Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    The fact that Ubisoft was able to remaster one of the greatest chapters of the Splinter Cell on a portable platform with only minor downgrades is a small miracle. Splinter Cell 3DS is far greater than it has any right to be, given the drastic overhaul made to the control scheme and the newness of portable 3D gaming.
  2. May 9, 2011
    72
    It's not the best Splinter Cell game, but fans of the genre can't make anything wrong with Splinter Cell 3D. The missing multiplayer modes and the small amount of missions are its biggest drawbacks.
  3. Apr 13, 2011
    70
    In the end, Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell is a fun game, especially for those who have never played the franchise before but just be warned that the game is very slow and if you're looking for action, you'll be sorely mistaken. That's not to say there is no action in the game because the combat is actually fun but it's just a very slow moving game from start to finish.
  4. Apr 18, 2011
    69
    Fans of the series will be happy to play one of the best Splinter Cell games ever created on their 3DS, but the console-to-handheld trade-off will make some players question a possible $40 purchase.
  5. May 6, 2011
    66
    A fussy game on console, fussier on handheld but otherwise impressively shrunken. [June 2011, p.72]
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    65
    Despite its many shortcomings, Splinter Cell 3D is still fun to play. And that's what matters most. It's not even close to being as good as Chaos Theory on Xbox, but then again, I couldn't play that on a plane. If the AI were even passable and not laughable, this would be an easier recommendation.
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    63
    Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell 3D is a good handheld conversion of the classic Chaos Theory: unfortunately, the multiplayer, online or not, is nowhere to be seen, and the 3D effect, albeit good, doesn't seem to make up for the loss. It's a rather good single player launch title, but you'd want to concentrate on more complete titles.
  8. Aug 22, 2011
    60
    In a nutshell Splinter Cell 3D is a remake the doesn't do justice to the original title.
  9. Apr 22, 2011
    60
    At best, this one is a rental folks.
  10. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Die hard Sam Fisher fans don't necessarily need to return because they've seen the same thing better, and newcomers are jumping into an inferior version of an easily accessible console game. It's just cheaper to play Chaos Theory at its best.
  11. May 18, 2011
    57
    In the end, Splinter Cell 3D just feels like a lazy port.
  12. May 6, 2011
    55
    Unfortunately this newly christened Nintendo 3DS version of the game falls well short of the original. [May 2011, p.88]
  13. May 1, 2011
    55
    Despite many problems, the game's formula keeps being entertaining. It has flaws both technically and artistically, but gameplay-wise is a unique game in the current Nintendo 3DS library.
  14. Mar 25, 2011
    55
    A disappointingly bare-bones remake of Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory.
  15. Apr 18, 2011
    52
    Though the 3D visuals undeniably add something to the Splinter Cell experience (and it's nice to have a functional shooter on the 3DS) too much has been stripped away from the core game to make this worth your $40.
  16. May 13, 2011
    50
    This game should have stayed dark for another few months, because it's not ready for the field. [June 2011, p.95]
  17. 50
    I didn't really care for Splinter Cell 3D, but for once it's not really the game's fault-it's the developer's fault for trying to cram a control scheme onto a system not designed for it, and the fact that you can't really see what you're doing half the time. The exclusion of all multiplayer is disappointing too.
  18. Apr 5, 2011
    50
    Splinter Cell 3D is one of the worst 3DS titles to date. No addition, no real innovations, poor A.I. and a terrible in game camera: 3D effects cannot save it from complete failure.
  19. Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Splinter Cell 3D isn't a total disaster. Unfortunately, what is good there is to be attributed to the original edition. If you really want to play Chaos Theory retrieve the original.
  20. Mar 30, 2011
    50
    Splinter Cell 3D is a great game, ported badly. Some subtle 3D can't make up for controller and camera issues, or glaring missing features.
  21. Mar 28, 2011
    50
    It's impressive to see the full Chaos Theory ported with almost all of its features intact onto a handheld. Everything is there for the espionage enthusiast: infiltration, interrogation and some very tense stealth sections. Unforgivably, however, Splinter Cell 3D is severely let down by its controls which at times make even doing the simplest tasks a chore and will put a lot of people off very quickly.
  22. Mar 25, 2011
    50
    Splinter Cell 3D's biggest shortcoming is that it's simply not a game suited to a handheld console. Ultimately it's an awkward game to play. Grin and bear its problems and the nine-mission campaign is still a good one, but playing Chaos Theory on this handheld is considerably less enjoyable than it should be.
  23. Awkward to play, hard to look at, difficult to control and socially neutered. We're not sold on Splinter Cell.
  24. Mar 26, 2011
    48
    Dark, dreary and awkward. You'd have more fun spending the afternoon trying to pronounce the noise Fisher's goggles make. Pyooooaeeeee?
  25. Apr 11, 2011
    40
    A bad port of a great game. It should never have been shoved onto the 3DS and it doesn't come close to the quality of the original Chaos Theory.
  26. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    This remake of Chaos Theory is not very impressive. The camera leaves a lot to be desired, and the controls in general makes you wish you had the original game in front of you, Sam Fisher would be embarassed.
  27. Apr 2, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  28. Apr 1, 2011
    40
    If you really need to be reminded of Splinter Cell's glory days, go back and pick up a cheap copy of Double Agent. Just do yourself a favour and give this pointless reissue a wide berth.
  29. Mar 28, 2011
    40
    Splinter Cell 3D is a real disappointment on the Nintendo 3DS. Ugly, clumsy, far from being easy to handle and despite that without any sort of challenge, the Ubisoft title has but one quality remaining: being the first stealth-themed title on the 3DS. Is that enough to disregard its defects? Definitely not.
  30. Mar 28, 2011
    40
    More thought was required to bring the Splinter Cell experience successfully to the 3DS, and the square pegs and round holes development approach has undermined the overall experience. There is some enjoyment to be had for series veterans, but most gamers would be well advised to play the original instead.
  31. Mar 27, 2011
    40
    An ill-conceived port of a game that seems to make little sense on the 3DS, especially given the compromises in controls and graphics.
  32. May 26, 2011
    25
    If you really want to play Chaos Theory, go find a used copy of the superior original at a fraction of the price.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    As a huge fan of the original Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory for Xbox and an avid supporter of the 3DS, this game seemed to be a match made in heaven for me. I was absolutely set on buying it when the game was announced, but since I never buy a game before taking a look at reviews, I almost didn't buy it. Nobody gave this game anything above a 70% so I was pretty skeptical. I must say, however, that I haven't regretted buying it for a second. I'll start off by saying that the control issues are greatly exaggerated in most of the reviews. Though I'll admit that controlling the camera with the face buttons is difficult at first, you get used to it pretty quickly. There are points where it can be annoying, but it's hardly a game killer. Mapping action commands to the d-pad actually works out just fine most of the time. The use of the touch screen is exactly what you would want it to be: fast, easy, and convenient. And, finally, the circle pad works just as well as an analog stick to control Sam Fisher's movements. For a game made with an Xbox controller in mind, I'm actually impressed with how effective the controls on the 3DS are. They're not perfect by any means, but they're clearly not as bad as they are made out to be. The missions from the original Chaos Theory are all here, and well put together. Obviously the beautiful level of graphical detail from the original is not present, but all in all they are effectively rendered if a bit watered down. The 3D effect, though not at all critical to the gameplay, looks great. With games like Pilotwings and Ridge Racer I have to keep the 3D slider somewhere in the middle to keep my eyes from being strained, but in Splinter Cell 3D I can keep it all the way up with very little eyestrain if any. There are times in the game where I have to stop for a moment just to appreciate just how cool the effect really is. Splinter Cell holds a special place for me as perhaps the only "secret agent/ super soldier" type game that I have ever really liked. There are few moments in gaming as satisfying as slipping past armed guards totally unnoticed, and there is plenty of that in this installment. While there are a lot of complaints about the aiming system being inaccurate (which, I'll admit, it is), the whole point of the game is to not have to use guns. It's much more fun to figure out a way to get past guards without killing them. While some may be sore about inaccurate aiming, I find that the classic "sneaking around" gameplay remains wholly intact. I do have some problems with this game in that the AI is very weak at times, and that there are some graphical glitches. If there are two guards talking to one another you can grab one in the middle of the conversation and drag him into the shadows without the other noticing. The conversation simply ceases and the other guard continues business as usual. There are also times that you can see a shadow on the wall of a guard that is in the next room, among a few other strange graphical quirks. These aren't huge issues, but the lack of multiplayer support, while unsurprising, is a bit disappointing. Most of the criticism of this game is derived from what the game DOESN'T do rather than what it does. All in all this game stays true to the classic Splinter Cell gameplay I've grown to know and love. It is by no means the best entry in the series, but it's a solid portable installment that, in my opinion, has received more criticism than it deserves. Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    7
    I was new to the series and this game made me want to delve into the series again after completion. True the camera may be a bit dodgy but in a stealth game about taking your time i feel it doesn't hamper the experience. The only true fault I had was that the areas in-game were so dark that during the day i kept the heat vision permanently on but when I played at night (which was most of the time) I felt it added to the experience. Enjoyable but not perfect Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    Very solid on the road game. After awhile when you learn the buttons and how the camera works is just fine. Just remember it's a 3DS game, not a console one. Full Review »