't played the original N64 version, this is worth a try. The story is one that has been overused(through that may not of been the case at the time of its original release), but everything else isI think a lot of people are just expecting a bit too much of this remake, because it IS just a remake, not an improved version or anything. Yes, this game is quite old, but if you haven't played the original N64 version, this is worth a try. The story is one that has been overused(through that may not of been the case at the time of its original release), but everything else is near-superb, and while the game could've been different and improved in many areas, it is just a remake(I can't stress that enough), and it's really no different from its N64 version. Expand
  92. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Un clasico de todos los Legend of Zelda, muy entretenido, con muchos puzzles y es el primer Legend of Zelda en 3D, un juego que si o si debes tener, si tenes un Nintendo 3DS
  93. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    My second favorite Zelda game and in my top two or three of all games. It has my favorite soundtrack from a game and a fantastic story. My only problem is that you couldn't change items on the bottom screen without pausing the game.
  94. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    There's just one thing to add.. its even better then the original! if you haven't played the original don't worry because this game makes perfect sense for 3DS and has stunning visuals compared to any other 3DS game I've tried so far.
  95. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    The only problem I have with it is they squeezed down the size of the environments to suit the handheld and so the rooms and bosses are noticeably smaller than the console version. Apart from that, great game, great music, great adventure, great puzzles, characters and environments.
  96. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Same thing than my previous review about this game.
    After years, this game is still the absolute masterpiece it was when it first came out.
    The graphics are gorgeous, not just a port, but an excellent remake.
  97. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I cannot remember my first moments in this game. I can only imagine how intoxicated I was, how involved I became as the story unfurled in front of me. The music, the world and the character's are all mixed into one memory... that of an absolute gaming bliss, one where storytelling and gameplay is prime, and even after twenty years it still shows.
    I used to play this game on N64 when I was
    I cannot remember my first moments in this game. I can only imagine how intoxicated I was, how involved I became as the story unfurled in front of me. The music, the world and the character's are all mixed into one memory... that of an absolute gaming bliss, one where storytelling and gameplay is prime, and even after twenty years it still shows.
    I used to play this game on N64 when I was a child, but I had help from my mum and step dad to get through it. Without them I doubt I would have gotten very far. I'm not sure if that's a bad thing, though I can easily assume it would have put off many a gamer when they first began, but now after learning all of it's secrets I am spellbound. Whenever I am asked about the greatest game ever made I quote Ocarina of Time. There's something about it's music that invites you into its world like an old friend, it's charismatic and curious characters that define the type of story, and the classic theme of good vs evil that compels, despite being a little samey.
    Until now I have been a little shady about the actual game, and blurred the lines claiming this and that. I'll try now to give a clearer explanation about the game and why it is so beloved.
    The story starts off with a young boy called Link having a nightmare about a red-haired man riding through flames. We get a glimpse of Zelda running away, and Link facing Ganandorf... the screen fading to black not shortly after. The Great Deku tree, the protector of the Kokiri children, instructs Navi to find the young boy Link and bring him forward. After finding a sword and shield, actually a cleverly disguised tutorial, you are finally granted access into his presence.
    That is a pretty detailed explanation of the beginning, but straight away the addictive and cheerful music kicks in and you are left to discover whatever it is you are meant to be doing. There is no hand holding (excluding the Sheik Stones which are added in the 3ds version) and I'm not surprised that this sort of gaming is gone from the world now. Skyward sword holds your hand ALOT with Fi, constantly telling you what to do. Sure, Navi gives you a HEY now and then, but her remarks are generally quite elusive and only hint at what you have to do. It's as if the industry is now afraid at you getting frustrated and quitting, resulting in no future purchases for the countless sequels that are spat out once every year. I think this will eventually turn back (the internet people, come on, if you're stuck just Google, it's that simple and developers shouldn't be that scared anyway).
    Anyway, after the small puzzle of actually having to find the information out yourself to move forward, you are cast into the depths of the Great Deku Trees belly, so to speak, all to banish the evil within and save the guardians life. Alas (SPOILERS) your efforts are in vain, though your courage having being tested (and proved) you are rewarded with the forest spiritual stone. It turns out there are three, another located over Hyrule Field to the North East in Death mountain and the last North West in Zora's Domain. These three stones will open the way to the Sacred Realm within the Temple of Time, the holy resting place of the Triforce, a power left by the gods that grants any user one wish. Obviously, this then leads on to the whole good vs evil story, but it does all feel very epic and not generic, surprisingly. This may be because of the amount of detail Nintendo put into their world, and the speech the different creatures were given to speak.
    Obviously the main reason someone would read a review for the Legend of Zelda 3ds version is because they would be wondering if it was worth replaying on another system. The answer to that would be an assured yes, but of course I already made that obvious. The graphics have improved, not significantly so but they retain the look and feel of the previous game's, so no complaints there. It is bright and colorful, and oftentimes quite dark, but the game never looks outdated and even after all this time certainly never feels it. It's easy to see why Nintendo have used this game as a draft for all future releases, but when it's this good, why the hell not? They have also added a boss rush mode, where you can fight all of the main games bosses in one go. I never personally did this because I thought it might hurt replay value (why would I want to ruin the reward for completing a dungeon?). They also included the Master Quest version, where the entire game is reflected and twice as much damage is inflicted upon you. Also, the dungeons have been tweaked and made harder, so is definitely worth a try. It is worth noting however that they original game needs completing first to unlock this, something that may be annoying for people that have already played before on the N64.
    In conclusion, it magically feels real, and as the lines between games and the real world begin to retract, and The Legend of Zelda becomes something very special indeed.
    Expand
  98. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    This review is not effected by my childhood, because i got this version 1st, and it had been out a while anyway (I'd never played Zelda) and i say it's freaking amazing. I love the series because of it. OoT was extremely expansive (especially for the n64), i cant say much about the graphics because i played on 3DS, but i played a bit of MM so i say they're pretty impressive. It controlsThis review is not effected by my childhood, because i got this version 1st, and it had been out a while anyway (I'd never played Zelda) and i say it's freaking amazing. I love the series because of it. OoT was extremely expansive (especially for the n64), i cant say much about the graphics because i played on 3DS, but i played a bit of MM so i say they're pretty impressive. It controls well, and i love it Expand
  99. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    this game is a 3d remake of a classic and perfect game this remake made it that much better everything is better the graphics the controls the story is great and there is no more I can ask more of this game
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    For Zelda fanatics, this re-release of one of the best Zelda titles out there seems like it could be a cash grab – but the additions, especially the great use of the 3DS graphical prowess and the 3D itself make it a must purchase for all gamers, new and old.
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    92
    One of the most definite games from the 90's is back better than ever. The new visuals brighten the epic adventure well, and the Master Quest is a nice add. All in all Ocarina of Time is a true classic belonging in every 3DS owner's shelf. [Aug 2011]