Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This year marks the 25th anniversary of FINAL FANTASY, and THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY is the first music rhythm game in the history of the world famous franchise.

    Developed by rhythm game veteran indieszero, SQUARE ENIX brings more than 70 musical scores spanning 25 years to THEATRHYTHM
    FINAL FANTASY. The title features music from key events, lush field themes and decisive battle arrangements.

    THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY features a hybrid of music rhythm gameplay with RPG elements. Adorably re-designed heroes from the catalogue of FINAL FANTASY titles will set out on an adventure to combat memorable villains with the rhythmic taps of the player's stylus.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    100
    Overall I was surprised by just how much meat there was to Theatrhythm's gameplay, which ends up being a lot more than just tapping along with icons on a screen. The whole concept of building a party, outfitting them will skills and equipment, and leveling them up over the course of 40 plus songs is really a lot of fun, and insanely addictive.
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    89
    Gorgeous to look at, epic to listen to, and an absolute pleasure to play. [Sept 2012, p.105]
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    83
    Theatrythm: Final Fantasy is the perfect proof that music- and roleplaying games can fit together.
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    The varying levels of difficulty, heavy emphasis on fan service and inviting gameplay make Theatrhythm a great way to celebrate the franchise's legacy.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    A surprisingly successful effort at wrapping an RPG around a rhythm game. Come for the Final Fantasy name, stay for the music.
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    75
    It helps to think of Theatrhythm Final Fantasy as a digital celebration of the series' music and culture rather than a deep gaming experience.
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    60
    Theatrhythm Final Fantasy, as an hommage to 25 years of Final Fantasy games, is a pure fan service musical game. But one that features some of the best pieces ever written for video games, a very strong point that would almost balance out the shortcomings of a repetitive gameplay.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    All right, I may be biased. I love final fantasy, and I love Chibi Lightning. But Theatrhytm is really good fun. The foundation of the game, the music, is not only drawn from some of the best soundtracks around, but easily some of the best in gaming; making for a fantastic rhythm game. I can easily play some of the songs over and over again, especially the Sunleth Waterscape and the Seymour Battle theme. And despite a genre which I initially expected to being non conducive to classic FF grinding and collecting, earning new songs and characters makes playing it so, so much more engaging, and adds hours and hours of playtime, even if you are not a fan of the series. In short, the game is a blast and one of the few portable games where I turn the volume to the max.
    Ps: I got the bonus sticker set, LOVIN IT.
    Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    My first biased review. Could this game be any more addicting! *WARK* Probably the best time killing game I have palyed in a long time, and it helps that I am a huge fan of the music! *WARK* Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Excellent! Easy to get the DLC songs and hopefully more to come. A true tribute to FF Music lovers without a FF series being left out. Something for everyone and enough eye candy to keep you entertained! If you loved Elite Beat Agents. You will love this game with its improved features for a rhythm game! Collapse
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    This game is a trip down memory lane; a very enjoyable one at that. At least one character from every game is available from the start, with the ability to unlock at least one other per title (for some, two more), which is great because you can pick your favourites from the start. Each title starts with three songs, but as you play more you'll unlock new songs. Normally, I'd be angry at DLC in a game like this. But Japan has already received obscure tracks, like 'Somnus' from Versus XIII, which I'd love to get my hands on. Any rhythm or Final Fantasy fan will enjoy this game - a fan of both will love it. Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    OK let's get the obvious out of the way, if your a Final Fantasy fan keep reading, if not don't bother with this game at all. I have personally played every FF bar XI, and XIV is not present in this game, and I can safely say the game achieves exactly what it sets out to do. It is a homage to FF games of days gone past, dealing with numbered iterations ranging from I to XIII, set to a backdrop of a rhythm action game. The rhythm action elements are simplistic at first, not getting in the way of all the nostalgia, but speaking as someone who has unlocked all 64 in-game trophies, I can safely say the game poses a serious challenge later on. There is a hidden depth to this game in regards to the RPG elements and a chaos shrine; the former I didn't even begin to grasp until at least 20 hours in, and the latter adds an interesting twist to the game play which I will discuss later. The game play itself is split into battle stages, field music stages and event stages, with each providing a different twist on the rhythm action set pieces. Your characters also gain experience and level up after each stage; as well as this successful completion of each stage is rewarded with rhythmia points which unlock more and more songs, characters etc. In the chaos shrine two random songs are picked comprising of a field stage followed by a battle stage, these two random songs comprise a note and the note is based on your characters level. In the second stage you fight one of three bosses depending on your performance across the two stages, with the third boss dropping crystal shards which are necessary to unlock more characters. In the first stage you must have high agility stats to travel far to get to fight the second or third boss, and in the second stage you must have high attack and magic stats to defeat the bosses, so a balanced party is in order. The reason for the long explanation in a review is the most amount of criticism thrown at this game in reviews seems to be in regards to the RPG elements in the game, as most don't seem to understand the point; well, there is one and it adds a whole lot more depth to the game if your willing to learn. For those of you who just want to hear your favorite tunes and take a more passive approach to the game, 80 percent of the games songs are unlocked from the start and there for you to play, not to mention almost 40 downloadable songs now available. If your a FF fan I really don't think you will be disappointed unless you despise rhythm action games. There is a never ending polemical debate as to what the best FF is, but the one element that brings cohesion to all these debating groups is the music. Square Enix recognizes this and made a clever decision to have it as the focus of it's 25th anniversary tribute to the franchise. My only minor criticism of the game is in regards to the event stages, as although these are the most instantly gratifying (rhythm piece set to the backdrop of FMV sequences from the iteration of the game you are playing) these become tiresome after a while due to their repetitive nature. I personally clocked up 106 hours unlocking all the in game content and trophies, and feel like I got my moneys worth. 9/10 Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    I love this game, Square Enix's decision to have a rhythm based game with rpg elements like a party of 4 characters and stats etc is a gutsy idea and it worked. I can only think of a couple of negative things i can say negative about Theartrerythem one is it left me wanting more, they could of had more field or battle songs in the game (not as DLC) I am aware about the first game with the battle theme being for every battle that the player encounters but more songs would of been nice, also the controls are a bit off especially the music video stages, like sometimes i flick up and it doesn't read it properly but that happens rarely. As a whole, great gameplay, great song listing, fantastic new art style which looks great, good rpg elements thrown into the mix, Theartrerythem Final Fantasy is a good buy for anyone who wants a good rhythm game or just a break from the old formula. This is a great way to celebrate FF's 25 anniversary. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    3
    Really Enix?
    This Game sucks, incomplete songs (a song of 4 minutes in theathrythm is 2 minutes), really bad 3d, only 3 songs for game ( I
    not included the crystals songs in "history" mode) more than 50 songs in dlc... really? Since ff X-2, Enix lost his mind, and ff 13 it's a insult for ff fans... pfff, really bad game for 3ds, only for nostalgics and freaks, but the incomplete songs kills me so much... Enix U mad... Expand

See all 38 User Reviews