• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2011
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 79
  2. Negative: 8 out of 79
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    Not too bad, but not too goos, either. Gameplay is a bit stuttered, and the game as a whole is let down by dodgy graphics. The lack of online play makes this game a "kinda have". I bought it hoping for more, but will probably end up trading it.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pros:
    - Great Difficulty (The Main Reason this Game didn't get a 6)
    - Nail-bitingly Intense
    - Good Gameplay Elements

    Cons:
    - Under-developed Characters
    - Underwhelming Story
  3. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    Bought this after ridge racer turned out to be a disappointment. Wasn't sure if i'd like the turn based thing or not, but it's turned out to be alot of fun. The game is well put together and the 3-d adds a neat effect to higher terrain and models. Not sure exactly what beating levels on higher difficulties gets you, but beating campaign missions unlocks skirmish missions, which add alot ofBought this after ridge racer turned out to be a disappointment. Wasn't sure if i'd like the turn based thing or not, but it's turned out to be alot of fun. The game is well put together and the 3-d adds a neat effect to higher terrain and models. Not sure exactly what beating levels on higher difficulties gets you, but beating campaign missions unlocks skirmish missions, which add alot of play time to your game. The combat is fun, deep, and complex enough to punish players who just attack in the open. Fences provide cover, but only if you are next to one and only if shots are being shot between you and the fence. Buildings and trees offer cover, but restrict movement and line of sight. Attacking an opponent has several different factors. Most enemies will fire back, dealing damage to the attacker at a reduced rate, some classes counter attack for maximum damage. If you have units nearby, they will offer support and also counter attack if they are in range and line of sight of the attacker. Grenades can be lobbed over small walls and ignore defenses and prohibit counter attacks. The ghost class cannot be attacked unless adjacent to an enemy. its alot of fun to sneak your ghost around the battle field and shank people. Killing units gives bonus power, which can be used for special attacks, usually bonus damage, and sometimes adding another movement for that player. There is also a medic to help patch up your team, and an engineer to deploy turrets. I just finished chapter 2 and if there are 3 more, i will be satisfied but i wouldnt be surprised if there were more. The story isnt anything special and the dialogue is cringeworthy. Small maps and a few bugs (like move attacking with an explosive and instead of choosing a target, your character goes idle and they are done for the turn) keep this game from being a 9. With better animation and special effects, and online play would move this closer to a 10 Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    85
    I enjoyed the characters, I enjoyed the strategy, there's a ludicrous amount of content, and there's even pass-the-handheld multiplayer for those into that sort of thing. Apart from the less-than-sizzling looks, this one's a must-have for any turn-based strat fan with a 3DS.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 20, 2011
    75
    One of the best games in 3DS release. Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars offers enjoyable turn based action with a diverse squad and tactically enjoyable terrain. I like it a lot! [May 2011]
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    50
    While it might not be the most pleasant-looking game or have a ton of depth, Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars is still enjoyable and at its best when played in small doses.