Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead the Ghosts, the most elite special forces unit in the US Army, across multiple tactical missions to prevent a war from breaking out.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    91
    Overall, the general feel of Shadow Wars is a solid turn-based strategy game -- even if its story backdrop, limited multiplayer, and character archetypes are short on originality.
  2. Games Master UK
    Mar 31, 2011
    84
    This will keep you staring at your 3DS until you eyes bleed. In a good way. [May 2011, p.67]
  3. May 6, 2011
    81
    This is the best surprise of 3DS launch titles, and those looking for a deep, strategic game will have a lot of fun with it.
  4. Easy to pick up, with enough new stuff to make you think in new ways. [Apr 2011, p.84]
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    That said, the suite of options completes what is a very nice package for strategy fans. Honestly, I'm a little shocked by the overall quality of the experience; in lesser hands, I'm sure it would have ended up being a mediocre port of the console shooters. Instead, we've been treated to a scrumptious strategy experience from one of the best designers in the business. It's not a turn that I was expecting for the Ghost Recon franchise, but I will definitely take it.
  6. May 3, 2011
    70
    Julian Gollop is back with yet another masterful turn based strategy game, and if you can see beyond the weak story and the gimmicky 3D effects - that don't to much to enhance the bland graphics - you'll find a spiritual successor to his old games. Laser Squad: Shadow Wars would have been an equally good name.
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    50
    While it might not be the most pleasant-looking game or have a ton of depth, Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars is still enjoyable and at its best when played in small doses.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    Going into this I was expecting a first person extravaganza but instead got a top down strategy game. It was a pleasant surprise to beGoing into this I was expecting a first person extravaganza but instead got a top down strategy game. It was a pleasant surprise to be honest. Leveling up can use some work and when more people get the 3DS online should be great. I highly recommend this title, hands down the best game out so far. Expand
  2. May 30, 2011
    10
    I was a bit unsure of whether to get this game. I have played games like Advance Wars and Fire Emblem in the past and have really enjoyedI was a bit unsure of whether to get this game. I have played games like Advance Wars and Fire Emblem in the past and have really enjoyed them, but for some reason, modern gaming has made me only buy a game if it has good online multiplayer, good graphics and a good story....turns out neither of these things are needed to make this one of the best launch titles for the 3ds, it will keep you occupied for ages and the gameplay is extremely addictive! Worth every penny! Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    I haven't finished the campaign yet, but I'm enjoying it so far. The turn based strategy shows it's predecessors, but that's not a bad thingI haven't finished the campaign yet, but I'm enjoying it so far. The turn based strategy shows it's predecessors, but that's not a bad thing as I've always enjoyed them. The graphics work well, but this isn't the game you are going to use to showcase the 3D of the system. The only problem is this isn't the Ghost Recon that you've played before. Treat it as a new IP and enjoy it! Collapse
  4. May 11, 2011
    9
    While the graphics aren't much of anything that couldn't be accomplished on the DS and the plot is pretty easy to anticipate, this is stillWhile the graphics aren't much of anything that couldn't be accomplished on the DS and the plot is pretty easy to anticipate, this is still the best launch title you can find for 3DS in my opinion, narrowly beating out SSFIV3D when vying fir my time. 3D is only really a boon to cover situations but the great mix of Fire Emblem and Valkyria Chronicles style gameplay makes every level interesting. again, the skill tree for each character has only a single route but it can be fun to load all your points onto you favorite character. As far as game games go this is the best you can buy on 3DS. Although I usually rush right through to the finish of games I got 26 hours out of this little gem. Well done. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, this is the best launch title for the 3DS. Shadow Wars is a turn-based strategy title in the vein of Advance Wars, and like AW,In my opinion, this is the best launch title for the 3DS. Shadow Wars is a turn-based strategy title in the vein of Advance Wars, and like AW, it offers up some deep and satisfying gameplay.

    You control a squad of six ghosts. Each belongs to a certain class (eg. sniper, engineer, medic etc.) and possesses a number of stats and abilities. The fun lies in utilizing the right combination of operatives for each mission. SW also offers up a ranking system and some equipment customization options for your squad. Unfortunately, the presentation doesn't match up to the great gameplay.

    Characters are tiny, cutscenes are done through static talking heads and the 3D effect isn't very noticeable. I ended up playing through the game with the 3D slider off. The characters and plot leave something to be desired, but it is hardly game breaking.

    If you are looking for a fun and complex title to play on your 3DS... this is it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    I have recently finished the campaign mode for this game, and I have to say it's pretty great. The storyline isn't particularly fantastic, theI have recently finished the campaign mode for this game, and I have to say it's pretty great. The storyline isn't particularly fantastic, the graphics are decent, but the game play is great. It doesn't reach the heights of other games in this genre such as Advance Wars and Fire Emblem, but it is the closest thing I have found. After you have done the campaign mode, there is still quite a lot left to do through skirmishes and multi-player, you can even re do all the missions from the campaign mode again to try and get a higher level to gain 100% (something I have not done).
    All in all it is the second best launch game available for the 3DS and I would recommend it to anyone who is undecided about getting it or people who want another 3DS game.
    Presentation: 7.5/10. Everything fits and looks rather nice, making quite a nice package.
    Graphics: 5.5/10. Most of the graphics seen here could be replicated on the DS.
    Sound: 6.5/10. Gun shots sound fine, music is repetitive.
    Gameplay: 8.5/10
    Lasting Appeal: 9/10. The campaign will last average players of 20 hours+, not to mention the extras that are included.
    Overall: 8.2 (but can't put that as score)
    Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2016
    4
    Compared to other strategic games on 3DS (Fire Emblem series, for example) it's a very simplistic game, with not at interesting story at allCompared to other strategic games on 3DS (Fire Emblem series, for example) it's a very simplistic game, with not at interesting story at all and very repetitive content.

    The only good this game have it's the 3 difficulties it have, and the bunch of missions (all of them very similar..)
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews