Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead the Ghosts, the most elite special forces unit in the US Army, across multiple tactical missions to prevent a war from breaking out.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    91
    Overall, the general feel of Shadow Wars is a solid turn-based strategy game -- even if its story backdrop, limited multiplayer, and character archetypes are short on originality.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    84
    This will keep you staring at your 3DS until you eyes bleed. In a good way. [May 2011, p.67]
  3. May 6, 2011
    81
    This is the best surprise of 3DS launch titles, and those looking for a deep, strategic game will have a lot of fun with it.
  4. Easy to pick up, with enough new stuff to make you think in new ways. [Apr 2011, p.84]
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    That said, the suite of options completes what is a very nice package for strategy fans. Honestly, I'm a little shocked by the overall quality of the experience; in lesser hands, I'm sure it would have ended up being a mediocre port of the console shooters. Instead, we've been treated to a scrumptious strategy experience from one of the best designers in the business. It's not a turn that I was expecting for the Ghost Recon franchise, but I will definitely take it.
  6. May 3, 2011
    70
    Julian Gollop is back with yet another masterful turn based strategy game, and if you can see beyond the weak story and the gimmicky 3D effects - that don't to much to enhance the bland graphics - you'll find a spiritual successor to his old games. Laser Squad: Shadow Wars would have been an equally good name.
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    50
    While it might not be the most pleasant-looking game or have a ton of depth, Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars is still enjoyable and at its best when played in small doses.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    Although the story-line lacks an intriguing depth, and there's not cut-scenes to really add to the Ghost Recon formula, the strategical gameplay (similar to Advance Wars) and tactical prowess makes Ghost Recon a fairly enjoyable experience, with a possible sixty hours of fun to be had in the campaign mode, plus the nice addition of single console multiplayer, maybe not providing the best multiplayer, but making it highly convenient to play with friends and family. Expand
  2. May 30, 2011
    10
    I was a bit unsure of whether to get this game. I have played games like Advance Wars and Fire Emblem in the past and have really enjoyed them, but for some reason, modern gaming has made me only buy a game if it has good online multiplayer, good graphics and a good story....turns out neither of these things are needed to make this one of the best launch titles for the 3ds, it will keep you occupied for ages and the gameplay is extremely addictive! Worth every penny! Collapse
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    I haven't finished the campaign yet, but I'm enjoying it so far. The turn based strategy shows it's predecessors, but that's not a bad thing as I've always enjoyed them. The graphics work well, but this isn't the game you are going to use to showcase the 3D of the system. The only problem is this isn't the Ghost Recon that you've played before. Treat it as a new IP and enjoy it! Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    It was quite repetitive, but the slow addition and accumulation of game concepts were good. The 3d was pronounced, which was good. My two complaints with the game were these, firstly, the game has a horrible story. Actually, one of the worst I've seen. However, since the story does not mix with the game, it is not a huge negative. Secondly, I experienced a couple of bugs where I had to restart the level. I look at the game favorably though, so I recomend getting it for any stategy game fan owning a 3ds. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    If you love srpg's or any game with a turned based strategy system, then you might find yourself happy you found this little gem! While it doesn't have lots of team members to choose pre-battle it does have one kick ass team to kick ass with;-) the 3d is nice but not game changing like others with be its still pretty cool looking at the battlefield with true depth, makes you feel like a God watching the fights unfold. The story and static cut scenes are ho-hum but that's not why we play srpgs. Launching this on the 3ds launch date makes it a no brainier for tactics fans. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, this is the best launch title for the 3DS. Shadow Wars is a turn-based strategy title in the vein of Advance Wars, and like AW, it offers up some deep and satisfying gameplay.

    You control a squad of six ghosts. Each belongs to a certain class (eg. sniper, engineer, medic etc.) and possesses a number of stats and abilities. The fun lies in utilizing the right combination of operatives for each mission. SW also offers up a ranking system and some equipment customization options for your squad. Unfortunately, the presentation doesn't match up to the great gameplay.

    Characters are tiny, cutscenes are done through static talking heads and the 3D effect isn't very noticeable. I ended up playing through the game with the 3D slider off. The characters and plot leave something to be desired, but it is hardly game breaking.

    If you are looking for a fun and complex title to play on your 3DS... this is it.
    Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    Not too bad, but not too goos, either. Gameplay is a bit stuttered, and the game as a whole is let down by dodgy graphics. The lack of online play makes this game a "kinda have". I bought it hoping for more, but will probably end up trading it. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews