The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    100
    This game is one of the greatest things that video games have ever achieved.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    I wonder how anything will ever better Ocarina of Time in its small but vital corner of this bloated industry.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  4. 95
    If you've never played Ocarina of Time before, run out and buy this immediately. If you're intimately familiar with the game, there's nothing too new in this version to pull you in, though if you ever get the urge to play it again, Ocarina of Time 3D lets you experience all your wonderful memories with a brand new modern feel.
  5. Game Informer
    Jun 15, 2011
    93
    My new favorite way to play one of my top 10 games of all time. Its updated visuals look great in 3D, the touch-screen streamlines inventory issues, and aiming with the gyroscope feels like much more than a gimmick. [July 2011, p.92]
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a classic that still works, even though it's essentially the same game as it was in 1998. It would surprise me if Nintendo in the future doesn't feel the need of releasing a new console with a battery that lasts longer between recharges, since that is the biggest issue with his remake. Using the gyroscope doesn't match well with the need of having your 3DS connected to the wall socket. But all in all, the excellent adventure remains intact.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 30, 2011
    70
    Not entirely a bad remake – the great adventure catches everyone but controls are clumsy and 3D effects are far from what we expected. [July 2011]

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 283
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do,OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game?

    Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time.

    But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    All i can say is that its just as brilliant as its always been but with better graphics.

    Even tho i knew where to go and i knew all the
    All i can say is that its just as brilliant as its always been but with better graphics.

    Even tho i knew where to go and i knew all the locations its still a lengthy game as it took me about 4 days to complete 100%. which is much longer than a lot of modern games such as call of duty.
    To my surprise the controls are actually really good for a handheld.
    When i look back at it there seemed to not have as much combat as there where puzzles but i never complained about it because was that good.
    The only thing i miss is not having a big tv screen in front of me to play.
    So far this is a reason to buy a 3ds alone.
    BUY IT
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easilyBeautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend it's perfect Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Just came from the Skyward sword page after I dumped all my rage over there.
    So now I can be nice and say that I would rather play ocarina of
    Just came from the Skyward sword page after I dumped all my rage over there.
    So now I can be nice and say that I would rather play ocarina of time for the fourth time on a tiny little screen than waste even another 5 seconds on that other piece of crap that got me raging and spewing over shallow story and a retarded control scheme.
    Even after all these incarnations of the same game, OOT is a wondrous, soothing and extremely enjoyable experience.
    Graphics are massively improved and the game plays like a charm.
    Love everything about it and honestly I wish they still made them like this.
    Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This gmae is great. This is the first zelda game I have played and it got me hooked on the other games. The gameplay and puzzles are perfectThis gmae is great. This is the first zelda game I have played and it got me hooked on the other games. The gameplay and puzzles are perfect and it doesn't seem very dull. Collecting all the heart peices and killing all the skulltulas can become a pain, but otherwise its a must get if you have a 3ds Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Quite possibly the best version of Ocarina of Time. The game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensorQuite possibly the best version of Ocarina of Time. The game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensor features add some welcomed improvements. As for the 3D in particular - it is excellent, it adds depth to everything and does not feel 'tacked-on'. I would definitely recommend this game if you have, or are considering a Nintendo 3DS. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2015
    1
    This version of the game makes me miss the N64. The controls basically ruined an above average game for me. The soundtrack and the visualsThis version of the game makes me miss the N64. The controls basically ruined an above average game for me. The soundtrack and the visuals look awesome. Expand

See all 283 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games Image
    Published: April 2, 2017
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Nintendo 3DS.
  2. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.