• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Starship Damrey Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: THE STARSHIP DAMREY is an adventure/horror/suspense game designed by Kazuya Asano (Kamaitachi no Yoru (The Night of the Sickle Weasel), TORNEKO: The Last Hope) and written by Takemaru Abiko (Kamaitachi no Yoru (The Night of the Sickle Weasel), TRICK X LOGIC), known as pioneers of text-based adventure games in Japan. In the game, players awaken to discover that they are trapped in a Cold Sleep capsule aboard the titular Starship Damrey, with no memory of who they are or how they got there. With no tutorials, explanations, or hints provided, the game was created with the intent that self-discovery and experimentation be an integral part of the experience. An inconceivable truth awaits those willing to discover it. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. May 30, 2013
    80
    While conservative, The Starship Damrey is a reminder that stimulating the imagination of the player is the most efficient tool that a developer has.
  2. May 22, 2013
    70
    However, the game never really delivers much of anything. It feels more like an experiment in narrative presentation than an actual video game, and while I think there is no inherent problem with the design philosophy of The Starship Damrey, the reality is that it just isn't very exciting to play.
  3. 70
    The Starship Damrey achieves many of the goals set by the producers. Despite losing some meaning within the narrative and causing a little disappointment as a survival or space horror game, it still is an interesting proposal, especially for its low price.
  4. May 21, 2013
    60
    The game is at pains to highlight its lack of tutorials or explanations, but outside an intriguing opening, its conundrums are unlikely to leave you stumped for long, a result of the ship's compactness and the robot's inability to carry more than one item at once.
  5. May 30, 2013
    55
    The Starship Damrey is, in the end, more a missed opportunity than a terrible game: strange design choices, clumsy gameplay and a steep price tag don't do justice to the great atmosphere. Try it again, Level 5.
  6. Jun 12, 2013
    50
    The Starship Damrey is a short but enjoyable space mystery that could have been so much better if it allowed you to puzzle through the enigma yourself.
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    20
    A few hours ambling around this vapid environment is far too long. [Issue#136, p.113]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 17, 2013
    9
    A game of Mystery and Suspense, this game will keep you both intrigued and on edge for it's entire duration (However short that may be). Your visit on the Starship Damrey is wrapped in mystery from the moment you wake from cold sleep and discover you are alone and trapped in your Sleep Capsule. With nobody around, you have to take it into your own hands to escape. However, along your way, you take it upon yourself to unravel the mystery of how the titular starship ended up in it's dark, mysterious, and sometimes frightening state. This game is all about suspense and atmosphere, with a few jump scares sprinkled it just when you are starting to get comfortable with the low hum of electronics that make up the ship. It is these scares that remind you... you might not be alone after all, which is as relieving as it is terrifying.

    As good as it is, it is a bit on the short side, making it a good story to curl up with for a couple of hours before bed. Priced reasonably, it is a must have for suspense and adventure game fans alike.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    The Starship Damrey is a bite-sized horror game from Level-5, which has brought us many good games in the past such as the Professor Layton series on the DS, and Rogue Galaxy on the Ps2. The game, while steep in price, will only last you a handful of hours in gameplay, but it left a good impression on me after playing it in full and finding out the whole story. You begin in a locked cold sleep chamber. Unable to move, your only option is to use a group of remote controlled robots to try and get out, and possibly solve the mystery of why you are in the capsule in the first place.
    The game has a few twists and turns, and a small amount of extra content in the end if you collect all 20 of those pesky space leeches, which in all makes the make have very little replay value if you get everything on your first playthrough.

    My suggestion would be to have a group of friends throw in some money and share the game over a few days to get the best experience. That way you can avoid the steep price, for only a few hours of enjoyment. Either way, it is still a good attempt at a puzzle/horror game on the 3ds and I would love to see a more detailed and upgraded sequel with plenty of more content.
    Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    I feel like this game had a lot of potential and could have done a few things to make it slightly longer or more puzzles. I was excited when I saw the disclaimer screen that there would be no help given and you would have to figure things out yourself, however I found the puzzles pretty simplistic. Also we went from finding a way to open 1 door at a time to suddenly being able to open all of them, this could have been a way to make the game longer but they failed to use it. The story and suspense was very good however, it held my attention and I did think that was fantastic. To 100% the game took me 2 hours and 18 minutes. Basically the entire reason why I was let down by the game was the length and price. If the price was lower the length would not have been that much of an issue. When this game goes on sale like the last batch of guild 01 games did, definitely pick it up, turn the lights off, get into bed and enjoy. It's not worth 8 euro but if it goes down to 4 or 6 you'll definitely feel more satisfied. Expand
  4. May 2, 2014
    6
    I wanted to like this game, I really did. But despite the fantastic atmosphere and nice buildup, there's very little payoff. The game only lasts 2 hours at most, the story is rather tame. And it was really not worth the price. Expand