The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1071 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    100
    This game is one of the greatest things that video games have ever achieved.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    I wonder how anything will ever better Ocarina of Time in its small but vital corner of this bloated industry.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  4. 95
    If you've never played Ocarina of Time before, run out and buy this immediately. If you're intimately familiar with the game, there's nothing too new in this version to pull you in, though if you ever get the urge to play it again, Ocarina of Time 3D lets you experience all your wonderful memories with a brand new modern feel.
  5. Game Informer
    Jun 15, 2011
    93
    My new favorite way to play one of my top 10 games of all time. Its updated visuals look great in 3D, the touch-screen streamlines inventory issues, and aiming with the gyroscope feels like much more than a gimmick. [July 2011, p.92]
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a classic that still works, even though it's essentially the same game as it was in 1998. It would surprise me if Nintendo in the future doesn't feel the need of releasing a new console with a battery that lasts longer between recharges, since that is the biggest issue with his remake. Using the gyroscope doesn't match well with the need of having your 3DS connected to the wall socket. But all in all, the excellent adventure remains intact.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 30, 2011
    70
    Not entirely a bad remake – the great adventure catches everyone but controls are clumsy and 3D effects are far from what we expected. [July 2011]

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 284
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do,OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game?

    Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time.

    But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Leave it to Nintendo to remake a great classic and make it even better.I remember when I first played Ocarina of time on Nintendo 64 when ILeave it to Nintendo to remake a great classic and make it even better.I remember when I first played Ocarina of time on Nintendo 64 when I was still in junior high school and all day long all I could think about was Ocarina of time,and when I finally got home from school and went strait to my N64 and continue my adventure in Hyrule I was Amazed.well the same can be said today with the 3DS version of a master piece of all ages,the game looks way better than it did back on the N64 and (and it didn't look bad on N64 either).this is still my all time fave game ever made and I have to say if you love a great story and enjoy the Zelda series you gotta pick this amazing title up ASAP.great memory's coming back to me.Thanks Nintendo for giving us great games than we all hold dear to our hearts. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Yes, It's the same game from the n64, exactly. That is PERFECTLY FINE! some things don't need to change, this game was perfect and it isYes, It's the same game from the n64, exactly. That is PERFECTLY FINE! some things don't need to change, this game was perfect and it is perfect now. Plus you get to play it on the go. Plus the graphics have improved. Plus you feel a bit of nostalgia playing it. Rarely do remakes keep the charm and playability of the original, in this case the game keeps all of its virtues. This is a perfect version of this game, as was the n64 version. I love it, a whole lot. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Still the same Masterpiece that came out during my childhood!, The graphics are much more colorful and beautiful than ever, and the MasterStill the same Masterpiece that came out during my childhood!, The graphics are much more colorful and beautiful than ever, and the Master Quest is simply a magnificent add!... No much to say about it... It's ''perfect''! Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    A perfect update to a classic game updated just the right amount. As a longtime Zelda fan, I have to say the game stays true to OoT for theA perfect update to a classic game updated just the right amount. As a longtime Zelda fan, I have to say the game stays true to OoT for the N64, yet the visuals are stunning and smooth for a handheld console update. It's the classic game we all know and love, and if you're looking to introduce someone to OoT, I'd highly recommend telling them to get this version. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Quite possibly the best version of Ocarina of Time. The game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensorQuite possibly the best version of Ocarina of Time. The game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensor features add some welcomed improvements. As for the 3D in particular - it is excellent, it adds depth to everything and does not feel 'tacked-on'. I would definitely recommend this game if you have, or are considering a Nintendo 3DS. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2015
    1
    This version of the game makes me miss the N64. The controls basically ruined an above average game for me. The soundtrack and the visualsThis version of the game makes me miss the N64. The controls basically ruined an above average game for me. The soundtrack and the visuals look awesome. Expand

See all 284 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games Image
    Published: October 1, 2016
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Nintendo 3DS.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.